Tele-Tuesday: TV with Bite – The Bad Boys

The supernatural is especially hot right now, and more often than not, the television vampire and werewolf is sexy.  These physically sculpted and beautiful characters are mesmerizing and seducing – to the other characters on-screen and those tuning in to watch the show.

Every television supernatural can moonlight as both a bad-boy and good, but more often than not, the audience prefers the naughty over the nice.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer

Bad Boy #1: Spike (James Marsters)

Turned in the late 1800s, the former poet known as “William the Bloody,” transformed into Spike after Drusilla drained him and forced him to feed off of her blood.  Mentored by Angelus, Spike tortured Europe for years and killed two slayers.  The bleach-blonde Billy Idol lookalike then moved to Sunnydale to destroy his third – Buffy Summers. 

Spike successfully defeats his enemies by using a combination of his combat skills, his ability to withstand large amounts of pain, and his great observation and perception skills.  But Spike has one big weakness – he’s impatient.  

Spike overcomes many battles to reach his ultimate goal, such as withstanding the microchip inserted into his body (a chip that inflicts pain every time Spike attempts to hurt any non-demon) and his alcoholism.  After his defeat of the Demon Trials (physical challenges not survived by many), Spike regains his soul. 

Early on, Spike proves to be Buffy’s nemesis, and is a constant thorn in her side.  But over the years, Spike grows to appreciate Buffy and her friends, and eventually falls in love with the slayer.  

Marsters’ character was so popular, that after Spike died on the series finale of Buffy, he was resurrected on the spin-off series, Angel.

The Vampire Diaries

Bad Boy #2: Damon Salvatore (Ian Somerhalder)

In the 1860s, Damon meets Katherine and falls head over heels.  Not long after meeting the woman of his dreams, Damon learns that the she also shares a romantic relationship with his younger brother, Stefen. 

Making matters worse, Katherine is a vampire.  After being trapped by the Salvatore father, Katherine turns both boys and leaves them behind believing she’s dead. 

Deeply scorned by the betrayal of his brother and maker, Damon transforms into an arrogant, selfish, and dangerous vampire.  He lacks any remorse, and he is unpredictable.  Damon lives in a world of isolation, but continues searching for acceptance and love.

After decades, Damon follows his brother back to their hometown of Mystic Falls, where he meets Elena, Stefen’s new girlfriend.  Elena looks exactly like Katherine.  And so, the games begin.  Damon is drawn to Elena and eventually falls in love with her causing even more tension between the Salvatore brothers. 

After learning that Elena is “The Doppelganger” and is wanted by the strongest and oldest of all vampires, the real Damon emerges putting forth the necessary plans to save Elena from damnation.

Where Stefen takes the morally high road (he refuses to drink human blood and feeds off of small animals), Damon isn’t afraid to tear someone’s head off or rip out their heart.  Damon is the stronger of the two brothers, and will do whatever it takes to protect Elena.

True Blood

Bad Boy #3: Eric Northman (Alexander Skarsgard)

A tall, blonde former Viking over 1,000 years old, Eric Northman is one of the most powerful vampires in the Louisiana area.  He acts as sheriff of northern Louisiana, and takes his role in the vampire hierarchy very seriously.

At night, Eric owns and operates “Fangtasia” – a bar with a basement that serves as his dungeon and torture chamber.  He’s proven to be violent, keeping a few souls chained up until he’s satisfied.  Eric’s also very arrogant and manipulative. 

Many fear Eric, but not Sookie Stackhouse.  Eric is fascinated with Sookie when he realizes that she can read minds.  After his maker commits suicide, Eric forms a close bond with her.  He dreams about Sookie, and develops genuine feelings for her.  There’s only one problem: Sookie belongs to another vampire in town, Bill Compton. 

Similar to everything else, Eric doesn’t let Sookie’s relationship with Bill stand in his way.  He manages to force her to drink his blood, and then becomes enamored with her scent.  In addition to her mind reading skills, Sookie possesses fairy blood; and when a vampire consumes such blood, he can walk in the daylight.  Eric decides at this moment to protect Sookie, no matter what it takes. 

Besides Sookie, Eric’s only loyalty is to himself and to Pam, one of his vampire spawns. Everyone else is just a means to an end.   

Teen Wolf

Bad Boy #4: Derek Hale (Tyler Hoechlin)

Born a wolf, Derek spends most of his days running from the police and the Argents, a family whose werewolf hunting lineage dates back to the 1700s.  He’s blamed for most of the crime in his town, including the murder of his very own sister.  When a wolf inflicts a bite on local high school student Scott McCall, all fingers point to Derek.   

The Hale family was destroyed in a house fire set by the hunters.  Derek and his sister weren’t home at the time, and his uncle barely escaped.  With his family gone, and his uncle comatose in the hospital with third-degree burns across half of his body, Derek swears revenge against the hunters.

As a beta wolf, Derek knows that it is up to him to find and kill the alpha responsible for the town’s murders and chaos before the alpha has time to recruit and build his pack.  In return for training on how to control his new wolf urges, Scott reluctantly agrees to help Derek. 

Despite Derek and Scott’s agreement to work and train together, Derek has difficulty being friendly.  His mere presence makes those around him nervous, and even his so-called “friends” know not to let their guard down.

Do you prefer the bad-boy over the good? Who is your favorite television supernatural bad-boy and why?    In a head to head battle, who would win – Spike, Damon, Eric, or Derek? I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in More Television, TV with Bite and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Tele-Tuesday: TV with Bite – The Bad Boys

  1. Stacy Green says:

    I think the bad boy is always more entertaining than the good, especially when they’re not all bad. Add in a few redeeming qualities buried under the surface, and you’ve got a compelling character.

    I’ve only watched these shows in bits and pieces, but I’d have to go with Skarsgard. True Blood is a great show, and he pulls off the bad boy so well…and yet, he’s got that soft spot for Sookie. He’s layered, and I love that.

    • The role of the TV bad-boy has really taken off these last few years, and Eric/Skarsgard NAILS it. I’ve been team Eric since I first saw him. I haven’t read the True Blood books, but I love the TV character. Especially his character this year….Thanks for stopping by, Stacy!

  2. Catie Rhodes says:

    I will forever be the bad boy for me. You were right when you said Derek is our Summer Damon. He’s great. I really wonder how he’s going to overcome this new challenge, though.

    Also, (SPOILER) I bet Elena will fall in love with Damon on this season’s VD. Stefan is going to be gone with Ferret Face, after all.

    You always do a wonderful job on these posts, and you know I enjoy them. 😀

  3. Liz Schulte says:

    I love the bad boys. It has been an ongoing love affair since junior high school when I first read Vampire Diaries. Because of that I must give my vote to Damon. He made me love the bad guys and I haven’t looked back since.

    • Hey, Liz! I may have to pick your brain about the books. I haven’t read any of them and have heard they are very different from the television series. I think Ian Somerhalder nails the Damon character, I feel kinda bad for Paul Wesley. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

  4. I don’t know if I ever really got attached to Spike. The whole, “I love you so much I’m going to try to rape you” (before he got his soul) kind of tainted it for me. Damon’s cool. I only saw the last few episodes of last season though, after he started having more heroic moments.

    I like the good boys. Good boys with guns. All the punch but none of the selfish me-me attitude.

    • Spike grew on me over the years….I was really pulling for him at the end of the series, so much so that I almost forgot about Angel.

      One of my favorite good guys with bite is Mick St. John. Did you watch Moonlight? It’ll be on my WatchWed post next week….thanks for stopping by, Angela!

  5. Bad Boys all the way! A favorite- I have to pick one ummmmm From Blade – Blade (who’s more bad then good) and Deacon Frost- yummy! Ack I can’t think of any more- wait Gareth in Labyrinth. 🙂

  6. I like Spike the best for so many reasons. He’s not only bad, he’s also vulnerable, and so funny! Oh, and did I mention sexy? When friend of mine loaned me the Buffy series, I had only watched the first couple of seasons and she told me Buffy would be with Spike instead of Angel. I said, No Way! But after seeing it, I totally got it. I bought the series, and I’m right now on about the 6th or 7th viewing. At the moment, I’m watching the part where Spike has gotten the chip.

    I honestly don’t get the Eric Northman thing. I did when reading the book, but the TV show is so cheesy that it’s hard to think of the guys as sexy. I personally like Sam and Alcide the best of all the guys. There’s so much sex on this show that I’m really getting tired of seeing people naked, especially Jason. Oh, and by the way, I never miss an episode. It’s like a train wreck. You don’t WANT to look, but…. LOL.

    I haven’t seen the other two shows, but eventually I want to watch all the episodes of The Vampire Diaries.

    • Lauralynn, I am with you on Spike….I love when LOGO plays a Buffy marathon, even if it drives my man crazy that I still watch all those episodes. I still can’t watch Bones without thinking Booth is going to bust out with fangs, or How I Met Your Mother without thinking Lili is going to cast a spell over someone. 🙂

      True Blood is a like a train wreck; who can look away? Especially this year, I feel like I’m on information overload at the end of each episode. I’m a big fan of all the guys, excluding Bill. I wish they’d write more Alcide into the series.

      You haven’t seen The Vampire Diaries? I HIGHLY recommend. The writing is fantastic – and the cast is beautiful. I like to watch in marathon style because one episode at a time is torture. I always need more Damon…..

  7. Mmmmm….Spike. That pretty much made my morning. 😀 But, *ahem* I believe Spike claims Billy Idol stole his look and not the other way around.

  8. Oh, Spike…as much as I love to see Eric Northman every Sunday, I gotta go with Spike. Not only is he the epitome of bad, but he has a sense of humor AND loves Passions.

    I think the reason we fall for the bad boys is because when we see them fall in love, it has to be real. They are willing to put their evilness aside and truly accept love. When a good guy falls for the girl, you’re like, “eh, he’s a romantic push-over anyway. He’d probably fall for anyone.”

    • Spike seems to be winning the ladies over today, Claudia! I really thought it would be Eric or Damon….I agree with you – good guys are boring. Stefen Salvatore is a prime example of the bleh-factor. I’m looking forward to the new season to see if Klaus can bad-boy him up a bit.

  9. Amanda Rudd says:

    Spike and Eric, two of my favorite vampires of all time. Admittedly, I don’t have HBO so I haven’t seen True Blood, but I read the Sookie Stackhouse books, so I love THAT version of Eric anyway. And Spike will forever be one of the hottest tv bad guys ever. I didn’t like it when Whedon practically emasculated him in seasons 5-7. He was so much cooler as the villain. And James Marsters is a still a joy to behold.

    • Do you watch Hawaii 5-0? Marsters guest starred opposite Alex O’Laughlin (Mick St. John, Moonlight) as the bad guy in the pilot. I kept hoping both would “vamp-out” for me during the fight scene…it didn’t happen. Thanks for stopping by, Amanda!

      • Oh, man, wasn’t that the most awesome thing having those two “former vampires” fighting in Hawaii 5-O? Mick is definitely my favorite vampire. That’s why I had to put that video of him on my blog! LOL

  10. Gigi Salem says:

    Spike, always and forever, will be the winner. I think partially that’s because I just can’t get into the other shows, really. They don’t seem to (at least for me) have the spark with which Joss Whedon infuses his characters. I’ve never had a mild reaction to any of them. Either I fully loved them or fully hated them, but there was never that “eh, they’re okay,” or “eh, they’re bad I guess,” moment with Whedon characters for me. Everything since just seems so… blah to me. Is that odd?

    • I wouldn’t say ‘odd’, Gigi. Wedon is a genius, and his characters are one reaosn why Buffy (and later Angel) is still so popular today. I liked Doll House too, did you watch that? It lasted only 2 seasons on Fox; had it been on the CW, it probably would have done better. Thanks for stopping by!

  11. Jenny Hansen says:

    All this Bad Boy Eye Candy is a fantastic addition to my lunch hour. Yummy!

    I have to confess that I almost always fall for the Beta Males, not the Alphas. To go for the Sex in the City analogy, it’s always gonna be Aidan…never Big (hated that she ended up with him!).

    • Jenny likes the good-boys….ah, sweet Jenny.

      I loved Aidan, but Carrie belonged to Big. One of my favorite episodes is when Big crashes Carrie and Aidan’s weekend at the cabin and the two men fight in the mud while Pete jumps around barking. Ah….memories. Look at what you’ve done. 🙂

  12. amyshojai says:

    *gulp* Enjoying the pictures.

  13. I’m a rabid (ha!) fan of Damon Salvatore, although this is the first time I’ve seen Spike. Having some “heated” internal conflict now. Still, I think my smartass Damon would win, as long as Elena didn’t show up to divert his attention. (Can’t wait for next season, Catie) Thanks Tiffany! Hot flashes all around!

    • Nice play, Joelene! I think Spike and Damon would be the best of friends; they’d definitely share a glass of whiskey while they shared stories about their tortured love lives. Neither shy away from a confrontation and both find themselves pretty awesome. They’d have a lot to talk about. Thanks for stopping by!

  14. I love all those shows, except I don’t watch True Blood. Hmmm…maybe I should.
    But I have to say, because I’m a Buffy fan that in Season 2 when Angel’s soul is removed after the whole bliss thing, he was an awesome bad boy! I love David Boreanaz on Bones, but I really miss him as Angel!

    Great Tele Tuesday, Tiffany!

    • Thanks, Jessica! True Blood is worth a watch, but beware – it’s on HBO for a reason…. Wouldn’t it be great if Booth would make at least one reference to just how awesome Angel was on Bones? That would make my day….

  15. Angel/Angelus from Angel is one of my favorite bad boys. Technically he’s a good guy but the bad boy is always in there somewhere waiting to surface. David Boreanaz did an awesome job switching between the two personalities. You just want to cuddle him and help it be alright.

    Damian Salvatore is another fav. He fascinates me because the bad and good are so mixed up it’s hard to separate the two. He knows it’s wrong but he just can’t help himself. The question is would Elena’s love really save him from himself? I don’t think so. He is what he is and if you don’t mind a bite or two taken every now and then…?

    Spike isn’t really a fav but I have to comment because I did like him. He was so cheerfully bad and inept at being bad you couldn’t help but like him. To me he was like a nerd vampire. In season five when Buffy dies, his love and hurt is so evident I cry every time.

    • I think Boreanz and Marsters deserve a ton of credit for their Buffy roles; the audience loved each of them equally and pulled for them (depending on the season). And, Whedon deserves much of the credit for creating such intricate characters.

      The same can be said about Damon – Ian NAILS the character, but the writing is what keeps us wanting and needing more. Oh, Angela. You are a lady after my own heart! Thanks for stopping by!

  16. Since I am in fantasy mode at the moment do I really have to choose just one? I would like a Salvatore brother with another on the side. I will then take an extra helping of Spike and perhaps a serving of Derek … and I will have them to go please.

    Bad boys absolutely are far more intriguing than good boys. Especially the ones who have a bit of good boy underneath the bad boy exterior. Some of the good boys are nice on the eyes though.

    I think Damon is my ultimate bad boy though!

  17. andrewmocete says:

    Spike wins every time. And he does it with style.

  18. Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos says:

    Oh, I have to vote for Damon. He’s way hot and really, who would care if he could win a fight or not? Just bite me and take me to bed.

  19. Donna Newton says:

    I was a big Spike fan and took my daughter to see him at a convention. She was standing with him before he went on stage. She loves him too.

    I like a bad boy turned a little good. I like the mystery of them. Teen Wolf is not doing it for me at the moment, though.

    I loved Damon from the very first episode – when all my friends were gushing over Stefan. Now, they’ve finally come around to my way of thinking, but I’ve since tired of his wiggling eyebrows.

    At the moment, there is a race for the number one spot in my heart. In the left corners we have Dean Winchester (aka Jensen Ackles), and in the right corner we have Raylan Gibbons (aka Timmy Olyphant). Not our traditional demon bad boys, but oh my god, have you seen those pecks!? 😀

    • Damon’s Darkside, our fan club is growing and growing.

      I was already thinking about doing a Good Boy post, and now I’m really leaning in that direction. I’m a HUGE Sam and Dean Winchester fan. Jensen Ackles and Jared Padalecki are two beautiful men from Texas who make fighting demons look good. Oh, and Raylan – they couldn’t have picked a better man for the role. I usually don’t like them so skinny; but between the walk, the stance, the drawl, the smile, and the body, Raylan is a-ok in my book. Thanks for stopping by, Donna!

  20. Pingback: 100 Posts…What? Already? | Sonia G Medeiros

  21. Jess Witkins says:

    Um, how did I miss this post?!! Thank god for Sonia’s mash up or I nearly missed a chance to ogle Damon Salvatore in public some more. First, I told you I’m so excited now that Ian Somerhalder and Nina Dobrev are dating in real life. And I totally just re-watched the final episode of VD season 2 to prep for the premiere of season 3. *sigh* Damon Salvatore, he can do the charming eye thing to me whenever he wants. Rrrrrrrawr!

    Hm, Eric, I don’t know. I’m awaiting season 3 from the library, so maybe after that season I’ll come around to eric more. I like Bill at the moment. But I’m also a sucker for dark and handsome over those vikings.

    Ok, clearly you have to do a post on the good guys now too. Even if it’s just for Jenny. We have to truly compare the Bill’s, Stefen’s, Sam Merlotte’s…

    • Jess, Rrrrrawr! That cracked me up! I’m ready for season three of The Vampire Diaries too – you have no idea. Have you been watching Teen Wolf? It’s not a bad second…did you see Derek on my bad boy post? Yea….not a bad second.

      Good boys, huh? I definitely think that’s a good idea. Thanks for stopping by!

  22. Pingback: Friday FabOoolousness – 7X7 Link Love | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

Leave a Reply

