Tele-Tuesday: “Ringer” in the New Year

Perhaps the correct phrase is “Ringing in the New Year,” but not in the case of today’s post.  Today, we’re catching up on Ringer, the CW’s new mysterious series starring Sarah Michelle Gellar (Buffy the Vampire Slayer) as twin sisters Bridget Kelly and Siobhan Martin.

The sisters share a troubled past – Bridget is a former narcotics user and stripper, and Siobhan cut ties from Bridget when she married a millionaire New York City hedge fund manager, leaving her normal life and sister behind.  But after a few years apart, the girls suddenly decide to move past previously made mistakes and mend their relationship, or so it seems. 

The series begins as Bridget runs to her wealthy sister, Siobhan, after she witnesses a mob hit and escapes protective custody just before testifying in court.  Matters get worse when Siobhan appears to have committed suicide, leaving Bridget the perfect opportunity to assume her sister’s identity.   

Enter the drama….

Bridget’s first matter of business is to convince Siobhan’s husband (Andrew Martin played by Ioan Gruffudd) that she is her sister.  She learns rather quickly that the two share a rocky, tumultuous marriage, and her new husband doesn’t seem to like her very much.  Andrew’s teenage daughter from a previous marriage really hates Siobhan (Juliet played by Zoey Deutch), and she lashes out constantly by skipping school, doing drugs, and destroying things around the penthouse.    

As if Siobhan’s life at home wasn’t enough of a disaster, Bridget soon discovers that her sister was having an affair with Henry Butler (Kristoffer Polaha), her best friend’s husband (Gemma Butler played by Tara Summers). 

Just as Bridget grabs a hold of all the lies her sister is living, the FBI agent tasked with protecting her during the trial (Agent Victor Machado played by Nestor Carbonell) arrives in New York with a few questions for Siobhan.  Meanwhile, Bridget’s Narcotics Anonymous sponsor and apparent lover (Malcolm Ward played by Mike Colter) is abducted by the drug lord/mob boss looking for her, beaten within an inch of his life, and reacquainted with black tar heroin.  Malcolm might just be the hero of the show; despite the torture, he doesn’t disclose Bridget’s secret and he still manages to escape and travel to NYC to protect her. 

Everything is just too much, so Bridget (aka Siobhan) seeks out a new NA sponsor in the city and meets Charlie (Billy Miller).  Charlie seems eager to help, not only with her constant battle with relapse, but also with the many matters surrounding her double life.

Could that be because he’s an ex-cop named John working for the real Siobhan, who is camped out in Paris under an assumed identity?  It appears she’s the puppet master behind everything, but why? 

Oh, and did we mention she’s pregnant?  That’s an interesting twist…Henry thinks the baby is his; Andrew of course thinks the baby is his; and Siobhan’s Parisian lover (Tyler played by Justin Bruening) now thinks the baby is his.  This lady is a mess. 

To make matters worse, Bridget doesn’t do a bang up job keeping her secret – Gemma discovers the truth: that Siobhan is sleeping with her husband, and that Bridget is assuming her sister’s identity.  When Gemma threatens to blow the top off Bridget’s lies, she disappears.   Henry comes home to find blood all over the walls and a broken vase, and immediately cleans the mess up to protect Siobhan.  But when he confronts Bridget (aka Siobhan), she of course thinks he did something to Gemma – why else would he cover up the evidence?   But remember, the “real” Siobhan is the one pulling all the strings….

If this was a Why it’s Worth a Watch Wednesday review, I’d award Ringer with the JFTV rating – it’s the perfect Junk Food Television.  I sat over the holidays and watched the entire first half of the season in mini-marathon style.  See, I recorded the series but wasn’t intrigued enough at first to watch; but once I started the episodes this weekend, I couldn’t stop. 

There are so many questions to be answered: Why does Siobhan hate her sister so much?  When will Andrew discover the truth?  How long will Siobhan and Bridget keep up this charade?  And what is Mr. Carpenter’s secret (Juliet’s teacher played by Jason Dohring)?

What do you think?  Have you watched Ringer?  How will this series continue for multiple seasons?  Any ideas?  I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in More Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Tele-Tuesday: “Ringer” in the New Year

  1. How’d I miss this one??

    • I don’t know? 🙂

      I was slow to watch it, like I said….but I got hooked this holiday watching it in mini-marathon style. I hope you check it out and let me know what you think.

      PS…how did the hubs like the Cocky belt buckle?

  2. I haven’t seen this show in so long, I keep wondering if I missed some episodes before the holiday break. This show keeps coming up with all kinds of twists and turns so that you never know what surprise is going to come next. I definitely agree with your rating.

    I really worry about what will happen when Andrew (so sexy!) finds out the truth. He and Bridget have really fallen in love, although he thinks it’s really his wife. I want them to stay together!

    • All the men seem to love Bridget, don’t they? I like that she and Andrew are falling in love, but we both know that’s going to blow up when he discovers the truth. I do really enjoy how everyone in inter-twined and the mystery is great!

      Did you see the episode where Siobhan came back to NYC to take care of some “business”? I don’t want to give too much away in case you haven’t….but I was sad with the outcome of that episode.

  3. I am with Claudia, how did I miss this one. I’ll be searching it out to catch up – sounds ahhmazing!

  4. I was so excited for this show because I love SMG. I’ve been pretty pleased so far. It’s fun to watch SMG play two characters and all the twists and turns are great. 😀

    • I was really excited for this show too, Sonia. And then I wasn’t so sure about it after the start. I’m glad I kept it on the DVR queue and gave it another chance…the twists and turns ARE great! Thanks for stopping by!

  5. I love this show because it keeps me on my toes and the twists are really great. As we say around this house, “That’s good writing!” 🙂

  6. I couldn’t understand why SMG wasn’t doing more – I hope it’s because she was being really careful about the projects she picked. I’d love to catch up with this series – there’s a rumour that Casa Trasler is joining the Netflix revolution in the New Year, so anything is possible. But what worries me about any mystery-based series ( like Lost, for example) is the clashing requirements of Network TV and storytelling. The Network want the series to be wildly successful and long-running. To make a believable story, you need to know the full arc of the tale. So you could plan a three series over-arc, but leaving the mystery open-ended for too long leaves the viewers disappointed. Plus the twists begin to contradict earlier revelations. That’s just my personal opinion. I wish writers were allowed to construct something brilliant that runs for the right length of time.

    • I do hope that Casa Trasler joins the Netflix revolution! 🙂

      I agree about the clashing requirements of Network TV and storytelling. A prime example of this is Twin Peaks. The long-running mystery is what made the show (in addition to the quirky characters), but when the writers were “forced” to wrap up the “Who Killed Laura Palmer” storyline, the show died. The networks are too $$ hungry for the next best thing, and that tends to kill some of the most well written programs.

      Thanks for stopping by, D! Happy New Year!

      • We joined Netflix! And BOY, am I glad we did! Last night I was ironing (oh, the glamourous life I lead…) and I wanted to watch “Firefly” but was too lazy to hunt out the DVDs. I clicked a couple of times and watched two episodes without leaving the ironing board! I’ve also enjoyed “Fawlty Towers” and tried out a couple of series’ that we wouldn’t have seen otherwise (Republic of Doyle got the family thumbs down inside five minutes of the first episode.) A new era has begun!

  7. Malita says:

    I missed this one too but it sounds awesome – in fact I think it sounds JUST like a Lifetime movie with Barry Bostwick and Stephanie Powers http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0089008/ – proving everything in Holywood is one big re run – but I’ll still check it out

    • I love the Lifetime movies, Malita! I’m sure I’ve seen this one at one time or another… 🙂 I agree that almost everything today is a big re-run, re-creation, or re-telling. One of my favorite blog posts that I read last year listed the movies that should NEVER be remade. This however, while similar, has a bit more of a dark side than the movie synopsis over at IMDB. I hope you check it out and let me know what you think!

      Thanks for stopping by! Happy 2012!

  8. Jess Witkins says:

    Ok, this rating makes sense. I know Catie Rhodes started watching and thought it was a dud. Maybe I’ll watch the reruns on cwtv.com. Speaking of CW, Vampire Diaries begins again this thursday and I’m going to miss it cause I have to work inventory at the store. Ugh! I’ll try to tape it and/or watch on cwtv again. I can’t wait for it to be back.

    • I never watch TV online, Jess. Is CWTV a place where you can go and watch previously aired episodes? My dad now wants to watch Ringer, but the CW isn’t on OnDemand.

      And you know I’m ready for The Vampire Diaries!! Try not to think of Damon too much while you’re working on inventory… 🙂

  9. Catie Rhodes says:

    As Jess said, I quit Ringer. We didn’t hate it, but we didn’t love it. Since we have so little time to watch TV, we try to pick shows we really, really love to watch. And Ringer didn’t make it. It had some of the qualities we love–soap opera story lines and fugitives on the run–but I dunno. I hope you’ll keep up-to-date on your final analysis for the season.

    And, yes, VD is starting again soon. Thank Heavens for Damon. 😀

    • I will keep watching and let you know my thoughts at the end of the season, Catie. Who knows? Maybe it’ll be a Netflix re-try for you this summer when there’s not a lot of new programming on the tube.

      And yes, Damon…..

  10. Tamara says:

    When there was a mid season finale, the CW commercial said All new episodes of Ringer will return January 10, 2012! Now I read online that the old episodes return january 31, 2012 and won’t be the new episodes till May. What is going on? I really love this show with all the twists and was looking forward to the 10th. What’s up with that?

  11. Pingback: Blog Treasures 1-7 | Gene Lempp's Blog

  12. Suzan says:

    I forgot about this one. I meant to watch it last year when I heard it was coming. Sarah Michelle Gellar? Yes, please. But then I forgot. I’ll have to look up the episodes and catch up. 🙂

  13. Pingback: Tele-Tuesday: Renew Ringer, Seriously | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

Leave a Reply

