Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Queue it Up!

Amber West and I are taking this week’s Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday in a different direction.  Courtesy of Netflix, many people don’t watch live television anymore, and we’re suggesting a few series that are definitely worthy of queuing up! 

Tru Calling

The series begins with recent college graduate, Tru Davies (Eliza Dushku from Buffy the Vampire Slayer), searching frantically for an internship hoping to get into medical school.  Most of the good placements have already been filled, so Tru takes the only job she can find – at the morgue.

As if working with the dead isn’t daunting enough, Tru must deal with the bodies temporarily awakening and asking for her help.  The very second she receives one of these requests, Tru’s day resets and she must race to figure out exactly what these souls are trying to tell her.

Mostly, when Tru’s day starts over, she tries desperately to stop the untimely deaths of those asking for her help, but messing with fate always has its consequences. 

Trying to manage her daily resets and keep her secret from friends and family, Tru also battles constant struggles with her irresponsible brother, Harrison (Shawn Reaves), her drug-addict sister, Meredith (Jessica Collins, The Young and the Restless), and her boyfriend Luc (Matt Bomer, White Collar), while trying to lead a normal life. 

Despite the chaos, Tru tries to stay grounded with the help of her best friend, Lindsey (A.J. Cook from Criminal Minds), and her boss at the morgue, Davis (Zach Galifinakis from The Hangover).  Davis may just be Tru’s biggest rock throughout the series, even if he’s a bit odd and awkward. 

Jason Priestly (the original 90210) joined the cast midway through season one as Jack Harper; his primary focus – stop Tru and restore fate.

Typical of shows on Fox, Tru Calling was cancelled before answering all of the ongoing storylines.  This show will always live on my “gone too soon” list, and I proudly own both seasons on DVD.  One of the writers, Doris Egan, shared the remaining story arc in a two-part series via her Livejournal blog.  Without giving away any spoilers, the viewers learn all about Tru’s parents and Tru and Jack’s mentors.   

Egan’s Tru Calling Part One

Egan’s Tru Calling Part Two

Tru Calling earns a MacTV rating – pop some popcorn, grab a blanket, turn off the lights, spark up a candle, and watch episode after episode like a guilty pleasure. 

I hope you especially enjoy a few of my favorite episodes, but before you get started, check out the theme song (Full Blown Rose’s “Somebody Help Me”) for just a tiny taste of what’s ahead.  

Season One
 “Morning After”
“Murder in the Morgue”
“Valentine”
“Two Weddings and a Funeral”

 Season Two
“Grace”
“In the Dark”
“Enough”

Season two also introduced a few familiar faces as recurring characters: Liz Vassey (CSI: Crime Scene Investigation) played Dr. Carrie Allen (nothing is ever as it seems – remember!) and Eric Christian Olsen (NCIS: Los Angeles) played Jensen Ritchie, Tru’s love interest. 

If you don’t have a Netflix account, don’t worry!  Occasionally, SyFy airs a daily marathon of Tru Calling

Do you subscribe to Netflix? Did you watch Tru Calling? Are you an Eliza Dushku fan? What would you do if the dead asked for your help?  If your days could reset, would you race against the clock to change fate, or leave things as they were?  What are a few of your favorite TV series gone too soon?  I’d love to hear from you!

Now click over to Amber’s blog and see why she recommends you queue up the science fiction hit – Firefly

Come back next week for another Netflix edition as Amber and I review a few more series worth a queue.

Remember to stop by the #watchwed hashtag in Twitter to discuss any of today’s reviews, or to mention any television programs that you’d like to see on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday in the future.  We’re currently working on our August and September schedules and would love to chat with you!

A Recap of The WatchWed Review System:

GTV (Gourmet TV): Everything we want and more

MacTV (MacNCheese TV): Guilty pleasure. Not perfect, but is satisfies

JFTV (Junk food TV): It’s not great for us, but we’ll go back for seconds

SSTV (Still Simmering TV): It has potential, but the jury is still out

NIV (Nyquil Induced Viewing): Perfect for that late night television sleep timer

LOTV (Liver&Onions TV): Do we really have to explain? Blech

This entry was posted in Watch it? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Queue it Up!

  1. Gigi Salem says:

    I loved Tru Calling! I think what killed it was Priestly, as sad as I am to say that about Brandon Walsh. He just… didn’t fit. Everything with him felt unutterably forced and fake. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go discuss some Browncoats! **zooms over to Amber’s blog**

    • It’s so nice to meet another Tru fan, Gigi! I was battling my urge to put in the discs yesterday versus writing. I kept listening to the song and thinking, “Darn you, Fox!”

      I understand what you’re saying about Jack’s character, but allowing the writers a bit more time to wrap up the story would have been nice. *I’m shaking my finger at Fox again*

      Enjoy Amber’s post! I sure did – I’m queuing up FireFly for sure!

  2. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Queue it Up! | A Day Without Sushi

  3. I hate to admit it, but I haven’t seen Tru Calling. I need to get off my butt and get the first two seasons. I am a huge Eliza fan!

    • Yes, Yes! I highly recommend it. Tru Calling was one that I hated waiting a week between episodes. If you lived closer, I’d let you borrow my discs. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Claudia!

  4. Liz Schulte says:

    I never saw Tru Calling, but it sounds interesting. I will have to try it. I love Firefly. My pick would be Veronica Mars. They left us on a cliff hanger!?!? Gah! It was such an awesome show which strong characters and an awesome story line.

    • Being left on a cliff hanger is the worst! I’d almost assume that Veronica Mars was on Fox, but wasn’t it the CW? Fox is guilty of this all of the time – Fast Lane is another that comes to mind….I’ve actually noticed these days that shows are ending their seasons less and less with cliff hangers – probably because they never know if they’ll make it back! Thanks for stopping by, Liz!

  5. Conviction. I will not get over it and will whine about it every chance I get.

    • Ooo, Dezz – a short-lived 13 episode show. I’m glad I didn’t watch it or I’d be upset too. It sounds like my cup of tea. I may have to queue it up & be mad with you!

      • Even if you just do it for the eye candy: Eric Balfour, Jordan Bridges, J August Richards, the hot doctor from Third Watch…. Shall I continue? Of course, we can’t forget the ladies. Stephanie March, Milena Govich, Julianne Nicholson…. And they cancelled this show why? Still confused.

  6. wosushi says:

    You know, our posts are connected, even though we didn’t intend it.

    Eliza Dushku had the lead role in another Whedon cancelled too soon show, “Dollhouse”. I blame Fox (also where Firefly resided). Summer Glau and Alan Tudyk both appeared as guests on Dollhouse, too.

    • We’re rubbing off on each other. 🙂

      I watched Dollhouse too – at least that show was given the chance to wrap up the storyline. I noticed while I was reading your post that Summer Glau and Alan Tudyk were both on DH together. I’ve always liked how Whedon tries to work with the stars that he enjoys – like Dushku. I remember seeing an interview that he created DH just for her and she was excited to play the part because he’s a character genius.

      Fox kills shows too soon. I’m so skeptical to watch their new programs until they’ve been on for a while….

  7. Terrell Mims says:

    Thankfully, Fox didn’t kill 24, but I think that hate on Joss Whedon.

    • Terrell, I think you may be on to something here…Whedon should be leery of Fox. You know, I waited a few seasons before even watching 24 because it was on Fox. Then I had a marathon viewing to catch up.

  8. Catie Rhodes says:

    This sounds really interesting. I had never heard of it, of course. I am going to keep an eye out and try to catch a marathon (with my DVR). I know what you mean about Fox shows being cancelled. I got into one called “Over There” several years ago. It was really compelling, but ended too soon.

    Thanks for the informative post. You keep me glued to the TV, girl. 😀

    • Catie, I will have to google “Over There.” One of the reasons why I love the all-day marathons on Chiller and SyFy is because they air the shows that didn’t quite get the chance at a nice, long network career (Tru Calling, Special Unit 2, Forever Knight, Harper’s Island, etc). I could go on and on. 🙂

  9. I’ve never even heard of Tru Calling! Sounds like a cool show.

    Actually, my favorite role for Eliza Dushku is when she played Missy on Bring It On. I’ve watched that movie so many times!

    Ok, I’m probably going to get hate mail for saying this. I couldn’t STAND her on Buffy. She made me sick every time I heard her talk. But I kind of think that was the point, wasn’t it? You weren’t SUPPOSED to like her. LOL

    • I won’t hate on you, Lauralynn. Faith wasn’t supposed to be everyone’s favorite – Buffy was; but, I definitely enjoyed the fight scenes when both slayers were battling evil. I hope you’ll check out Tru Calling. Oh, and I’ve watched Bring it On more than I’d like to admit. Eliza must love playing strong female characters. 🙂

  10. I’ve never seen Tru Calling, but Eliza Dushku is hot, so it’s got one thing working in its favor already! Firefly, on the other hand, I love! I even wrote a blog post about it myself a few months ago. I just caught up with the series earlier this year.

    Currently I’m watching Arrested Development, another series I never saw when it aired, thanks to Netflix – and loving it!

  11. andrewmocete says:

    I remember this show when it premiered. I watched the first few episodes . . . and then got bored. Never watched it again and when I later found out who Jason Priestly’s character really was at the end of the first season, I was thinking, “Lame.”

    But that was years ago. It wouldn’t be the first show I wrote only to like later on. Thanks for the reminder. I’ll give it another go.

    • I’m usually a big fan of Jason Priestly, but I do agree with you. However, it wasn’t forced enough for me to stop watching. I love to stay tuned and see exactly what the writers of a television show had in mind. If you give it another shot, let me know what you think! Thanks for stopping by, Andrew!

  12. Lynn Kelley says:

    I don’t subscribe to Netflix and never watched this show, but this sounds like a show I’d love. Why oh why did they cancel it?

    • I don’t know Lynn….I wish I had the answer. I remember being so upset when I heard the news. At first, I blamed FOX because they cancelled shows on me many times before after a cliffhanger or on-going story line, but maybe it’s poor cursed Eliza on Fox (remember Dollhouse?). Either way, it’s gone and I enjoyed the premise, characters, and actors (eye candy!). I hope you’ll give it a try! If not on Netflix, maybe on a SyFy marathon. Thanks for stopping by!

  13. Firefly is number one on my list of shows gone too soon. It’s the best sci fi show ever done and I loved the Star Trek franchises. I’ve been hoping The Science Channel will do a reunion show. That would be awesome.

    • Hey, Angela! I’ve hoped for many reunion shows over the years – Magnum, Moonlighting, Miami Vice, 90210, etc. Maybe someone with a ton of money should create a network that does nothing but produce 2-hr reunion movies for old television shows? I’d definitely tune in!

  14. Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos says:

    I’m going to have to watch Tru Calling. I liked that actress way back when she did Bring It on. Thanks for the great find!

  15. Julie Glover says:

    Love Netflix! I’ve never heard of Tru Calling. Interesting plot. I do watch all of my shows after they air – on Netflix or online. As for more recent shows gone too soon? Jericho and Pushing Daisies. I’ll also agree with others on Veronica Mars and Firefly, but then again if Firefly hadn’t been cancelled, would I get to enjoy Castle?

    • Very good point, Julie. If Firefly hadn’t been cancelled, Castle may have a different male lead today. Would it be the same with someone besides Fillion? Pushing Daisies is another good one. I love Kristin Chenoweth. Let me know if you queue Tru!

  16. Piper Bayard says:

    I do subscribe to Netflix, and I’ve never seen Tru Calling. I like Eliza Dushku, but I think she needs a snack. She’s too thin to balance her big boobs. And while I enjoy Castle, I LOVED Firefly. I’ll check out Tru Calling. Thanks for sorting through the crap for me and letting me know what’s worth the time.

  17. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Where We Are Today… | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

  18. Emma says:

    Thanks, I’m heading over to Egan’s now.

Leave a Reply

