Friday FabOoolousness – Football Foods

Football is here!!  That means it’s not only time to watch our favorite teams kick off, but also time for those special foods that we make specifically for football games.  Today, I’ve decided to share three of our household’s must-haves!

But first, I thought I’d share what football season means to me—and that’s friends and family.  Enjoy!

Me and my girls…

Red Raiders who keep Austin in check…

Me and my guy… we’re not afraid to wear matching shirts.

Representing the Red Raiders in Dallas…

*****

Now, let’s talk food!  The first two recipes were passed on to me from my mother, and I have enjoyed them both since I was a little girl.  The last one comes courtesy of a former co-worker (thanks, Amy!).

Deviled Eggs

Peel hard-boiled eggs and cut in half
Carefully remove yolk and place in mixing bowl
Add 2 tablespoons of mayo
Add 1 tablespoon of yellow mustard
Mix together with a fork
Add 1 teaspoon of white vinegar
Mix
Add salt and pepper to taste
Scoop back into egg halves
Sprinkle with paprika

**For quantities of six hard-boiled eggs…

Mom’s Holiday Queso

¾ cup of chopped onion
2 tablespoons of butter
1 can of diced tomatoes and green chilis
1 package of 8 oz. cream cheese, cut into small cubes
1/3 cup of milk

In sauce pan, sauté onion in butter until soft.  Add tomatoes and chilies and cook over medium heat.  Gradually blend in cream cheese, stirring until it is completely melted.  Slowly add milk.  Mix well, heat through, and serve.

**Brown hamburger meat with the onions if you want to add a little flare to the queso…

Sausage Balls

1 package of hot, ground sausage (Jimmy Dean is great!)
1 cup of Heart Healthy Bisquick (or regular Bisquick, it really doesn’t matter; I just try to add little bits of “health” where I can)
1 cup of grated, sharp cheese

Mix all ingredients together.  Pinch off one to two inch sections of the meat mixture and roll into balls.  Place on a cookie sheet and bake for thirty minutes at 350.

**Once I have all of the mixture rolled into balls, I like to pat each of them in the extra Bisquick in the bowl before I throw it out.  This gives the outside a nice crispy texture after baking.

*****

Do you make anything special during football season?  If so, please share!  I’d love to hear from you.

And since it’s football season, remember to check out my YA Mystery novel, Football Sweetheart… now available on Kindle and Nook!

Here are a few of my latest reviews!

Football Sweetheart is a great read that brought back so many high school memories. The characters are relatable, and the story keeps you guessing until the very end. I can’t wait to read more about Aimee and her friends! I highly recommend this book. ~T. Hunt

I love the vivid descriptions of how important high school football is in West Texas and how it shapes every persons life in the small town. The fact that the book is a “murder mystery” is just a bonus….who doesn’t love a good “who done it” novel? ~ M. McWilliams

Football Sweetheart is a promising first from Tiffany A. White. The story contains all the required elements of a mystery, capturing your attention from Chapter One. High school innocence evaporates in a heartbeat when a popular girl disappears. Her best friend singles herself out to find the victim and stumbles onto more than she bargained for. There are no secrets in this small West Texas town, or are there? A brisk read full of twists and turns as each character carries you toward the conclusion. Looking forward to the next book in this series. ~ E. Meyer

This entry was posted in Food & Restaurants, Football Sweetheart, Ooo Factor!, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Friday FabOoolousness – Football Foods

  1. Thanks for the recipes, Tiffany! I love these types of foods, usually even better than a regular meal. Go Vols! (I’m showing my true colors-orange and white, LOL)

  2. FOOOOOOOOTBALL! I’m so happy football season is back. I’m complete again. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Love your recipes! We always have redneck sushi – a spinach tortilla slathered with cream cheese topped with ham or turkey, rolled around a dill pickle and cut into slices. Sounds awful. Tastes awesome.

    Fun post!!

  3. Julie Glover says:

    I don’t like football, so I’m no help with tailgating foods. But I have uber-fond memories of Frito Pie at high school football games! All you need is a bag of Fritos, some good chili, and grated cheddar. Yum!

    Love the pics, Tiffany!

  4. Catie Rhodes says:

    Thanks for sharing these recipes. I LOVE deviled eggs. I don’t see them much any more, only at family gatherings. It made me smile that you listed them. I am going to try your sausage balls recipe.

    Here’s an easy recipe that is a hit at parties:

    Li’l Smokies in Tangy Sauce

    1 package of cocktail wieners–I usually buy the brand name
    1 jar prepared mustard–you want the smallest jar they sell, generic is okay
    1 jar of red currant jelly, generic is okay

    Dump all this in a crock pot and cook until warmed through and sauce has blended. This can be 1-2 hours on high or a 4 hours on low. Once it’s cooked, you’ll want to keep the heat on low.

    This is a really easy recipe that can be doubled or tripled. I’ve never brought any of it home when I’ve taken it somewhere.

  5. Amber West says:

    I am going to have to gather my recipes. 🙂 I love football season food.

  6. Emma Burcart says:

    I love football, even though I’ve never lived in a town with a team, except college of course. I like to watch all the teams and pick out the hotest players. Over the last couple of years I’ve learned that the running backs and wide recievers (usually with numbers like 85 or 82) have the best butts. So, that’s who I cheer for. 🙂 I grew up with parents who cook. Like every night is a gourmet meal, so football season is extra fun. My step-mom bought an NFL cookbook and we always cooked a few items from each of the opposing teams. I especially like when the Saints play because food from New Orleans is delicous! My all time favorite though are the goatcheese stuffed bacon wrapped dates. I don’t even care where they are from. I’ll eat them for any game.

  7. It’s been so long since a Texas team won the national championship or the NFL championship either one that I’ve pretty much lost interest in football. I do read about it in the sports section, though.

  8. Jess Witkins says:

    Oh my god, I’m so hungry now! I love Deviled eggs but I never make them. Don’t know why. I should try your recipe out, looks easy enough. For gameday, we like you, have queso dip, chicken wings are another fun one, or cocktail wienies. And being in Wisconsin, lots of cheese and summer sausage assortments! LOL. Ok, seriously hungry now!

Leave a Reply

