Friday FabOoolousness – Escaping with Movies

Very rarely do we actually go to the movie theater to catch a new release, but my guy and I do frequent the fabOoolous movie vending machines known as Redbox.  We also like to “rent” movies via OnDemand, whether it is the pay services or the free premium channels that accompany our cable plan.

Lately, our weekends have been filled with late night cinematic greatness after a day of running all around the metroplex shopping for cars and home workout equipment.  After being out in the Texas heat (it came early this year, folks), we only seem to have enough energy to curl up on the couch and pop in a movie.  Mostly we lean toward the comedies, wanting to laugh the day away, but we don’t shy away from the drama and tension filled mysteries either.

It’s been a while since I’ve shared a list of movies that come highly recommended here at The Ooo Factor, so it’s time…

*****

If you’re in the mood to laugh…

Jack and Jill

While it’s not Adam Sandler’s best, it was very enjoyable.  As always we see the same cast of characters that Happy Madison Productions likes to offer cameo appearances to (it’s almost like playing a game… “which of Sandler’s friends grabbed a part in this film”), and we see the same type of comedy we’ve grown accustomed to over the years when Sandler’s involved.

Jack and Jill actually shares a very valuable message through the twin brother (Jack, played by Adam Sandler) and twin sister’s (Jill, played by a cross-dressed Adam Sandler) tumultuous relationship, and shows the importance of family and true friends.  Oh, and movie goers get to experience Al Pacino in a role unlike any other he has played.

*****

If you’re looking for a good, yet dark, mystery…

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Many have read the book, many have seen the Swedish film, but that didn’t stop American productions from making its very own version of the Steig Larson hit.  First of all, Rooney Mara deserves any and all acclaim for this film.  She transformed herself into the title character’s role, Lisbeth Salander.  From the hair, to the tattoos, to the piercings, and to the horrendously dark storyline of her character, she nailed the performance.  I think it’s safe to assume we won’t see Rooney resume her role in any future Nightmare on Elm Street renditions as Nancy, although that would be lovely.

And Daniel Craig, no he’s not James Bond in this film; but it is a nice change of pace from his 007 role.  I’ve always likened the actors who have played Bond in the past strictly to the Bond character, but not Craig.  His depth and acting skills are quite amazing, and I almost forget he’s our most recent sexy spy when I watch his other movies.

In the rare case that someone isn’t at all familiar with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo franchise, let me warn you – this is a dark film; I cannot express it enough.  I don’t want to give anything away, but there really is no “Hollywood ending” to this story, but that’s not to say it isn’t fantastic.  And if you like mysteries and attempting to figure out the who, what, why, where, and when, give this one a go.

*****

One that I actually can’t recommend…

The Rum Diary

Usually we love Johnny Depp movies, and he seems to only select the best roles that add to his Hollywood greatness, but The Rum Diary was nothing at all like we expected.  The trailer looks hilarious, even the poster board at Redbox listed the movie as a comedy.  It’s not.  While there are funny moments, the movie’s more of a drama told in dedication to the deceased columnist and author, Hunter S. Thompson.

It’s hard to explain exactly what went wrong or where the film lost us, but we refused to give up and watched until the very end.  Even then, we just shook our heads in dismay; it was a major let down.

Here’s to hoping Depp is back to his fabOoolous roles as Barnabas Collins in the upcoming release, Dark Shadows.  Now this one will get me to the theater, and I really need to wash this Rum taste out of my mouth.

*****

Now, if you’re looking for a surprise treat…

Tucker and Dale Vs Evil

If you’re in the mood for a slasher that you can make fun of and laugh along with, I highly recommend Tucker and Dale Vs Evil starring Alan Tudyk (Suburgatory, Doll House) as Tucker, and Tyler Labine (Reaper) as Dale.  Most of us laugh at slashers anyway, right?  But those laughs are usually not along with the film, they are at the film…

In a nice change of events, we can actually laugh along with this movie.  Tucker and his buddy Dale, two hillbillies enjoying their purchase of their very first vacation home (a rundown shack that screams “Murderer lives here!”), are mistaken as murderers by a group of college students out in the woods on vacation.  One by one the college kids kill themselves, but no one is there to witness these deaths so the others believe Tucker and Dale are responsible.  Meanwhile Tucker and Dale think these kids have lost their minds killing one another, and they too are running around just as scared.

Seriously, this is an underrated film.  Most have probably not even heard of it.  Have you?

*****

Have you seen any of these movies?  If so, what did you think?  What movies have you seen lately that come highly recommended?  Have you been disappointed by any recent films?  I’d love to hear from you! 

This entry was posted in Movie Madness, Ooo Factor! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Friday FabOoolousness – Escaping with Movies

  1. donnagalanti says:

    Tiffany, really interested in seeing the Dragon Tattoo and adore Daniel Craig. I dont watch too many new movies. One that I really wanted to see and neither my husband or I could finish it was Shutter Island. It was awful. So cliche, like every old B 40s movie and I didnt really care about what happened to any of the characters. A movie that took by surprise this past year that I LOVED to no end was Tangled. I dont care for cartoons but this one grabbed – the comedy, the wit, the characters – wonderful, engaging story.

  2. Tucker and Dale vs. Evil looks hilarious! I might have to check that out.

    You mentioned Johnny Depp as Barnabas Collins. When I first heard they were coming out with a Dark Shadows movie, I was ecstatic! (I’m currently watching the old series on Netflix.) Then I saw the previews. They’ve made a COMEDY out of it! I was so disappointed. But it’s going to be one of those train wreck things I imagine. You don’t want to watch, but you can’t help it.

    I’m sorry I got off topic there. *grins sheepishly*

  3. tomwisk says:

    I will pass on Jack and Jill. Adam Sandler punched his comedy ticket a long time ago and believes he can make anything funny. (See Jerry Lewis) I saw The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo. The books were great but the movie captured the dark almost monochromatic atmosphere. The movie grabs you by the shirt and pulls you through the story. Daniel Craig is an actor in the model of Gary Oldman. Rooney Mara IS Lisbeth Slander. I hope they stay true to the books and don’t screw around with the franchise. In fact Lisbeth kinda scares me.

  4. Lee I says:

    I’ve read all the Dragon Tattoo books, seen them all in the Swedish film versions and also the American version. Just before the American version came out, I read so many comments from people who refused to see it because they were so sure ours would muck it up. Well, they’re all great. If you’re one of those boycotters, you should check it out. I think the American version is better for people who haven’t read the books, as it includes more of the book than the Swedish does so the storyline is a little clearer.

    I definitely agree with emphasizing that it’s very dark, very violent. My sister was unable to watch the scenes with sexual violence, well … except for the revenge one … so people shouldn’t walk in completely clueless.

    By the way, there is a longer Swedish version of the books presented in Sweden as a mini-series. I’ve purchased, but have yet to watch those. It supposedly contains things missing from the Swedish movies.

    I can’t wait for the American sequels. Rooney Mara has signed on for them all.

  5. Claudia Lefeve says:

    SOLD! (on Tucker & Dale)!! I wonder if it’s On Demand…hmmm.

  6. I love your title, Tiffany. Movies (and books :)) are such a fantastic means of escape. I really dug Girl with a Dragon Tattoo—the original Swedish version and the American version. Powerful stuff!

    • Lee I says:

      Both Lisbeths were terrific, weren’t they.
      The Michaels were very different from each other, both each very good in their own ways.

  7. I loved Tucker and Dale vs Evil as for the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo- I watched the orignal- which was amazing and honestly I’m so irratated that Hollywood had to re-do it that I won’t watch it. This ticks me off, when the movie is good why can’t we watch it sub-titled or heaven forbid dubbed?? Why make it American? It just irks me- sorry 🙂

    • Lee I says:

      Truly … the American version is excellent. It includes things from the novel that the Swedish version completely left out. I was prepared to be disappointed with it, but took the risk because I adore Daniel Craig and had seen Rooney Mara interviewed about her preparation for the film. I wasn’t disappointed. I’m fine with subtitles — have been watching films with them for 60 or more years, but dubbing is the pits, so that would ruin the Swedish version.

  8. Tucker and Dale looks interesting twist on the usual. I like it when people can make comedy out of horror, but it takes the right actors to get it right. Rum diaries just sounds like a bad 30s book and its never appealed. I’m watching (Netflix, I get to watch things in 15 min chunks) Killers. Been out for a while but at 1hr through it has promise.

    Hope you’re having a good weekend! Cheers

  9. I haven’t seen any of these. We don’t have a Redbox anywhere near where I live (that’s the one thing I miss about the weekends spent in Virginia when my husband lived there), so we basically end up watching what comes on our dish. I just DVD’d Midnight in Paris, and I’ve heard good things about it, so that’s what’s cued up for tonight 🙂 Good luck with the shopping!

  10. EllieAnn says:

    awesome! you’re so good at reviews, Tiffany. I know I’m gonna skip Rum Diaries now. I watched the foreign Girl With A Dragon Tattoo, and thought it was amazing, but so dark I don’t want to experience it again in another film. But it’s amazing.

  11. Pingback: Tall Tale Tuesday: What the Hexagon? « Ellie Ann

Leave a Reply

