Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Queue This Up Too!

Amber West and I are staying with Netflix on this week’s Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday.  Courtesy of all the programs that television has to offer, we’ve got a few more series that are definitely worthy of queuing up!

Moonlight

The series begins when private investigator Mick St. John (Alex O’Loughlin, Hawaii 5-0) meets reporter Beth Turner (Sophia Myles, Tristan & Isolde) at the scene of a crime.  Mick immediately feels a connection with Beth – one that he doesn’t place immediately.

But, it doesn’t take him long to remember exactly where he met Beth for the first time.

Mick is a vampire, turned fifty years ago on his wedding night by his wife Coraline (Shannyn Sossamon, A Knight’s Tale).   Needless to say, the couple never lived happily ever after.

 

Mick is a good vampire; he doesn’t hunt or hurt people, unlike his best friend Josef (Jason Dohring, Veronica Mars) who relishes his life as a vampire.  Instead, Mick satisfies his hunger by harvesting blood from the local morgue.

But, back to Mick and Beth.

Twenty-two years ago, Mick saved a kidnapped girl from a house fire – a fire that he started in order to kill Coraline.   As luck would have it, Beth was that little girl.

After meeting at the crime scene, Mick and Beth become instant friends, and it doesn’t take much time before Beth learns his secret.  She handles it quite well, considering, and even allows him to feed on her once to save his life.  Mick and Beth fall in love, but in addition to the fact that Mick is technically dead, Beth is dating the local assistant district attorney (Jordan Belfi, Entourage), and neither she nor Mick succumb to their urges.

The love triangle becomes a square when Beth asks Mick to help her friend; a friend that looks exactly like Coraline.

Moonlight may have only lasted one season on CBS (it’s very possible the 2007-2008 writer’s strike is to blame), but it remains a favorite and is worthy of a queue up.  I don’t want to give too much away about the individual episodes, especially since there are only sixteen to watch, but it sounds like a perfect weekend marathon, doesn’t it?

Moonlight earns a GTV rating; it has everything we want and more.  I can’t remember the last time I was so upset about a program’s cancellation.  It is highly recommended that you watch Moonlight at night – lights off, candle burning, and a glass of red wine in hand.  Keep a hand fan nearby – Mick St. John is one sexy vampire.

Oh, and don’t worry.  The show didn’t necessarily end on a cliffhanger.  Even with the premature cancellation, and a great storyline for a second season, it wraps nicely considering.

What are you waiting for?  Queue it Up!

If by chance you do not subscribe to Netflix, watch for the Moonlight daytime marathons on SyFy.

Episodes with Bite:

“Fever”
“The Ringer”
“12:04 AM”
“Fleur de Lis”
“What’s Left Behind”

Did you watch Moonlight?  Like me, are you waiting for Steve McGarrett to vamp out on Hawaii 5-0?  What show’s cancellation absolutely infuriated you?  Is it available on Netflix?  I’d love to hear from you!

Now click over to Amber’s blog and see why she recommends you queue up Downton Abbey.

Come back next week for another SyFy edition as Amber and I review a few more of the network’s most popular programs – Eureka and Warehouse 13.

Remember to stop by the #watchwed hashtag in Twitter to discuss any of today’s reviews, or to mention any television programs that you’d like to see on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday in the future.  We’re currently working on our August and September schedules and would love to chat with you!

A Recap of The WatchWed Review System:

GTV (Gourmet TV): Everything we want and more

MacTV (MacNCheese TV): Guilty pleasure. Not perfect, but is satisfies

JFTV (Junk food TV): It’s not great for us, but we’ll go back for seconds

SSTV (Still Simmering TV): It has potential, but the jury is still out

NIV (Nyquil Induced Viewing): Perfect for that late night television sleep timer

LOTV (Liver&Onions TV): Do we really have to explain? Blech

This entry was posted in TV with Bite, Watch it? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Queue This Up Too!

  1. Amanda Rudd says:

    Yes! Moonlight was awesome! I was so distraught when it got cancelled. Man, I knew I forgot a big one when I did my list of TV shows killed before their time last month… Oh well. Great post!

  2. Stacy Green says:

    I never watched Moonlight but I remember wanting to. I always miss premieres and then give up. Will definitely check it out. As for cancellations, I’d have to say Eureka. They were supposed to get six more episodes after the current running season to wrap things up, but Scy-Fi changed their minds. Surprising for one of their top-rated shows.

  3. I remember Moonlight. I liked it, but didn’t get to see every episode, though I can’t remember why. I think you’re right, it was the writer’s strike that ended up being the death of the show.

    I was extremely ticked when CBS cancelled the Criminal Minds spinoff, but ended it on a cliffhanger with one the main chars maybe getting her head blown off. If they weren’t one hundred percent sure the show was going to continue, they shouldn’t have written a cliffhanger, or, at the very least, should have never aired it.

    • I honeslty think the Criminal Minds: Suspect Behavior writers never expected to get cancelled because of the HUGE success of Criminal Minds (the original)….thus the cliffhanger. Writers should learn a lesson from this example alone – nothing is safe. Even the CSI programs have toned down the season ending cliffhangers lately – and they’re usually the worst. You just never know….thanks for stopping by, Angela!

  4. Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos says:

    Another great one to add to our cue. As hot as it has been here, tv marathons are the perfect thing to do!! Thanks for the great recommendations!

  5. Piper Bayard says:

    I love Moonlight. My daughter discovered it this weekend and watched the entire series in two days. Then she walked around the house bemoaning the fact that it was cancelled. I miss it, too. Stations need to catch a clue that a loyal following of millions is better than a sporadic following of . . . . well, more millions.

    I always enjoy your blog, Tiffany.

  6. Catie Rhodes says:

    I have never watched Moonlight. The way you describe it really sounds good. I’m going to keep an eye out for reruns.

    Show I screamed when it was cancelled? The Sarah Connor Chronicles. We loved that. Also, I thought Happy Town looked promising and never got a chance. We loved Twin Peaks and Happy Town shared enough of the same elements to snare us.

    You know I love these #TV posts. LOL

    • Happy Town is a good one – the darn network never even finished airing the filmed episodes. That really chaps my hide….

      That also reminded me of Eastwick – did you watch that? I love TV shows about witches…

      You know I’m a Twin Peaks girl. That was almost my Netflix selection this week, but I saved it for later. I’m on a vampire kick now….ready for my Damon to return and Fright Night to hit the screens!

      Thanks for stopping by, Catie!

  7. Oh yes. I loved watching this one. It was a great show. You know now that I think about it I don’t remember how it ended. I’m going to have to go back to watch them! 🙂 Thanks for letting me know it’s on netflix.

  8. I wondered what happened to Moonlight. I liked that show. Sigh.

  9. Sorry I’m so late weighing in, but I’ve been out of town, and then having to catch up at work….

    Anyway, Moonlight is probably my favorite show EVER. I almost cried when they cancelled it. I still have a huge crush on Alex O’Loughlin! As soon as I’m finished watching Buffy for about the 7th times, I’m going to start on the Moonlight DVDs again. :0)

    I agree about Happy Town that was mentioned above. When it got cancelled SO early, I was like “Huh?”

  10. Anya Kelleye says:

    Great post Tiffany! Thanks for sending me the link.

    Yes, I was also very upset when Moonlight was canceled. Even my son (who was like 8 yrs old at the time) loved watching it with me. He’s the only one in my family that will watch vampire movies and tv with me. 🙂

  11. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Where We Are Today… | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

Leave a Reply

