Tele-Tuesday: Supernaturally Yours – Warlocks

We had so much fun with our last blog collaboration (Right to Remain Dreamy – our favorite men with and without badges), that we decided to take another stab at sharing our favorites – this time, we’re dealing in the supernatural.

Supernaturals and paranormals are taking over the world, aren’t they?  Who isn’t familiar with at least one of these book series, movies, and television adaptations: Twilight, Harry Potter, The Vampire Diaries, The Secret Circle, Being Human, Alphas, I am Number Four, Teen Wolf, Merlin, Supernatural and Charmed?

The popularity of the supernatural is what led me to choose warlocks, well that and Stephanie Nelson had already selected witches.

By definition, a warlock is a traitor or oath-breaker; however, many commonly relate a warlock to the male version of the witch, since witches are stereotypically women.   Warlocks and wizards are oftentimes confused because they share many of the same traits and characteristics.  This similarity has led to debates regarding whether or not the character of Harry Potter is a wizard or a warlock.  Some argue wizard, because he’s not evil – but who’s to judge?

A warlock has the ability to cast a spell, or magical action, by reciting an incantation or by performing a ritual using herbs, potions, and amulets.  A warlock can also conjure the dead (necromancy), which might be one reason why many view warlocks as evil.

Because many view witchcraft as evil, mankind has attempted to eliminate witches and warlocks for centuries (think the Salem Witch Trials and witch hunters).  But I don’t view a warlock as evil.  I actually think a warlock is sexy, literally and figuratively, which is why I jumped at the chance to feature a few of my television and film favorites in this edition of Supernaturally Yours.

Enjoy!

*****

Harry Dresden (Paul Blackthorne) – The Dresden Files

Harry Dresden resides in Chicago where he consults with the police department and performs individual consulting gigs involving suspicious (paranormal/supernatural) circumstances.   Harry was raised by his uncle after the deaths of his parents (his mother was a witch and his father a magician), where he learns to utilize his finely crafted warlock skills and wizardry.

*****

Daryl Van Horne (Jack Nicholson) – The Witches of Eastwick

Daryl Van Horne is the mysterious, wealthy, and sexy man who moves to the town of Eastwick and mesmerizes three of its local women – Alex, Jane, and Sukie.  But Daryl’s arrival brings more than companionship for these ladies – he opens them up to using their witchcraft.  Daryl is the ultimate ladies man, sharing the love and attraction of three beautiful women.  But he’s also not afraid to wreak havoc on anyone who protests his actions or stands in his way (love the famous cherry scene).  Daryl puts his powers to use one final time just before the women decide to never see him again, when he impregnates each and every one of them, leaving his warlock legacy intact for years to come.

*****

Darryl Van Horne (Paul Gross) – Eastwick

This Darryl Van Horne is television’s counterpart to Jack Nicholson’s character for the short-lived Eastwick series.  Same concept, similar stories – Darryl, a mysterious, wealthy, and sexy man moves to the town of Eastwick and woos three of the local women who are unaware they possess a secret witchcraft – Joanna, Kat, and Roxie.  Unfortunately, the series ends before we know Darryl’s fate, but Paul Gross definitely does Jack Nicholson justice.

*****

Pogue Perry (Taylor Kitsch) – The Covenant

Tyler Simms (Chace Crawford) – The Covenant

The Covenant didn’t get much as far as positive critical acclaim, but I personally enjoyed the story of the five beautiful teenage warlocks (Caleb, Pogue, Reid, Tyler, and Sebastian) fighting to protect their families and keep their secrets and powers.  All of the boys qualify as eye-candy, but I believe Pogue and Tyler rank at the top of the list.

*****

Jake Armstrong (Chris Zylka) – The Secret Circle

The Secret Circle follows a group of teenage witches and warlocks who are bound for protection.  But when one member dies, his brother returns to town and automatically becomes the sixth member of the circle – Jake.  While I wasn’t expecting a supposed main character to die so suddenly (and early in the series), I am most grateful for the addition of Jake.  Jake is a bad boy warlock, who for the longest time uses his knowledge of witches to hunt and kill them alongside other dangerous witch hunters.  But once Jake meets Cassie, his intentions change and audiences can now fall in love with his smirks.

*****

Brendan (Michael Weatherly) – Charmed

Along with Supernatural, Charmed may be my favorite supernatural series of all time.  One of the first warlocks we meet, Brendan, just happens to also be one of the most popular characters on TV today (on NCIS, where he’s of course not a warlock).  Brendan asks the Halliwell sisters for help so that he doesn’t fall into his family’s curse and become an evil warlock like his brothers.  Why?  Because if Brendan joins his brothers – they will become the “evil power of three” to offset the Halliwell sisters “good”. 

The earlier seasons (this is from season one) were always my favorites…

Wyatt Halliwell (Wes Ramsey) – Charmed

As Charmed moves forward, Piper and Leo have two sons – Wyatt and Chris.  Once baby Wyatt grows into manhood, his sexy good looks overcome the fact that he’s destined at one point to be the ruler of the underworld.  Because Wyatt is a baby or toddler most of the series, there’s not a lot of story to tell here – other than I loved the flash-forward scenes where we could see adult Wyatt in the future and enjoy his long locks and scruffy face.

*****

John Van Owen (Sean Faris) – The Brotherhood 2: Young Warlocks

In the middle...

John is a transfer student at a private academy who makes friends with a beautiful girl. Sounds like a typical teenage movie, doesn’t it?  To fend off a group of angry jocks jealous of his new female companion, John joins forces with a group of warlocks.  But like many innocent teens, John doesn’t quite understand his newfound powers or what the others have planned for him and his black magic.

*****

Warlock (Julian Sands) – Warlock

A warlock from the 1600’s, Warlock, is cast forward in time to 1980’s Los Angeles, and a witch hunter follows him through the portal.  Warlock is taken in by a nice young girl, who later partners with the witch hunter after Warlock places an aging spell on her.  This warlock is actually evil…but enticing enough for sequels.  He may not be my perfect idea for eye-candy, but Sands did bring the warlock to the big screen and was probably the first warlock that I thought of…

*****

One might ask why I didn’t list Adam Conant (Thomas Dekker, The Secret Circle), Chris Halliwell (Drew Fuller, Charmed), Harry Potter (Daniel Radcliffe) and Merlin (Colin Morgan), but our list was supposed to be somewhat relatable to eye-candy or the hot factor, and while these four are very powerful warlocks, they just don’t quite do it for me.

What do you think?  Who’s your favorite warlock – books, film, or television?  Who did I forget?  If you could, would you practice witchcraft?  I’d love to hear from you!

Remember to stop by the next Supernaturally Yours post, Fae by MG Ainsworth.

And just in case you want to see more of….

Liz Schulte – Demons
Cait Lavender – Werewolves
Elizabeth Sharpe – Vampires
Sarah Ross – Angels
M.D. Christie – Ghosts
Christine Powell – Elves
Stephanie Nelson – Witches

This entry was posted in More Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Tele-Tuesday: Supernaturally Yours – Warlocks

  1. Great list! I love The Covenant!

  2. Amanda Rudd says:

    Harry Dresden… Paul Blackthorne… *drools and faints* Nuff said.

    Also, I actually liked Chris Halliwell much more than Wyatt.

  3. Ok, spot-on with Pogue, but who could leave out Stephen Strait? So yummy! I thought evil Wyatt was hot, and glad the newer Daryll made your list. :)

  4. Okay, there is one big glaring thing missing here. I think Steven Strait is hands down the best eye candy on The Covenant! :) (I loved him as Warren Peace on Sky High.) That just shows we all have different opinions, although yours and mine usually match pretty closely on eye candy. I really don’t see anything remotely good-looking or sexy about Jack Nicholson, though.

    I haven’t seen the majority of these, although some are queued up on my Netflix. It’ll be interesting to check some of these out.

    • Hahaha, Lauralynn! Just like I told Elizabeth in the comment above, I could have listed every single one of the guys from The Covenant. There is some serious eye-candy in that movie. And it’s not that I think jack Nicholson the person is all that sexy, but his character in The Witches of Eastwick sure is…

      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. They’re all so pretty. I didn’t watch a lot of charmed, but now I might have to- woot! I adore Julian Sands and Jock Nicholson.

  6. Liz Schulte says:

    Dresden! and Eastwick! You are so my tv soulmate.

  7. I don’t watch any of these shows, but thanks for the eye candy! Loved the history/info on warlocks, I never knew they were considered evil. Hmmm, kind of makes me want to put one in a book somewhere.

    • I don’t consider warlocks evil, Tameri. I was really surprised when doing research how many actually do though, and how that one fine line seems to differentiate between a warlock and wizard. I love the supernatural but haven’t read much history on the matter until preparing for this post. Some consider Harry Dresden a wizard, but he kinda seems like a male witch to me and I had to include Paul Blackthorne in my post. Same with Harry Potter. Anyway, it’s very interesting stuff. Warlock up your book!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Wow, these Warlocks are pretty good looking.. they look nothing like the Warlocks biker gang.. *shudder*
    And Julian Sands was the best!
    Great post, Tiffany.

  9. C.G. Powell says:

    Great list!! There is a whole lot of hotness going on there ;-) Love The Covenant!!!

  10. Wasn’t the original guy on Charmed a warlock also. The one that wound up with Phoebe? He was my favorite.

    • Hi, Theresa! The sisters faced a warlock in the pilot episode of Charmed (Piper was dating him), but The Power of Three spell vanquished him. Phoebe dated Cole/Balthazar for a while, a few seasons actually – even married him, but he was a demon. I also remember her dating her newspaper editor, but I think he was human. And at the end of the series she wound up with Cupid. I’m not sure she dated a warlock…but the series was long and although I think I’ve watched every episode numerous times, I could be wrong.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  11. Jess Witkins says:

    Great theme! I’m right there with ya on how awesome a series Charmed was. But I’d pick Cole played by Julian McMahon as my heartthrob. Wyatt’s alright. And I had to laugh at the end where you named Adam as not doing it for you to in The Secret Circle. Why does he always talk in dramatic whisper? Is that his real voice??? I just caught up on the season tonight and I’m rooting for Jake, bad guy or not. LOL

    • I LOVE Cole, Jess. Love. I started watching Nip/Tuck for the simple fact that Julian McMahon was the star…and then fell in love with that series on its own merit.

      And regarding Adam, ugh…he annoys me with his soft spoken whisper, jealousy, and whining. Constant whining. I’ve also caught myself wondering if he’s had botox injected into his lips…they seem a bit fuller than they were on The Terminator: Sarah Conner Chronicles and the newest version of Nightmare on Elm Street. :)

      Team Jake!

  12. Stacy Green says:

    This is pretty much out of my genre, but I will say I loved Jack Nicholson in The Witches of Eastwicke, and I did catch a few episodes of Charmed. Interesting theme, and yay for the eye candy!

  13. Jenny Hansen says:

    I loved Witches of Eastwick and I actually watched a few episodes of Charmed. (I know, shocking!) I did witchcraft stuff. :-)

  14. Catie Rhodes says:

    The Witches of Eastwick (the movie) still makes me laugh. Jack Nicholson: “I’m just your average horny little devil.”

    I like Jake on The Secret Circle too. Adam is too goody-goody. The Secret Circle–moreso than VD–has made me realize I’m not so young anymore. I find Adam’s dad more attractive than I find any of the younger actors. LOL

    Fun post. I enjoyed it.

    • Ahahahaha, Catie! I’ve found myself thinking the TV fathers are more attractive for years now (Get Real comes to mind with John Tenney, and Once and Again with Billy Campbell). I agree that Adam’s dad is cute, but his character is sort of annoying like his son’s. They should beef those boys up a bit.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  15. Donna Newton says:

    Who was the guy in Charmed that went out with Phoebe? He was a bit of alright. I think he went on to Nop and Tuck (not that I’ve ever seen it). Then again, I think he was a demon. Oh, what was his name?…….Cole! Cole! That’s it. Actually, I don’t think he was a warlock. Erm…who else is there? I can’t think of any man witches so can I just say Dean Winchester? He does do a little magic here and there – with the aid of a book or two :)

  16. Thank you for including the boys from The Covenant! I liked that movie and talk about cute boys :D

  17. Pingback: Blog Treasures 2-11 | Gene Lempp's Blog

Leave a Reply

