Friday FabOoolousness – The Titter Factor: Caddyshack

Who doesn’t love to laugh? We all know the old proverb: Laughter is the best medicine, right?

I recall hearing a statistic once that babies and children laugh, on average, hundreds of times a day; whereas, adults only laugh enough times to count on their fingers and toes (assuming they have close to all twenty).  Isn’t that sad?

You can fake an orgasm, but you can’t fake laughter. ~Bob Dylan

Laughter is an instant vacation. ~Milton Berle

When people are laughing, they’re generally not killing each other. ~Alan Alda

One of my favorite board games, Whatzit, has a “Wicked Whatzit” card perfect for The Titter Factor:

Ha, Ha…Ho, Ho…He, He, Hee? What the heck does that mean?

Have you figured it out? This game will drive you mad!  Hang tight; the answer is at the end of the post.

We personally love to laugh in our household, and lately we have the tendency to watch funny movies over any other kind (well, besides horror).

What’s the first movie that made you laugh your butt off?  Forget about the cartoons, etc; what’s the first comedy you remember falling in love with?

For me, it’s Caddyshack.  Granted, as a child, I thought the movie was funny because of the laughing and dancing gopher, and the floating “doodie” in the pool (right, right, it was a Baby Ruth candy bar).

But now as an adult (and I only admit that on rare occasions) I have a deeper appreciation for the humor behind the fabOoolous performances of the great comedic actors (Rodney Dangerfield, Bill Murray, Chevy Chase, Ted Knight, and Michael O’Keefe just to name a few) and the fabOoolous writing of Harold Ramis, Brian Doyle-Murray, and Douglas Kenney.

Last year, the Biography channel aired Caddyshack: The Inside Story and filled the two-hour episode with tons of fun facts about the production behind one of the best comedies of all time.

  • Caddyshack is loosely based on the Murray brothers’ (Bill Murray, Brian Doyle-Murray, and John Murray) childhood working as caddies at an Illinois country club.  Besides living the story, somewhat anyway, all three Murray brothers also played a role in the movie: Bill Murray as the forever fabOoolous greens-keeper Carl Spackler, Brian Doyle-Murray as the head caddy Lou Loomis, and John Murray as a caddy extra.
  • Caddyshack was filmed at the only golf course in Florida that would have them, which also happened to be the only golf course without palm trees (since the movie was supposed to be set in the Mid-West).  The actors and crew lived at an on-site dormitory, paving the way for all night parties, every night.
  • Caddyshack was only Rodney Dangerfield’s second motion picture role.  Isn’t that hard to believe?
  • Bill Murray did not have a speaking role in the original script, but his sensational improvisational skills grabbed the camera’s attention and they filmed endless footage.
  • The original script didn’t have one single scene with the two biggest stars – Chevy Chase (Ty Webb) and Bill Murray.  Up until this point, the studio executives let the young director, Harold Ramis, run free with the taping of his movie, but the Hollywood types finally intervened and insisted that the two Saturday Night Live stars have at least one scene together.  Nervous because of an alleged fist fight back-stage at SNL, Ramis stuck the two comedians in front of the camera for the now famous scene when Ty’s golf ball crashes through Carl’s shack.
  • The explosion at the end of the movie was not approved by the golf course administration.  What a surprise! Thinking on their feet, Ramis and the producers thanked the golf course staff with an off-site luncheon to celebrate the final day of filming; while the owners and trustees were away, the film crew blew up the course anyway.
  • The gopher was not a part of the movie until after the filming was complete.  John Dykstra, famous for his special effects in Star Wars, incorporated the gopher at the last-minute.  The gopher sound effects were the same as Flipper’s sound effects.  Yea, the dolphin.  Who knew that a gopher and dolphin shared the same voice?

C’mon, are you singing “I’m Alright” by Kenny Loggins this very second?  You’re wiggling around in your chair doing the Gopher-Dance too, aren’t you? I thought so!  Me too….

What’s your favorite Caddyshack moment?  Which actor do you feel stole the show? Did you ever pull the “doodie” trick on anyone in a swimming pool near you?  Which of the movie-fun-facts listed above surprises you the most? What other comedies would you like to see on The Titter Factor?  I’d love to hear from you!

Now for the answer to the “Wicked Whatzit” card…make sense now?

LMAO…it gets me every time!

This entry was posted in Ooo Factor!, The Titter Factor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Friday FabOoolousness – The Titter Factor: Caddyshack

  1. Caddyshack is one of those films I saw years ago, enjoyed and just haven’t seen since. If tonight wasn’t ‘Drive the kids all over the neighbourhood” night, it would be “DVD and beer night” and we could rent Caddyshack and kick back. Alas!

  2. Jeff Greene says:

    What’s the first movie that made you laugh your butt off?
    The one that sticks in my mind the most is Porky’s

    The TV Show that I laugh at, atleast once a show is
    “Who’s line is it anyway?” The American one.

  3. wosushi says:

    I am indeed, singing Kenny Loggins. Later, when I don’t want to laugh, I’ll shift to “Pooh Corner” and cry.

    I’m old school (though not old) when it comes to movies I remember as a kid that made me laugh. I love all things The Marx Brothers. And “The Court Jester” with Danny Kaye. (And lots more.)

    Looking forward to more of “The Titter Factor!” 🙂

  4. david7118 says:

    I love Ted Knight so any scene with him I love. But the Baby Ruth scene is a definite classic. While I’ve never pulled the trick I think I might have to the next time I’m swimming at my sister’s house. She’ll kill me but it’ll be so worth it. And while I love Caddyshack I enjoy What’s Up Doc? even more. It’s a 1972 film with Barbra Streisand and Ryan O’Neal and is a throwback to films like Bringing Up Baby. It’s also got Madeline Kahn in her first starring role and one of the best chase scenes through the streets of San Francisco. I’ve seen the movie countless times and I laugh every time. Also good are Blazing Saddles, Airplane, Shaun of the Dead, And Now For Something Completely Different, and Clerks I and II.

  5. Buddy Gott says:

    I love Caddyshack! All of the actors in it were great, but I especially like Ted Knight in it. I love the part where he’s in a lousy mood and he sees some of the club’s members just sitting around and he says, “Don’t you people have homes?” Not so funny to read here, but Ted’s delivery of all his lines was awesome.

    And yes, I have “I’m Alright” stuck in my head right now.

  6. K.B. Owen says:

    Okay, trying hard to get that song out of my head….

    Thanks for a cool post, Tiffany!

  7. Catie Rhodes says:

    For me, it’s never the comedies that really make me laugh. I laugh at things that come out of the blue in an otherwise serious situation. The first time I remember really “getting” a joke and laughing hard at it was at Eddie Macon’s Run (1983).

    The premise is pretty simple. John Schneider/Eddie Macon is sent to prison on a trumped up charge and decides to escape. He trains each day, running on the prison track. One day, he just runs away. The whole movie is about the obstacles he encounters while trying to rendezvous with his wife and son in El Paso so they can cross the Mexican border together.

    The funny part: Eddie (John Schneider) is captured by some drunk rednecks. They decide to hang him in their living room. The stupid chick (because there’s always one) says, “This’ll always be the room we hanged somebody in.”

    My daddy and I still say that to each other and howl.

    Future twitter factor: Detroit Rock City

  8. Julie Glover says:

    I remember laughing it up big time with Caddyshack. It’s a classic!

    Other movies that make me laugh over and over include A Fish Called Wanda, Young Frankenstein, This Is Spinal Tap, and Dr. Strangelove. Can you tell I have a quirky sense of humor?!!!

  9. Jenny Hansen says:

    Oh, yeah, Julie…A Fish Called Wanda is a classic Titter Factor! I love the scenes where Jaimie Lee Curtis gets turned on with Kevin Klein saying “Rigatoni, Linguini” (and any other pasta he can name).

    The earliest movie I can remember to make me laugh hysterically was History of the World, Part II. Something about all that slapstick humor…oh, and Madeline Khan’s Quick Time Harch. THAT’S a classic!

    I’m also with Caitie that humor in the middle of dark films slays me – Pulp Fiction wins the all time award for that one. Lines like, “Do you see a sign over my garage that says ‘Dead (really foul word) storage?’ or (paraphrasing Christopher Walken) “So I carried this watch up my a$$, for you” should NOT be funny. But they are in the context of that movie.

    But the current funny movie, the one that makes me snort out whatever happens to be in my mouth at the time, is Elf with Will Farrell. It gets me every time. I am always entertained by My Cousin Vinnie as well.

  10. Pamela Mason says:

    I love Bill Murray. He’s so terrific in all the dramas he acts in too.
    And I love Chevy Chase… loved him in the National Lampoon movies, especially the Christmas one.
    I can’t remember the earliest titter factor movie for me, but for my kids it was
    Mr.Bean.
    Everything about that movie made my kids laugh ’til coke came out their nose. I had to make them promise to not give the finger to anybody… they’d find out why when they were older.
    I can’t believe I said that to them…

    • Hey, Pamela! Thank you for stopping by! the National Lampoon movies are great…even some of the newer, raunchy ones like Van Wilder. Nothing will beat Animal House and the Griswalds though….

  11. amyshojai says:

    I love “Best In Show” — and “Waiting for Guffman” and and and…Caddy Shack is kewl, too. Laughing is one of my favorite things…and the fur-kids help a bunch. Great post!

  12. Catching up on blogs today. Loved this. Caddyshack fan here. Loved how Bill Murray talked to the gopher about how he didn’t see/notice the little plastic explosive devices. Great backstory. You can see it happening, too. The “boom” with dessert. Thanks!

  13. You know I can’t remember the first movie that really made me laugh. The shower scene in Porky’s comes to mind but it’s not first, the candy bar in the pool from Caddyshack cracked me up. This is killing me, I’ll have to think about it. I do like slapstick though. Home Alone makes me laugh everytime.

    • Hey, Angela ~ Porky’s is a good one….my 14 year old nephew discovered Home Alone not too long ago on the movie channels and laughed his rear off. Of course, he thought it was an “old” movie. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  14. OK, now I feel weird, I’ve never seen Caddyshack. I’ve seen clips, heard bits, but never seen the whole thing. My early laughing days came from Blazing Saddles, The Goodies (TV), Futtocks End (a whole show with only grunts and groans instead of words).
    But I’m with you. Grown up don’t laugh enough, and much of what they do laugh at is obvious stuff, blatant to the point that there’s almost a bell to ring when you’re supposed to laugh.
    I’ll have to go see if Caddyshack is on netflix 🙂
    Cheers

  15. Terrell Mims says:

    For me, it was Ghostbusters.

  16. I’m late to comment on this one and what a great post I missed last Friday!

    Caddyshack is definitely one of my favorites, along with Sixteen Candles, Weird Science, Revenge of the Nerds, and Porky’s (my parent’s never seemed to monitor my television habits as a kid).

    Since both the hubby and I communicate via movie quotes, we actually did the a Caddyshack quote while we were in the wave pool in Vegas. I dropped my brown hair clip in the water and in unison cried, “DOODIE!”

    • Claudia! I think I was at the wavepool when that happend! We all had to exit for the “biohazard”. Okay, so maybe it wasn’t at the same time, but that really did happen last July in Vegas. 🙂

  17. I think for me it was Abbott and Costello in black and white reruns on television. I used to really love those as a kid.

Leave a Reply

