Friday FaBOOolousness – The “Boo” Factor #2

The endearment “Sweet Dreams” changed drastically in 1984 when audiences met Freddy Krueger for the first time.

 

Happy and carefree high school students in Springwood, Ohio transformed overnight into terrified teenagers afraid to fall asleep.  It all started when Tina dreamed of being chased by a horribly burned man wearing a green and red striped sweater, teasing her with his razor-sharp knives in lieu of fingers on his right hand.  Tina escaped his clutches just in time, and woke up with tears in her night-gown.  How can something that occurs in a dream actually happen?

Tina’s best friend, Nancy (Heather Langenkamp), experienced a similar dream the very same night.  Nancy dismissed her nightmare as just that, a nightmare.  Being the good friend that she was, Nancy agreed to spend the night with Tina so that she wouldn’t be alone.  Joining the girls, of course, was Tina’s boyfriend, Rod, and Nancy’s boyfriend, Glen (introducing Johnny Depp, ladies).  Tina fell asleep feeling safe with her friends nearby, and Freddy appeared again; only this time, Freddy didn’t miss slashing Tina with his razor-sharp claws.

Do you remember that scene?  Tina, wearing the oversized, white button down shirt, flailing about, blood spraying everywhere, levitating, crawling on the ceiling, and finally crashing into her bed — dead.  Her boyfriend standing helplessly by, watching an invisible knife slash through his girlfriend, screaming her name, “Tina!” – completely terrified and confused.   

The nightmares continued for Nancy, finally convincing her that she and Tina were dreaming about the same man.  Continuing to have nightmares, Nancy saw the burned man kill Rod; and, later found Rod dead in reality too – just like Tina.

Finally, Nancy’s mother confessed that the man haunting and stalking her in her dreams was Freddy Krueger (Robert Englund) – a child murderer that was burned and killed at the hands of the children’s parents.  Together, Nancy & Glen devised a plan to trap and kill Freddy, but Glen made one fatal mistake – he fell asleep.

Do you remember that scene?  Glen lying on his bed in his midriff jersey t-shirt with his television & gigantic head phones, sinking through the bed as Freddy sucked him in, the blood rushing through the mattress with the velocity of a fire hydrant.

Alone, Nancy battled Krueger to the end, living to see another day; actually, Nancy survived to see another few installments of the Nightmare franchise: Nightmare 3 and New Nightmare.

Do you remember the eerie nursery rhyme?  The little girls dressed in beautiful white baby-doll dresses playing hop-scotch and jumping rope in the parks?

“One, Two, Freddy’s coming for you.

Three, Four, Better lock your door.

Five, Six, Grab your crucifix.

Seven, Eight, Gotta stay up late.

Nine, Ten, Never sleep again.”

Say what you will, that rhyme still spooks me to this very day!  Not to mention the fact that I have a hard time remembering the actual lyrics to the peaceful, children’s song.

Wes Craven created the Nightmare franchise with his horrifying screenplay and his directing brilliance.  Robert Englund may still be recognized today as his character, Freddy Krueger, more than he is as Robert Englund, the actor.

A Nightmare on Elm Street opened the door for nine feature films, including a 2010 remake produced by Michael Bay, Andrew Form, and Brad Fuller.  The original Nightmare will always be great; but, the remake included more of the back-story of Freddy Krueger, and the children he preyed on, making the 2010 film very exciting for a Nightmare-aholic like myself.

Wake Up!

The Nightmare franchise has also featured an array of popular actors over the years in addition to Langenkamp, Englund and Depp, such as Patricia Arquette, Laurence Fishburne, Jason Ritter, Breckin Meyer, and Lochlyn Munro.  Additionally, Rosanne Barr and Tom Arnold appeared briefly in Freddy’s Dead: The Final Nightmare.  The 2010 movie successfully catered to today’s teenage audience by casting the brilliant Jackie Earle Haley as Freddy (in an absolutely FaBOoolous performance assuming the role from Englund), Katie Cassidy (Gossip Girl), Kellan Lutz (The Twilight Movies), Kyle Gallner (Jennifer’s Body), Rooney Mara (The Social Network), and Thomas Dekker (Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles).

Hopefully, the franchise will live on.

Do you believe that if you die in your sleep, will you die in real life?  Do you prefer the 1984 original or the 2010 remake?  Do you fear Freddy, Jason, or Michael more?  What’s your favorite scary movie?   I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in Ooo Factor!, The Boo Factor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Friday FaBOOolousness – The “Boo” Factor #2

  1. Great post. Nightmare will always hold a special place in my heart, as it was the first horror movie I ever watched (#4 The Dream Master…I was 12). And last weekend, my husband banished me from the living room because I wanted to watch the 2010 remake. So I hightailed it upstairs and had my own movie night in bed!

    I can’t say that I loved the remake, but I didn’t dislike it either. There were things I liked about it and as far as remakes go, it wasn’t bad. I did like the backstory that we didn’t get in the original. But I do have to dissagree on one point…I did not care for the new Freddie. I missed Englund…it was a feeling akin to losing an old friend.

    Speaking of Englund, did you see the Bones episode where he plays the high school janitor?

    • Englund will always be Freddie. I was sad to see he didn’t want to participate in the 2010 remake. But, I really did think Guerrero (JEH) did a good job (the new Freddy stars on the Fox show Human Target as Guerrero, every bad guy’s worst nightmare – kinda funny when you think about it).
      I of course saw Englund on Bones wearing his Freddie garb as the school janitor. LOVED it! Of course, I love all Bones episodes. I’m so happy Season 7 is official! Thanks for stopping by, Claudia!

  2. Oooh, Tiffany! I agree the nursery rhyme is spooky. I enjoyed Nightmare on Elm Street quite a bit. I stopped watching the movies after the first three or four but I keep thinking I need to go back and play catch up. Maybe some channel will have a marathon for fans someday.
    As evil as Freddy and Jason are, I still think Michael Myers can whip their, ummn, rears.

    • Michael is NO JOKE!
      If you want a Nightmare marathon, you can get 4 movies on one disc at Best Buy for under $10. I personally think 1, 3, 4, and 5 are the better movies…plus 2010. I liked the remake.
      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Shellie Sakai says:

    I went to see Freddy when the first one came out. I was 17. I left the theater after the first 20 mins. Never watched it again. I am not a horror buff. Don’t like being scared and my imagination is way to wild to watch those kinds of movies. I am not good at leaving it behind.

    So needless to say I saw the title of your post and skipped to the comments. Even your blog scared me!! I might just have to sick my spider on you!

  4. andrewmocete says:

    The most interesting aspect of these movies is the way reality and dream blur together. If your mind perceives it as real, does that make it so? I’ve had dreams of falling and for half a second when I wake up, I’m still in that reality. I’m scared and I have to catch my breath. Could the dream state be so intense it literally killed you? I suppose anything’s possible. Best to think happy thoughts before bed. 😉

  5. Those movies SCARED me sooo bad! I mean nightmares, check under the bed, sleep with every light on in the NEIGHBORHOOD scared! The people I was friends with all raved how amazing it was and I begged my Dad to let me watch it… never again! Now excuse me while I go turn all my lights on and check the shadows! No sleeping for me LOL

  6. Jeff Greene says:

    Always loved Horror movies. Now that the kids are in the teen stage, I don’t get to watch as many as I want to. Jason and Freddy were my fav for awhile. When I was little one movie scared me so much, I refused to sleep on the bed closest to the wall. It was about a creeping hand and I knew that hand was coming through the crank between bed and wall. My fav movies. The first Saw, Scream, Final Destination along with Friday and Nightmare.

  7. angela says:

    This was my favorite movie series of all time. I had 7 different posters of Freddy in my bedroom, dolls, the glove…oh yeah, I was a fan back then.

    Sometimes I’m tempted to rewatch the old ones, but I’m worried that what I found so deliciously terrifying then will just seem cheesy now by today’s special effects standards, so i just live with the memories instead. 🙂

    Angela @ The Bookshelf Muse

    • We rewatched the original when we were preparing to see the 2010 remake – it wasn’t too cheesy. Make some popcorn, light a candle, turn off all of the lights & enjoy! Did you see the 2010 remake?

      Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Pingback: Friday FaBOOolousness – The Boo Factor: The Lost Boys | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

  9. Pingback: What a Line: Creepiest Movie Quotes | Sonia G Medeiros

  10. Pingback: Friday FabOoolousness – The Boo Factor: Dark Shadows | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

Leave a Reply

