Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday: A Re-Tell of the Fairy Tale Grimm

Happy 2012, everyone!  This week, Amber West and I return to the world of fairy tales, where we re-review Grimm and Once Upon a Time on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday.    

We first reviewed NBC’s new drama based on the Grimm’s Fairy Tales shortly after it premiered.  The series follows Detective Nick Burkhardt (David Giuntoli) as he balances his life solving murders and learning that he comes from a long line of criminal profilers (Grimms) responsible for protecting the people of the world against the supernatural.   

To Recap: The Hook and Fairy Tale Number One – Little Red Riding Hood

The pilot episode might still be my favorite.  The attention to detail and fantastic one-liners hooked me immediately, but not enough to earn anything above the SSTV rating.  I mean, seriously – the program had just barely aired one episode, but the interest was there… 

The series began as a sorority girl departs from her house wearing a bright red hoodie and listening to the Eurythmics “Sweet Dreams” as she sets out for her morning jog through the woods.  While on her run, the girl spots an odd figurine positioned on a rock.  She stops to investigate when she is suddenly tackled by something with lightening fast speed, and the viewers can only assume she’s going to die. 

Nick and his partner, Hank Griffin (Russell Hornsby), drive out to the scene of the crime where they discover a jogger has been ripped apart in the woods.  The detectives assume an animal is responsible for the attack, although they can’t seem to locate any animal tracks – only boot tracks.

Later that night, Nick returns home to discover his Aunt Marie (Kate Burton) has stopped by on a surprise visit.  After a cryptic, “we need to talk,” Nick and his aunt go for a walk and she begins to tell him that his family has a secret.  His parents didn’t die in an accident; they were murdered.  Why is she telling him this now?  She is dying, and the Grimm powers will pass to him in just a matter of days if they haven’t already. 

Before she can tell him the complete story, Nick and his aunt are attacked by a Reaper of the Grimms.  Nick can’t believe his eyes and he opens fire on the monster and shoots him dead, but not before the attack renders his aunt unconscious.  

Reeling from the day’s events, Nick walks into his aunt’s travel-trailer where he finds an arsenal of bizarre weapons and an ancient family book revealing his destiny.   All of this helps explain the event earlier in the day when he noticed a beautiful blonde walking down the street suddenly transform into nasty looking creature. 

As most of us would with life-altering information such as this, Nick decides to keep his secret from his girlfriend (Bitsie Tulloch) and his partner.  For now, anyway.

The fairy tale continues the next day when Nick and his partner are called to another crime scene.  This time, a younger girl has been kidnapped with the initials R.H.  Coincidence? 

This is where Nick tracks down Eddie Monroe (Silas Weir Mitchell), a reformed Big Bad Wolf.   Monroe can see Nick as a Grimm immediately, but he reluctantly agrees to help Nick understand the mythology.   Monroe also agrees to help track down the Big Bad responsible for the little girl’s disappearance.  He drives Nick out to the woods, sticking his head out the window along the way sniffing out the Big Bad’s scent.  Afraid of what might happen if he gets too close, Monroe retreats as soon as they locate the cabin where his sense of smell has indicated the Big Bad and little R.H. are located.  Nick calls Hank out to the woods, but explains he didn’t call for any additional backup because he “already cried wolf once.” 

Of course, Hank doesn’t understand how Nick tracked this man down, but he believes his partner when he overhears the suspect humming the exact same song that had been playing in the jogger’s ear buds, “Sweet Dreams.”  The take down ensues, little R.H. is rescued, and Grimm ends with the Marilyn Manson version of “Sweet Dreams” — I’ve got to know what’s inside you.

Let’s be honest – the song is what actually hooked me.  Not only is it a favorite (either rendition), but the chosen lyrics forshadowed what the series had in story of us.  Like we mentioned earlier, great attention to detail.

Now further into the season, Grimm has aired more episodes and tackled fairy tales such as Goldilocks and the Three Bears, The Pied Piper, Rapunzel, The Queen Bee, and the Three Little Pigs.  The special effects and storylines are enticing; the use of Monroe in each episode to help Nick solve the case at hand is fun, and it is a bit heartwarming to see the two work together and develop a friendship between creature and Grimm; and the actual police procedural aspect of the story ranks up there with the other crime dramas on television today. 

The first creature that Nick saw transform on the street has a bit of a recurring role, and has since been identified as a hexinbeast (the blonde monster from the pilot episode, played by Claire Coffee).  Nick and Hank were assigned to protect her in “The Queen Bee” episode, despite the fact that she attempted to kill his aunt while in the hospital (of course Hank has no idea about Nick’s past encounters with her). 

As viewers, we know this hexinbeast is working for Nick’s police captain (Captain Renard played by Sasha Roiz), but Nick has no idea his boss is a bad guy, a Reaper.   

Which poses the question, why not?  Nick can see the creatures transform in front of him, so why can’t he see that his boss is one of them?  Also, we know that the creatures know immediately just by looking at him that Nick is a Grimm, so what is it that they see exactly?  Does his face transform as well? 

Obviously, I’d like for the series to answer some of these questions; but in the meantime, since sitting on the hot plate after the pilot, the simmering water is now boiling and Grimm earns a MacTV rating.  The water is clearly hot enough for us to drop in the pasta in order to enjoy some MacNCheese, and we’re anxiously awaiting its return in a few weeks. 

What do you think? Do you watch Grimm?  Which of the episodes has been your favorite and why?  What do you think about Monroe?  How long before Nick’s captain is exposed?  I’d love to hear from you!

Now click over to Amber’s blog and check out her second review of ABC’s new hit, Once Upon a Time

Come back next week when Amber and I review a few sci-fi hits – SyFy’s Being Human and an update to Fox’s Terra Nova (it too was left simmering on the stove…).

Remember to stop by the #watchwed hashtag in Twitter to discuss any of today’s reviews, or to mention any television programs that you’d like to see on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday in the future. 

A Recap of The WatchWed Review System:

GTV (Gourmet TV): Everything we want and more
MacTV (MacNCheese TV): Guilty pleasure. Not perfect, but is satisfies
GMacTV (Gourmet MacNCheese TV): A combination of fine wine and comfort food
JFTV (Junk food TV): It’s not great for us, but we’ll go back for seconds
TBPTV (Twice Baked Potato TV): Part gourmet and delicious, while absolutely horrible for our cholesterol
SSTV (Still Simmering TV): It has potential, but the jury is still out
NIV (Nyquil Induced Viewing): Perfect for that late night television sleep timer
LOTV (Liver&Onions TV): Do we really have to explain? Blech

This entry was posted in Watch it? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday: A Re-Tell of the Fairy Tale Grimm

  1. Amber West says:

    HAHAHA. I love that we both went MACTV with our fairy tale shows.

    I’m enjoying Grimm. It is SO different from OUAT, and I like that. The reformed Big Bad Wolf is my favorite character. Provides a lot of humor. :)

    • What can I say? Mac-n-Cheese is some good stuff. :)

      We’ve been catching up on our DVR queue and your upgraded ranking of OUAT has me moving it up the list. We’re ALMOST caught up on everything to where it’s time to check out OUAT and Haven. Of course, all the new episodes of our favorite programs pick back up this week so we better get a move on.

      I love Monroe. I like how they’ve found a way to incorporate him into each episode. Now that I type this, I wonder if Hank will ever have the ability to see the creatures the way Nick can. If he can’t, it could be a long while before Hank catches on….

      I think I got a bit off your comment. :)

  2. My Hubs and I decided we’re waiting for the whole series on dvd. Since Once Upon A Time is dragging out, we thought we’d lose our minds with two series on fairy tales leading us on. Gotta jump over to Amber to see what she thinks of OUAT now that there have been a few episodes.

    • I think watching Grimm in marathon style is the way to go, Tameri! That’s what we did, after the pilot episode. We let a few pile up on the queue and sat one Saturday and watched one right after the other. I think this is a great way to really develop a taste for the new programs. I hope you enjoy!

  3. Michael Ann says:

    I really like this show. I agree, my fav episode was the first one and I’m not sure what separates that one out from the rest? I worry they are going to run out of Fairy Tales! I think the reason Nick Grimm can’t see that the boss is a Reaper is because the boss has amazing self control. Notice the only time he is able to see them transform is when they lose self-control. I could be wrong on that but that is how it appears. ??? Also, I think the beasts just smell or sense that Nick is a Grimm. I’m not sure he transforms for them but maybe…. Those are my thoughts. Looking forward to more! Great review and synopsis.

    • I think the attention to detail in the first episode was magnificent, Michael Ann. The episodes after that are all still good, don’t get me wrong – but from the music, to the one-liners, to the names, etc… they were all just fantastic in the pilot. I can see why NBC grabbed it up during the selection process. The pilot definitely grabbed our attention.

      I believe you are onto something about the self-control aspect of Nick seeing the creatures….

      Thanks for stopping by. :)

      • Andrea Dorn says:

        I’m pretty sure one of the characters, possibly the aunt, told Nick that they only reveal themselves when they are emotional or out of control. I seem to have that in my head anyway.
        I just love OUAT by the way. It is so much fun trying to figure out who each character is and trying to find the little Easter Eggs left by the producers (those things that were from LOST). I love shows that make you think.

  4. I love the show also but I agree with you… there are some things that they are NOT touching on that is seriously annoying. I get that the captain is like the King Reaper of his town… that was proven when he told the other reaper that he should have bowed to him BUT, how can Grimm not see what he is? And how do the other creatures know he is a Grimm? Some of the creatures get it right off the bat (the fridge repair guy) while others don’t get it until it’s right in there face. Now, I loved the first episode but I gotta admit, I loved the Pied Piper episode with the rat people. That rocked for me~ lol(Pardon the pun). Regardless, I love this show MUCH more than I do OUAT. That show should have already been cancelled. Not only could I feel my brain cells dying a slow & painful death, I could feel myself aging at the rate that show is moving forward. The sad part is that it has a LOT of GREAT actors. They are being tortured on this show I think. Just my opinion though.

    • Christi, the fridge repair man was hilarious! Poor guy. The Pied Piper episode was also great, probably tied with the Three Bears as my next favorites (nice pun, BTW). I also thought the attention to detail with the Pig taking a mud bath was fantastic. The creators have really done a good job with this one; I’m looking forward to more!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. I find Grimm a little bland. It’s mainly because Nick has no personality to speak of. He’s just boring. However, in the last episode I saw, it seemed he perked up a bit. And there were a couple of good lines in that episode (I think they were spoken by Monroe and Hank), and I’ve found good lines lacking in the show most of the time. Still, it’s good enough for us to watch every week. The story lines are good. They just need to do something more exciting with Nick. Monroe is great.

  6. Catie Rhodes says:

    We watched the first 3-4 episodes. Like Ringer, it just didn’t take hold. I don’t know what was wrong, but I just didn’t look forward to watching Grimm. I think this was when we decided to watch Breaking Bad. LOL

    I am running over to Amber’s to see what she thinks of Once Upon a Time. My husband *loves* this show, and we’re still watching it.

  7. Julie Glover says:

    I enjoy Grimm, but not as much as I could. The stories are intriguing, and Nick has great partners with Hank and Monroe. However, I want to see Nick take charge more (like his aunt did?). Too often, I feel like he defers to Monroe. Also, I expected more conflict with the girlfriend as he tries to keep his secret; there’s a treasure trove of story opportunity there. I am waiting to see how they pull out this first season. I’m definitely watching, but not sold out to this series yet. Thanks for covering it, Tiffany. It’s fascinating to see where you are on this show.

  8. classywithatwist says:

    He only sees the beasts when they lose control. That’s why I think he doesn’t see all of them. In the recent episode, with the girl who lived in the tree house, I can see the beginning of an arching story line rather than the villain of the week approach that I was afraid they would do. Luckily I have total faith in David Greenwalt as I am a huge fan of Angel and and Buffy which he was an executive producer for.

  9. Pingback: 12 Baby Steps That Rocked My Writing | Jenny Hansen's Blog

  10. Debra Kristi says:

    I was bummed when I missed the first episode, but I am totally with Tameri now. I am waiting for the whole thing to be on DVD. My husband’s convinced it’s a one season show. We’ll see. Thank for the cool post Tiffany!

  11. Pingback: Blog Treasures 1-7 | Gene Lempp's Blog

  12. Coleen Patrick says:

    I’ve been watching and so far so good. I have to say Eddie the blutbad is my favorite character!

  13. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Where We Are Today… | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

  14. Vonny says:

    I do not understand why monsters fear the Grimms, other than the fact that Grimms hunt monsters, Grimms do not appear to have an advantage over the monsters or exhibit any special talent or magic to give them an edge other than knowledge. What am I missing?

Leave a Reply

