Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Summer Sizzles in The Glades

I know Amber West and I promised to review two of USA’s summer programs this week on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday, but we told a little white lie.  Amber’s taking a much needed week off, so I’ve decided to review a summer program over on A&E that hasn’t been mentioned on The Ooo Factor since April, 2011 that everyone should check out – The Glades.

The Glades follows Detective Jim Longworth (played by the ever-adorable Aussie, Matt Passmore) as he solves crime in South Florida.  Excommunicated from Chicago after allegedly sleeping with his boss’s wife, Jim takes his settlement money and moves to the Miami area to play golf.  He takes a job with a small law enforcement agency (FDLE – Florida Department of Law Enforcement) not thinking it will take him away from the golf course all that often.  He was wrong.

Carlos & Jim

Partnered most of the time with the agency’s medical examiner (Carlos Sanchez, played by Carlos Gomez from ER), Jim ruffles feathers as he solves homicide cases using his unique approach and disregard for the rules.  Carlos tries desperately to ground Jim and keep him from drawing attention to the FDLE, but no one can wrangle Jim — except maybe Callie.

Callie & Jim

While working a case, Jim meets Callie (played by Kiele Sanchez), a single-mom and registered nurse who is also putting herself through medical school at the same time.  The two have an instant connection, but there’s only one problem – Callie is married.

Her husband, Ray (Clayne Crawford, perhaps most recently recognized for his role on Leverage as Eliot’s nemesis), is serving time for armed robbery during season one.  In season two, Ray cuts a deal and is placed into Witness Protection, but not before putting a kink in Jim and Callie’s love affair as he gets to spend some time with their son Jeff.

Jeff

Jeff (Uriah Shelton) adores Jim, but obviously he loves his dad and yearns for the day his parents can be together once again – like any child would.  This poses a problem for Callie, who doesn’t want to upset her son, but knows her relationship with Ray is over.  Eventually, Callie decides Jim is worth the risk and announces she wants a divorce to pursue her future with him.

The Glades also stars: Michelle Hurd (also from ER) as Colleen Manus, Jim’s FDLE boss; and Jordan Wall as Daniel, Carlos’ intern (a fun sidekick for Jim, even if his overzealousness drives Carlos crazy all of the time).  Oh, and before I forget, Callie also assists the FDLE on cases from time to time as a forensic nurse.

Jim & Callie in the field, literally. Okay, it’s more like the glades…

One might wonder why yet another police procedural set in or around Miami is worthy of a watch.  I can answer in one word – Jim.  Not only is he adorable (as mentioned earlier in this post), but his character is seriously flawed and he walks to the beat of his own drum, ignoring everyone and everything he’s told.  But don’t worry; although the character is a bit of a rebel, he’s not annoying.

In case anyone wants another reason, how about the tumultuous relationship between Jim and Callie.  Everyone knows that once television characters “hook up” on screen, ratings seem to fizzle.  Regardless, I can’t help but root for these two to get together.

I’m not much of a romantic (in other words, it doesn’t bother me if a television program or motion picture doesn’t end with the ever-popular “happily ever after”), but it’s because of Jim’s character and his on again/off again relationship with Callie that I keep tuning in.  For this reason, I must award The Glades with a MacTV rating – the flames definitely have our water boiling and it’s ready for us to dump in our favorite cheesy shells to enjoy while we watch the summer sizzle down in South Florida.

Oh, the romantic tension…

And don’t worry – if anyone missed the previous seasons of The Glades, A&E has clips from season one and two available online.  But even better yet, A&E.com also has all of the season two episodes currently available as well.  Check it out!

The Glades season three premieres Sunday, June 3rd on A&E.

What do you think? Do you watch The Glades?  Will Jim and Callie finally get together or will some new obstacle stand in their way?  I’d love to hear from you!

Come back next week when Amber and I review two of the USA Network’s dramas – the new series, Common Law, and the sophomore surprise, Fairly Legal.   Really, we will this time.  Promise.

Remember to stop by the #watchwed hashtag in Twitter to discuss any of today’s reviews, or to mention any television programs that you’d like to see on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday in the future.

A Recap of The WatchWed Review System:

GTV (Gourmet TV): Everything we want and more
MacTV (MacNCheese TV): Guilty pleasure. Not perfect, but is satisfies
GMacTV (Gourmet MacNCheese TV): A combination of fine wine and comfort food
JFTV (Junk food TV): It’s not great for us, but we’ll go back for seconds
TBPTV (Twice Baked Potato TV): Part gourmet and delicious, while absolutely horrible for our cholesterol
SSTV (Still Simmering TV): It has potential, but the jury is still out
NIV (Nyquil Induced Viewing): Perfect for that late night television sleep timer
LOTV (Liver&Onions TV): Do we really have to explain? Blech

This entry was posted in Watch it? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Summer Sizzles in The Glades

  1. K.B. Owen says:

    I’m so bummed that there’s no more Survivor, Tiffany! Although this wasn’t as good of a season, IMHO. Glad we still have you to keep us up on the summer alternatives!

    • Me too, Kathy, Me too. But, my reality craze will be filled shortly with the return of Hell’s Kitchen and Big Brother. By the time BB is over, Survivor will be right around the corner. Yay!!

      And I agree about the season. Even though I’m female, the girls got on my nerves. For a while it seemed every single person I was yelling for was voted off that specific week. So frustrating. But I’m happy for Kim. She ran that game and deserved all of the money.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. I’m not sure I’ve ever even heard of this program. Tiffany, you sure do give us a lot of programs to think about watching!

    • That’s what I was sort of afraid of for this program, Lauraylynn — that not many people had even heard of it. I hope you’ll check it out. It’s going on season three so that should say something… right?

      Oh, and the lead (Matt Passmore) doesn’t speak in his Aussie accent (I wish he would — like Alex O’so Hottie), but I like him anyway. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Amber West says:

    Thanks for keeping the peoples entertained while I take a break on this week of little sleep (and soon to be anniversary celebration!).

  4. tomwisk says:

    Watched before and will return to viewing it. This is not your formulaic police drama.

  5. I didn’t get to watch every episode, but what I saw, I loved!

    • Catie Rhodes confirmed Season 1 is on Netflix… and Season 2 is on the A&E website… just in case you’re bored and want to catch up. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by, Ashley!

  6. Julie Glover says:

    Oh, I love The Glades! (Finally, a series I’ve seen.) I especially enjoy the medical examiner and Callie. They bring out the aspects of Jim we need to see as we watch him solve crimes and figure out relationships. Basically, I’m in for any series that does a reasonable job with plot and has wonderful characterization. The Glades gets it right. Thanks, Tiffany. I’m so glad you gave me the heads-up that it’s coming back in June. I’ll tune in!

    Also can’t wait to hear what you have to say about Fairly Legal.

    • Like you, I enjoy Carlos. His character is a lot of fun and he handles Jim just right, even if Jim drives him crazy. And Daniel… Actually, I like all of the characters. The only character we haven’t had more of a backstory for is the boss; therefore, I don’t feel much for her.

      Fairly Legal really changed things up this year… I still don’t know how I’m going to rate it. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by, Julie!! It was an absolute pleasure meeting you this past weekend. We should do it more often!

  7. Fabulous summer watching suggestion and I LOVE that A&E provides the clips to catch up. This is one I might check out. The heat sounds FABULOUS! 🙂

    • Highly recommended, Natalie! And the heat is fabOoolous, plus Jim is HOT! He’s not your average cop, nor does he dress like one. He looks good wearing t-shirts and jeans with his gun at his side… 🙂

  8. Catie Rhodes says:

    The Glades looks good. We missed the first season. I just saw that it’s available on Netflix, though, so we might try to catch up. It seems that all our favorite shows have ended for the season.

    Off Topic: What did you think about the VD season finale?

    • I’d love for you to check out The Glades, Catie! If you do, be sure to come back and tell us what you think…

      ** VAMPIRE DIARIES SPOILER WARNING **

      Regarding The Vampire Diaries finale, WOW! Of course, Elena made the wrong decision (no big surprise there). In general, I felt the flashbacks were a bit all over the place and hard to follow. I could follow, but it was annoying. I also felt the finale left quite a few of the character contracts up in the air. Klaus in in Tyler, so does that mean the actor who plays Klaus is gone? If so — BOO. And what about Matt? I absolutely LOVED the ending, maybe vamp Elena will take to the right Salvatore brother more now. LOL

      What did you think?

      • Catie Rhodes says:

        Well, if it goes along with the books ***SPOILER**, Elena preferred Damon after she became a vampire. So we shall see.

        As for Klaus being in Tyler’s body now, I think that is so dumb. My husband and I call Klaus ferret face and were glad to see him go. Even though he was a great source of conflict.

      • I will be such a happy girl if that’s the case…. Team Damon!!

        Oh, I liked Klaus. LOVED his voice and accent. I think that alone made him good looking. 🙂 But as long as Tyler’s not gone… That would make me mad. Plus, I’m glad to see Jeremy back.

        I’m so attached to those kids. LOL

  9. Pingback: Friday Favorites – Relationships, Writing & Language Fun « Shannyn Schroeder's Blog

  10. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – 2012, A Year in Review | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

Leave a Reply

