Tele-Tuesday: Perp or Victim?

Continuing with last week’s post, television 2011 has brought us a large lineup of new programs hoping to find a permanent home on the networks.  After giving almost all of the new shows a try, I’ve picked a few that have definitely peaked my interest and earned a spot on the DVR.

For those of you with just enough time for a few programs a week, this is for you!

We’ve already discussed why Revenge is Sweet, so today we’re going to talk about what happens when someone’s number is up.

Post 9/11, the U. S. Government hires Mr. Fitch (Michael Emerson,Lost) to build a computer with the programming capabilities to predict terrorist activity.  Fitch’s machine produces numbers, specifically social security numbers, indicating who the country should add to the watch list.  Of course, not every number that it generates is indicative of terrorist activity and those are thrown out.

Fitch decides to save the portion of his computer the government deems irrelevant, and he discovers that he can find individuals who may or may not be involved in a crime tomorrow, the next day, or a year from now.

Realizing he doesn’t have the required resources to follow each lead on his own, Mr. Fitch seeks out former CIA agent, John Reese (Jim Caviezel from major motion pictures including The Passion of the Christ).  Reese is the perfect partner for Fitch; he’s presumed dead by the U.S. government, and he possesses the highest level of training and skills the U.S. military has to offer.  Better yet, his beloved was murdered years before and Reese has nothing to lose.

Person of Interest begins when hoodlums on a subway train attempt to mug Reese.  Notice we said attempt….Reese, dirty and resembling a bum, fights back and incapacitates each and every one in the gang.  The police take Reese in for questioning, where he meets Detective Carter (Taraji P. Henson, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button).  Det. Carter isn’t buying Reese’s story, but he is bailed out by a mysterious benefactor (Fitch) before she has the chance to question him further.

Reese cleans up and Fitch pitches his idea to him – “the machine” generates a social security number, and Reese will follow the individual gathering Intel to determine whether or not the individual is going to be the victim of a crime, and when, or whether or not the individual is going to be the perpetrator of a crime, and try to prevent it.  Mr. Fitch will provide Reese the necessary funds for each investigation; money is no object.

The first social security number Reese receives belongs to a young and beautiful district attorney.  Reese follows her with the intentions of protecting her from whatever danger is ahead, but he soon discovers that she, along with others on the NYPD, is dirty.  Reese uses this opportunity to blackmail and pocket one of the dirty cops, Detective Lionel Fusco (Kevin Chapman, Rescue Me), which really comes in handy considering Det. Carter refuses to forget about the subway vigilante.

The phrase, “act first, ask questions later,” describes Reese perfectly.  He’s not afraid to punch, kick, or even shoot anyone he considers dangerous and a threat to the individuals he is tasked with protecting.  We’ve likened Reese to Michael Westen (Burn Notice) in our house, except Reese has even less to live for than our favorite burned spy, making him one dangerous dude.

And, what about Fitch’s past?  Person of Interest provides flashbacks giving the audience tiny pieces to the puzzle.  We know that Fitch is the brains behind the computer; we know that the “face” of Fitch’s organization, his partner Ingram (Brett Cullen, The Gates), has been murdered; we know that Fitch now suffers ailments from a previous injury, and that he too is presumed dead.

What happened?  Is it possible that the government tried to cover up the fact that it asked Fitch to build this technology?

Do you watch Person of Interest?  What do you think?  Do you think the government has a “super computer” they use to track potential threats?  How long before Det. Carter learns the truth, and will she join the team or arrest Reese?  I’d love to hear from you!  

 

Remember – the final season of Chuck premieres this Friday night on NBC…..What do the writers have in store for fellow Nerd Herd and Buy More fans?  Will Morgan survive the Intersect?  Will Sarah and Chuck, Ellie and Awesome, and Casey save the world and live happily ever after?  What antics does JeffSter have up their sleeves this season?

Let me know in the comments section if you’re a Chuck fan too and what you hope to see as the series comes to an end!

This entry was posted in More Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Tele-Tuesday: Perp or Victim?

  1. I do not watch Person of Interest… but you make it sound so much more… interesting? 😉 Definitely will be checking this out on an evening I do not work.
    I wouldn’t be surprised if the government had some sort of technological super whammy device to find “potential threats” to national security.

  2. EllieAnn says:

    Person of Interest sounds SO good! This might be one Michael and I both might like. It’ll be weird to see Benjamin Linus not being Benjamin Linus, though.
    I adore Chuck and I can’t wait to watch this season.
    Once again, great post.

    • Ellie, I have a hard time not calling him Linus! LOL. Same thing with John Locke on Hawaii Five-0 now. Last night I kept thinking that Wo-Fat was going to pay for beating Locke the way he did. haha

      I hope you and Michael check it out! Let me know what you think. 🙂

  3. Stacy Green says:

    This looks like a really good show. I need to get caught up on it. I love Jim C, and every preview I see looks excellent.

    My hubby loves Chuck. He’s bummed this is the last season. Fun post!

    • Revenge is #1 on my new list and Person of Interest is #1 on my guy’s new list. I highly recommend it….and next week? American Horror Story! 🙂

      Chuck. Oh, Chuck. I’m just so glad that the viewers *and Subway* have been able to save the show as many times as we have. At least the writers get to actually wrap the story line up, something that doesn’t happen often on TV anymore.

      Thanks for stopping by, Stacy!

  4. K.B. Owen says:

    It’s funny, I don’t sit down to watch Person of Interest, but I find myself catching parts of it while I have the tv on in the kitchen (dinner clean-up), and I do find it intriguing. No way the gov’t has a computer like that, though – it can’t even keep track of where it’s spending its own money, lol! Although if the gov’t ever did pay to get one made, it would probably be forgotten about, haha. Thanks for another great post, Tiffany!

  5. I can’t believe my husband hasn’t DVR’d this one yet. Sounds exactly like something he’d watch and I would pretend to have no interest in, yet am completely into. Yeah, we play this game with Burn Notice and a few other shows. I have commitment issues, stop judging. ; )

    I’ll have to put it in the line up. Thanks Tiffany!!

    • I love your comment, Tameri. Haven’t we all been there? Hahahaha

      I highly recommend your hubby check this out. My guy really likes it. And you can watch out of the corner of your eye. 😉

      Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Hubby likes this show. I’m on the if there’s nothing else to watch I will side of the fence. Definitely looking forward to the final season of Chuck!

  7. Hartford says:

    Ohhhhhhh….this sounds absolutely delicious! Lord girl, with your posts I’ll never get off the couch – they all sound so freaking AWESOME!!! :-)))

  8. Tiffany! Hubby and I have been DVRing PERSON OF INTEREST and we love it.

    That said, I can see how the show will play itself out quickly if they don’t introduce some deeper level — as it can be very formulaic.

    I love The MENTALIST and the whole Red-John thing that keeps me going is always in the back and it shows up just when we start to lose interest. That’s what POI needs. I’m hoping these realize it before the audience loses interest — because the premise really is fabulous!

    • Hi, Renee! I think that maybe the flashback scenes for both Reese and Fitch may be the beginning of POI’s “Red John” story. They both have mysterious events in their past that they’re hiding from, so who knows? Hopefully the show keeps moving forward because so far we really enjoy it. Thanks for stopping by!

      PS – Love Patrick Jane.

  9. I Like Person of Interest- and I really liked last week when we don;t find out if he killed that guy- very fun.

Leave a Reply

