Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – The Drama of the Tamberny Awards

It’s that time of year again… the time of year where the American television industry celebrates the best of the best.  The 2012 Emmy nominations are in, so Amber West and I decided to bring back the Tamberny Awards in today’s Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday.

Last week, we asked our readers to vote on their favorites… and this week, we’re chiming in.  Will Amber and I agree?

HA!  Amber and I don’t watch the same things.  What she loves, I haven’t even heard of; and, what I watch (which is almost everything on television), she has to Netflix in order to carry on a conversation with me.

Okay, maybe it’s not so bad; after all, this may just be why our Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday partnership works so well!

We hope you enjoy the show!

*****

Outstanding Drama Series
Boardwalk Empire • HBO
Breaking Bad • AMC
Downton Abbey • PBS
Game Of Thrones • HBO
Homeland • Showtime
Mad Men • AMC

Tiffany: I want to first start by saying that if your favorite drama isn’t listed here, it’s more than likely that you’re going to be disappointed with each and every Drama Series nomination.  I don’t want to take anything away from the cable channels (HBO, AMC, PBS, BBC, Showtime, FX, etc),  especially since I agree that the writing on these channels usually blows the basic networks out of the water, but where are the basic networks?  Not here.  If I worked for ABC, CBS, NBC, or Fox, I’d be worried… very worried.

But that said, I’ll probably have to go with Homeland here.  I really like Damian Lewis.

Reader’s Pick: Downton Abbey

Tiffany: BIG surprise!

Amber: I have to go with the readers on this one – mostly because I haven’t seen several of the others. Breaking Bad threatens to add itself to my queue regularly, so I hand it an honorable mention for that.

But seriously. Downton. I just swoon. I’ve even rewatched it. If you haven’t yet succumbed to the lure that is DA, do it.

I’ll wait.

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Drama Series
Damages • DirecTV Glenn Close as Patty Hewes
Downton Abbey • PBS Michelle Dockery as Lady Mary Crawley
The Good Wife • CBS Julianna Margulies as Alicia Florrick
Harry’s Law • NBC Kathy Bates as Harriet Korn
Homeland • Showtime Claire Danes as Carrie Mathison
Mad Men • AMC Elisabeth Moss as Peggy Olson

Tiffany: Glenn Close, hands down.  Although, I’m still mad at Damages for signing a DirectTV exclusive these past few seasons.

Reader’s Pick: It’s a tie!  Julianna Margulies and Claire Danes.

Tiffany: I do like Claire Danes.  My So Called Life, anyone?

Amber: I have to admit, while I haven’t kept up with Damages, Glenn Close is just frighteningly good. I’d give it to her, but while admitting that I still have much love for Juliana. Plus, I feel for basic cable right now.

Tiffany: I feel for basic cable right now too.  I wonder if the execs are running around scared or if their egos don’t think anything is wrong…  their shows weren’t nominated for anything!

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Drama Series
Boardwalk Empire • HBO Steve Buscemi as Nucky Thompson
Breaking Bad • AMC Bryan Cranston as Walter White
Dexter • Showtime Michael C. Hall as Dexter Morgan
Downton Abbey • PBS Hugh Bonneville as Robert, Earl of Grantham
Homeland • Showtime Damian Lewis as Nicholas Brody
Mad Men • AMC Jon Hamm as Don Draper

Tiffany: Damian Lewis.  Love him.  Band of Brothers.  Life.  Even Your Highness.  He’s fabOoolous in everything he does.

Reader’s Pick: Michael C. Hall

Tiffany:  Okay, he’s pretty fabOoolous too.  Dexter rocks and he IS Dexter!!

Amber: I’d like to take a moment to point out that this category looks very much the same as last year, with Steve, Michael C Hall, and Jon Hamm in the running again. Last year’s win was my “big upset” when the award went to the basic cable guy: Kyle Chandler.

So, I’m going to pick Hugh Bonneville this time around. I like upsets.

Tiffany: You only picked Mr. Bonneville because he’s from Downton.  C’mon, be real…it’s okay.  We still love you.

Amber: What can I say? I have a weak spot for accents. And old dudes, apparently.

Outstanding Supporting Actress In A Drama Series
Breaking Bad • AMC Anna Gunn as Skyler White
Downton Abbey • PBS Maggie Smith as Violet, Dowager Countess of Grantham
Downton Abbey • PBS Joanne Froggatt as Anna
The Good Wife • CBS Archie Panjabi as Kalinda Sharma
The Good Wife • CBS Christine Baranski as Diane Lockhart
Mad Men • AMC Christina Hendricks as Joan Holloway Harris

Tiffany: I haven’t seen much of any of these, but I’m going with Maggie Smith… mainly  because she’s Maggie Smith.

Reader’s Pick: Maggie Smith

Amber: I think Maggie Smith is sweeping this one. I mean really, she is the most awesome old lady on TV. That’s right, Betty White. You got nothin’ on the Dowager Countess.

Tiffany: I wouldn’t challenge Betty White directly like this.  Have you seen her show?  She might get you when you are least expecting it…

Amber: Bring it, Betty.

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Drama Series
Breaking Bad • AMC Aaron Paul as Jesse Pinkman
Breaking Bad • AMC Giancarlo Esposito as Gustavo ‘Gus’ Fring
Downton Abbey • PBS Brendan Coyle as John Bates
Downton Abbey • PBS Jim Carter as Mr. Carson
Game Of Thrones • HBO Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister
Mad Men • AMC Jared Harris as Lane Pryce

Tiffany: Same problem here, but I’m casting my vote for Peter Dinklage.  He’s a scene-stealer.

Reader’s Pick:  It’s another tie!  Brendan Coyle and Peter Dinklage.

Amber: I absolutely adore Brendan Coyle. I loved him in North and South, and he is just the perfect man as Bates in Downton Abbey. If he doesn’t take it, then Dinklage can have it. He IS a scene stealer.

Outstanding Writing for a Drama Series
Downton Abbey • Episode 7 • PBS
Homeland • “Pilot” • Showtime
Mad Men • “The Other Woman” • AMC
Mad Men • “Commissions And Fees” • AMC
Mad Men • “Far Away Places” • AMC

Tiffany: Homeland.  What an intense show.

Reader’s Pick: Downton Abbey

Amber: My lack of Showtime means I don’t know much about Homeland. I’ve heard great things, and it’s likely as good as I hear. But I’m sticking Downton.

SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP!

Outstanding Casting For A  Drama Series
Boardwalk Empire • HBO
Downton Abbey • PBS
Game Of Thrones • HBO
The Good Wife • CBS
Homeland • Showtime
Mad Men • AMC

Tiffany: Hmmm….  Game of Thrones.  Yeah, Game of Thrones.

Reader’s Pick: Again… Downton Abbey

Amber: Ahem. SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP.

Tiffany: I’m beginning to think Amber needs a broom… apparently, she wants to clean today.

Outstanding Miniseries or Movie
American Horror Story • FX Networks
Game Change • HBO
Hatfields & McCoys • HISTORY
Hemingway & Gellhorn • HBO
Luther • BBC America
Sherlock: A Scandal In Belgravia (Masterpiece) • PBS

Tiffany: American Horror Story!!!!  I can’t even begin to express how excited I am to see AHS getting some love…  FX, yet again, found something unlike anything else on TV.

Reader’s Pick: It’s a tie!!  American Horror Story and Sherlock: A Scandal in Belgravia.

Amber: Okay, I swear I’m not an anglophile, but Sherlock. So much Sherlock.

Tiffany: Are you sure you’re not an anglophile?

Amber: I’m equal opportunity when it comes to dreamy accents. And talent. I mentioned talent, right?

Outstanding Lead Actress In A Miniseries Or A Movie
American Horror Story • FX Networks Connie Britton as Vivien Harmon
Game Change • HBO Julianne Moore as Sarah Palin
Hemingway & Gellhorn • HBO Nicole Kidman as Martha Gellhorn
Missing • ABC Ashley Judd as Rebecca Winstone
The Song Of Lunch (Masterpiece) • PBS Emma Thompson as She

Tiffany: I’m going with a crazy one here… Ashley Judd.  I loved her transition from movies like Kiss the Girls, Double Jeopardy, and High Crimes onto a television series.  I’m a bit shocked though that Missing is listed as a miniseries… probably just because ABC cancelled it after one season.  I think it was supposed to be considered an actual series, but whatever gets it the nomination.

Reader’s Pick:  It’s another tie!!  Connie Britton AND Ashley Judd.

Tiffany: Nice!

Amber: I’ve watched ZERO of these, so I am not qualified to have an opinion. Having said that, I’m sad Connie Britton didn’t win when she was nominated last year for Friday Night Lights, so I wouldn’t mind seeing her win something this year.

But really, I have no horse in this race.

Outstanding Lead Actor In A Miniseries Or A Movie
Game Change • HBO Woody Harrelson as Steve Schmidt
Hatfields & McCoys • HISTORY Kevin Costner as ‘Devil’ Anse Hatfield
Hatfields & McCoys • HISTORY Bill Paxton as Randall McCoy
Hemingway & Gellhorn • HBO Clive Owen as Ernest Hemingway
Luther • BBC America Idris Elba as John Luther
Sherlock: A Scandal In Belgravia (Masterpiece) • PBS Benedict Cumberbatch as Sherlock Holmes

Tiffany: Idris Elba… only because he’s up against some serious Hollywood stars here.  Let’s give it to him.  Plus, my girl Amber LOVES Luther.

Reader’s Pick: Benedict Cumberbatch

Tiffany: I love his name.  Benedict Cumberbatch.  Awesome.

Amber: Despite my love for Luther (and Idris Elba…I mean, really), I’m all about Benedict Cumberbatch. He is an absolutely brilliant modern-day Sherlock. Insanely good.

Well picked, readers.

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Miniseries or A Movie
American Horror Story • FX Networks Frances Conroy as Moira
American Horror Story • FX Networks Jessica Lange as Constance Langdon
Game Change • HBO Sarah Paulson as Nicolle Wallace
Hatfields & McCoys • HISTORY Mare Winningham as Sally McCoy
Page Eight (Masterpiece) • PBS Judy Davis as Jill Tankard

Tiffany: Jessica Lange! Jessica Lange!!  Jessica Lange!!!  Oh, her portrayal of Constance, the creepy neighbor and mother to Tate and Addy, was the best on TV.  Any TV.

Reader’s Pick: Jessica Lange

Amber: Another category where I have failed you all in my TV watching. Sigh.

At random…Mare Winningham. I mean, check out her name. WINNINGham.

Tiffany: I’m still a Mare fan from back in the day… St. Elmo’s Fire, Baby!

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Miniseries Or A Movie
American Horror Story • FX Networks Denis O’Hare as Larry Harvey
Game Change • HBO Ed Harris as John McCain
Hatfields & McCoys • HISTORY Tom Berenger as Jim Vance
Hemingway & Gellhorn • HBO David Strathairn as John Dos Passos
Sherlock: A Scandal In Belgravia (Masterpiece) • PBS
Martin Freeman as Dr. John Watson

Tiffany: Hmmmm, Tom Berenger.  Only because I feel Hatfields & McCoys should get some WatchWed love.

Reader’s Pick: Denis O’Hare.

Tiffany: I personally prefer Denis in True Blood

Amber: Martin Freeman! I loved him in the original Office days, and he makes the perfect Watson. He has this understated manner that I think leaves him overlooked. So happy to see him nominated.

Outstanding Writing for a Miniseries, Movie or a Dramatic Special
Game Change • HBO
Hatfields & McCoys • Part 2 • HISTORY
The Hour • BBC America
Luther • BBC America
Sherlock: A Scandal In Belgravia (Masterpiece) • PBS

Tiffany:  Where’s American Horror Story?

Reader’s Pick: Sherlock: A Scandal in Belgravia

Amber: Sherlock. Sherlock. Sherlock. (say it with me)

Tiffany: No.  I want American Horror Story.

Amber: ::whispers:: sherlooooooooooock.

Outstanding Casting For A Miniseries, Movie Or A Special
American Horror Story • FX Networks
Five • Lifetime
Game Change • HBO
Hatfields & McCoys • HISTORY
Sherlock: A Scandal In Belgravia (Masterpiece)

Tiffany: American Horror Story!  And just wait, it looks like they’ve done it again with season two… an entirely new cast.  As much as I loved The Murder House and those haunting its hallways, I’m ready for The Asylum!  And yes, my girl Jessica Lange is back!!

Reader’s Pick: American Horror Story

Amber: Do I really even have to answer at this point?

Tiffany: For once, the readers and I outnumber you!!

Amber: I’m used to it. I’m actually surprised how in sync I was with our readers this time around. Wonder if that will continue with the comedies next week? Somehow, I doubt it.

*****

Well, that’s all for today.  Come back next week when Amber and I take on the comedies and a few other categories…

Do you agree or disagree with our picks?  Want to join in the conversation?  Leave a comment below – we’d love to hear from you!

Remember to stop by the #watchwed hashtag in Twitter to discuss any of today’s reviews, or to mention any television programs that you’d like to see on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday in the future.

And, remember to check out my YA Mystery novel, Football Sweetheart… now available on Kindle and Nook!

This entry was posted in Tamberny Awards, Television, Watch it? and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – The Drama of the Tamberny Awards

  1. Wow! There are all these shows out there and I never knew? We don’t have HBO or Showtime, so all of those choices are lost on me (I’m still cranky that HBO won’t let you netflix Game of Thrones). But Downton and Sherlock I know! This was great ~ I love your comments, especially Tiffany’s about Amber wanting to clean something because she kept SWEEPing! You two crack me up. Thanks for the entertainment and for watching all those shows so we know what’s worth a good watch. Every time I see a commercial for a new show, I think, ‘I wonder if Tiffany or Amber will spotlight this’. I’m a fangirl, what can I say?

  2. Catie Rhodes says:

    I have never watched Downton Abbey. I see that it is on Netflix. Maybe I will try it. I also haven’t watched Sherlock. My husband would love it since he loves Sherlock.

    I was disappointed Breaking Bad didn’t win more. I started watching this show without much expectation, but it became one of my favorites. Walter White has gone from nice guy to stone cold criminal. Interesting transformation.

  3. Julie Glover says:

    I am a total Anglophile when it comes to these nominations: Downton Abbey and Sherlock are just marvelous TV. That said, I am rather upset with Amber for calling Hugh Bonneville an “old dude” since he is a mere FOUR years older than I am and THREE years younger than my hubby. That’s old???? You’re making me feel like Maggie Smith or something here. LOL.

    Great job, ladies! Can’t wait to see the comedies, Tiffany.

    • Amber West says:

      I say “old dude” with total affection, and more as a comparison to most guys getting all the fangirl attention these days. The hubs is 11 years my senior, and Hugh is 17 years older than me, so not a huge difference there.

      The majority of my crushes are AT LEAST 10 years older than me. Often more.

      My apologies to Hugh and any born within a 15 year radius. 🙂

  4. I obviously need to up my TV watching anty! LOL! You guys are STELLAR – love the back and forth comments. I am obviously going to have to order netflix or get on renting some of the series…they all sounds so damn yummy!!!

  5. Emma says:

    American Horror Story: So happy it’s getting a second season and the guy who played creepy Tate is coming back.

  6. Jess Witkins says:

    I just want to know how to make that Dowager Countess clip my ringtone??? LMAO

  7. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – The Tamberny Awards Talk Comedy | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

Leave a Reply

