Tele-Tuesday: NBC’s New Fall Comedies

It’s that time of year again!  The fall television schedule is right around the corner, and as always, the networks have a lineup of many new programs to accompany our returning favorites.

Some of the series have promise, while others may flop—but, regardless, we’ll tune in to check them out!

Today, we’re looking at the new NBC comedies…

*****

Matthew Perry returns to NBC in the new comedy, Go On.  While NBC has aired the pilot episode a few times already, I have yet to catch it.  But I won’t miss it this week—my DVR is already set.

But for those who haven’t heard anything about it, Mr. Perry plays Ryan, a sports radio host who is ordered into mandatory counseling before he is allowed to return to work after his wife passes away.  His therapy group consists of all the colorful characters one would expect to see—people Ryan feels need counseling more than he does.

The series also stars Julie White (the hilarious Mrs. Witwicky from the Transformer movies), John Cho (Harold from the Harold & Kumar movies), and Brett Gelman (from the Funny or Die series), as well as a few other familiar faces (Allison Miller from Terra Nova, Laura Benanti from the short-lived Playboy Club, and Khary Payton from General Hospital).

A few weeks ago, Amber West reviewed the pilot on her Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday post.  Her take on the new comedy told me exactly what I thought it would—Matthew Perry is funny and the show has potential.

Go On premieres tonight, September 11th, on NBC.

*****

The New Normal stars Andrew Rannells (from Broadway’s Book of Mormon) and Justin Bartha (from The Hangover movies) as a gay couple wanting to add a precious baby to their family.  When they meet a single mother (Goldie, played Georgia King), the couple decides they have found the perfect surrogate for their baby.

One of the things I’m most looking forward to is the return of Ellen Barkin.  From the promos I’ve seen, Barkin’s character is a bit off-colored and I can’t help but laugh—even if it’s an uncomfortable laugh.  Will The New Normal bring a bit of raunchy comedy to NBC?  I guess we’ll just have to wait and see…

The other thing I’m most looking forward to is the fact that Ryan Murphy co-created the series.  Murphy’s most popular television series include two Ooo Factor favorites: Nip/Tuck and American Horror Story.  I think his resume alone speaks volumes and we should all at least check out the pilot episode…

The sitcom also stars NeNe Leakes; that’s right, a “Real Housewife” from Atlanta and previous Celebrity Apprentice contestant.  Now isn’t that interesting?  I don’t watch any of the Real Housewives, but I do know of NeNe from all of her coverage in the media.  Maybe she’ll bring some of her NeNe flare to the show?

The New Normal premieres tonight, September 11th, after Go On on NBC.

*****

It seems that the parents with babies theme is big over at NBC… last year, Up All Night premiered and scored a second season pick up, and this year Guys with Kids is the second sitcom based on fathers and their babies (the first being The New Normal from above).

Guys with Kids follows three fathers as they raise their children.  I’d say “stay-at-home-dads” or “Mr. Moms,” but having not seen an episode yet, I’m not sure of their individual situations.  One is believed to be divorced and another married, but we’ll just have to wait and see.

Regardless, the new comedy stars three funny men with impressive resumes: Anthony Anderson (from The Bernie Mac Show and Law & Order), Zach Cregger (from the short-lived sitcom Friends with Benefits), and Jesse Bradford (from the very funny I Hope They Serve Beer in Hell and TV’s short-lived Jimmy Smits drama, Outlaw).  And speaking of funny men, the SNL great and current nighttime TV host, Jimmy Fallon co-created the series.  Again, the talent involved makes the new show worth a watch…

But it’s not all about the boys; this sitcom also stars a few women, including Jamie Lynn Sigler (The Sopranos) and Tempestt Bledsoe (The Cosby Show).  I personally can’t wait to see Meadow Soprano in a comedic role…

Guys with Kids premieres this Wednesday (September 12th) on NBC.

*****

If I had to rank these in order as to which one I’m most looking forward to, I’d put Go On at number one with Guys with Kids following closely behind at number two.   No offense to The New Normal; someone always has to come in last, but that doesn’t mean we won’t give it a chance.

What do you think?  Will you tune in to watch any of the new comedies on NBC this year?  Which of these shows will make it and which ones won’t… and why?  I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in More Television, Television, TV Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Tele-Tuesday: NBC’s New Fall Comedies

  1. Emma says:

    I like Matthew Perry so I’m going to check out Go On.

  2. None of these spark my interest, but as you know, I’m not a big fan of sitcoms. The humor is just too raunchy for my taste most of the time, and not very funny. I think The New Normal is going to be the worst of the bunch. I could be wrong. I’m still loving The Big Bang Theory. That’s the only comedy I like right now. I really, really miss the old comedies like The Andy Griffith Show, Green Acres, and fun variety shows like The Carol Burnett show. They knew how to do humor without being raunchy. That takes skill. LOL Those were shows I watched when I was a kid. Sorry…didn’t mean to ramble.

  3. Julie Glover says:

    I know this is going to sound grumpy, but where are the Joe Average family sitcoms? The Cosby Show? The Family Ties? The Growing Pains? The Home Improvement?

    If I want quirky family comedy, I’d go for Raising Hope (which makes me laugh out loud). These offerings really don’t pique my interest. I’ll tune in, though, to see what you think once these shows start running!

  4. I’m actually excited to see Justin Bartha on a regular basis so I’d have to say The New Normal.

    But then again there’s the whole Matthew-Perry-back-on-TV thing…

  5. Jeff says:

    I think we’ll give Go On a try. I’m not interested in The New Normal. We already have Modern Family, and it’s a hit. Don’t need another one. I’ll tell you one thing…I’m having a tough time waiting for American Horror Story to come back!

  6. Jane Sadek says:

    Go On made me realize how old I was. It seems choppy and random, but I guess that’s what makes it hip. The New Normal made me glad I’m this old. That means I have less decades of this sort of thing to tolerate.

Leave a Reply

