Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday: Grimm Versus Evil

This week, Amber West and I are visiting the fairy tale world, and we’re sharing our Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday reviews of Grimm and Once Upon a Time

We’ve all heard of Grimm’s Fairy Tales, right?  

NBC’s new drama based on the Grimm’s Fairy Tales follows a detective as he balances his life solving murders and learning that he comes from a long line of criminal profilers (Grimms) responsible for protecting the people of the world against the supernatural – Grimm versus Evil.    

The first episode of Grimm begins as a sorority girl departs from her house wearing a bright red hoodie and listening to the Eurythmics’ “Sweet Dreams” as she sets out for her morning jog through the woods.  The opening scene immediately screams modern-day Little Red Riding Hood, right?  

While on her run, the girl spots an odd figurine positioned on a rock.  She stops to investigate when she is suddenly tackled by something with lightning fast speed, and the viewers can only assume she’s going to die. 

So far, so good….      

Next, we meet the Grimm on what should be the happiest day of his life (Detective Nick Burkhardt played by David Giuntoli); instead, it might just be the beginning of the end.  Walking out of the jewelry store where he just purchased an engagement ring for his girlfriend (Juliette played Bitsie Tulloch), Nick notices a beautiful blonde walking down the street suddenly transform into nasty looking creature.  He shakes it off as his eyes playing tricks on him.   

Nick pockets the diamond ring, and he and his partner, Hank Griffin (Russell Hornsby), drive out to the scene of a crime where they discover a jogger has been ripped apart in the woods.  Unfortunately, there isn’t enough left of the victim for identification purposes.  The detectives assume an animal is responsible for the attack, although they can’t seem to locate any animal tracks – only boot prints.

Later that night, Nick returns home anxious to propose to Juliette only to discover his aunt has stopped by on a surprise visit.  After a cryptic, “we need to talk,” Nick and his aunt go for a walk where she begins to tell him that his family has a secret.  His parents didn’t die in an accident; they were murdered.  Why is she telling him this now?  She is dying, and the Grimm powers will pass to him in just a matter of days if they haven’t already. 

Before she can tell him the complete story, Nick and his aunt are attacked by the Reaper of the Grimms.  Nick can’t believe his eyes and he opens fire on the monster shooting him dead, but not before the attack renders his aunt unconscious.  

Reeling from the day’s events, Nick walks into his aunt’s travel-trailer where he finds an arsenal of bizarre weapons and an ancient family book revealing his destiny.   As most of us would, Nick decides to keep his secret from his girlfriend and his partner — for now, anyway.

The next day, Nick and his partner are called to another crime scene.  This time, a younger girl with the initials R.H. has been kidnapped .  Coincidence?  Using his new Grimm powers, Nick tracks down Eddie Monroe (Silas Weir Mitchell), a reformed Big Bad Wolf.   Monroe can see Nick as a Grimm immediately, and he reluctantly agrees to help Nick understand the mythology. 

Monroe also agrees to help Nick track down the Big Bad responsible for the little girl’s disappearance.  He drives Nick out to the woods, sticking his head out the window along the way sniffing out the Big Bad’s scent. 

Nice touch….

Afraid of what might happen if he gets too close, Monroe retreats as soon as they locate the cabin where his nose has indicated the Big Bad is hiding the girl.  Nick calls Hank out to the woods, but explains he didn’t call for any additional backup because he “already cried wolf once” wasting the department’s resources.   

Another nice touch….

Hank doesn’t understand how Nick tracked this man down, but he believes his partner when he overhears the suspect humming the exact same song that had been playing in the jogger’s ear buds at the first crime scene, “Sweet Dreams.” 

The take down ensues, little R.H. is rescued, and Grimm ends with the Marilyn Manson version of “Sweet Dreams” — I’ve got to know what’s inside you.

Yet another nice touch.

Obviously, after just one episode, it’s too early to award Grimm with anything other than the SSTV rating.  This television series is definitely sitting on the hot plate and is warming up; but, the water is not hot enough for us to drop in the pasta to upgrade the rating to MacTV, but it is showing potential after just one hour.

What do you think? Did you watch the premiere of Grimm?   Do you think the dramatized fairy tales will last on television today?  I’d love to hear from you!

Now click over to Amber’s blog and check out her review of ABC’s new hit, Once Upon a Time.  Will Emma accept her destiny and return magic to Storybrooke allowing the fairytale characters to come back to life and return balance to the charmed city?  

We didn’t laugh enough last week, so come back next week when Amber and I review a few of our favorite comedies.

Remember to stop by the #watchwed hashtag in Twitter to discuss any of today’s reviews, or to mention any television programs that you’d like to see on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday in the future. 

A Recap of The WatchWed Review System:

GTV (Gourmet TV): Everything we want and more
MacTV (MacNCheese TV): Guilty pleasure. Not perfect, but is satisfies
JFTV (Junk food TV): It’s not great for us, but we’ll go back for seconds
SSTV (Still Simmering TV): It has potential, but the jury is still out
NIV (Nyquil Induced Viewing): Perfect for that late night television sleep timer
LOTV (Liver&Onions TV): Do we really have to explain? Blech

This entry was posted in Watch it? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday: Grimm Versus Evil

  1. Stacy Green says:

    I didn’t watch the premiere but after reading this I wish I had. Might have to see if NBC has it up online. Thanks for the review:)

    • I was looking forward to the premiere of Grimm, more so than Once Upon a Time, and I must admit that I was pleasantly surprised. Many of the details (the music, the character’s actions, and the one-liners) really paid off and caught my eye. I hope you catch it and let me know what you think. Thanks for stopping by, Stacy!

  2. Hubby and I watched Grimm last night (we DVR a lot). I really liked it a lot; I think it has potential. I love the subtle little statements that you mentioned. One thing you didn’t mention was that the little girl with the initials R.H. was also wearing a red hooded jacket. LOL.

    I love the Eddie Monroe character. He’s going to add a lot of humor to the series if he’s going to be a regular. 🙂 We’ll continue to watch this show.

    • Lauralynn, I forgot the little R.H. character was wearing a red jacket. DUH! 🙂

      Monroe is going to be a great character. I love how he jumped through the window and then offered Nick a beer. LOL

      I’m really looking forward to episode two, because one was a nice surprise. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. EllieAnn says:

    I think my expectations were too high for this show. I really really loved the music and the sets and the look/feel of the show. But Nick was quite a boring character, and the structure seemed like just another cop drama…with monsters. But maybe those two will get better. I love fairy tales do much I want to keep watching. Great review.

    • Ellie, when the episode started off with Sweet Dreams, I was excited. I love BOTH versions of the song. On a completely off-note, did you ever watch the 2-hr made for TV movie starring Tiffany Amber Theissen titled Sweet Dreams? They play the MM version all throughout, plus it’s a pretty decent TV mystery.

      Back on topic, I’m really looking forward to future episodes. After one, it’s hard to really know how good a show will or won’t be, but the attention to detail is enough to keep me coming back for more. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Amanda Rudd says:

    I really liked Once Upon a Time, but I haven’t had a chance to see Grimm yet. Thanks for another great review. You definitely got my appetite whetted for this show!

  5. Catie Rhodes says:

    This is sitting on our DVR waiting to be watched. I am thrilled you did this review–though I will admit I didn’t read much for fear of spoilers. I did note that you gave it an SSTV, which I found encouraging. I do intend to come back and read this again after we watch Grimm so I can see if I agreed with your conclusions.

    From what little I’ve read, I am looking forward to this. I *loved* Supernatural before it became what it is. I still love it–don’t get me wrong–but it’s not as cool to watch as it was. I have high hopes for Grimm. 😀

    • Catie, I usually try really hard to not give away any spoilers, but it’s so hard after just one episode. I hope my post didn’t ruin it for you. Please come back once you’ve watched it and let me know what you think.

      That said, I still love Supernatural. I’ll agree that the earlier seasons were the best, but I can’t stop from watching my favorite hunters take to the screen each week. Jensen and Jared. Dean and Sam. My Bloody Valentine and Friday the 13th. Yes, I will watch just about anything they are in.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      • Catie Rhodes says:

        I will stop back once I’ve read it and comment again. Even if you don’t have time to reply, you can at least see what I thought.

        As for Supernatural…I understand all to well what you mean about Jensen an Jared. They’re hotties in different ways, but they are smokin’.

      • Catie Rhodes says:

        Okay. We watched it. Like you, I think it has a great deal of promise. There are lots of story threads to follow. On the very last frame when the [whatever-she-was] tries to kill the aunt…was that the chief of police in the car with her?! If so, very cool.

  6. lynnkelleyauthor says:

    I love the modern twist on the fairy tale. Pretty darn Grim! And I like those nice touches, too. Very clever. I didn’t see it, but I’ll look for it. Thanks!

    • Hey, Lynn! I was so impressed with the attention to detail in the first episode, that I might be extremely disappointed if Grimm doesn’t keep with it in future episodes. I hope you check it out and come back to let us know what you think. Thanks for stopping by!

  7. I enjoyed both Once Upon and Time and Grimm, and as long as they don’t become to Soap Opera-y I’ll stick with them.

    • I’d like for both shows, particularly Grimm, to keep with a darker theme…..think Supernatural. I’m looking forward to watching more episodes before revisiting my rating. I think since Amber and I both awarded the SSTV rating, we should publish another fairy tale WatchWed in the future. Thanks for stopping by, Alica!

  8. Julie Glover says:

    Why didn’t I watch this one instead of OUAT (which fell short IMO)? This one sounds like my cup of tea. I’m giving it a shot now, Tiffany! Thanks for the low-down.

  9. Nice review. Thought they did a great job with the premiere too. Dark, clever, effects not cheesy 🙂 It’s awesome to see fairy tales go mainstream.

  10. Hmmm, I missed the first episode, but think I might have to DVR the next one. Is it just me, or does this sound like Buffy with fairytales? The Grimm guy with his book and weapons just made me think of Buffy for some reason, which isn’t a bad thing. Buffy was awesome.

    Still don’t know if I’m sold on Once Upon A Time, but i sure do want to love it. We’ll have to see about Grimm, as well.

    • You know what, Tameri? The aunt’s arsenal definitely reminded me of Buffy. Good call! I hope you catch an episode of Grimm and come back to share your thoughts. Thanks for stopping by!

  11. I have not seen this yet. But I did watch Once Upon A Time, which I must say had potential but the writing and acting was only so so. I dont’ think I’ll watch it again. These play offs on fairy tales have the potential to be cheesy unless done right.

    • Hi, Laura! From watching the television trailers, I was definitely looking forward to Grimm more than Once Upon a Time. That’s one reason why Amber and I assigned the television shows the way we did for our Watch Wednesday reviews. I’m behind on OUAT, but I do plan to give it a few more weeks. The fairy tale adaptations have so much potential, but you are right: they can be cheesy if not done properly. If the stories remain dark, I will keep with it! Thanks for stopping by!

  12. Jess Witkins says:

    I’ve been wondering about this show. There are so many good supernatural shows out now, how do you find time to watch them all?

    P.S. Just finished my night of Vampire Diaries and Secret Circle! What is a mid-season finale? I don’t like the sound of the finale part one bit!

    • How do I watch them all? One – my best friend….the DVR and Two – my other best friend, my guy, allows me to dominate the TV watching. I turn the TV on at 7pm every night after a long day of work, and then watch show after show without commercials while I cook dinner and complete my house chores. It’s my little reward at the end of every day. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by Jess! If you check out Grimm, please come back and tell us what you think!

  13. Pingback: Blog Treasures 11-5 « Gene Lempp's Blog

  14. Bella says:

    Tiffany, I watched the premier of Grimm and the second episode and I love it! The protagonist, in spite of being in a “fairy tale” setting is quite believable and the aunt? Totally convincing! I thought the wolf was hysterical and the peeing on the fence to mark his territory? Funny! I also watched “Once Upon a Time” but found I didn’t like it as much as I liked Grimm. Once again, great review! 🙂

    • One can never tell the honest truth by watching commercials, but according to everything I’ve seen, Grimm is a new favorite with audiences. I’m behind right now due to travels, but I’m looking forward to catching up. I really like the attention to detail with the fairy tale storylines. Thanks for stopping by, Bella!

  15. Pingback: A Day Without Sushi

  16. Pingback: Why It’s Worth A Watch Wednesday – Once Upon a Time | A Day Without Sushi

  17. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Special Anniversary Edition | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

  18. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – A Fairy Tale Showdown

  19. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – What Are YOU Watching?

Leave a Reply

