Friday FaBOOolousness – The “Boo” Factor – Friday the 13th

Who’s the killer in the original Friday the 13th?

Answering this very question incorrectly cost Drew Barrymore’s character her life in Scream.

It all started in 1980, when innocent camp counselors worked to open an old camp site; a camp that had been closed after a young boy, Jason Voorhees, drowned in the lake.  How did Jason drown?  Two camp counselors that were supposed to watch him decided to have sex instead.  Devastated by her son’s death, Jason’s mother, Mrs. Voorhees took matters into her own hands to ensure the camp didn’t open again — to protect other children from counselors who were more interested in their summer shenanigans than watching the children.  One by one, she stalked the unaware teenagers, placing blame on each of them for her son’s death.  Mrs. Voorhees managed to brutally murder each counselor — all except for one.   Alice managed to escape Mrs. Voorhees’ murderous rampage and turned the tables on the crazed mother.  In what began the true Friday the 13th style, Alice decapitated Mrs. Voorhees’ with a machete.

And then begins the Curse of Camp Crystal Lake.

In Part II, the supposed dead son of Mrs. Voorhees, is actually an adult, and very much alive.  Following in his mother’s footsteps, Jason slaughters Alice, his mother’s murderer, and returns to Camp Crystal Lake.  He lives in peace, until years later more teenagers arrive to open the camp — BIG mistake.

Part III picks up right where II ended, and is crucial to the series.  Why?  Jason finds a hockey mask, the hockey mask, to cover his disfigured faceJason continues to slice through dozens of teenagers over the years, proving he’s invincible along the way.

 

The series continues with: Part IV:  The Final Chapter, Part V: A New Beginning, Part VI: Jason Lives, Part VII: The New Blood, Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan, Part IX: Jason Goes to Hell: The Final Friday, and Part X: Jason X.  With twelve feature films and a television series, Friday the 13th is considered one of the most successful franchises in movie history.

 Twenty-three years later, the franchise continued with a match-up that fans had been talking about for years: Freddy vs. Jason.  The battle of the century takes place in both Freddy’s dream world, and Jason’s home, Camp Crystal Lake, with only one victor.  Or was there?

In 2009, Friday the 13th was reborn again.  The newest installment featured popular television stars for the new teenage audience:  Jared Padalecki (Sam Winchester, Supernatural), Amanda Righetti (Grace Van Pelt, The Mentalist), and Danielle Panabaker (Julie Stark, Shark).  The film didn’t disappoint this Friday fan, and had classic elements of the older versions — most recognizably, Jason’s resurrection after being buried in the water, from which he rises and grabs a survivor before the screen fades to black.  Did you jump?

In addition to the machete and the hockey mask, what is the other most famous element of Friday the 13th and Jason Voorhees?

Ki ki ki, ma ma ma – The dreadful, eerie, creepy music.  There have been many debates over what the actual sounds of the Jason music are.  The ‘ki’ sound comes from the word ‘kill’ and the ‘ma’ sound from “mommy’; a line in the original movie spoken by Mrs. Voorhees in her child’s voice, “Kill her mommy!”

Unknown actors are often cast in slasher films early in their careers.  The Friday franchise is no different.  Who are two very famous Friday alums today?

Kevin Bacon (I)

Corey Feldman (IV and V)

Jason Voorhees remains one of the most frightening characters today.  He’s gigantic, has super strength, obtains supernatural abilities, and isn’t afraid to kill.  He always has his machete, but he will also never shy away from bows and arrows, spears, pitchforks or chainsaws: anything that will cut right through his victims.

Despite all the death, someone always manages to escape Jason’s clutches.  Wanna know the secret, kids?  I’ll give you a hint – the same rules apply from the movie Scream.  Don’t believe me?  Watch & see!

Do you think of Jason when you go camping? Will you ever send your child to a summer camp on Crystal Lake?  Who do you think is stronger and more dangerous – Jason or Michael Myers from the Halloween franchise?  Which Friday movie was your favorite & why? I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in Ooo Factor!, The Boo Factor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Friday FaBOOolousness – The “Boo” Factor – Friday the 13th

  1. Glenn Rogers says:

    Excellent! Jason would be proud. And then he would kill you…

  2. K.B. Owen says:

    I was getting Halloween and Friday the 13th confused! Not much of a horror fan, but Halloween was really good. Never saw the Friday the 13th series of films, though. Teenagers having sex=chopped up by serial killer.

    Perfect post for today!

  3. I don’t know WHY I love Friday the 13th and Halloween 1 through 1000! I am a totally non-violent person but for some reason I LOVE to be scared to death while watching a flick. And YES I jumped when Jason came out of the water. The most scared I’ve ever been was during the very first Halloween when Michael Myers was trying to get to Jamie Lee Curtis through the levelors in her closet – EEEK! Thanks for the post. I’d almost forgotten what day it was!
    Patti

    • You are my kind of girl, Patti! I don’t care what day of the week or what time it is, I want to find a good slasher on the TV to watch…and inevitably scare myself! LOL 🙂

  4. Terrell Mims says:

    Freddy vs. Jason. Sure, it wasn’t the best, but it was Freddy vs. Jason.

  5. Jenny Hansen says:

    I am so afraid of horror films. My husband laughs at me but I can’t watch them…I get too scared.

    I have a hard time with any of the fright night sort of things. When that chainsaw guy pops out of nowhere at the haunted house, you do NOT want to be standing next to me! I WILL throw you in front of me and run screaming. Not intentionally, it’s just an automatic reaction.

  6. catierhodes says:

    My favorite Friday was the series, which had nothing in common with the movies, other than the name.

    Recently SciFi–or one of those channels–played a few of the old Friday the Thirteenth the Series episodes. They are sort of cheesy when you look at some of the better modern scary shows, but you can sort of see some of the history of the genre being created. A lot of what we take for granted now in terms of story line or character development was cutting edge back then.

    As for thinking of Jason when I go camping, nope. I always think of him when I’m driving back and forth between my hometown and where I now live. There’s this rest stop where I always make a pitstop. When I’m in that concrete building alone, listening to water drip…ki, ki, ki, ma, ma, ma.

    Nothing has ever happened, but I have a good enough imagination to have myself scared before I get back in my Catie-mobile and make tracks.

    • Catie, I am terrified of the ma & pa stops out in the middle of nowhere on the desolate Texas roads. They are inevitably in old, decrepit buildings and you’re right – the water drips!! I look under the stalls and hurry my little tail off! LOL

      Thanks for stopping by!

  7. I don’t worry about going to camp but let me go swimming in a lake or rock quarry? I can feel something brushing up against my legs everytime. Yikes! I make it a point these days to swim somewhere I can see the bottom.

    Oh and Michael Myers still kicks butt!

  8. david7118 says:

    I’ve seen all the Freddy, Jason, and MIchael films. I’ve even watched all the Friday the 13th movies in the theater including #3 which was shown in 3d! Having said that I’m giving the nod as to the best of the three to Jason. None of the others keep coming back like he does so many times.

  9. REscarcega says:

    Scary stuff! My favorites are the 1st original 13th & Halloween. The unknown factor of the beginning stories was exciting and frightening. I think I’ll Netflix them this week!

    Great post as usual! 😉

  10. Pingback: Friday FaBOOolousness – The Boo Factor: The Lost Boys | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

Leave a Reply

