Friday FabOoolousness – Summer Fun

During the summer months, we are busier than usual.  Not only do we find ways to deal with the heat, like making frequent trips to the pool and water parks, but we also gather up the troops and travel to fun and sunny destinations.  All of these activities pull us outside and take us away from our “normal” lives—whatever that may be.

Unlike last summer, we haven’t traveled to any tropical locations or taken any honest-to-goodness vacations; however, we have kept it close to home and just as fun.  Perhaps our long weekends this year have meant even more to us than a fancy getaway—we’ve spent time with our families and closest friends.

*****

First up, a weekend at Lake Horseshoe Bay…

Horseshoe Bay lake house

I hadn’t been to this particular lake in the Austin, Texas area in years, but it is just as peaceful and beautiful as I remember.  Just take a look at who decided to take a rest in the yard:

I have never been so close to a deer, yet alone as many as there were, in my life!

So, what do people do when they’re at the lake?

We fish…

My guy and one of his fish!

We ride jet skis…

 Jet skis are a seriously fun time… just be sure and hang on tight!

We entertain the kids by pulling them behind the jet ski…

These two were like fish out of the water… they loved it! If you want to try this, please be sure and have a spotter sitting at the back of the jet ski.

And most importantly, we spend time with those that mean the most to us…

Me and My Guy

Me and My Girls… usually we’re all dolled-up when we’re together, but this was an au natural weekend. It was awesome!

I honestly can’t remember the last time I spent a weekend away with my girls.  We’ve been friends since, well, forever, and since college, we’ve only seen each other on special occasions (engagements, bridal showers, weddings, baby showers, kid’s birthdays, and high school reunions).  But not this weekend.  For the first time in years, we got together with our families and had nothing we had to do but hang out and spend time with each other.  Not once did we leave the lake house once we arrived, and that was perfect.

*****

Just a few weeks later, our house was taken over by my family.  My mom, dad, brother, and three nephews arrived for an extra-long weekend in the DFW area.  Why?  Of course, they missed us and wanted to spend time with us, but that wasn’t the primary reason—my nephew had scheduled a few golf tournaments in the area and we finally got to watch him play!

This tournament was the “real” deal…

Words can’t express how much I love this photo… my nephew, analyzing his next shot, while my big brother, the proud father, stands behind and watches.

The proud aunt/sister and Yaya…

*****

So, that’s it!  I hope everyone has enjoyed taking a peek into a few of our summer weekends.  With the release of Football Sweetheart, it was time for some fun in the sun!

What have you done this summer?  Any fun trips that you’d like to share?  What makes for the perfect summer?  I’d love to hear from you!

Remember to check out my YA Mystery novel, Football Sweetheart… now available on Kindle!

This entry was posted in Ooo Factor! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Friday FabOoolousness – Summer Fun

  1. Amber West says:

    Looks like a wonderful time! And you are your man are too cute. 🙂

  2. I hear ya about not being able to take long vacations. With our schedules this summer, the hubby and I haven’t even had a chance to go camping! So we decided to head to South Padre in Sept, so we can visit family AND get our beach vaca!

  3. rebel girl says:

    Y’all are too cute (you and your guy and you and your girls). The family’s not bad either, especially the young golfer. Fun in the sun with those you love. It can’t be beat.

  4. Oh, what fun! It looks like you’ve had a great time. 🙂

    Hubby and I had a vacation on the beach with another couple and their 9 year old boy back in May. Soon, I’m taking a vacation week just to hang at the house, except for two days when my friend and cover artist, Anya Kelley, and I are going to a cabin by the river. I’m going to do lots of writing and she’s going to do lots of reading. 🙂 She’s the only person I know that I can just be quiet with. LOL

  5. Catie Rhodes says:

    Are you sure we’re close to same age? You look like you’re about 25. LOL

    We stay close to home during the summer. School is out, and every place you go is packed. It’s hot as hades unless you’re willing to get the heck out of Texas.

    So we wait until the fall to go places. Then, we go again in the spring. We always say we’re going to visit some historic places in Mississippi or maybe Alabama. But we always stay in Texas. We go to the Hill Country with my parents. But, when it’s just me and my husband, we go farther and farther south and west. It looks like a spaghetti western out there, and we don’t see many people. We love it.

    😀

  6. Stacy Green says:

    Yeah, Tiffany. You don’t look anywhere near 30. I’m not sure I like you as much now…;) Looks like some great summer outings. We did a lot last year, but it’s been so miserable this year we’ve spent a lot of time indoors. We’re going to Adventureland (amusement park) next week and really looking forward to it, and then I’m escaping to the Twin Cities for four days!

  7. Phil White says:

    GREAT blog Tiff–I really enjoyed reading and looking at the pics !!!!

  8. Emma says:

    Great pics. You and your guy make a cute couple.
    Spent a few days last week in Dublin and managed to catch a Bruce Springsteen concert, so it’s been a pretty good summer so far, well apart from the weather.

  9. We managed our first real vacation in several years this summer. I always love going.

  10. Pooh says:

    This was a great one. I loved the lake pictures….you guys must have had a fantastic time. I also loved the pictures of my nephew and great nephew, niece and sister. hee hee hee

  11. Jess Witkins says:

    Aww, so fun to see all these photos. You, your honey, and your friends and family are all so cute! Glad you’ve been able to enjoy your weekends and celebrate the publication of Football Sweetheart!

  12. Looks like so much fun! Last month my husband and I went to visit one of my best friends and her husband and kids just to spend that quality time together. She and I have been friends since high school and slowly added in our guys 🙂 Then she brought little people into the world, and I must say, they are some of the cutest kids ever. It’s great just to be able to sit on the beach, ride bikes, and reconnect.

Leave a Reply

