Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – The Art of Finding

This week Amber West and I review two of Fox’s new dramas on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday: Alcatraz and The Finder.

Bones is a favorite in our household, which is why we felt a tad bit robbed last season when “The Finder” pilot episode aired in Bones’ timeslot.  Of course, the introduction was rather genius – the Fox network was testing the waters for the potential Bones spinoff, and briefly introduced the series by interweaving the Bones protagonists.

In the episode, Booth and Bones travel to Florida to consult with a former acquaintance of Booth’s (Walter Sherman played by Geoff Stults).  Walter is a former war veteran with the ability “to find” anything.  Along with his bar partner (Michael Clarke Duncan, The Green Mile) and colleague (Saffron Burrows, Boston Legal), Walter takes over the case for Booth and Bones.

Despite feeling robbed, as mentioned earlier, the pilot episode showed promise.  However, airing the “backdoor pilot” did suffer one casualty – Saffron Burrows did not resume her role.  Instead, The Finder introduced two new characters this season:  Deputy U.S. Marshal Isabel Zambada (Mercedes Masohn) and a young gypsy/criminal on probation, Willa Monday (Maddie Hasson).

Geoff Stults is adorable, for those who aren’t familiar with 7th Heaven or Happy Town.  The character of Walter Sherman is just as adorable.  Walter suffered a brain injury while in combat, and has since been tested by the FBI in order to resume his consulting work for other federal agencies.  Keeping with the Bones family lineage, Lance Sweets (John Francis Daley) administered Walter’s test and “gave” him a passing score, despite the fact Walter didn’t really pass the psychological exam.

To reiterate, Walter can find anything.  He feels “finding is an art,” and once he’s hired to find something there is no firing him.  Walter becomes obsessed with whatever he is tasked to find – person or object.   He finds things using unorthodox methods and manners, whether it be lying on the tarmac pretending to be an airplane, or wearing insanely huge glasses or a hat made out of bar cherries and toothpicks.  Walter is fun; he leaves the professional side of the business to his “Ends of the Earth” partner (the bar) and a type of “handler” of sorts, Leo Knox (Michael Clarke Duncan).

Leo is a former attorney who lost his family (wife and daughter) years earlier when a company didn’t properly recall a spoiled meat product.  He is a caretaker; Leo takes care of Walter and now he also takes care of Willow while she works through her probationary period.  He may be large and intimidating, but Leo has a soft heart and the simple joys in life bring a monstrous smile to his face.

Walter appreciates Leo, but usually has a hard time showing it.  But at the end of last week’s episode, viewers saw a different side of Walter.  Walter is usually carefree and boisterous, and uses Leo to ground himself.  But this past week, Walter shared his innermost thoughts that portrayed exactly how he feels about Leo: “Find someone you can trust.  It’ll change your life.”

Actually, the foursome is one great, big love fest (Walter, Leo, Isabel, and Willow).

Apparently, Walter and Isabel literally have a “friends with benefits” agreement that includes a special “paragraph C” for when one of the duo actually finds love elsewhere and plans to sleep with someone else.    This new development shocked us; we’re about six episodes into the season, and this was the first we could recall an actual relationship between Walter and Isabel being confirmed…not to mention the way it was written into the storyline made it seem like this has been understood from the beginning.  Who knows? Maybe we missed something early on?

As far as Willow goes, she adores Walter and Leo just the same and wants desperately to prove her worth and to find a permanent home with them, regardless of whether or not she admits it.  She also feels a tight bond with Isabel that allows her to open up and share parts of her life (her Gypsy life) that she’s never told anyone before.

The foursome of The Finder is really just one big, unrelated, dysfunctional family.

I know we’re approaching week seven this Thursday night, but I find myself bouncing back and forth between assigning The Finder with an SSTV rating or a JFTV rating. The fact that it doesn’t sit long on our DVR queue has me leaning more toward the JFTV rating, but I’m still not 100% sold; after all, my guy is usually more eager to watch than I am.  I do like Geoff Stults quite a bit too, another for the plus column under our JFTV scale.  So why not – let’s award The Finder with the JFTV rating.  We have yet another tasty chocolate bar waiting for us in the pantry for a once-a-week indulgence.  It’s not great for us, but it does satisfy us for a sixty minute interval every seven days.

The Finder does leave us wondering one thing: what happens when Walter can’t find something?  His friends appear to actually fear the day this occurs, more than likely for the psychological toll it will take on him.  But really…what will happen?

What do you think? Do you watch The Finder?  Will the Bones spinoff see the same success or be one-and-done?  I’d love to hear from you!

Now click over to Amber’s blog and read her thoughts on Alcatraz.   We practically had to play tug-o-war to review this one; Amber won.  Why did we fight?  Okay, we didn’t fight… but considering we’re both caught up on Alcatraz, either of us could have shared our thoughts for our WatchWed viewers.  Hardly ever do we find a show that we’re both caught up on…so what does that tell ya?

Come back next week when Amber and I flip networks and review two of NBC’s new dramas: Smash and The Firm.

Remember to stop by the #watchwed hashtag in Twitter to discuss any of today’s reviews, or to mention any television programs that you’d like to see on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday in the future.

A Recap of The WatchWed Review System:

GTV (Gourmet TV): Everything we want and more
MacTV (MacNCheese TV): Guilty pleasure. Not perfect, but is satisfies
GMacTV (Gourmet MacNCheese TV): A combination of fine wine and comfort food
JFTV (Junk food TV): It’s not great for us, but we’ll go back for seconds
TBPTV (Twice Baked Potato TV): Part gourmet and delicious, while absolutely horrible for our cholesterol
SSTV (Still Simmering TV): It has potential, but the jury is still out
NIV (Nyquil Induced Viewing): Perfect for that late night television sleep timer
LOTV (Liver&Onions TV): Do we really have to explain? Blech

This entry was posted in Watch it? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – The Art of Finding

  1. Like you, I love Bones, and was a bit disappointed in the pilot of The Finder. That being said, I like the show–I actually think it is better than I expected. It is not a favorite (yet), but it doesn’t seem to sit on my DVR for more than a few days. I wonder the same thing about the psychological impact of what happens once there is something he can’t find–much like I wondered in the early seasons of House what would happen if there was a case he couldn’t solve. 🙂

    • Hi, Susi! House is another good show….but that said, I never really had high hopes for The Finder and I am enjoying the new episodes. Primarily though, I just miss Bones. I hate that American Idol is on in its spot right now. I know, I know, Emily Deschanel had a baby in real life and they taped (or are taping) a shorter season, but still. The Finder isn’t Bones. I am excited that Hodgins is guest starring on this week’s episode though! I wonder if he’s playing Hodgins or another non-Bones related character….

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

  2. Oh, Tiffany. Usually I agree with you, but I have to give The Finder a MacTV rating! I haven’t missed an episode yet and the hubby and I are hooked!!

    PS: I believe Hodgkins (sp??) from Bones will appear on this weeks episode 🙂

    • Hodgins is guest starring this week! I just wonder if he’s playing Hodgins (living one of his conspiracy theories) or if he’s playing a new character? Probably Hodgins. Hopefully Hodgins. And you can totally award the MacTV, it’s just not there for me yet. 🙂

      I miss Bones….Claudia. I miss it!

  3. Donna Newton says:

    I haven’t seen any of the Bones series. I did mean to watch them, but time got in the way and they were ignored. The Finder will probably, I’m sad to say, meet the same grizzly outcome.

    Thanks for the post though. I love reading about shows that haven’t yet hit our shores 🙂

    • Bones is a good one, Donna. A must see! After you catch up on Being Human, I highly recommend it. Just ask my Why It’s Worth a Wednesday partner, Amber West. I practically punched her through the computer screen until she watched a few Bones episodes….and she liked them.

      Thanks for stopping by!!

      PS. I didn’t really punch her…no abuse here. 🙂

  4. Ann says:

    I love The Finder so far. I kept wondering where I had seen Geoff Stults. Thanks for 7th Heaven.
    When will Bones be back on? Love you, Pooh

    • I LOVED 7th Heaven, Pooh! There’s nothing even close to it on TV today, not for teens anyway. And not that I have any teens in my house. I just love Young Adult shows. 🙂

      I have no idea when Bones is coming back, but hopefully soon. I’m getting cranky without it….

      Thanks for stopping by! ❤

  5. Catie Rhodes says:

    I didn’t watch Bones, so I haven’t been watching the Finder. That doesn’t mean it doesn’t sound good, though. I have a tough time branching out from supernatural themed shows. By the time I watch all of them, well, you see where I am headed.

    For the record, we have been watching Alcatraz and loving it, but it is supernatural. LOL

  6. I’ve never even HEARD of The Finder. How did that happen? Anyway, I love Alcatraz, so I’m off to Amber’s blog to see what she thinks.

  7. Never watched BONES but think my husband may so I’ll have to clue him in on THE FINDER. Thinking maybe we can watch it together. I like Michael Clarke Duncan so would like to see his show succeed. Appreciate the heads up!

    • Michael Clarke Duncan’s character Leo is fun….he’s so big and strong, yet so soft and sweet. I hope you check it out and come back to let us know what you think, Bridgette. Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Julie Glover says:

    I’m planning to watch BONES very soon, so I think I should go there first before I see THE FINDER. I’m a sequential gal (with books, tv, movies), so it goes Angel, Bones, Finder — if I get that far. 😉

  9. Stacy Green says:

    First off, we have been fail on watching Alcatraz. Grace is always around and we put it off. But it’s DVR’d! As for The Finder, meh. I watched it when it stole Bones’s slot last year, and it was all right, but I kind of found his ability off the wall. He was nice to look at, though. And I confess, I haven’t checked it out this year. Just didn’t appeal to me, I guess.

  10. Pingback: Friday Favorites – Romance, Writing, & Good TV « Shannyn Schroeder's Blog

  11. Pingback: Blog Treasures 2-18 | Gene Lempp's Blog

  12. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – 2012, A Year in Review | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

  13. jeff pickettt says:

    I love the finder I want more…more more…lol

Leave a Reply

