Tele-Tuesday: Spring Cleaning, 2012 Edition

Years ago, May sweeps meant that the television industry saved the best for last.  The networks broadcast non-stop, action packed, cliff-hanging storylines every night of the week, hoping to pull in the largest ratings of the year before announcing which shows would receive pink slips.

Times have changed, and today’s May sweeps ultimately means knowing which shows will return and which shows will be swept away before the season finales have all aired.

Recent years prove that no show is safe: many shows are done after only one season; some shows make it through the toddler years, a minimum of two or three seasons; some programs have aired for years, even decades with multi-generational loyal followers; and, some still await their destiny.

Television’s broom was very busy this year….

*****

One & Done

A Gifted Man, Alcatraz, Are You There, Chelsea?, Awake, Bent, Best Friends Forever, Charlie’s Angels, Free Agents, GCB, How to be a Gentleman, I Hate My Teenage Daughter, Man Up, Missing, Napoleon Dynamite, NYC22, PanAm, Prime Suspect, Ringer, Rob, Terra Nova, The Finder, The Firm, The Playboy Club, The River, The Secret Circle, and Unforgettable

*****

Terrible Twos & Threes

Breaking In and Harry’s Law

*****

Seasoned Veterans

Chuck, CSI: Miami, Desperate Housewives, House, and One Tree Hill

While Chuck, the Housewives, Dr. House, and even the town members of Tree Hill had advance notice that the 2011-2012 television season would be their last, CSI: Miami was not awarded the same courtesy.  After ten years, Horatio and his team say goodbye.  And at a bar no less.  Thanks a lot CBS.  The series end would have been much better if someone destroyed Horatio’s glasses…

*****

Still Awaiting their Destiny:

Rules of Engagement and The L.A. Complex

*****

On a positive note, not all chivalry is dead: some shows have earned advance notice that next season will be their last.  Thank you networks; thank you for allowing the writers to close out a series appropriately for the loyal fans.  This doesn’t happen all that often, just ask Law & Order.

Gossip Girl – It may be a short season, only eleven episodes, but at least the Upper East Side characters will wrap up their storylines.

Fringe – Walter, Olivia, and Peter definitely deserve the chance to close out their story appropriately.   Thank you, Fox; and Thank You fans for doing your part to keep Fringe alive for one more final season.

*****

And even better, one network picked up another network’s sure to be cancelled series…

Cougar Town – hop on over to TBS this fall to catch new episodes.

*****

Seems a bit insane, doesn’t it?  What are the morals of today’s Tele-Tuesday?  Don’t get too attached to freshman television series, and no television show is safe from May sweeps.

Which of these cancellations came too soon?  Over the years, what television series has been cancelled that you still mourn?  Which network do you think sweeps the most shows in the trash before giving the audience a chance to watch week in and week out?  I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in More Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Tele-Tuesday: Spring Cleaning, 2012 Edition

  1. I’m still stunned that The Finder did not get picked up for a second season. Well, perhaps if it had been on a better time slot it could have had a chance. It was a great show and it’s too bad more folks didn’t get into it. On another note, I am happy that Fringe will be back and thank you FOX for giving us one last season!

    • I think had The Finder stayed tied to Bones, it would have done better. But moving it around and finally settling on a Friday night — that’s tough. I can’t believe I forgot about Fringe!! I updated my post just for you, Claudia. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I am really upset that there will be no season three for Secret Circle. 😦 It was getting really good. I mean, I loved it from the beginning. I truly have no idea what that network is thinking!

    • Me too, Ashley! I thought The Secret Circle was great this year — even my guy watched every episode with me. They wrapped up the storyline so nice and neat with the great potential conflict for season two… oh well. What can we do? I don’t think the networks ever really listen to viewers anyway. They’re going to do what they want.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      • It’s just so frustrating! There is definitely a potential for another kick-ass season. I am so sad that we don’t get to find out about the other circle.

  3. daezarkian says:

    I’m sad to see Fringe and House go, but, at least in the case of the latter, it’s probably about time. I’m surprised and thrilled Fox is allowing Fringe to play things out for a final season, that was a class move on their part, especially considering the overall low ratings the show has had since being moved to the Friday deathspot.

    • I’m thrilled about the Fringe news too, Steven. Fox is usually the worst network when it comes to cancelling shows. In my opinion, anyway… although the CW wins first place this season with the cancellation of Ringer and The Secret Circle. I’m really not happy about that… Keep 90210 and cancel these two? Whatever.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. What? No more Alcatraz? *sobs* I’m really going to miss Terra Nova, too. I can’t believe they’re cancelling Harry’s Law. My husband loves that show and now he’s got me hooked. Bleh. I’m glad to see it’s CSI: Miami instead of CSI: NY that’s leaving. Hubby said it was NY. I’ll have to gloat.

    • I was worried about all of the CSI returns — Miami and NY wrapped up sorta nicely and Vegas had that massive cliffhanger. I’ll be sad to see the Miami cast go (everyone except Horatio), but I’m glad to get Vegas and NY back. Over the last few years, they were definitely the better two of the three.

      Now go gloat, Lauralynn.. 🙂

  5. I was surprised about a few shows..Honestly the last month I’ve not watched TV at all. I stopped following the shows and am so lost on what is even going on.

  6. Emma says:

    Alcatraz and Awake gone already? I’m not surprised about Ringer or The Secret Circle.
    Ten years ago I was sad to see Roswell and Dark Angel cancelled. Tv shows don’t get a chance to shine these days.

  7. tomwisk says:

    I’m going to miss GCB. Any show whose underlying theme is “Cleavage is good. It keeps your cross straight.” can’t be all bad. I’m going to miss the hell out of Unforgettable. It was on when there was nothing that could take my attention away.

  8. I am bummed about The Secret Circle and The Finder this year. And, although it has been a few years, I am still upset about TBS cancelling My Boys. 😉

  9. Julie Glover says:

    You made a great point as well in the comments, Tiffany: Often, the networks themselves are responsible for a show not finding its niche when it moves the show around in the schedule. If people have to hunt too hard for a new series, will they keep watching long enough for the show to grow on them?

    Thankfully, none of the shows I watch is on the chopping block this time around. I was sad to see Ringer is going away, though, since I know plenty of people liked that one. I used to watch Fringe, but I lost track long ago. Maybe now the series will be on Netflix, and I can watch it all at once.

  10. jessicarpatch says:

    I’m totally bummed about Ringer! I also liked Prime Suspect. Sigh.

  11. Catie Rhodes says:

    We have watched every episode of The Secret Circle (except for the last three). Though I like the show well enough and was impressed with the direction it was going–I thought it had great potential–I am not all that sorry to see it go.

    One of the biggest stumbling blocks for me is that the show was about *teenagers*, but there were no adult role models or authority figures for them to turn to. All this horrific stuff was going on, and no adult ever popped in to see what was up. It lent an unrealistic air to the show that made it hard for me to care what happened…no matter how much I liked the writers’ creativity and world building.

    I am not surprised about Ringer. It did not hit me right. I sort of wish Once Upon a Time was on the chopping block. My husband loves it (and I like it enough, I suppose), so we always watch it. There’s something about it, though, that leaves me not really caring if I see another episode.

  12. Jeff says:

    I’m going to miss Unforgettable. We really liked that show. We tried to like Ringer, but it just didn’t do it for us. And CSI:Miami?? Dang. I love Horatio and his glasses! And all the other people on that show. Fortunately, we’re only up to about season 4 or 5 on that one. LOL…We got started late on it.

Leave a Reply

