Tele-Tuesday: March Madness, TV Style

Television programs air sporadically today, and we’re not safe assuming (we all know what that really means) all new series and returning shows begin in September and January.  It’s simply not true anymore.

Since introducing so many new programs to 2012 in January, we decided to take the first few weeks of February to provide a breather of sorts.  But now we’re back, introducing yet another pilot series to ABC and two returning sophomores to Fox and USA that perhaps not everyone will be familiar with.

What will you watch?

*****

GCB

Originally Good Christian Bitches and later Good Christian Belles, GCB follows a former high school Queen “B” (Amanda, played by Leslie Bibb from Crossing Jordan) after she returns to her home town (Dallas) following a divorce and moves in with her mother (Annie Potts, Designing Women).

Despite the fact that Amanda left her “mean girl” days behind her, the girls she terrorized in high school haven’t quite forgotten the way she treated them.  Everyone, including Amanda’s mother, seems to be stuck in the past and the tables have turned on her.

GCB also stars: Kristin Chenoweth (Pushing Daisies) as Carlene, Marisol Nichols (24) as Heather, Jennifer Aspen (Party of Five) as Sharon, and Miriam Shor (Damages) as Cricket Caruth-Reilly, the girls Amanda terrorized in high school.  The series wouldn’t be complete without the husbands: David James Elliott (JAG) as Carlene’s husband, Ripp; Brad Beyer (Jericho) as Sharon’s husband, Zack; and Mark Deklin (Lone Star) as Cricket’s husband, Blake, who happens to have a Dallas-sized secret of his own.

GCB premieres Sunday, March 4thon ABC.

*****

Breaking In

How many shows can actually say they have officially survived a literal network cancellation?  Not many; Fox first resurrected Family Guy in 2004 after watching continued success of the previous seasons in DVD sales and reruns airing on Adult Swim.  And now Breaking In can, a Fox program originally cancelled in May 2011.

Breaking In follows a team of “legitimate thieves” working at Contra Security, a high-tech security firm.  Clients hire Contra to break in and highlight flaws in security systems already in place.  For example, in season one the Contra team is hired to break into a house with a supposed impenetrable security system in an attempt to retrieve a valuable belonging to the homeowner.  Later, they discover that the house belongs to their team leader, who unbeknownst to them happens to be on the verge of a nasty divorce.

Perhaps our favorite episode of the first season was when the Contra team was hired to protect an invaluable DVD sequel until its national release party at Comic-ConGoonies 2.  The pop culture references and comedic events were absolutely spot-on and hilarious, at least for those of us who will forever be a Goonie.

The Contra team is led by Oz (Christian Slater, Heathers), a man who loves to play mind games on his staff… a staff composed of: Cameron (Bret Harrison, Reaper), a genius with top-rated hacking abilities; Cash (Alphonso McAuley), a gadget guy and hacker; Melanie (Odette Annable, House), the hot girl with safe cracking abilities; and Josh (Trevor Moore), the master manipulator and master of disguise.   Season two will see a new, yet familiar face at Contra Security when Megan Mullally (Will & Grace) joins the cast as Veronica, Contra’s new boss.

Breaking In returns to Fox Tuesday, March 6th.

*****

Fairly Legal

We love the USA Network’s programs here at Tele-Tuesday, which is why when Fairly Legal premiered last year we immediately checked it out.

Fairly Legal follows Kate Reed (Sarah Shahi, Life – a great short-lived series, by the way), a former attorney turned mediator working at her father’s law firm in San Francisco, as she deals with life both professionally and personally following a failed marriage and her father’s untimely death.

Kate, while extremely beautiful and successful, lives life by the seat of her pants.  She resides on her father’s boat, arrives late to almost everything, and relies heavily on her assistant (Leonardo, played by Baron Vaughn) to keep her day straight.  Once Kate arrives at the office, she not only has to deal with arguing clients assigned to her by the courts (especially those difficult cases assigned by Judge Nicastro, played by Gerald McRaney), but also with her new boss and step-mother, Lauren (Virginia Williams, Monarch Cove).

Unfortunately for Kate, her professional life isn’t the only thing leaving her rushing around with her head cut off.  Factor in her soon-to-be-ex husband Justin (Michael Trucco, Battlestar Galactica), who she continues to have an on-again/off-again relationship with, and the secrets surrounding a man (Richard Dean Anderson) involved with her father prior to his death, and Kate’s life is hectic.

Fairly Legal returns to the USA network Friday, March 16th.

*****

Will you watch GCB?  Do you agree with ABC’s decision to change the title?  How about Breaking In and Fairly Legal?  Did you catch the first seasons and if so, what did you think?  I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in More Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Tele-Tuesday: March Madness, TV Style

  1. Ooh, put “Breaking in” on my list, please. Want to know a secret? We got cable reconnected this week to take advantage of an internet offer (faster speed at lower price). When the guy left, I switched off the box and hid it and the remote behind a row of books on the entertainment unit. No more commercials for me, ever!

  2. You just brought me some GREAT news. I LOVE Fairly Legal and was afraid it was gone forever. I can’t wait for it to return. Thanks, Tiffany.

  3. GCB sounds like it might be fun to watch. Yeah, I kind of like the title change…the first title makes me a little uncomfortable.

  4. I saw the previews for GCB last night and was super pumped. LOL! Looks right up my alley as does Fairly Legal. Definitely going to have to track them down on the PVR for some recording!! Woot woot!

  5. I am actually looking forward to GCB. I think it looks like it will be a fun show. If nothing else, it has a promising cast! 🙂
    Like you, I am a bit fan of the USA shows. Rarely do they disappoint, and Fairly Legal is no exception. I loved the first season, and can’t wait for the second! 🙂

  6. Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos says:

    GCB really sounds like a fictionalized version of the Real Housewives. I will definitely watch it and see what it’s like. I used to love Desperate Housewives, until things got so crazy. I’d like to have something like that again!

    • LOL, Jillian. I hadn’t even thought to compare GCB with Desperate Housewives. I bet the two are similar, just without all the craziness (like murders, etc.). But who knows??!!?? Thanks for stopping by!

  7. Hmmm, I think we’ve got some shows to check out. Thanks for the deets, I had no idea about any of these!

  8. Hey Tiffany! Thanks for the heads up. I don’t have TV right now, but sometimes my husband and I watch on the internet and we like the USA channel. These show look interesting. Time to go catch up on my watching! 🙂

    • Watching TV online is the new thing! Which sites do you use? Can you watch episodes on the USA website? I need to prepare for when the DVR messes up and the episodes aren’t on On-Demand….

      Thanks for stopping by, Karen!

  9. Ashley Prince says:

    I have been wanting to watch and read GCB! It seems really interesting.

  10. Julie Glover says:

    Breaking In and Fairly Legal on the list. Both look like good ones to check out. Not particularly interested in GCB — not because of the name, but because it just doesn’t look like the kind of tv I enjoy.

    • We really enjoyed both last year. It seems we’ve waited forever for Fairly Legal to return, almost like USA didn’t know if they were going to pick it back up or not. Whenever a show isn’t “in season” on USA, their website doesn’t advance with the time so one never knows if a show has been put on the back burner or not.

      I hope you’ll check them out. Breaking In can be our “new” HIMYM Twitter conversations, Julie! 🙂

      • Julie Glover says:

        I’m back to say that I watched the 10 episodes of Fairly Legal first season and loved it! This show has a great main character with Kate Reed (and Sarah Shahi was apparently in Psych for a while!), but a wonderful supporting cast who obviously have their own stories. You did a great job of breaking down the show’s premise. I recommend this one to others too! I’ll be looking for the new season in mid-March.

  11. Stacy Green says:

    I had no idea Breaking In had almost been cancelled, or actually cancelled. I remember wanting to check it out and then like most shows, not doing it. Will try to do better this time.

    • I hope you do, Stacy! I can only imagine Megan Mullally will bring even MORE comedy to the table. Christian Slater is fantastic as Oz. Actually, every character is enjoyable. I heard that Melanie’s boyfriend is not returning, and he was one of the funniest guys on the show. But no worries, I’m still looking forward to the return!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  12. I wanted to watch Breaking In when it first aired, but missed it. I don’t know if I’ll catch it this time either, since my Tuesdays are pretty full. Now that you’ve given me the rundown on GCB, I might watch. The commercials have been a little too cryptic to entice me.

    • Agree 100% about the GCB commercials, Shannyn. I finally saw one that was longer than 20 seconds and it cracked me up, especially with Annie Potts and all her guns. Only in Texas…. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

  13. Donna Newton says:

    The UK doesn’t get any of these shows…..yet. Hopefully they won’t be too long as they sound really good. My sister will go nuts for the Christian Slater one. 🙂

  14. Catie Rhodes says:

    Okay, I liked the first version of GCB (the title) better than the second version. That’s sort of how I think of myself, you know. 😀 I think I will DVR this. Of course, I’ll have to watch it by myself, but it might be fun for when I take a break from writing during the day. 😀

    • I am with you – I have no issues with the first title. I have been called one of those on numerous occasions and I actually take pride in it. LOL. Maybe it’s a Texas thing? 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by, Catie!

  15. Pingback: Friday Favorites – Writing and Publishing « Shannyn Schroeder's Blog

  16. Pingback: Blog Treasures 2-25 | Gene Lempp's Blog

  17. Danni says:

    I’ll probably check out GCB, though I prefer the original name. Still the new name is alright too.

    What I’m really excited about is Fairly Legal. I LOVE that show! It’s so good, and if you’ve never seen it before, I would recommend you watch it! I didn’t know it was coming back. You actually made my day! Thank you ^^

    • I love making people’s day, Danni! Yay! I do watch Fairly Legal and I am with you – so happy it is returning. It looks like Kate is going to have a new man in her life this season… very interesting: How will he interfere with her work? How will he interfere with her adorable estranged husband? I can’t wait to find out!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      • Danni says:

        I’m glad that she’s going to have a new man in her life. I love her estranged husband, but at this point I don’t think they can actually make it together. It makes me sad, but I also think that she deserves to be happy. And if that means being with someone else, then so be it. Now I’m going to go mark the return of the show on my calender!! ^^

Leave a Reply

