Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Dirty Business, Again

This week Amber West and I review two of NBC’s new dramas on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday: Smash and The Firm.

What comes to mind when we hear the words “The Firm”?  Many associate these words with the best-selling novel written by John Grisham, but perhaps most think Tom Cruise almost immediately from his performance as Mitch McDeere in the 1993 film adapted from the novel, The Firm.

Mitch McDeere, fresh out of law school, is hired by a top law firm in Memphis where he and his young wife move (Abby, played by Jeanne Tripplehorn) to begin their new life together.  After just a few short weeks working for the firm, Mitch discovers that the company has been overbilling clients and he is immediately in a race to save his and his family’s life.  The Firm is a fantastic, suspenseful movie (also starring Gene Hackman) which is why I initially cringed at the thought of the story being retold yet again.

But it’s not.  Not really.

The Firm television series picks up ten years after Mitch McDeere (Josh Lucas, Sweet Home Alabama) turns in his law firm’s documents to the FBI, proving they were overbilling clients (from the novel and the movie).  The story continues that these said documents led the FBI to take over the law firm and uncover piles of other files incriminating the mob, who has in turn set their sights on Mitch and his family as retribution.

The U.S. Marshalls place the McDeere family (Abby played by Molly Parker, and daughter Claire played by Natasha Calis) into witness protection for a short period of time, but the television program begins after the family leaves witsec and returns to a so-called “normal life” with Mitch running his very own private practice.

Each episode, or chapter as each week is appropriately titled (Chapter 1, Chapter 2, etc), starts current day, then rewinds back in time to tell the story, uncovers more clues, and follows Mitch through the mystery, before it ends back in the current day.

"It's happening again..."

The pilot begins with Mitch running frantically through the DC area, running from two men in suits.  Mitch believes to have escaped the two suits and arrives in a hotel room where he is scheduled to meet a man.  This man briefly argues with Mitch, giving him nothing, before leaping to his death instead of facing the suits (they found Mitch) banging on the hotel door.

Rewind a few weeks…

While defending a court appointed fourteen year old boy charged with stabbing and murdering a classmate, a large D.C. firm swoops in and offers Mitch an opportunity to run a new criminal division – a job he declines but can’t shake the feeling that this is the right job for him that he has always wanted, not to mention will save his failing practice.   Despite Abby’s gut-feeling, considering her husband’s experience with the last firm (from the movie), the McDeeres attend a wine and dine to meet the partners and clients of the pursuing law firm.

Mitch and Abby meet the new firm...

But the deciding factor comes when Mitch is faced with a major legal battle versus a top medical company over a defective heart stint.  He strikes a deal with the D.C. firm – their resources for a percentage of his earnings.  He officially works for the firm, but he gets to keep his staff and his off-site office location.

Or so he thinks…

It seems each chapter will feature bits and pieces of three different plots: a minor storyline, an ongoing storyline, and one major storyline.

The minor:  Mitch will represent a new individual case each week, like when he takes on a dirty judge (guest star, Victor Garber).

The ongoing:  The mafia will follow and chase after Mitch and his family for his actions in Memphis (the movie).

The major:  Mitch will continue to research the Sarah Holt case – a client on trial for murdering an older woman while in her care.

This story qualifies as the major plot line because unbeknownst to Mitch, his new firm is interested in THIS case.  The firm isn’t interested in Miss Holt, the woman Mitch represents; they are interested in protecting their client – Noble Insurance.

Who is Noble insurance?  Remember the man from the pilot who jumps to his death?  He’s a Vice President at Noble insurance…

I don’t want to give too much of the story away for those who haven’t been enjoying chapter after chapter with me, but we do see a glimpse of truth behind the mystery in each episode.  The Firm doesn’t keep us guessing, not completely anyway, week after week like some frustrating shows.

The casting is absolutely great with Josh Lucas and his baby blues replacing one of Hollywood’s favorites in Tom Cruise, but also with Juliette Lewis (Cape Fear, Natural Born Killers) as the chain-smoking legal secretary Tammy (Holly Hunter role in the movie) and Callum Keith Rennie (Battlestar Galactica) as Ray, Mitch’s private detective/ex-con older brother.  Plus as a side note and odd-fun-fact, the McDeere house in the TV series resembles the McDeere house in the movie (in my opinion).

The Firm premiered on a Sunday night in January on NBC before moving to its temporary permanent home on Thursday nights.  I say temporary permanent because NBC has already moved The Firm, and to a time slot that I can’t help but think will kill the show – Saturday nights.  All this moving around can make a girl dizzy…

Because of the cast and the non-stop mystery and intrigue, I must award The Firm with the MacTV rating – it is by far a guilty pleasure like my favorite box of Velveeta Shells & Cheese.  After all, I can’t turn away from a good mystery; I never know where I’ll draw inspiration for my stories.  I’ve actually thought that this television series could have jumped the small screen all together and continued into a major motion picture sequel with success.

Now, depending on how The Firm wraps up the multiple plot lines, the rating could definitely fall to a JFTV rating, the kind of TV I regret watching after story-telling takes a plunge for the worst.  I hope this doesn’t happen; I really don’t want to feel miserable like I do after eating too many chocolate bars.

What do you think? Do you watch The Firm?  How does it fare in comparison with Grisham’s book and the movie?  Do you like Josh Lucas as Mitch, or do you prefer Tom Cruise?  Do you think the move to Saturday night will kill the show?  I’d love to hear from you!

Now click over to Amber’s blog and read her thoughts on Smash.   Remember our “fight” last week to review Alcatraz?  Yea, no fighting this week.  Smash is all Amber’s…

Come back next week when Amber and I flip networks and review two of ABC’s dramas: Parenthood and my favorite of all the new shows, Revenge.

Remember to stop by the #watchwed hashtag in Twitter to discuss any of today’s reviews, or to mention any television programs that you’d like to see on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday in the future.

A Recap of The WatchWed Review System:

GTV (Gourmet TV): Everything we want and more
MacTV (MacNCheese TV): Guilty pleasure. Not perfect, but is satisfies
GMacTV (Gourmet MacNCheese TV): A combination of fine wine and comfort food
JFTV (Junk food TV): It’s not great for us, but we’ll go back for seconds
TBPTV (Twice Baked Potato TV): Part gourmet and delicious, while absolutely horrible for our cholesterol
SSTV (Still Simmering TV): It has potential, but the jury is still out
NIV (Nyquil Induced Viewing): Perfect for that late night television sleep timer
LOTV (Liver&Onions TV): Do we really have to explain? Blech

This entry was posted in Watch it? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Dirty Business, Again

  1. Curiouser and curiouser. I was thinking this show would be good and filled with tension/drama the whole way through. I wonder if the storytelling is going to take a nose dive… We shall see. The Hubs and I watched the first episode of Smash and were like, Meh. I need to see what Amber thinks of it.

    • So far, so good. Each episode is filled with tension and drama, especially since the writers are throwing three different storylines at Mitch simultaneously. I hope the multiple plots carry the show and the Saturday night time slot doesn’t kill it before the audience gets some answers.

      Thanks for stopping by, Tameri!

  2. I have seen the movie, did not watch the series yet. I would watch this just to see Juliette Lewis. She is one of the nest actresses out there in my opinion.
    Thanks for the review. I will be checking this out!

    • Juliette Lewis is cast perfectly in The Firm. I mean, Holly Hunger was pretty fabulous in the movie, but you are right – Juliette Lewis is a fantastic actress. She can pretty much play anything…

      Thanks for stopping by, Darlene!

  3. Catie Rhodes says:

    Okay. Josh Lucas is really hot. His voice. His eyes. I could go on and on. We probably won’t watch The Firm. But did I mention Josh Lucas is hot?

  4. Lee I says:

    Never saw the movie. I might have missed the first episode, although maybe that’s the one I watched on DVR after seeing a subsequent episode. Then other things appeared on my DVR, not as listed in TV Guide. I’m so baffled by now that even cute characters are unlikely to win me back . . . although maybe Saturday — nothing-else-to-watch night — might give it new life.

    • I really hope Saturday gives The Firm new life, but I fear for the worst. I remember a few years ago, NBC did the same thing with Outlaw starring Jimmy Smits. I really liked that show too and the network ended up only airing the taped episodes on Saturday and then it was gone. Moving a show around like this is frustrating…a part of me thought they moved it out of the Thursday night slot so the audience would get sucked into watching Awake in a few weeks. But now I’m not so sure…Awake still doesn’t premiere for a few more weeks so why move it this early? Who knows. The networks baffle me. Thank goodness my DVR catches a show any night a new episode airs.

      Thanks so much for stopping by, Lee!!

    • Oh, and the movie is good. I highly recommend it. I like the Grisham novel adaptations: Rainmaker, Runaway Jury, The Client, and The Firm. 🙂

  5. Amber West says:

    I am behind, but I did like the few eps of this I saw…it just all depends on where they take it. Which is pretty much what you seem to be telling me. 🙂

  6. Oh yeah, Catie and Tiffany, Josh Lucas is hotter than hot! I’ve watched several of the episodes and like the individual stories each provides. I’m a little lost on the overall conspiracy storyline though because I missed a few shows.

    • I can definitely see how one can get a tad lost on the overall conspiracy if not able to catch every episode. Plus, with all of the flashing back and forth it’s a bit confusing….but I like it. I like when a TV show actually makes me think. Thanks for stopping by, Barbara!

  7. Stacy Green says:

    I loved the movie (I confess, I’ve not read a lot of Grisham) so I didn’t watch the show because like you mentioned, I figured it would sully the movie. You’ve certainly made a case for it. I love Josh Lucas, anyway, and anything suspenseful hooks me!

  8. Pingback: Friday Favorites – Writing and Publishing « Shannyn Schroeder's Blog

  9. Pingback: Blog Treasures 2-25 | Gene Lempp's Blog

  10. Pingback: Shannyn Schroeder | Author

  11. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – What Are YOU Watching?

  12. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – 2012, A Year in Review | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

Leave a Reply

