Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – USA’s Spies and Suits

This week, Amber West and I switch gears and bring a double review of the hit shows on USA. 

Why? Because USA’s summer programming is so hot, we’ve decided the only way to do the network justice is by making this edition of Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday too hot to handle. 

Our double feature includes spies, suits, and sports – a triple threat.  Wait; since we’re both writing about two series, it’s technically a quadruple!  Right?

 Burn Notice

Why is Burn Notice white-hot? Sexy stars, massive explosions, and intricate plots combined with explorations of relationships between family members, best friends, and lovers make for some of the best programming on television today.

Burned by the U.S. government, former spy Michael Westen (Jeffrey Donovan) wakes up bruised and sore in a run-down Miami motel with no memory of how he got there.   A burned spy has nothing – no job and no money.  It’s as if the last few years of Michael’s life didn’t even happen.  He takes on odd jobs as a private investigator to make some cash, and builds a team of former acquaintances, ex-girlfriends, and family to help him unravel the truth behind why the CIA black-listed him, and discover who was the mastermind behind his burn notice. 

Michael’s team consists of Sam Axe (Bruce Campbell), a former Navy SEAL and friend who was forced to inform on Michael to the FBI; Fiona Glenanne (Gabrielle Anwar), Michael’s ex-lover, and a former IRA agent who doubles as an arms dealer and bounty hunter; Madeline Westen (Sharon Gless), Michael’s chain-smoking mother; and, the recent addition, Jesse Porter (Coby Bell), a former counterintelligence agent that Michael accidentally burned while uncovering truths behind his own burn notice.  

Burn Notice is one of the best, and definitely the sexiest shows on television; therefore, I have no other choice than to award the show with the highest #WatchWed review to date: GTV (Gourmet Television – Everything we want, and more!).  

To add fuel to the already smoking hot Burn Notice, Jeffrey Donovan might just be the sexiest man on TV.  Does anyone else make eating yogurt look so yummy?  When he throws on those sunglasses and flashes that crooked smile while wearing his designer suits, he has women melting in their living rooms across the U.S.  

 

Suits 

Harvey Specter (Gabriel Macht), a recently appointed senior partner at a Manhattan law firm, is instructed to hire another brilliant Harvard Law graduate to add to the associate pool, hopefully someone as bright as he is.  

Meanwhile, across town, Mike Ross (Patrick J. Adams) fastens his tie, grabs the briefcase filled with marijuana that his BFF has left for him, and heads to a hotel to make a drug deal yielding enough cash ($25,000) to keep his grandmother in her around-the-clock care nursing facility.  

What Mike doesn’t know, is that his low-life best friend is sending him to an undercover cop with his briefcase full of drugs.  Using his better judgment and brilliant observation skills, Mike picks up on the sting and ducks into Harvey’s interview room trying to avoid the cops chasing him.   

Intrigued by the young man with a briefcase full of pot, Harvey indulges and interviews Mike, learning that this young, brilliant man sitting across from him has an eidetic memory (perfect recall) when Mike recites blurbs of the Bar review materials with only the slightest provocation.  Despite the fact that Mike never graduated college, let alone law school, Harvey hires Mike on the spot. 

These two unconventional minds work together balancing the law and lying to everyone – now that’s conflict, right?  How long before the shunned junior associate (Louis Litt, played by Rick Hoffman), or the boss recently frustrated with Harvey’s refusal to follow her instructions (Jessica Pearson, played by Gina Torres) discover the truth? 

While it’s still early in the series, I give Suits a MacTV rating (MacNCheese TV: Guilty pleasure – Not perfect, but it satisfies) because I am looking forward to future episodes.  I can’t wait to see how long before anyone discovers the truth behind Harvey’s new star associate, and how the writers continue to develop this very unique story. 

Be sure and catch Burn Notice and Suits Thursday night on USA!

What do you think? Do you agree with my top rating for Burn Notice? Should Michael rejoin the CIA? What about Suits? Have you fallen victim to USA’s latest summer hit?  I’d love to hear from you!

Now – remember to visit Amber’s review of Covert Affairs, starring Piper Perabo as CIA Operative Annie Walker, and Necessary Roughness, starring Callie Thorne as therapist to the stars, Dr. Dani Santino. 

Come back next week when Amber and I switch over to the world of fantasy and review TNT’s Falling Skies and SyFy’s Alphas

Remember to stop by the #watchwed hashtag in Twitter to discuss any of today’s reviews, or to mention any television programs that you’d like to see on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday in the future.  Amber and I would love to chat with you!

 A Recap of The WatchWed Review System:

GTV (Gourmet TV): Everything we want and more

MacTV (MacNCheese TV): Guilty pleasure. Not perfect, but is satisfies

JFTV (Junk food TV): It’s not great for us, but we’ll go back for seconds

SSTV (Still Simmering TV): It has potential, but the jury is still out

NIV (Nyquil Induced Viewing): Perfect for that late night television sleep timer

LOTV (Liver&Onions TV): Do we really have to explain? Blech

 

This entry was posted in Watch it? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – USA’s Spies and Suits

  1. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – USA! USA! | A Day Without Sushi

  2. Phil White says:

    Hey Tiff whats wrong with liver and onions ???? LOL !!!!!

    • Hi, Dad! A real comment. I LOVE it – thank you! But, you know I don’t like liver & onions…Amber either. 🙂

      • amber says:

        I could be convinced to stomach it with copious amounts of bacon. Hmmm…perhaps that’s the new rating for an awful show that has lots of hot actors.

        Hi, Tiffany’s dad! 🙂

    • Hahahaha – Amber, I love it! Since you’re the creative one, you should come up with the appropriate phrasing for TwCAB (that’s my horrible attempt – Tolerable with Copious Amounts of Bacon).

  3. Stacy Green says:

    Burn Notice is a great show. I love anything with spies and covert stuff, so I enjoy it. And Michael West is pretty easy on the eyes.

    Suits is one I’ve not heard of, but I’m thinking of checking it out.

    Great post! And thank you for the refresher on the rating system.

    • Hey, Stacy! Burn Notice is one of the shows that never sits for longer than a few hours on my DVR. I can’t wait to watch it. Suits follows directly after Burn Notice now on Thursday nights. It’s only on episode 3 this week; you should check it out! Thanks for stopping by & THANK YOU for recommending we refresh the rating system for our readers. You’re the best!

  4. Suzan says:

    HOW HAVE I NOT WATCHED BURN NOTICE?? Spies are my thing. I kept hearing the name, but I never associated it with spies for some reason. Blarg. Guess I better take advantage of my Netflix account while I still have it. 😉

    • Suzan, I REALLY recommend. Tonight, on one of the local access channels (I have U-Verse and I believe it’s channel 7), they run 2-3 Burn Notice’s in a row from 7-10. They’ll be the older episodes, but it’ll give you a taste. I wasn’t lying when I said it’s HOT TV – definitely worthy of Netflix. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

    • eden says:

      I stumbled upon it during season two and have been a devotee ever since.. Netfix will get you up to speed… summer homework that you’ll actually enjoy.

  5. amber says:

    I will eventually break down and watch Burn Notice. Every friend I have that watches loves it. Shows like that scare me – because I am afraid of getting hooked to yet another show. 🙂

    I am digging Suits. It has a Firefly alumnus (Gina Torres), a man who plays slime so well (Rick Hoffman) that I’m afraid of what he’s like in real life, and a great balance between the two main characters.

    Also, watch for the nervous laugh Patrick J Adams throws in from time to time. It kills me.

    • You need to break down…soon! Hubby may even like it…I ❤ Jeffrey Donovan…and Bruce Campbell.

      I liked Gina Torres as the boss in that Fox show that didn't make it starring Ron Livingston as a negotiator (of course, a Fox show didn't make it).

      I can't decide who's worse at playing a slime – Louis Litt on Suits, or Damien Karp on Franklin & Bash.

    • eden says:

      Amber. Watch Burn Notice!
      Don’t be put off by the fact that Michael Westin is smolderingly hot… his character is in fact intersting and the supporting characters are terrific. His girlfriend/bomb making sidekick Fionna is our kinda gal… ruthless with glimpes of vulnerablity. Sam, his mom and Jesse are also terrific.

      • Eden – did you watch Burn Notice last week when Michael had to rough his momma around? The facial expressions/acting on Jeffrey Donovan’s face made me just want to hug him! So emotional, so real. I don’t think he’s given the proper acting nods that he deserves.

        USA might have the best character driven show with Burn Notice. There, I said it!

      • amber says:

        I can’t help but see the character he played in Hitch whenever I see him. Prevents me from finding him “hot”. But I won’t hold that against the entire show. I do love Bruce Campbell.

  6. I’m not much of a TV watcher, but maybe I’ll dust off that screen and take a look. I do like sluthy kinds of stories.

    • Hi, C. Lee! There are definitely some programs worthy of dusting off the TV – start with The Closer, Rizzoli and Isles, and Burn Notice this summer – then switch to Chuck, Criminal Minds, and Bones this fall. I could give you more, but I don’t want to overwhelm you. 🙂

  7. eden says:

    Thanks for your reviews. I’ll now cease replying to anyone on your comments list who is not yet a Burn Notice viewer. 😀

    I’m going to queue up Suits and see how it measures up… thanks for the preview.

  8. Liz Schulte says:

    I lvoe Burn Notice and Suits is quickly becoming a favorite. I just watched Alphas last night. Very interesting. Can’t wait to see what you guys think.

    • I have Alphas all ready for me on the DVR for next week’s post. I haven’t watched it yet, but that’s because TNT and USA are demanding all of my time this summer with their fabOoolous programs! Thanks for stopping by, Liz! 🙂

  9. Love Burn Notice… it’s got all the elements and contrasts you want in a good story. The friend who had to burn you, and the one you burned, and the ex-lover & the chain smoking mom (Sharon Gless rocks in this!)
    Haven’t seen Suits yet… and I’ve DVR’d Necessary Roughness because that’s another interesting premise, but haven’t taken time to watch it yet.
    I have no time to watch anything in its entirety! Thank heavens for you & Amber West!

    • I love it when I meet a fellow Burn Notice fan! TNT & USA will keep a DVR busy during the summer months. Suits is a different type of TV to me – I’m just waiting for the lie to come crashing down. It has to….and, until then, I will keep tuning in. Thanks for the support and kind words, Pamela!

    • amber says:

      Thanks for thanking us! 🙂

  10. Catie Rhodes says:

    I’ve got to get back on netflix and rent Burn Notice. Both your comments about it and the previews on USA have me totally curious. Thanks for another great review of what’s on TV. Have I mentioned you’ve got me watching more TV than I have in years?

  11. Lynn Kelley says:

    Thanks for the head up on both these shows. Burn Notices sounds great. And Suits sounds intriguing.

  12. Amanda Rudd says:

    I saw most of the first season of Burn Notice and loved it, but I never had the chance to see the rest of it, and after awhile I became one of those shows I forget about when I’m not seeing one of the commercials. Maybe one of these days I’ll get around to seeing the rest of it.

    As for Suits… I don’t know. The premise is just so far outside the realm of believability that I’m not sure I could watch it. It really wouldn’t take long for someone to figure out that the guy doesn’t have a law degree, and then they would BOTH get arrested for fraud. End of show. But you just know somehow they’ll weasel out of that problem in some completely unbelievable way, and I’m not sure I have the patience for that. *shrug* ^_^

    • Highly recommend Burn Notice, if you can’t tell. 🙂 Suits is definitely far-fetched, but TV/fiction is for entertainment purposes only, right? Thanks for stopping by, Amanda!

  13. Julie Glover says:

    I’ve heard Burn Notice is wonderful, but haven’t caught any episodes yet. I’ve watched episodes of Necessary Roughness and agree with Amber’s SSTV rating. Suits looks like it would be right up my alley, so I should give it a tumble. Thanks, Tiffany!

    • Julie – BURN NOTICE, BURN NOTICE, BURN NOTICE. I wish it was like Candyman and Michael Westen would appear after chanting it a few more times…you must check it out! 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by!

  14. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Where We Are Today… | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

  15. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Special Anniversary Edition | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

Leave a Reply

