Friday FabOoolousness – Beating the Heat with Movie Madness

Due to the horrendous Texas heat this summer, we’ve been staying indoors as much as possible.  What’s the best pastime when stuck inside?  Watching movies!

We’ve made it to the theater a few times, but mostly we’ve picked up the $1/night rentals at Redbox or caught an almost-new release on the cable channels and On Demand.  Mostly, we’ve focused on comedy and suspense, but occasionally we throw in some action and the supernatural. 

Grab the popcorn, and turn out the lights! Here are just a few picks of what we think is worth a watch.

Laughs, Laughs, and More Laughs

First Place goes to…..

Horrible Bosses – hands down, laugh out loud funny, from start to finish.  Everyone knows that Jason Bateman and Jason Sudeikis are funny, but what about Charlie Day, Jennifer Aniston, Colin Farrell, Kevin Spacey, and Jamie Foxx? 

Personally, we thought that Jennifer Aniston, Colin Farrell, and Kevin Spacey stole the show.  Jennifer Aniston’s sexy role is a far cry from the “Rachel” we all know and love; Colin Farrell nails the coked-out tool roll; and, Kevin Spacey’s character is the perfect combination of paranoid and crazy. 

While Jaime Foxx didn’t play that large of a role throughout the film, we did laugh out loud every single time his character was called by name….   

Honorable Mentions go to….

Just Go With It– starring Adam Sandler and Jennifer Aniston.  Watch out for scene stealers Bailee Madison, Griffin Gluck, Dave Matthews, and Nicole Kidman.  Sandler and Aniston’s chemistry is fabOoolous throughout, but the entire supporting cast makes the movie. 

Grown Ups – starring Adam Sandler, Kevin James, Chris Rock, David Spade, and Rob Schneider.  Everyone saw the advertising for this film, but there are many more laugh-out-loud moments than what we saw in the trailer.

Hall Pass – starring Owen Wilson and Jason Sudeikis.  We had actually heard that this film was a disappointment, but we have to agree to disagree.  Granted, we watched it late at night, but we laughed a lot – in particularly during one scene that caught us completely off-guard. 

Edge of our Seats Suspense

First Place goes to….

The Lincoln Lawyer – without naming names, someone in my household must see every single movie starring Matthew McConaughey and Ryan Phillippe.  Because of this, someone else in my household does not want to see every single Matthew McConaughey and Ryan Phillippe movie, which is why we had to wait for this film to be available at Redbox. 

After we watched The Lincoln Lawyer, that same certain someone loved it just as much as the Matthew and Ryan fan did.   In other words, men and women alike will enjoy this flick.

From the trailer, everyone knows that Matthew’s character is defending Ryan’s character for a murder that he actually committed.  But what we don’t know pulls the audience smack-dab in the middle of masterful suspense.  To what lengths will one go in covering up a crime?  Do we ever know all who are involved? 

A very close second goes to….

Limitless – starring Bradley Cooper and Robert De Niro.  What would you do if you were handed a mysterious pill that promised to activate 100% of your brain, as opposed to the usual twenty percent?  Would you take it?

Attention writers: Cooper’s character is an author, and after he takes the pill, he finishes his novel in just around four days.  Does this tempt you, even the slightest bit? 

It’s Not Real, but it’s Still FabOoolous

The award for the most awaited release of the summer goes to….

Fright Night – this much awaited remake did not disappoint.  Colin Farrell finally brings the bad-boy vampire back to the big screen.  Viewers experience a vampire that actually feeds on humans and still has the ability to seduce every female in the audience.      

The story remains very close to the original 1985 horror film, but also introduces a few new twists to make it its very own.   A few of the 3-D special effects were great, and we even saw a tiny cameo by one of the original Fright Night actors. 

While Roddy McDowall was and always will be the great Peter Vincent, vampire hunter, David Tennant makes the role uniquely his.  Every scene of Tennant’s is brilliant and very entertaining.   I’d say more, but I don’t want to ruin it for those who haven’t seen it yet.      

The award for heroes of the summer goes to….

Transformers 3: The Dark of the Moon – once again, Bumble Bee and Sam’s (Shia LaBeouf) relationship, as well as Optimus Prime and Sam’s relationship, made me cry.  Yes – for the second Transformers movie in a row, I actually teared up.  Never in a million years did I think I’d enjoy these movies about robots transforming into cars and saving the world, yet alone grow to love these Autobots the way that I do. 

Josh Duhamel’s role grows immensely in this third film and hallelujah for that!  Everyone needs a little more Josh in their life…  Oh, and don’t worry – many cringed, especially the men, when it was announced that Megan Fox would not reprise her role as Sam’s girlfriend; but, Rosie Huntington-Whiteley’s character fills the void perfectly.    

The award for the biggest surprise of the summer goes to….

I am Number Four – based on the bestselling YA novel of the same name, this science fiction hit targeted for the younger generation pleasantly surprised the thirtysomethings in this house.  We immediately called family members, young and not-so-young alike, and recommended a quick trip to Redbox.

Every single one of them loved alien John Smith (Number Four) and his handler/warrior/guardian, Henri.  The special effects in the fight scene at the end are absolutely fabOoolous, and the anticipation for a sequel is astounding.  The Power of Six is on book shelves now; does anyone know when the movie starts production? 

Not every movie can earn a top spot, but a few other films that kept us entertained and out of the hot-summer heat include: Priest. Life As We Know It, You Again, Date Night, The Hangover Part 2, The Mechanic, The Rite, The Dilemma, and Little Fockers.

Next up on our must-see list:  Sucker Punch, Season of the Witch, Arthur, Red Riding Hood, and Your Highness. Which one should we watch first?

What’s the last movie that you watched? What’s next on your list of must-sees?  Do you prefer going to the movies or staying in?  Have you tried a Redbox near you?  I’d love to hear from you! 

This entry was posted in Movie Madness, Ooo Factor! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Friday FabOoolousness – Beating the Heat with Movie Madness

  1. We rent from Redbox all the time! :0)

    I loved the third Transformers movie. My husband and I both thought it was the best of all three of them. I can’t pinpoint exactly why, but we both agreed. I, too, love the relationship between Sam and Bumblebee, and Sam and Optimus Prime. What I trhink was SO cool was that the transformer that was voiced by Leonard Nimoy actually looked like him and at one point he said, “The needs of the few outweigh the needs of the many.” (Some younger readers might not get that, LOL.)

    I have a friend who LOVES Matthew McConaughey. She wanted to see The Lincoln Lawyer so badly, but she was just too busy when it was on theaters. I wanted to see it because I read the book and loved it. Michael Connelly is one of my favorite authors. I told my friend we would just have to rent it and have a girl’s night.

    • I agree that Transformers 3 was the best of the franchise to date, and Leonard Nimoy always brings a bit of magic with every project he touches. I love when he guests on Fringe. Do you watch that?

      Matthew returns to his A Time To Kill roots with a brilliant performance in The Lincoln Lawyer. I highly recommend it! Thanks for stopping by, Lauralynn!

      • I don’t watch Fringe, but I wish I had been. My son and daughter-in-law like it. One of these days, when I get high speed internet other than my Verizon internet card, I’ll sign up for Netflix.

  2. Stacy Green says:

    I’m so glad I’m not the only one who teared up at Sam/Bumblebee and Sam/Optimus! I think the movies have more quality than people give them credit for. I need to see The Lincoln Lawyer, Limitless and Horrible Bosses. I have been fail on getting to the movies this summer.

    • It’s Friday, Stacy. Go to Redbox and rent a movie for $1! They have The Lincoln Lawyer and Limitless. Go! 🙂

      I wasn’t expecting much from the Transformer movies, which is probably why I’ve enjoyed every single one. I didn’t play with the toys growing up, and I didn’t watch the cartoons. I know – shoot me now. The movies have been so well done, of course Bay is pretty amazing, but I even enjoyed the 2nd movie that struggled due to the writer’s strike and all that jazz. But 3? Transformers 3 wins for best of the franchise – hands down. Thanks for stopping by!

      • Stacy Green says:

        I may do that, Tiffany. I didn’t know The Lincoln Lawyer was out yet.

        I was the same way with Transformers. Didn’t expect much. Yes, 3 was def the best:)

  3. Manon Eileen says:

    Great post, Tiffany! 😀

    I’d say skip Your Highness altogether. I thought it was the poorest written, poorest acted (and that from my favorite actress, Natalie Portman, an Academy awarded actress! so disappointing :(), poorest directed and poorest (most disgusting) humor I have seen in a long, long time. I was absolutely appalled and actually stopped watching it after a while when a centaur raped one of the (male) characters in a cave (I’m not making this up, and I’m not a prude). I bet it was supposed to be funny but I thought it was just … you know. So STUPID and tasteless. It is one big, huge pile of corny, line after line, scene after scene (which I bet was also intentional, but not funny). A very, very bad movie. Unless, of course, you like that kind of humor. >.> (I have to admit I’m not usually into comedies, although I thought Tucker & Dale vs. Evil was pretty brilliant ;p).

    I have yet to see I am Number Four and Limitless! ^_^

    • Oh, no, Manon. So disappointing to read about Your Highness. I will defnitely take your warning into account, but we’ll probably watch it anyway. My guy really wants to see it….and since we normally watch what I want, It’s his turn.

      I don’t know if Redbox still has I am Number Four, but if you have a box near you, go rent it for $1. It’s wonderful! So entertaining, and I love Timothy Olyphant. 🙂 Limitless is new to the rental machines, so it for sure should be there. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Catie Rhodes says:

    The last movie we watched was In the Electric Mist of the Confederate Dead. It’s an older movie and is based on a novel by James Lee Burke–whom I consider to be one of the greatest mystery writers alive.

    One I can’t wait to see? Straw Dogs. Of course, I have a long wait since it won’t be in theaters until mid-September. Since my allergies keep me out of movie theaters, I’ll be waiting until it hits iTunes. So, yeah, long wait.

    Wasn’t The Lincoln Lawyer good? I’m reading the Lincoln Lawyer trilogy by Michael Connelly right now. 😀

    • The Lincoln Lawyer book series is a trilogy? Does that mean there’s more material for another motion picture? Ooo, I sure hope so!

      James Lee Burke – I’ll have to remember that. Thanks, Catie!

      • Catie Rhodes says:

        The Lincoln Lawyer is not just part of a trilogy, it’s part of a *good* trilogy. I’m enjoying the heck out of these books. The second book is The Brass Verdict. The third book is The Reversal. All by Michael Connelly.

        James Lee Burke is the mystery writer I wish I could be. Check out his Dave Robicheaux books sometime. 😀

  5. I liked Transformers. I think that was the last movie I saw. Or maybe it was Harry Potter. I don’t get out much. 😛 I don’t know what it is with me, but I don’t seem to enjoy movies like I used to, unless they’re based on something I’m already familiar with (like the new movies based on YA series :-D). Movies have gotten really long too. I like my 45-min TV shows.

    • Angela, I love my 40-minute TV shows too. I can’t praise the DVR enough! 🙂 I agree that movies are too long now. Perhaps they are afraid to edit the story, which is nuts considering as writers we edit a ton out of our work when we revise. We always look at the length of a film before watching it – I get excited when I see 90 minutes. That’s one reason why we watch so many comedies here lately. Thanks for stopping by!

  6. I haven’t seen any of these movies! Sheesh, what the heck have I been doing all summer?

    I was going to say to watch Your Highness first because I really wanted to see it, but after Manon’s comment, now I’m scared. Such a shame because I love Natalie Portman so much.

    • Tameri,

      I’ll tell you what – Manon’s comment discouraged me a bit too, but I know my guy really wants to see Your Highness so we’ll still have to check it out. I’ll let you know what I think too so you can weigh your options. Thanks for stopping by!

  7. K.B. Owen says:

    Hi, Tiffany! Great reviews. It’s nice to have your perspective, so I know what to try out! (btw, I cried during Transformers 2 as well, lol).

    • I’m so glad that you cried with me! Everyone hated on Transformers 2….but I enjoyed it. Let me know if you check out any of these movies. Do you have Redbox up north where you live?

      Thanks for stopping by, Kathy! Happy weekend to you & Paul 🙂

  8. I don’t know if I’m proud, or embarrased to say that I’ve seen almost all the movies on your list!! (Do I have a life? Yeah, it just involved TV shows and movies!) I am still waiting to see Fright Night though.

    The hubby and I normally just wait until everything is On Demand to watch. $5 is cheaper than $40 for both of us to go to the theater, just to be annoyed by other movie goers! Although I do love going to the movies, I only do so when it’s a must see. Last one seen at the theater: Scream 5
    Last movie rented On Demand: The Lincoln Lawer (we both loved it BTW).

    • We rarely go to the theater either – it’s so expensive to see a movie anymore. Most of the films I have seen at the actual theater lately have been with girlfriends during the day so that we can take advantage of the matinee prices. But heck, even the matinee price for 3-D is $9/ticket! We’re BIG fans of Redbox in our house. As a matter of fact, we rented Arthur and Sucker Punch for this weekend.

      Thanks for stopping by, Claudia! If you lived nearby, I’d go see Fright Night with you again. 🙂

  9. Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos says:

    I really want to see Your Highness, it looks funny. And I agree with all your other choice. Great movies, fun movies! We do a combination of Netflix, cable and going to the movies.

  10. You HAVE to see Midnight in Paris!!! SOOO good:)

  11. Pooh says:

    Sorry, we don’t go to the movies. We wait until it is on TV. Contrary to you dear niece there is seldom anything we want to see anymore. Love you, Pooh

  12. Julie Glover says:

    Clearly, I am WAY behind on movies. My hubby and I were standing at the RedBox one night looking for a movie for us and our boys, and we were between I Am Number Four and Rango. Guess which one we picked? Yep, the wrong one. I think we all would have enjoyed IANF much more. I tend to watch movies through Netflix now. We’re working our way through Bond films, but we did recently see The King’s Speech (finally). Thanks for the recommendations! As usual, I’m putting your ideas on my list (well, except for horror since I don’t do that).

    • The netflix account is great for catching up with older movies, especially when you stream like we do. We dropped the actual delivery of discs a while ago. Unfortunately, the streaming doesn’t provide a plethora of new releases thus our new relationship with Redbox. Our little community has one on every street corner so it makes renting very easy! I think you should take another trip and check out I am Number Four…thanks for stopping by, Julie!

  13. Jenny Hansen says:

    I’m way behind on everything that’s not writing or baby-related (as you know) but I’ve been wantng to see Horrible Bosses AND The Lincoln Lawyer. I’m with you – those boys are just hot on screen. Off screen, they don’t acquit themselves all that well, but on screen? Hubba-hubba!

    I’m going to have to see if we have Red Box out here in Southern California. 🙂

    • Jenny,
      I’ve seen them outside 7/11’s and in some grocery stores – Vons, Albertsons. I know they have them all over San Diego, so it should be easy to find one. Good luck!

      • I hope you find a Redbox, Jenny! They make watching new releases so much more affordable than even the cable companies. This weekend we Redboxed Arthur (very decent remake, fun laughs) and Sucker Punch (not sure what to say about that one…). Thanks for the blog love! 🙂

  14. Pingback: Combat Computing: Beware of Kids and Pets! | Jenny Hansen's Blog

  15. I just saw The Help in theaters this weekend with my best friend for her birthday.

    Last two movies my husband and I rented . . .

    Skyline was absolutely horrible. During the movie, you keep waiting for the plot to take off, only to realize when the movie ends, that there was no plot, and that it was super obvious that in the second movie the water is going to be what kills the otherwise unbeatable aliens. (I think by your rating system that makes it Liver and Onions 🙂 )

    Red Riding Hood was visually stunning, but I don’t think they exploited the story’s full potential. If the wolf were just a little more realistic and the acting just a little better, I probably would have enjoyed it more. That said, I think it’s worth a watch. I won’t give away any of the twists.

    • I have heard wonderful things about The Help. I wasn’t all that interested at first, but after so many people have given it rave reviews, it may be worth a watch! Sorry that you sat through Skyline; I forgot about that one. Even my Sci-Fi loving guy didn’t think all that much about it. I can’t wait to see Red Riding Hood. Why we haven’t watched it by now is beyond me. Thanks for stopping by, Marcy!

  16. I’ve been meaning to tell you how much I enjoy reading your posts about movies and T.V. I can see that I’ve been missing out on some good movies. Now I want to see the Lincoln Lawyer and Horrible Bosses. I watched The GrownUps with my adult son who can remember lots of funny lines from lots of movies but these came so fast and furious he had a hard time keeping up. The last movie I saw was Source Code. I really enjoyed it for the time travel aspect and how they handled it.

  17. Hey, Tiffany. You’ve convinced me I want to see Transformers. I was so disappointed in the second one I was afraid to see the third.

    Fright Night I’m still on the fence about. It’ll probably be a rental for me.

    Still have not seen Harry Potter movie. What have I been waiting for? Me, to get better. I plan to see it this week and hopefully Transformers before they disappear off the big screen.

    • Hey, Angela. I hope you do get to see Transformers in 3-D at the theater – there are some really geat special effects…especially when the SEALS jump from one of the buildings in downtown Chicago. Thanks for stopping by!

  18. Hi Tiffany, I noticed that you have The Versatile Blogger Award to your right, I just thought you should know that I nominated you, again. 🙂

    You can check out my blog post on it here: http://byronscurse.wordpress.com/2011/08/29/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    I look forward to following your reviews and such.

  19. Jess Witkins says:

    Love the movie marathon! I thought Just Go With It was really cute and shockingly I Am Number Four isn’t so bad. Looking forward to seeing Fright Night yet!

  20. Tiffany – my husband watched Sucker Punch last night and, well, let’s just say it’s 4am and I’ve been awake since 2am. I really wish I’d had your movie review before I watched it!

    Arthur looked hysterical, I’m going to rent that one. No more freaky movies that give me nightmares. ; )

Leave a Reply

