Friday FabOoolousness – Celebrations, Part I

I don’t usually blog about myself, but I decided to share a bit of my Honey’s and my celebrations the past few days in honor of Valentine’s and my thirty-fifth birthday.  That’s right – I turned the big THREE FIVE yesterday.  Thirty-five used to be my scary age, but to be honest, I feel just as I did when I turned twenty-five.  There’s nothing scary about this, but it is time to celebrate!

It all started last Thursday night when we ventured into downtown Dallas for a night of cheese at Scardello Artisan Cheese.  Our friend works there and he’s been trying to get us down for a class, which is why when we discovered the Cheese, Chocolate, and Bubbles extravaganza we were finally in.  I’m usually not one for cheese, but my guy loves the stinky stuff.  The justification that I’m a chocoholic to his cheese-head and the fact that we both love the bubbly made the class our perfect choice.

The lack of cheese-favoring-taste buds aside, I actually tried every single piece on my plate.  Unfortunately, I left our menu on the table (perhaps the bubbly went to my head) or I’d share a few that didn’t provoke a “nasty face” as my friend so eloquently described my cheese tasting reaction.

Without fail, the chocolate was my favorite part of the night. The locally crafted sweets from Dude, Sweet Chocolate took first prize in every instance.  One dark chocolate, and perhaps my favorite, was made with foie gras.  It may not sound appetizing, but it was absolutely delish.

The bubbles weren’t so bad either, although none of the four that we tasted replaced our recent discovery and new favorite champaign – Risque by Toad Hollow from California.

Our evening out led me to the proper Valentine for my guy.   Every year, I feel bad that he is forced into two back-to-back celebrations which is why this year, I decided that Valentine’s would be spent at home.  I rushed out to Whole Foods Market, a store that usually only sees our business a few times a year because I get lost, drooling over all the produce and beautifully prepared and carved fruits, choosing between all of the fresh cuts of meats and fish, and finding myself completely distracted by the aromas of their roasted meats and full-service delicatessen.  After selecting a few of the award-winning cheeses, I meandered over to the olive and pasta bar where I chose a few different delicacies for our snacking delight before making my way back to the fish station where I picked up a filet of smoked salmon.

Once home, I carefully laid our spread out on the kitchen island (the cats love the smell of any fish, particularly salmon), and we enjoyed a Valentine’s night full of a few of my Honey’s favorite things.

Sans salmon because of the cats…

Our Valentine celebration continued into Thursday, when my guy surprised me with a couples massage at our local spa.  We first learned about Stonebriar Spa through one of my guy’s ex- co-workers.  Since the location isn’t far from us, we frequent the pampering location as often as we feasibly can.  After briefly kicking back in our plush and comfy robes in the spa room, complete with the tranquil sound of a small water fountain, we followed the masseuses into our room – I opted for the relaxing stone massage and my guy enjoyed sixty minutes of relaxation.  Mission complete!  Let me just say that I am really glad we didn’t have anything else on the docket for the rest of day besides lounging around the house and catching up on our television shows (my DVR is full again, go figure)  because I was worthless.

To cap everything off, and perhaps one of my favorite things of all time, we’re planning a big birthday dinner celebration just the two of us.  I love food.  Instead of choosing a fancy Dallas restaurant where we could spend hundreds of dollars, I’ve opted for three smaller meals at a few of my favorite locations.  Next week, I’ll share our date night locations and the dishes that everyone must try, when they have the chance!  And don’t worry, two of the three restaurants are national chains (one is a Texas specialty), so everyone can hopefully find one nearby…

My fabOoolous birthday cake from Nick & Sam’s Steakhouse…YUM, people. YUM.

As everyone can see, I’m off to a great Valentine’s and birthday week.  Please don’t take this post as  bragging, its entire purpose is to share my fabOoolous experiences with the rest of you.  If you are ever in the DFW area, I highly recommend adding these stops to your itinerary.

How do you like to celebrate those special days?  What’s your idea of the “perfect date”?  I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in Food & Restaurants, Ooo Factor! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Friday FabOoolousness – Celebrations, Part I

  1. Stacy Green says:

    Wow! You had a great week, and happy birthday! I’m jealous of all your celebrations, but you definitely deserve it. And very thoughtful of you to make that spread for your hubby:)

  2. Ooh, that cake looks delish. Sadly, I’m not into celebrating things. I don’t know why. Even my birthday feels like any other day. Spending time with people you love is the best way to spend any day though, special or not. 🙂

    Happy Birthday again!

  3. Angela/Curiocat says:

    Happy Birthday! At forty I stopped celebrating the suckers and started aging backwards. I’m now 29 and will remain so for the rest of my life. 🙂

  4. Thank you so much for sharing this with us! There’s nothing wrong with posting about yourself from time to time. It’s your blog, after all. 🙂 Everything sounded so yummy.

    There’s one thing that leaves me shaking my head in disbelief. You don’t like cheese? I couldn’t live without cheese! You are the only person I know besides my mom that doesn’t like cheese. LOL.

    I’m glad you’ve had a great week. It made me happy just reading this.

    • Haha, Lauralynn. No, I don’t like cheese. I mean, I do on certain things in certain amounts (like enchiladas, pizza, and nachos), but for the most part I stay away. It’s just something about the texture that gets me every time. Yuck! I do love queso though….I know, it doesn’t make sense. 🙂

      Thank you for the kind words and for stopping by!

  5. Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos says:

    I think you’ve been getting spoiled this last week!! Your week sounds awesome!! Chocolate, champagne, good food. Awesome!!

  6. Roni Loren says:

    Happy Birthday! And oh how I love cheese…especially fancy cheese. Yum.

  7. Catie Rhodes says:

    Happy Birthday. Your chocolate spree sounds so, so good. The hubs and I are big fans of chocolate. We both like cheese, too. I am so surprised you dislike cheese. I thought Texans put cheese on everything. LOL

    I’m glad you posted about yourself. I read your blog so often that I wonder what the real you is like.

  8. donnagalanti says:

    Fun post, Tiffany! Love all the pics along with the story…and too funny that you are a chocoholic to his cheese head. Happy 35th Birthday! As one waaayyy past 40, I can only tell you that the 40s ROCK! So here’s to getting better with age – like the bubbly and cheese! 🙂

  9. Julie Glover says:

    Love the chocolate and cheese. Could skip the champagne. I am all about not cooking for my celebratory days. My favorite, though, is probably picking up food and coming home to be alone with the hubby and the treats. Congrats on the big 3-5! I’m loving my 40’s, so I think it just gets better. WE get better, Tiffany. 🙂 (Oh, I need to get up to DFW very soon.)

  10. Sounds like a wonderful evening. It’s been so long since I’ve been on a date I don’t know what I’d like to do. LOL

  11. Jess Witkins says:

    Oh my god, all that food looks amazing! I’m a total cheesehead too, but hey, I live in Wisconsin. Joe and I love to do cheese, meats, crackers and wines for dinner/romantic outings. It’s a really simple picnic lunch too. And we also stayed in this Valentine’s and cooked honey and spice chicken and of all films, watched Tremors. How romantic?! LOL

    Happy Birthday, Tiffany! Here’s a cyber candle to make another birthday wish!

  12. Lisa Cobb says:

    So cool! Sounds like a blast!

  13. Donna Newton says:

    Sounds absolutely perfect! Except one thing….where’s the picture of your beau? 🙂

  14. Jeff says:

    Happy birthday! Sounds like a wonderful time!

  15. Fantastic celebrations Tiffany – you described a couple of my ideal date nights! Nothing like good food at home or at some local faves. YUM! Here’s to a long celebration – remember, birthdays are a season, not a day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

