Tele-Tuesday: New Laughs for Fall

It’s that time of year again!  The fall television schedule is right around the corner and, as always, the networks have a lineup of many new programs to accompany our returning favorites. 

Similar to last week, we’re introducing more of the new television programs this fall.  Some of the series have promise, while others may flop – but, regardless, we’ll tune in to check them out!

Today, it’s time for new laughs!

*****

Free Agents – NBC

Based on the British comedy series of the same name, Free Agents stars Hank Azaria (The Simpsons, Mad About You) as Alex, a recent divorce’ trying to move on with his life.  Opposite Hank, stars Kathryn Hahn (Crossing Jordan) as Helen, an office-mate also trying to move on with her life following her fiancé’s death.  What do two recently heartbroken co-workers do?  They get drunk, they sleep together, and then they try to keep their work life professional.   

At first, I thought Free Agents was about two Public Relations executives working in the fast-paced and highly competitive sports world (remember Arli$$ on HBO?).  However, this romantic/platonic friendship between co-workers might be fun to watch, not to mention Azaria and Hahn are fabulous.

Free Agents premieres Wednesday, September 14th

*****

 

2 Broke Girls – CBS

Filling a very popular time slot after Two and a Half Men, 2 Broke Girls follows Max (Kat Dennings, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist) and Caroline (Beth Behrs),  two waitresses in a New York City restaurant.  The two become fast friends despite their different backgrounds: Max comes from a working-class family and Caroline’s family was rich, but she is struggling now.  Max and Caroline dream of one day opening a shop of their own, but are having difficulty making their pay checks stretch enough to even pay the bills.

Created with Michael Patrick King (writer, Sex and the City), 2 Broke Girls marks the second new comedy this season touched by comedian Whitney Cummings (she also stars in Whitney on NBC). 

2 Broke Girls premieres Monday, September 19th

*****

New Girl – Fox

New Girl stars Zooey Deschanel (Almost Famous, (500) Days of Summer, Yes Man) as Jess Day, a likeable young woman piecing together her life after a breakup.  Many words can be used to describe Jess: adorable, goofy, vulnerable, faithful, awkward, and offbeat.  She moves in with three single men – bartender Nick (Jake Johnson, No Strings Attached), the Casanova-like Schmidt (Max Greenfield, Veronica Mars and Ugly Betty), and athletic trainer, Coach (Damon Wayans, Jr.), later replaced by Winston (Lamorne Morris) due to ABC’s renewal of Happy Endings where Damon Wayans, Jr. is a cast member. 

The men, and Jess’ best friend Cece (Hannah Simone, Beautiful People) help teach Jess and themselves all about life, love, and the ever-important self. 

New Girl premieres Tuesday, September 20th

*****

 

Up All Night – NBC

Starring an all-time funny cast, Christina Applegate (Married with Children, and many motion picture successes including The Sweetest Thing, Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy, and Hall Pass), and Saturday Night Live alumni Will Arnett and Maya Rudolph, Up All Night follows new parents Chris and Reagan Brinkley while they struggle to find the necessary balance in their life since the addition of their baby, Amy. 

Reagan (Applegate) returns to work for her needy boss, talk-show host Ava (Rudolph), while hubby Chris (Arnett), decides to fill the role as the stay-at-home-dad.  Up All Night promises laughs, as any new parent can relate to a lack of sleep, self-doubt, and the ever-growing pressure of maintaining a normal life while balancing parenthood. 

Up All Night premieres Wednesday, September 21st

*****

Whitney – NBC

Developed, written, and starring comedian Whitney Cummings (Chelsea Lately), Whitney follows the story of Whitney’s life experiences.  Whitney lives with her long-term boyfriend, Alex (Chris D’Elia, Glory Daze), and the non-traditional couple sees no reason to get married. 

The happy couple is surrounded by their friends: Lily (Zoe Lister-Jones, Breaking Upwards), who believes in happily ever after, Roxanne (Rhea Seehorn, Franklin & Bash), a relationship cynic, Neal (Maulik Pancholy, 30 Rock) who appears to be in a perfect relationship with Lily, and Mark (Dan O’Brien, multiple television appearances including How I Met Your Mother), the self-proclaimed ultimate bachelor. 

Whitney’s comedy reflects her own opinionated views, which is why it comes as no surprise that she is playing an opinionated woman on television.

Whitney premieres Thursday, September 22nd 

*****

What do you think?  Will you tune in to watch any of the new comedies on television this year?  Which one most interests you?  Which of these shows will make it and which ones won’t? I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in More Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Tele-Tuesday: New Laughs for Fall

  1. so many I want to see! have to figure out how to juggle them all. lol. sad. I heard Whitney wasn’t very good. But I def. want to see Up All Night and New Girl. Those are probably the ones i’m most interested in. I think I’ll give 2 Broke Girls a try too. My worry always is that I’ll get into a show and then they’ll cancel it. I hate that!

    • I worry about that every year, Lori! Unfortunately, the networks axe new shows a bit too early for me. I don’t have very high expectations for Whitney, I know that’s horrible…but I really do like Whitney Cummings’ standup and roast performances so I’ll check it out. I think Up All Night and New Girl are the early fan favorites. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. K.B. Owen says:

    I’m just glad the sitcoms are out there! We seemed to have a real dearth of them before. Great descriptions, Tiff! Several look promising. Thought I’d try 2 Girls.

  3. I told you I almost never watch current programs, but I’ve decided to set Free Agents and 2 Broke Girls on my DVR and give them a try. Thanks.

  4. I’m not really a big fan of sitcoms. I absolutely love The Big Bang Theory, but I really don’t care about the rest. I like drama, mystery, and suspense. I have a great sense of humor, but I feel like most sitcoms fall short of funny. My husband, however, loves sitcoms, so I’ll be watching a few because he will. He mentioned that he might watch Up All Night.

  5. Jenny Hansen says:

    OMG, great list, Tiffany! I already know it, you’re going to entice me further to break the 2011 TV moratorium. I shall persevere though…

    I love Hank Azaria! Can you believe Helen Hunt let that cutie pie get away?? It’s nice to see him and Christina Applegate up to bat on some new comedy.

    Thanks for the summary!

    • LOL, Jenny! As wrapped up in television as I am, I had no idea that Helen Hunt and Hank Azaria weren’t together any more. Pop culture/entertainment FAIL! I do think both Azaria’s and Applegate’s new shows look promising. I love the commercials for Up All Night.

      I don’t want to break you away from your 2011 TV moratorium….I’ll feel guilty! I’ll do my best to keep you updated so you don’t feel the need to cheat. 🙂

  6. Lynn Kelley says:

    Thanks for the scoop on these new shows. Up All Night looks good to me. Last week I was up all night a few times helping with newborn grandbaby, so I can relate to this show! LOL.

  7. tamikaeason says:

    It’s funny to me how much I enjoy light hearted comedy and romantic comedy in movies and television but not for reading material! Oh well,looks like 2 Broke Girls and Up All Night will be good!

    • Tamika, I don’t really read light-hearted and/or funny books either. I stick to the mystery and dark novels. But comedy on TV and in the movies? I love it – I prefer to laugh, especially here lately when selecting what to watch. Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Julie Glover says:

    I’m so happy to see Christina Applegate again. I enjoyed Samantha Who and was very impressed with her handling of the cancer diagnosis. It’s great to know she’s back on TV! I also love Zooey Deschanel. Thus, New Girl and Up All Night are the ones that appeal to me the most. 2 Broke Girls definitely doesn’t seem like my style. But you never know!

    • Julie, we have so much in common…. 🙂 I’m a fan of both Christina Applegate and Zooey Deschanel. The Deschanel sisters are taking over FOX, and that doesn’t bother me one bit. Thanks for stopping by!

  9. Stacey says:

    I can’t wait for all the new shows!!!!!! I love this time of year 🙂 I enjoy your blog! Thanks!!!

  10. Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos says:

    I think New Girl looks really cute. The ads I’ve seen for Up All Night look cute, but I don’t know if I’ll like the show.

    • You picked the two I’m most excited about. I must admit, I’m a lot more interested in Free Agents after researching it. The commercials threw me way off….thanks for stopping by, Jill!

  11. Up All Night and New Girl look interesting to me. I looove Zooey! She is so pretty, cute and she has those eyes that talk at times without her saying a word.
    I also like Christina Applegate… she has come such a long way from the “dumb blonde” Kelly on Married… With Children.
    I think I need some new comedies in my life… all I watch are shows about murder and serial killers!

    Thanks for a great post.

    Darlene

    • I loved Zooey in Failure to Launce and Yes Man. She has fabulous comedic timing….I like her voice too. Is that weird? 🙂 I hope you enjoy the new comedies! Thanks for stopping by, Darlene!

  12. I can’t choose! Don’t stress me!

    Okay, no seriously every time I see a commercial for Whitney, I laugh. I have to check that one out and 2 Broke Girls looks funny, too. I didn’t know Zooey has a new show. I love her sister’s show and I loved her in Elf, so I have to check that out as well.

    As always, great picks!

  13. Hartford says:

    I’m not usually a fan of sitcoms but I must admit some of these look pretty good. I had seen the trailer for Broke Girls and thought it had potential.

  14. Gigi Salem says:

    The minute I saw an add describing Zooey’s character as “adorkable” they had me hook, line, and sinker. Just that they would use THAT word gives me great hope.

    • Adorkable is a GREAT word. I am really looking forward to New Girl. Amber and I both plan to watch so it’ll be interesting to see who gets to review for Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday. Thanks for the blog love, Gigi!

  15. I love a good comedy, I also love Zooey Deschanel, so New Girl looks really cute to me. Up All Night, Whitney and 2 Broke Girls look cute too. Gah! So much TV and so little time. I can hardly keep up with my 1 show–Project Runway. Plus…Glee. Eek. That’s what DVRs and time machines are for, right??

Leave a Reply

