Friday FabOoolousness – Robert B. Parker’s Jesse Stone

Remember the television series, Spenser: for Hire, starring Robert Urich as the crime fighting private detective who loved to cook alongside Julia Child? And his best friend, Hawk, played by Avery Brooks?  I can still hear Hawk’s voice as he called out Spenser’s name in his extra Hawk-like syllables, “Spen-saaaar.”  The hit show was adapted from the bestselling novels written by Robert B. Parker, and the novel and TV show’s success in the 1980s paved the way for four Spenser made-for-television movies in the 1990s.

In 1997, Robert B. Parker published the first in yet another series of nine bestselling novels featuring a new protagonist: Jesse Stone.

Night Passage (1997)

Trouble in paradise (1998)

Death in Paradise (2001)

Stone Cold (2003)

Sea Change (2006)

High Profile (2007)

Stranger in Paradise (2008)

Night and Day (2009)

Split Image (2010, published posthumously)

Before his death in January 2010, Parker saw television success again with his second adaptation: a made-for-television movie series, with none other than the great Tom Selleck portraying Jesse Stone.

Jesse leads a troubled life: he’s a former baseball star who quit playing due to an injury; his marriage to a movie-star, Jenn Stone, failed; he’s a disgraced former homicide detective fired from the force because of his drinking problem; and, now he’s the Police Chief in the small town of Paradise near Boston, despite having interviewed for the position while drunk.

The small town of Paradise grows on Jesse, and he works diligently to solidify his small police force (Deputy Suitcase: nicknamed after Jesse’s favorite baseball player “Suitcase” Simpson, and Molly: loyal policewoman, mother, and wife), and eliminates the big-city crime that has forced its way into the otherwise quiet community.  He not only battles the bad guys, but he constantly teeters back and forth with his own personal demons: his ex-wife, alcoholism and depression.

Tom Selleck was first introduced as Jesse Stone by CBS in 2005.  CBS started the TV movies with Stone Cold, the fourth book in Parker’s series, and then back-tracked with a prequel the very next year:

Stone Cold (2005)

Jesse Stone: Night Passage (2006)

 Jesse Stone: Death in Paradise (2006)

Jesse Stone: Sea Change (2007)

Similar to most adaptations, the television movies differ slightly from the novels.  For example, in the books, Parker writes Jesse’s character in his mid 30s, but Tom plays Jesse as bit older on TV.  Also, in the televised Night Passage, Jesse is not drunk in his Paradise Police Chief interview, he’s only miserably hung-over from drinking the night before.  Another difference on CBS’s adaptation of Stone Cold, Jesse finds the murder victim’s dog at the scene of the crime.  Jesse adopts the dog, and the dog and Jesse share a close relationship throughout the rest of the movies.  In the novels, Jesse never has a dog.  Minor details though, right?

 

The remaining Jesse Stone television specials were not adapted from Parker’s novels, but writers Tom Selleck and Michael Brandman remain true to Parker’s Paradise and his flawed main character.

Jesse Stone: Thin Ice (2009)

Jesse Stone: No Remorse (2010)

The television movies are packed with familiar faces.  Selleck and Brandman introduced a new member of Jesse’s team in Thin Ice: the fabOoolous Kathy Bates as Rose.  Other recognizable actors frequent the movies in cameo roles such as Stephen McHattie as Captain Healy, William DeVane as Dr. Dix, Saul Rubinek as Hasty Hathaway, and William Sadler as mob-boss, Gino Fish.

 

Robert B. Parker was quoted saying, “Tom nails the character.”  Selleck is Stone; Selleck delivers Jesse’s dry, matter-of-fact one-liners perfectly, and always portrays the best television detective (who will ever forget Selleck as Thomas Magnum in Magnum P.I.), and police officer (he does it again as Francis Regan in Blue Bloods).  Tom Selleck gets better with age, doesn’t he?

This Sunday, May 22nd, Tom Selleck returns to CBS in Jesse Stone: Innocents Lost.  Check it out!

What are some of your favorite novels that have been adapted to television or the big screen? Did the adaptation stay true to the book, or did they stray?  Will Tom Selleck always be Thomas Magnum, or are you warming up to him as Jesse Stone?  Which actor and/or actress do you imagine as a character in the novels that you read – and why?  I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in Authors, Novels and Books, Ooo Factor! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Friday FabOoolousness – Robert B. Parker’s Jesse Stone

  1. K.B. Owen says:

    I love Robert Parker, but never read his Jesse Stone series. Spenser was my guy; read every one. Maybe I’ll give it a try! Thanks for the background info – really interesting! As far as a fave tv or film adaptation, that’s a tough one…some of the Jane Austen adaptations have been really good, esp. on PBS.

  2. Jen Kirchner says:

    My husband and I are voraciously reading all of Robert B. Parker’s Spencer books right now! They are AWESOME. The downside is, my husband is my editor and that’s what he’s measuring me against. lol

    • Jen, I have a few back issues of the Jesse Stone novels to read….but then I’m heading to Half Price Books to buy as many of the Spenser novels as possible! Is your husband an editor, or does he just edit his darling wife? 🙂 Thanks for stopping by & commenting!

  3. catierhodes says:

    I’ll never get over Tom Selleck’s short shorts in Magnum P.I. The horror, the horror. He will always be Magnum to me.

    My favorite based on a book series swings between True Blood and Dexter. Though I swore I wouldn’t, I love the changes Alan Ball made to Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse series. .

    • Catie, I haven’t read the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris, but one day….BTW, Magnum shorts were iconic in the 80s, and unfortunately too many men tried to pull them off! Thanks for stopping by & commenting!

  4. I haven’t seen the movies or show but I’m going to watch them. I miss Magnum, P.I and Tom Selleck seems to be a genuinely nice guy. I love the clumsy stories he tells on himself.

    • Hey Ms. Curiocat! Selleck is dreamy….he gets better looking with age. He’s like a fine wine. Thanks for stopping by!

      • Finally got to see the first three Jesse Stone movies on HMC. They were great. Can’t wait to see the rest of them. I haven’t read the books but I might take a peek at them now.

        Tom Selleck is excellent in these movies. I never once thought of Magnum while watching, until now. Lol. Thanks for bringing them to my attention.

  5. Pooh says:

    LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Tom Selleck and Jesse Stone!!!! We are ready for the new one!

  6. Claudia says:

    Ooohh, thanks for the update! (guess why this blog is called the Ooo Factor huh?) I’m tuning in on Sunday!

    I think my favorite adaptation is Bones. Even though the show doesn’t follow the books, I love that Kathy Reichs writes novels about Temperance Brennan and Temperance Brennan writes novels about a protag named Kathy Reichs.

    And while I love watching True Blood, I’m not a fan of the changes. Namely, Tara. I’m not a fan and I wish they’d kill her off already…there’s been dozens of opportunities. (Is that too snarky?)

    • Claudia, did you watch Jesse Stone? Kathy Reich doesn’t have Booth in her books,does she? He’s my favorite part of Bones! I totally agree about Tara – I’m hoping she is very different in season 4 or off with her head! Thanks for stopping by & commenting!

  7. OK, this series on your blog may make me cry for the great TV I keep missing! MAGNUM introduced me to my dream car, the Ferrari that Magnum drove (courtesy of Higgins) and one of the great revelations of my life was hearing that Tom Selleck chose the Magnum role over Indiana Jones. What does that say about my life? Can I get any of these on DVD, Tiff?

    • Hey, Damian! Do you have Redbox rental machines in Canada? I know that you can rent the Jesse Stone movies on Redbox here in the states. You should definitely check it out! Thanks for stopping by & leaving a comment!

  8. Malita Jones says:

    Remember how the black guy used to say “Spensahhh” loved that – also Tom Selleck will be my #1 crush till the day I die, I’ll have to check this series out.

  9. Malita Jones says:

    Ok edit – I just noticed the first line you talk about the spensahh thing – sorry my fault for multi tasking

Leave a Reply

