Tele-Tuesday: Renew Ringer, Seriously

In January of this year, I blogged about the first half of the first season of the CW’s mysterious new series Ringer, starring Sarah Michelle Gellar as twin sisters Bridget Kelly and Siobhan Martin.  I not only blogged about it not once, but twice — once on Tele-Tuesday and again a bit later on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday.

Even after the first half of the season, I felt that Ringer was one of the best new shows added to the 2011-2012 TV schedule.  Recently, I watched the second half of the season in marathon style.  The season finale aired just a few weeks ago and now the news is circling that Ringer is one of the CW’s programs “on the bubble.”

How can that be?

I love the CW and DVR most of the network’s series: Gossip Girl, 90210, The Vampire Diaries, The Secret Circle, and Supernatural.  So I guess it’s technically a shorter list to mention the CW programs that I don’t watch: Hart of Dixie and Nikita.

I’m not going to say one way or another whether or not Hart of Dixie and Nikita deserve to be picked up for a season two and season three respectively because I don’t watch those programs.  I will say, however, that the revamped 90210 has nothing on the original and I’m shocked that it is still on the air.  Yes, I record it; and yes, I watch it (well I fast forward through the entire episode like I do soap operas, and still understand enough to move on to the next week) — but it’s really subpar TV.  And then there’s Gossip GirlGossip Girl is leaps and bounds better than 90210, but still the most recent seasons are nowhere near as intriguing and twisted as the earlier years (when the kids were in high school).

Over the next few weeks, the CW is introducing two new shows to the schedule: a fictionalized series based on the young and beautiful trying to make it in Hollywood, The L.A. Complex (sounds like another stab at the Melrose Place years); and a reality series based out of a Miami hotel, The Catalina (I shudder to think that this looks like a hotel-style based Jersey Shore).

So I’m back to my original question, how is it possible that Ringer is on the bubble?

It’s been no secret around The Ooo Factor regarding my feeling towards ABC’s new hit, RevengeRevenge is currently my favorite program of all series airing today and I would be shocked if ABC didn’t renew it, considering the following it has and the ratings.

Ringer and Revenge share many similarities – they’re both mysterious and full of twists and turns; both shows have creative and believable writing in otherwise over-the-top situations; both shows have likeable lead female characters despite their actions (Ringer’s Sarah Michelle Gellar and Revenge’s Emily VanCamp); both shows have good-looking male love interests (Ioan Gruffudd and Kristoffer Polaha from Ringer, and Joshua Bowman and Nick Wechler from Revenge); and most importantly to this mystery lover, both shows actually answer the question “why” and wrap up open storylines cleanly and meticulously.

From my earlier posts featuring Ringer, there were a few specific questions I hoped would be answered in the second half of the season: Why does Siobhan hate her sister so much?  When will Andrew discover the truth?  How long will Siobhan and Bridget keep up this charade?  And what is Mr. Carpenter’s secret?

Each and every one of these questions was answered.  That doesn’t happen often, trust me — I watch a LOT of TV.  Additionally, the first season was wrapped up very nicely with only the slightest cliff-hanger leaving us wanting more.  Perhaps the series was written this way because the staff didn’t know at the time whether or not the show would be picked up for a season two; or maybe this storyline was the plan all along.  Regardless, I applaud the writers and creators of Ringer.  Really, I do.

But I’m still left wondering how in the world Ringer can be on the bubble when Revenge is practically a shoe-in for pick up (it should be, anyway).  How can Ringer be on the bubble when it’s, in my opinion anyway, the fourth best show on the network?

I’m completely dumbfounded…

What do you think?  Did you watch Ringer?  What did you think about all of the outcomes surrounding all of Bridget’s, Siobhan’s, and Andrew’s twists and turns?  Is one of your favorite shows this TV season facing a questionable return?  I’d love to hear from you!

For those interested, follow @SaveRinger and use the #SaveRinger hashtag on Twitter… spread the word.  I’d like to see a season two, especially since the creators have already announced a season two will be all about the consequences…

This entry was posted in More Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Tele-Tuesday: Renew Ringer, Seriously

  1. I’ve watched the show a few times but have not had the chance to keep up. It looked like a pretty good show. Sadly I’m not shocked. They seem to cut the good stuff…and leave the really bad stuff on the air.

    • Isn’t that the truth, Savannah? I’m already preparing to be disappointed with some of the networks’ decisions in the coming weeks…

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. jessicarpatch says:

    I had no idea it was on the bubble! Other than TVD, it’s my favorite show!!!

    • Unfortunately, it is… Ringer and Nikita from what I understand. Nikita was in danger last year too — I had the entire first season on the DVR and erased it, thinking it was going to be cancelled because of all the talk. Now I haven’t seen any of the second season because I refuse to watch a show out of order. I need to re-up our Netflix account. We keep saying we’re going to do this. Maybe this summer.

      And I love The Vampire Diaries too, Jessica!!

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  3. I’m still mad that I gave up RInger because hubby wanted to watch The River. (I can’t remember what other show was on.) The only reason I gave in was that I thought The River looked good. It was really a disappointment to me. I hope Netflix will pick up Ringer. That’s what I was counting on. I really want to find out those answers.

    • The River was kind of a disappointment, wasn’t it? We watched it too and Ringer is SO MUCH better. I hope you get the chance to watch the rest of the season…

      Thanks for stopping by, Lauralynn!

  4. Julie Glover says:

    I still haven’t watched The Ringer, but I sure hope Hart of Dixie makes the cut. I love that show. As to Revenge, it’s kind of soap-opera-y, but it’s well done. If Ringer is like that one, I would expect a second season. However, I think TV execs don’t give certain shows a chance to build and flourish anymore.

    • I agree Julie; sometimes it seems that network execs just don’t give certain shows a chance… All they want is the next best thing, thus all the nonsense reality. And yes, I do watch some reality.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Emma says:

    I watched the first half of season Ringer and found the storyline to be ridiculous from the get-go. Despite the silly soap opera like plot, I kept watching until the mid season break last winter because I have loved Sarah Michelle Gellar ever since Buffy. I never watched the last half of season two but reading your post saying all the questions were answered has me intrigued now. Okay, mind’s made up, I’m going to have a marathon weekend of Ringer and see it through to the finale.
    Thanks Tiffany.

    • I hope you do go back and watch the second half of the season, Emma. I really enjoyed the story, and I watched both the first half and the second half in marathon style. Maybe that made it better — one right after the other?

      Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Ashley Prince says:

    I do watch Ringer and I love it! I am hoping there will be a second season. I am interested to see where they will go with it thought since they did answer so many questions.

  7. andrewmocete says:

    Sorry, Tiff, I gave up on Ringer. I never completely fell in love with the story. I thought the main story between Bridget and Siobhan was getting diluted with all the other stories happening. For example, every time Juliet had a scene, I couldn’t wait for it to be over. I would’ve rather seen that time used to focus on the main story. From what I’ve read, if the show does get renewed, it could open the door for a more interesting direction. But if one season is it, I won’t be too upset.

    You did get me thinking about why I like Revenge. It’s got the twisty turny storylines like Ringer, but the difference, for me, is that everything ties into Emily. I’m never taken away from her story and it keeps me tuning in.

    • You don’t have to apologize, Andrew. Every TV show isn’t for everyone…

      Regarding Juliet, I thought the same in a way. But then the writers really worked their magic and made her storyline impact the overall storyline in a surprising way – major twist!!

      Revenge is fantastic. It is by far my favorite show on television today, not just of the newbie programs this year. Each week, I can’t wait for Wednesday night. As soon as 9:20 rolls around in my house, I’m ready to press play on the DVR (you know, so I can watch commercial free).

      Thanks for stopping by!!

  8. Amber West says:

    I haven’t watched Ringer, but just from your earlier reviews, I would rather watch it than 90210 or some of the other programs you mentioned.

    I am a little interested in The LA Complex ONLY because Jewel Staite is in it (she was Kaylee in Firefly 🙂 ). Hope your show gets saved!

  9. Debra Kristi says:

    I think Ringer is terribly underrated. I look forward to it every week! My husband keeps telling me it won’t get renewed which often happens to shows I really like. 😦 I’m rather upset with Andrew right now.

    • I was kind of surprised with Andrew’s reaction as well, especially since he CLEARLY fell in love with Bridget… I hope it gets picked up for a season two. I’d like to see Bridget ruin Siobhan. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by, Debra!!

      • andrewmocete says:

        I did like Bridget. Her story got me watching, but the majority of the other plotlines weren’t as interesting to me. I think the main story could’ve been resolved sooner and these other storylines just dragged it out. Maybe a thirteen episode season would’ve solved that problem for me.

        I was definitely annoyed when they killed off Gemma. I felt like I got invested in a character who meant nothing to the story. She was developed wonderfully and it would’ve been great to have her jump on Bridget’s side when Siobhan and Henry teamed up. Or something to make her a part of the story.

        Tiff, that’s exactly was I was thinking for a season two. Sister vs. sister. That would be cool.

  10. emmaburcart says:

    I’m shocked that Ringer would be in such jeopardy when Gossip Girl is still on! I can’t even handle watching the commercials of that show! I love Ringer because of the mystery. It reminds me of a modern Alfred Hitchcock movie. I guess we need to start a movement to save RInger. 🙂

  11. dianne says:

    Hi from the uk and read your comments regarding ringer. I couldn’t agree more. Great scope for a 2nd series but prior to the grand finale last thursday the commentator on uk living said and I quote it is the last ever episode. It certainly appears we’ve sadly seen the last of ringer here. I simply don’t understand why the ratings in america have been so bad we love it here in the uk.

  12. yvé laurent says:

    Hi,to everyone,I’m Laurent an admin of the Save Ringer Group,we’re trying our best that Ringer can be picked up by another network,Usa,Netflix or DirectTv…you can help us in joining our group,here’s the link : http://www.facebook.com/groups/273775752703640/

    We need to be as numerous as possible to succeed and bring Ringer back !!!

    Hope to see you there 🙂

Leave a Reply

