Friday FabOoolousness: Our Favorite Motion Picture Footballers

In continuation of Tuesday’s blog, Our Favorite Television Footballers, and with the upcoming release of my debut YA mystery novel, Football Sweetheart, I thought it would be fun to use today’s Friday FabOoolousness post to showcase a few of the cutest football players from our favorite motion pictures.

After researching my favorite football movies of all time, and I love football movies so there are a lot, I realized this list could go on and on with the likes of Adam Sandler (The Longest Yard and Waterboy), Mark Wahlberg (Invincible), Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson (The Game Plan), George Clooney (Leatherheads), Cuba Gooding Jr. (Jerry Maguire), and Keanu Reeves (The Replacements) to name a few.  But in keeping with the Football Sweetheart YA genre, I only listed the high school and college players… well, and one coach.  🙂

Friday Night Lights

Mike Winchell

Don Billingsley

Boobie Miles

Varsity Blues

Lance Harbor

Jonathon “Mox” Moxon

Charlie Tweeder

Billy Bob

The Program

Joe Kane

Darnell Jefferson

Steve Lattimer

Remember the Titans

Petey Jones

Ronnie “Sunshine” Bass

Alan Bosley

Louie Lastik

And while he may not have been a player, why not include at least one coach?

We Are Marshall

Coach Jack Lengyel

So, what do you think?  Vote for your favorite now!

Who’s your favorite football player from the movies—any generation?  I’d love to hear from you!


This entry was posted in Football Sweetheart, Movie Madness, Ooo Factor! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Friday FabOoolousness: Our Favorite Motion Picture Footballers

  1. Emma says:

    I had to vote for Sunshine.

  2. Ronnie Bass all the way. I see that I agree with Emma. 🙂 Remember the Titans is my favorite football movie.

    • Remember the Titans is great… and Sunshine is winning the poll, Lauralynn.

      I think my favorite is Varsity Blues. Having grown up in West Texas where football is life, I could really relate with the movie… the hard-@$$ coach, the pressure to always win, the girls wanting to be with the #1, and the heartbreak for those playing in their final game (for whatever reason). Plus, I had a few high school friends picked up as some of the “extra” football players. One even has a great face-shot during the movie while he’s standing on the sidelines. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. LOVE LOVE LOVE Football movies and series…..sooooo good!

  4. Pooh says:

    Good one….enjoyed it, Niece!

  5. This vote is rigged! You left out Lucy Draper (Kathy Ireland), from Necessary Roughness!

  6. I don’t know any of these guys but I had to vote for Boobie because really, I’m just a 13 year-old boy in a woman’s body and that name makes me giggle.

  7. Congrats on your upcoming release! Woohoo! I can’t really vote because I don’t watch a lot of football shows *hangs head in shame.* Maybe if there were zombie footballers. LOL

  8. EllieAnn says:

    Sunshine! All the way! =) Who is your favorite?!

  9. Julie Glover says:

    I can’t vote because I haven’t seen a single one of those movies! I’m racking my brain to recall what football movies I have seen. Does Lucas count? Rudy? I don’t even think I saw All the Right Moves. Now baseball…that’s another subject entirely.

    Still, I’m a Texan, which makes me saturated in football one way or another. I’m looking forward to reading your debut novel!

    • For you, I would say Lucas and Rudy count! Rudy is a great movie… I was going to include it until I decided to stick with the High School football movies.

      And you’re right, Julie — as Texans, we’re saturated with football in one way or another. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

  10. I had to vote for Sunshine. I have had a huge crush on him since I was little.

Leave a Reply

