Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Just Teen TV?

About a month ago, Amber West approached me and suggested we join forces to share more of our love of television with our friends and family.

More TV?  You don’t have to ask me twice!

So, after a few weeks of preparation, we’d like to welcome everyone to our first installment of Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday.  Each week, we’ll each take one television show and provide a mini-review with our readership.  Sometimes we’ll compare and contrast, other times we’ll write separate posts covering two different shows – like today. 

We’ve also created a fun ratings chart for each post – can anyone tell what was on our mind when we hashed out these details?  My other favorite thing: FOOD!

GTV (Gourmet TV): Everything we want and more

MacTV (MacNCheese TV): Guilty pleasure. Not perfect, but is satisfies

JFTV (Junk food TV): It’s not great for us, but we’ll go back for seconds

SSTV (Still Simmering TV): It has potential, but the jury is still out

LOTV (Liver&Onions TV): Do we really have to explain? Blech

And now, to the main event: Teen Wolf, MTV

On an earlier Tele-Tuesday post, I introduced MTV’s new series: Teen Wolf.  We all remember the 1985 comedy starring Michael J. Fox, right?  MTV promised to take the generalized idea behind Teen Wolf, but compared their story to a transformed version with a darker side, similar to the CW’s The Vampire Diaries.

First, a few similarities:

MTV's Teen Wolf - Scott McCall

In 1985, Michael J. Fox played Scott Howard; today, Tyler Posey plays Scott McCall.

In 1985, Scott Howard’s best friend was an oddball named Stiles; today, Scott McCall’s best friend is an awkward oddball named Stiles.

In 1985, Scott Howard wasn’t the best basketball player on the team, not until he transformed into his wolf-self; today, Scott McCall isn’t anywhere close to the best lacrosse player on the squad, until he endures the cursed bite, that is.

Now, to a few differences:

1985's Teen Wolf - Scott Howard

In 1985, Scott Howard suffered from a family curse, a long line of male werewolves that sometimes skipped a generation; today, Scott McCall is bitten by a werewolf while out in the woods searching for the remains of a dead girl with his best friend. 

In 1985, Scott Howard show-boats around as his wolf-self; today, Scott McCall works desperately to keep his curse secret from everyone, excluding his BFF, Stiles.

In 1985, audiences laughed along with Scott Howard in Teen Wolf; today, viewers and Scott McCall cringe as another person in the community is brutally attacked by an animal.

I’ll be honest; MTV’s Teen Wolf has pleasantly surprised me.  The show’s claim to focus on the mythology of the werewolf, and the darkness of the curse, has been an accurate, so far. 

Episode three (aired Monday, June 13th) introduced the idea of the alpha and beta wolf.  Scott McCall and Derek Hale (played by Tyler Hoechlin from 7th Heaven) are beta wolves; an alpha is the strongest, most powerful, and the most deadly kind of werewolf.  An Alpha bit Scott, and wants Scott to join the Alpha’s pack.  The conflict here?  This Alpha is obviously a nasty and horrible werewolf, and Scott wants nothing to do with this violent lifestyle.  Will Derek help him?  Or is Derek setting Scott up?

We also saw our first werewolf on werewolf fight scene in episode three.  While it wasn’t as exciting as a Salvatore brother fight (Yes, I’m talking about Stefan and Damon, ladies!), it was a nice twist away from the typical nerdy high school boy who wants to lead a normal life and date the beautiful new girl (Allison Argent played by Crystal Reed) storyline that’s also a large element to MTV’s Teen Wolf

Need more conflict? Did I mention that Scott’s dream girl’s father is the lead hunter out to kill the werewolves in the area?  And let’s not forget that Scott’s humiliation of “top-jock” Jackson Whittemore (played by Colton Haynes from The Gates) on the lacrosse field now drives Jackson to discover exactly what Scott is hiding. 

After three weeks of viewing, I give MTV’s Teen Wolf a MacTV rating; it’s definitely a guilty pleasure.  It’s not perfect, but it satisfies. 

What do you think?  Do you prefer the 1985 comedy or the newer, darker version of Teen Wolf?  Is Derek a good wolf, or is he setting Scott up?  Will Allison follow in her father’s footsteps and train to hunt werewolves?  How will Allison react when she learns Scott’s secret?  I’d love to hear from you!

Now, remember to click over and read Amber’s post discussing the new series Switched at Birth on ABC Family. 

Are you on twitter?  Stop by the twitter hashtag (#watchwed) and visit with us about today’s posts and any of today’s television shows that you’d like to see discussed on our series in the future.

This entry was posted in Watch it? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Just Teen TV?

  1. wosushi says:

    Even though this isn’t my type of show, it’s interesting to see MTV putting out non-reality programming that might be worth a watch.

    • What’s up, Partner in Crime? I’m pleased with MTV on this. They air so much junk (I’m excluding the Real World/Road Rules challenges because I’m ADDICTED to those), and I really think that Teen Wolf could actually make it on the CW. Maybe not during the fall months, but it’s a definite summer pleasure.

  2. Pooh says:

    Love the ratings chart. Pooh

  3. You already know my thoughts on this show! I think it’s definitely worth a watch — especially while Vampire Diaries is taking its usual summer break — but I think they could’ve picked a better, hotter leading man than Tyler Posey. I would’ve liked to see Derek Hale as the leading man, but I also like him as the big, bad wolf, too! 😉

    I think the love story is a little forced, too. I’m not really buying it. Hopefully it’ll develop better as the show goes on. The bowling scene was cute, though, I’ve gotta admit that.

    Can you tell I’m an overly critical TV watcher? 😉

    • ASHLEY! So glad you stopped by. 🙂

      If Tyler Posey was “hotter”, would we believe he was an awkward nerd before the cursed bite? I definitely think that I’ll enjoy Derek as a “bad wolf”….he’s my summer-Damon.

      A bit of the story is forced, but it’s early and TV usually does this to try and hook the viewer. I don’t think you’re overly critical. 🙂

  4. Jess Witkins says:

    Well you had me already at “similar to Vampire Diaries.” Does Teen Wolf has a love angle in it too? I don’t remember the original as well. Have you seen that show Being Human? I’ve been curious about it. The one where a vampire, werewolf, and ghost room together during college. It sounds like a guilty pleasure I’m not sure I need, have you watched it?

    • Hi, Jess! Yes, Teen Wolf has a love angle – Scott has the hots for the new, beautiful girl and the “jock” is dating the school’s “Queen-B”, who’s now showing interest in Scott…just a bit, anyway.

      We have watched the American SYFY version of Being Human, although we have some catching up to do. A vampire and werewolf move into a house that’s haunted by a ghost. The ghost died while living there months earlier with her fiance and her spirit is “stuck”. The vamp & wolf help her and the three continue to live together. The vamp is a good guy, but of course he has a dark side…it’s not a bad show although I’ve heard the British version is better. You should check out just a few episodes to see what you think. Let me know!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. I’ve only watched the first episode and it was okay. I got the sense the writers were given one episode to get the main characters to a certain point so the story could move in the direction they planned. Many forced scenes, but plenty of shows need a few episodes to get rolling. From what you described maybe it’s happening. I’ll check out some more.

    • Hey, Andrew! I agree that TV today often times jam-packs the first episode and it’s usually too much. That’s one reason why I stick it out with multiple episodes before removing from the DVR schedule. Check out a few more and let me know what you think. It’s no Vampire Diaries, but it’s a nice summer replacement. Thanks for stopping by!

  6. I didn’t realize there were #watchwed on both blogs or I would have read this yesterday. Oops. I’m not fond of teen wolf or werewolves in general, but if I had to choose I would choose the comedic one over the dark one. If I have to watch some scary element I like some humor. I’m this way with vampires and other super natural beings as well.

    • Hey, Melissa! Thanks for stopping by! It’s just our first week of #watchwed so everyone is getting used to the blog hop back and forth. If you don’t like werewolves, hopefully you’ll like our posts this week (Nine Lives of Chloe King & Pretty Little Liars) 🙂

  7. Suzan says:

    I haven’t really been able to watch a whole lot of TV lately but I was definitely interested in Teen Wolf, purely for the nostalgia factor. While I know it’s nothing like the 1985 version, I’ll probably still watch to compare the two.

    • Hi, Suzan! Are a Vampire Diaries fan? If so, I think you’ll be pleased with Teen Wolf. It’s not as good as VD, but it’s a fun way to pass the summer months. Thanks for stopping by! Chuck rules….

  8. I loved the comedy as a kid, but I’m really enjoying this darker series although not as much as Vampire Diaries! Can’t wait for the new season!

  9. Amanda Rudd says:

    Okay, I seriously LOVE your rating system! Utter brilliance.

  10. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Where We Are Today… | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

Leave a Reply

