Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Unconventional Courtroom Fun

Welcome to this week’s Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday where Amber West and I channel surf over to TNT.

As I mentioned on an earlier Tele-Tuesday post, TNT hosts some of the hottest summer programming on television today, and the network once again hit one out of the ball park with the new dramedy Franklin & Bash

 “We’re Totally Lawyers” – doesn’t that sound exactly like something the “grown-up” Zach Morris or Travis Birkenstock would say?  

“As if” – who doesn’t totally love Saved by the Bell and Clueless? “Whatever!”

Now I can’t get “Rollin With My Homies” out of my head!

Now back to today’s post – As we learned in last week’s episode, Jared Franklin (Breckin Meyer) and Peter Bash (Mark-Paul Gosselaar) have been friends since high school.  The series begins with the two sitting at a diner watching the traffic in Los Angeles while they banter back and forth when suddenly a fender-bender takes place directly in front of them.  Racing out to the scene, they immediately offer their business cards and legal representation to the driver responsible for rear-ending another car. 

Why is the driver not responsible for the crash when he clearly bumped into the car in front of his?  Franklin and Bash explain that it is because the driver was distracted by the interactive advertising sign yards ahead flashing images of a sexy young woman. 

The young and unconventional attorneys take the case to court and after prompting the beautiful girl in the ad to unbutton her shirt while on the witness stand, thus proving her chest to be guilty of causing an unnecessary distraction to those driving, they win the case against a large and successful law firm.

Witnessing and enjoying the unique techniques of Franklin and Bash, Stanton Infeld (played by Malcolm McDowell) offers the two friends jobs at Infeld Daniels, where he is the senior partner.  Along with their ex-con assistant, Carmen, and their agoraphobic clerk, Pindar, the two join the firm.

Meanwhile, the obvious successor to his uncle, Damien Karp (played by Reed Diamond) takes a disliking to Franklin and Bash and does his best to discredit their antics – but his uncle loves it saying repeatedly that the two remind him of himself when he was younger. 

Further infuriating Damien, Franklin beds Hanna Linden (Garcelle Beauvais, former NYPD Blue cast mate of Gosselaar), another lawyer working at the firm almost immediately.  Why does this bother Damien? Hanna is Damien’s ex. 

We’re only three episodes in, but so far we’ve enjoyed each episode.  Meyer and Gosselaar have great comedic timing and a perfect on-screen chemistry.  Franklin and Bash live together, party together, and work together, yet never seem to tire of one another.  Their famous “Margarita-Monday’s” have already saved one of their cases and provided them the vision to defend another case successfully. 

I’m giving Franklin & Bash another MacTV rating.  It doesn’t quite qualify for the GTV rating that I’d give Justified, Burn Notice, or Bones, but it also doesn’t sit long on my DVR making it a tad better than JFTV. 

I’ve started playing a game with each new episode – how many of Gosselaar’s former TV co-stars will land a guest role on Franklin & BashWanna play?  So far, I’ve already mentioned Garcelle Beauvais…..can you name another?  

Tune in tonight for a new Franklin & Bash on TNT. 

What do you think of Franklin & Bash?  Did you enjoy the butt scene in the first episode, or was it too much?  What do you think of Franklin and Bash’s courtroom antics – are they believable, or would they never happen in real-life?  I’d love to hear from you!

Now, click over and check out Amber’s review of TNT’s Men of a Certain Age starring Scott Bakula, Ray Romano, and one of my favorites, Andrew Braugher. 

Remember to stop by the Twitter hashtag (#watchwed) and visit with us about today’s posts and any of today’s television shows that you’d like to see discussed on our series in the future.  Next week we discuss police dramas: Lifetime’s The Protector and TNT’s Memphis Beat.

This entry was posted in Watch it? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Unconventional Courtroom Fun

  1. I just got in on a little of this show because my husband was watching it. It was hilarious. I loved it.

    I can’t wait to see what you think of Memphis Beat next week. I love the show, and I would watch it just to hear Jason Lee sing.

    • My guy enjoys F&B quite a bit too – it definitely has male humor.

      So happy to hear you’re a Memphis Beat fan too! I love Jason Lee – some of his 90s movies are my faves (Mall Rats, Chasing Amy, etc) and I also loved Earl. Thanks for stopping by, Lauralynn!

  2. Sara Grambusch says:

    Hmm, I hadn’t even heard of this show. Those actors kind of annoy me but lord knows it’s been a literal generation since I’ve seen them do anything so I suppose I could give it a shot!

    • Oh, Zach and Travis are all grown up now….I actually kinda think that Zach plays the more “grown-up” between the two…It’s a fun show for guys and gals alike. I hope you check it out. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Sara!

  3. Okay, now I have to give it a shot. And I like you snuck in Clueless in the post 🙂

    • Thanks, Claudia! I rewatched Clueless not too long ago and laughed all the way through it. AND, to see the stars in it who were honestly not stars yet back then….I totally think we should bring “As If” back…

      Franklin & Bash is on tonight – check it out! Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Jess Witkins says:

    I was just quoting Clueless the other day. What an epic picture of its time. I love it! Brittany Murphy in short overalls and plaid shirts tied around her waist. I totally had that look! Great, now I can’t get “rollin with the homies” out of my head!

    Thanks for another great post on What to Watch Wed! I finally succumbed and am forking out the $3 to catch up on season 2 of Vampire Diaries. I am NOT disappointed. Just met Elijah for the first time. You don’t have to tell me how, but do we EVER find out how it’s possible Elena came from the same line as Katherine if she’s a vampire? I have to know!!!

    • Hey, Jess! There is a lot more backstory in the 2nd season of Vampire Diaries. I don’t want to give anything away – you should watch on pins & needles like the rest of us. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by! *rolling my hand in front of me humming to “Rollin with my Homies”*

  5. amber says:

    I may have to DVR this. You have me curious. Curse you…this series is making me watch MORE TV. 😉

  6. Brea Essex says:

    Oh man I hadn’t realized this series started already! Now I can’t get “Rollin With My Homies” out of my head either!

  7. Elisa Michelle says:

    I keep meaning to watch that show, haha. The commercials certainly look hilarious and I love drama shows that lean more towards comedy.

  8. EllieAnn says:

    Haven’t seen it but it sounds fun!

  9. Amanda Rudd says:

    I was curious about this show, but hadn’t had a chance to watch it all. I think you just made my mind up for me, I’ll definitely have to go take a look now.

  10. Roni Loren says:

    I’m so going to have to check this out. I loved both those guys. (And was a total Saved by the Bell addict.) Thanks for keeping us up to date! Hard to know about all the new shows. 🙂

    • Hey, Roni – I hope you do enjoy! Let me know what you think. I like both the guys too and have followed Zach to NYPD Blue and Raising the Bar (only lasted one year on TNT). Thanks for stopping by!

  11. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Where We Are Today… | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

Leave a Reply

