Friday FabOoolousness – Time to Avenge

I’m not going to lie – I’ve never been big on comic books or action heroes.  Even though I absolutely loved the Wonder Woman and The Incredible Hulk TV series growing up, it never really dawned on me that the characters were more than television personalities.

And then I started dating my guy…

Today is the day he’s been waiting for since first learning that his favorite superheros were coming to the big screen individually back in 2008.  Today they fight together as Marvel’s The Avengers hits theaters nationwide.

Four years ago, I accompanied my guy to Studio Movie Grill to watch Iron Man, starring Robert Downey, Jr.  I wasn’t thrilled to go, but he was, so I put on a happy face and we were off.  He knew I wasn’t excited which is why we chose Studio Movie Grill as the theater – for those that don’t know, SMG has a full food and drink menu, including alcohol.  It was a win-win.

What I didn’t expect was falling absolutely in love with Iron Man.  The movie exceeded all expectations, and no – the martinis had nothing to do with it – but it was Robert Downey, Jr. and the non-stop action.  RDJ was back (I’m a big Less Than Zero fan) and I couldn’t have been happier.

Later that year, we saw The Incredible Hulk, starring another one of my favorites – Edward Norton (American History X, enough said).  Despite my love for Edward Norton, I was a tad annoyed that the movie universe reinvented the cinematic story after it had already been done once before (Hulk in 2003, starring Eric Bana).  Were we supposed to forget all about that one?

Anyway, as expected, I enjoyed The Incredible Hulk as well.  But then again, I’ve always loved the Hulk.  On a side note, I still remember vividly the first time I ever peeled as a result of a sunburn – I was a little girl watching the Hulk TV series when my skin started to lift and rub off.  At the time, I had no idea what was going on.  All I knew was that Bruce Banner turned into the Hulk and I was falling apart.  I ran outside, screaming to my mother who had to console me and reassure me that I wasn’t going to turn green anytime soon.  But, I digress…

In 2010, I was actually just as excited to see Iron Man 2 in theaters as my guy.  While I didn’t enjoy it as much as the first, it was still a good movie.  I actually don’t think the movie necessary failed, but I was so caught off guard with how fun the original was in 2008, that it would have been difficult for anything to live up to the hype.

But still, at this point I remained in the dark about the complete cast of The Avengers.  Thor to me was a character in Adventures in Babysitting, not a popular comic book superhero.  Call me blonde, call me naïve, call me what you will – I was in the dark.

Anyone recognize this guy? Besides the fact that he’s playing Thor… I’ll give you a hint — think Law & Order…

So my guy finally gave me the cliff-notes version of the S.H.I.E.L.D.  (Strategic Homeland Intervention, Enforcement and Logistics Division) organization led by Nick Fury (Samuel L. Jackson).  I already knew Iron Man and the Hulk, and had figured out that Thor was more than Elisabeth Shue’s friend, but still needed to meet the rest of the team: Captain America.

Last year, we didn’t rush to the theaters to see Thor or Captain America: The First Avenger.  However, we did rent Captain America from our favorite vending machine (Redbox), starring Chris Evans.  Again, I’m being truthful today, I wasn’t impressed.  I thought the pace of the film was slow and the movie itself too long.  Please don’t hate me; I wasn’t the only one disappointed – my guy was too.

Perhaps it was this disappointment that we didn’t rush out, and still haven’t seen Thor (starring Chris Hemsworth).  Stop screaming; we fully intend to watch this.  To prepare for the The Avengers release, Redbox brought back all of the Marvel Cinematic Universe movies and we will be sure and catch it this time.

Now, today, May 4, 2012, we have The Avengers in theaters – Iron Man, Hulk (played by another of my favorites, Mark Ruffalo), Thor, Captain America, Black Widow (Scarlett Johansson), and Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner).

What’s better than this star power?  The film is directed by the great, Joss Whedon (Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, Firefly, and Dollhouse TV series).

I decided to treat my sweet and bought our tickets to The Avengers early.  The news thrilled him.  Score bonus points for me!  Anyway, I’ve got high expectations for this movie, let’s hope it doesn’t disappoint…

Who plans to see The Avengers this weekend?  Which Marvel superhero is your favorite and why?  Which of the Marvel Cinematic Universe movies is your favorite and why?  What’s your guess as to who played Thor in 1987’s Adventures in Babysitting?  I’d love to hear from you!

For those who haven’t been following Amber West’s blog, click on over today and see what good she’s doing.  In brief, a fellow blogger has been battling to save her twins (her water broke at 18 weeks), and sadly she lost her babies yesterday.  Amber, like she always does, is trying to help with a fundraiser.  Stop by and see if you’d be willing to share a few dollars…

This entry was posted in Movie Madness, Ooo Factor! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Friday FabOoolousness – Time to Avenge

  1. Me! I’m going tomorrow night with my hubs and son. I wanted to see it at the dinner movie theater (we finally got one!!!), but the son decided he wanted IMAX instead. That’s okay, as long as I get to see my sweet Chris (Thor). I won’t berate you for not watching Thor yet as long as you promise at some point you will. Actually, you don’t have to, but Loki is awesome in it.

    Enjoy the movie and welcome to the action film fanhood! Oh, and Joss Whedon is brilliant. Simply brilliant.

  2. You weren’t missing much with Thor. I thought the setup/background story was awesome. And Asgard’s special effects were amazing. But the “final battle” was an incredible let down.

    I am definitely looking forward to the Avengers though. 😀

  3. L.S. Engler says:

    My roommate, a bunch of friends, and I actually went to see the midnight premiere at our own local full-bar-and-food-service theater last night. I was totally sleep deprived, it’s true, but the movie is FANTASTIC. I think it definitely helps if you’re familiar with the canon, but it was just a lot of fun, so many fantastic one-liners, and a lot of really gripping action.

    I’ve always been a Hulk girl myself, and Mark Ruffalo is incredible. The real star is probably going to always be RDJ, but the whole cast is stellar and it’s a really fun movie. Enjoy!

  4. I am SO psyched about The Avengers! I was like you…Iron Man blew me away, and I was suddenly in love with Robert Downey, Jr., whom I had never thought anything about before. Then when I saw Thor, I thought I would swoon over the lovely. LOL. Captain America was my least favorite, but I’m not much of a Chris Evans fan. Yeah, I want my superheroes to be sexy, and Captain America wasn’t. Neither was The Hulk, although I really enjoyed both Hulk movies. I don’t know when I’ll get to see the movie, but hubby and I are both wanting to see it as soon as possible. My daughter-in-law’s graduation will probably make that impossible for Saturday, but important things first, right?

  5. tomwisk says:

    Won’t go to the local multiplex to see The Avengers, clautrophobia and all that. As a fan of Marvel Comics, some guy sold me his son’s collection of Marvels when I was fifteen, I read all of the origin stories and followed the develpment of the major characters. When they tried to make to TV I was disappointed. The movies were passable attempts but lacked the epic artwork of the comics. The Avengers will reach cable in time, I can wait.

  6. Emma says:

    I’m not big into comic superheroes either but have to go to see this since I’m a fan of Joss Whedon. 4 years ago I accompanied by then boyfriend to Iron Man too and ended up loving it 🙂

  7. Catie Rhodes says:

    There have been some graphic novels I’ve loved on the screen–Road to Perdition, A History of Violence…The Walking Dead. But I’m not as into comic book superheroes. That is, unless you count how hot I thought Justin Hartley was as Oliver Queen/Green Lantern in Smallville. He was hotter than asphalt in August if you get my meaning. LOL

    I learned something new here today. I never before realized that Thor from Adventures in Babysitting was played by Vincent D’onofrio. Good job. 😀

  8. Amber West says:

    As is the case with most movies since Jonas’ birth, I’ll probably be seeing it on video 😦

    I am a long time fan of RDJ, so you KNOW I love Iron Man. I really want to see Mark Ruffalo as The Hulk though. It seems like a good fit.

    And of course I know who that Thor is. You do remember I kinda love D’Onofrio, right? 😉

    Thanks for the link love, too. And giving me a post to brighten the day.

  9. Claudia Lefeve says:

    SO glad you did a post on this. I hadn’t bothered to watch any of the Marvel Comic Universe films (Iron Man, Hulk, Capt. America, Thor). Why? Because I never cared for any of the films based on comics…(Batman–yes, even Dark Knight, and Spider Man). When I found out The Avengers was being done by Joss Whedon, you could be your ass (can I say that?) I’d be at the theater! So, the last two days, the hubby and I watched the four films in the universe so I could catch up (we saw Capt. America last weekend). WOW! I loved all of them! And you really should see Thor. Yeah, the final battle was a bit lacking, as Angela mentioned, but worth the watch!

    Okay, next point. Right before we started to watch Thor, I kept saying “Thor, Mighty God of Thunder,” quoting the little girl in Adventures in Babysitting. Drove the hubby nuts.

    On to the next point of my long comment… saw The Avengers today and it totally rocked! I won’t spoil it, since I don’t know when you’ll be seeing it, but I will say this, you’ll KNOW its a Joss Whedon film. Oh, that and Mark Ruffalo was meant to play the Hulk. He IS Bruce Banner!

    I will never judge a comic book flick again…but then, I still won’t watch the new Spiderman reboot or the third Dark Knight coming out (sorry fans, but Batman always seems depressed and Spiderman just bored me). I don’t know why, but neither of those franchises were fun to watch. Unlike the aforementioned films that WERE fun. You actually wanted to be a part of it.

    Okay, I’m done!

  10. Elisa Nuckle says:

    I watched the movie today and it was awesome. Some of the other individual movies definitely disappointed. Thor and Iron Man 2 are my favorites, and I was really sad Edward Norton didn’t reprise his role in the Avengers. But Ruffalo did a good enough job. The movie is awesome though, really. Your hubby should enjoy it, for sure, and I hope you do too. 😀

  11. Julie Glover says:

    I grew up in the Robert Downey Jr. brat pack days, and he is better than ever now. I love his Sherlock and Iron Man series. Sobriety and quality acting look good on him, not to mention the buff body and witty lines.

    My family watched Captain America just last weekend. I liked it pretty well, although I agree that it was a bit slow. My son is very aware of the release of The Avengers, but I don’t know if we’ll see it in the theater. It sounds like we could make a whole movie marathon of the Avengers-related films. I haven’t seen Thor or Hulk or Iron Man 2. Maybe I should go back to those first.

    And in my house, I’m often the one saying, “Let’s go see ______[insert action-packed film title here]!” My hubby happily obliges.

  12. Pingback: Tall Tale Tuesday: Plant Some Ideas « Ellie Ann

  13. Pingback: A Mini-Road Trip and Mash Up « Jess Witkins' Happiness Project

  14. Pingback: Blog Treasures 5~12 | Gene Lempp ~ Writer

Leave a Reply

