Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Special Anniversary Edition

I know Amber West and I promised to review something new this week on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday, but we told a little white lie.  I know, there we go again with fibbing to our audience, but we have a good reason.  Amber brought something to my attention this week—something very important—it’s our anniversary!!

One year ago tomorrow, a friendly face on Twitter reached out to me and proposed we join forces and two of our favorite things—television and food—to help others know which TV shows were worthy of a watch.  Because let’s face it, not many people have as much time on their hands to fit in as much television as we do (okay, as I do; I don’t want to make Amber out as a crazy-television-obsessed-viewer like I am), so why not help the channel surfers in the world find that one perfect fit to fill their one or two free hours a night?

With that, Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday was born, and a great friendship blossomed with my girl, Amber.  I never really set out to blog three times a week, especially not about TV twice a week, but looking back I wouldn’t change a thing.

So in celebration of our blogiversary, we thought it best to offer up the Top Ten most popular reviews, five here and five over at Amber’s place.

Which TV shows brought the most people over to my WatchWed posts?

#5 –Bones

#4 –Burn Notice & Suits, a hot two in one special

#3 –Criminal Minds

#2 –Leverage & White Collar, another two in one special.  Obviously our viewers love a good con man, or team, whichever…

And, the number one WatchWed post of all time?

Grimm

I mean really, who doesn’t like the darker look at the classic fairy tale… my guy and I sure do!

Before we go, we want to send out a BIG THANK YOU to all of our viewers who have supported us over the past year!  None of this would be possible without you!  Amber and I love what we do, but it wouldn’t be nearly as much fun without the great reader interaction we receive week in and week out.

And in staying in-tune with our viewers, what would you like to see as Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday embarks on its second year?  Leave a comment or stop by the Twitter hashtag (#watchwed) and let us know!

Now click over to Amber’s blog and see which of her WatchWed reviews cracked her top five.  Like me, her shows come with some very sexy arm candy…

Come back next week when Amber and I review something and return to our regularly scheduled reviews, even if we don’t know which shows just yet.  Hey, it’s summer… we’ve got fun in the sun on the brain.

A Recap of The WatchWed Review System:

GTV (Gourmet TV): Everything we want and more
MacTV (MacNCheese TV): Guilty pleasure. Not perfect, but is satisfies
GMacTV (Gourmet MacNCheese TV): A combination of fine wine and comfort food
JFTV (Junk food TV): It’s not great for us, but we’ll go back for seconds
TBPTV (Twice Baked Potato TV): Part gourmet and delicious, while absolutely horrible for our cholesterol
SSTV (Still Simmering TV): It has potential, but the jury is still out
NIV (Nyquil Induced Viewing): Perfect for that late night television sleep timer
LOTV (Liver&Onions TV): Do we really have to explain? Blech

This entry was posted in Television, TV Reviews, Watch it? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Special Anniversary Edition

  1. OMG LUV the photos…LOL!!!!
    Happy Anniversary….here’s to another stellar year ahead!! :))

  2. Emma says:

    I’d like Cary from The Good Wife. He’s a cutie. Happy Anniversary!!

    • Hey, Emma! You are entry #1 for my drawing… Amber LOVES The Good Wife and I think would enjoy herself quite a bit searching for red carpet photo selections for you, if you were to win. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

      • Amber West says:

        You know, I totally tried to pose with Josh, but he is pretty firmly entrenched on his blonde girlfriend’s Sophie Flack’s arm (I don’t have the coloring to go blonde). She released a book recently, by the way – Bunheads. Worth checking out, even if she did get in the way of my photo op. 😉

  3. Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos says:

    You look fantastic on the red carpet. Congrats on a great year of keeping us all in the know about all that is on TV!!

    • Thanks, Jill!! Have any TV celebrities you’d like to see on your arm?? C’mon… you have to! Just pick one from your MANday posts. 🙂

      • Amber West says:

        I thought for sure you’d be all over this, Jillian. I say we throw her in the drawing, Tiff. We can always pick for her. I think we have a good idea of what she likes.

      • Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos says:

        Oh, gosh….there are so many. I’d have to go with Joe Manganiello though. I could wear heels with him and he’s old enough and he’s sooooo freaking hot. And since we’re playing this game, I’d like to go to the Magic Mike movie premiere with him. I could see all his moves, and then he could take me home and show me some of them in private.

      • Now someone is talking!! Way to ignite the HAWT factor, Jill. If Joe shows up to teach you some moves from Magic Mike, make sure your private party incudes me!!

        You’re the second woman to want Joe… you are entry #6! Good luck!!

  4. Happy anniversary! I’m really glad I found your blog! 🙂

  5. Stacy Green says:

    LMAO at your pictures. I’d be grinning like that to if I got to cozy up to Boreanaz;) Congrats on the one-year!

  6. girlparker says:

    Hhhahhhaaa!!!! LOVE the photos! Both blogs made my morning. =)

  7. Amber West says:

    Dahling, I am so glad that we were able to bond over TV, food, and crazy people so quickly, just over a year ago. I can’t believe an entire year has blown by already!

    Can’t wait to see what the next year holds for both of us!

    Kisses and lots of exclamation points,

    Nathan Fillion’s New Best Friend

    (PS – Your pictures were a blast to make, er, I mean, take. :))

    • Hi, Nathan Fillion’s new best friend!! He sure knows how to pick ’em… 🙂

      And back at you, Dahling. I am so glad you reached out to me and we’ve formed this friendship. We may not have met in real life (YET), but you are one of the brightest parts of my days.

      HUGS

  8. Pooh says:

    Happy Anniversary you two. I think you got looking joining forces with Amber. This was a good read!
    Love you,
    Pooh

  9. Pooh says:

    Gosh, niece maybe I should learn to spell lucky and not looking!!! Loved the pictures, too. Wow, a celeb in the family.
    Love you,
    Pooh

  10. Jess Witkins says:

    Hahaha! Oh, Tiffany, I miss you. This is FabOOOlous! I want you two to design the invites for my next Oscar party!

  11. Julie Glover says:

    Love the photos! Congrats on the anniversary. If I hit the red carpet, I want my handsome Hubby on my arm. (But I wouldn’t turn down a photo of me with David Boreanaz or Nathan Fillion. LOL.)

    • Thanks, Julie! You are entry #2 in the giveaway… I’m guessing your pick was Angel himself from your comment? 🙂

      Oh, and nice politically correct answer about your hubby. I’m pretty sure he doesn’t read my blog, so you’re safe here. LOL

      • Amber West says:

        Dude, my hubs got to see that I changed my Facebook profile pic to me and Nathan. (and then watch people on Facebook think that IT WAS REAL. sigh)

        He understands. I’ll make it up to him by sticking him on the red carpet with Salma Hayek.

      • Julie Glover says:

        LOL, Tiffany! I also like the world to know that I’d still pick the Hubster first. (But I ain’t crazy! Angel and I on the red carpet would look FAB.)

  12. Happy Anniversary!! Those photos are AWESOME!!!!!!!

    My fav…wow…tough one. ANY celebrity, or TV celebrity only??? Wow…if I had to pick just from TV, I think I might have to say Maks from Dancing with the Stars! But a movie celeb….wow….even harder. Zac Efron, Ryan Reynolds (he used to be a TV celeb!), Paul Walker…..

    And just in case you need it, haefner919 @ yahoo dot com 🙂

    • Hi, Stephanie! I think Maks is a PERFECT piece of arm candy. I pretty much watch DWTS just to see him and his chest. LOL. You are entry #4. If Amber can’t find a photo to make it work, we’ll go with Zac, Ryan, or Paul. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

  13. From Twitter – Entry #5 @LivRancourt: Joe Manganiello

  14. Author Kristen Lamb says:

    Happy Anniversary!!! This blog is more FABOOOLOUS than ever. You always make me wish I had more time for TV. With a toddler shrieking it is so hard to watch anything and keep up with a plot, LOL. But I always make time for Rizzoli and Isles.

  15. Author Kristen Lamb says:

    As far as who I would like on my arm, no other choice. JACK BLACK! I know I’d laugh my head off all night long. He just seems like I person (celebrity) that I would genuinely like, and that’s worth an evening for sure!

    • Jack Black it is! Laughing is so very important… You are entry #5. God luck!

      Thanks so much for all of your kind words and support. It means the world to me, Kristen!

      • CORRECTION… you are entry #7. All of this arm candy talk has me flustered…

      • Amber West says:

        PS – KLamb, have you seen the latest indie pic with Jack Black? My sis said it was really good. It sounds pretty entertaining (it’s called Bernie).

      • Bernie… is that where Jack Black plays a murderer? I remember seeing him promote this film, if it’s the one I’m thinking of. I want to see it. PLUS, I believe my Matthew McConnaHeyHey is in it or associated with it in one way or another. That means I will definitely check it out. 🙂

      • Amber West says:

        Yes, that’s the one! I haven’t had a chance to go (it’s showing at my FAVE little indie moviehouse here) but my sister did and she said it was really good. Neither one of us are McConouoaogihhggihey fans, but she said even he was good in it.

  16. andrewmocete says:

    Believe it or not, Spider-Man was the first name I thought of, but I don’t think he hangs out on many red carpets. Plus he’s a cartoon in TV form. Then I remembered that Shirley Manson was on TV for the Sarah Connor Chronicles. That means she counts! So, Shirley Manson for me. Plus Amber should have to search for at least ONE girl.

    • Andrew, if you want Spider-Man…. we don’t judge here at The Ooo Factor. But I agree–Amber needs to search for at least ONE girl and Shirley Manson is a good selection. You are entry #8.

      Thanks for stopping by and playing!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

