Friday FabOoolousness – Fall, Football, and Varsity Blues

I’ve asked it before, and I’ll ask it again…  what says Friday night during the fall months better than high school football?

The sun sets; the temperatures cool; and the sounds of marching bands, spectator’s cheers, and the crackling of shoulder pads crashing into one another echo throughout the neighborhoods.  Ah, the memories…

In honor of Football Sweetheart‘s recent release and football season everywhere, grab the old letter jacket, microwave some popcorn, grill a few hot dogs, crack open a coke, and curl up on the sofa for a great movie that reminds us all of the good ol’ Friday nights in fall.

Varsity Blues (1999)

High school football is life in West Canaan, Texas, and anybody who’s anybody plays their part for the team.  Training begins at a very early age—girls perfect their toe-touches as soon as they can jump, and boys practice tossing the pigskin through a tire hanging from a tree as soon as they can stand.

Jonathan “Mox” Moxon (James Van Der Beek, Dawson’s Creek) plays quarterback for the West Canaan team—backup quarterback.  His best friend, Lance Harbor (Paul Walker, the Fast and the Furious movies), is the starting quarterback.  The competition doesn’t bother the two boys, but it drives their fathers absolutely crazy.

The two teens seemingly have it all—Mox has the grades for prestigious Brown University, plus he has a healthy teenage relationship with his best friend’s sister (Jules Harbor, played by Amy Smart).  Lance doesn’t quite have the grades, but he does have an opportunity to play college ball, and he’s dating a gorgeous cheerleader (Darcy Sears, played by Ali Larter).

Everything comes crashing down around the boys when Lance injures his knee during a game and Mox is thrown onto the field and thrust into the spotlight.  Mox wasn’t as prepared as he should have been, having not expected to play, but he manages his way through the final buzzer and later rushes to the hospital to be by his friend’s side.

Doctors determine that Lance can’t play, and his football days have quite possibly come to an end.  Mox can’t believe what he’s hearing and he grows even more devastated when he learns that the team’s legendary coach (Bud Kilmer played by Hollywood great, Jon Voight) has been covering up minor knee tweaks here and there by injecting Lance with cortisone shots for a while now.

Mox makes the best of the situation and takes charge of the team with Lance and his other friends by his side: Charlie Tweeder, played by Scott Caan; Billy Bob, played by Ron Lester; and Wendell Brown, played by Eliel Swinton.

Varsity Blues isn’t just about football, but more about teens finding their way in spite of what they have been conditioned to do.

Varsity Blues is about as realistic as it gets when talking about high school football in West Texas, without actually claiming to be inspired by actual events: the coach’s win-at-all-costs attitude; the quarterback’s celebrity (everyone remembers the whipped cream bikini, right?); the realization that great moments are often times the most painful; and that character is built by going against the norm.

The ending can make even the toughest man cry, and this movie will forever be one of the best Friday night flicks for fall.

Oh, and the soundtrack is fabOoolous… Collective Soul, Loudmouth, Green Day, Foo Fighters, Third Eye Blind, and Van Halen to just name a few of the artists.

Now, I’m ready for some football!

Have you seen Varsity Blues?  Did your high school take football as seriously as West Canaan?  What other movies remind you of your high school days?  I’d love to hear from you!

If you liked Varsity Blues, check out my YA Mystery novel, Football Sweetheart… now available on Kindle and Nook!

This entry was posted in Football Sweetheart, Movie Madness, Ooo Factor!, Young Adult and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Friday FabOoolousness – Fall, Football, and Varsity Blues

  1. amyshojai says:

    Haven’t seen this but sounds similar to Friday Night Lights so betcha it would appeal to the same audience. Texans and football go together like chips and salsa. *s*

  2. Emma says:

    I love “Run” by Collective Soul. Reminds me of the TV show Roswell more so than Varsity Blues.

    • I love “Run” as well, but it reminds me of Varsity Blues. 🙂

      How did I not watch Roswell? I’m adding this to my “series to catch up on” list. I know it’s been a LONG time since it was on television. Thanks, Emma!

  3. Catie Rhodes says:

    I have seen Varsity Blues and liked it even though I am not a sports fan. I was able to relate to the characters and what they were going through.

    If my school took football as seriously as West Canaan, I missed it. The only clear memories I have of school sports are a) getting banned from the pep rallies for life and b) thinking the school colors made the cheerleaders look like pumpkins.

    And what I’m about to say next will probably explain why: Dazed and Confused, Fast Times at RIdgemont High, and River’s Edge are all movies that take me back to my high school daze (er, I mean days).

    • Getting banned from pep rallies… that sounds like a story you need to share, Catie!! 🙂

      I am a big, BIG fan of Dazed and Confused and Fast Times. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve watched both, especially D&C. It was voted our senior class movie back in the day. I can quote so many lines… LOVE IT!

      I watched River’s Edge at your recommendation. I’ve only seen it the one time, but it was a good movie. You know me… I like that kind of stuff.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. Julie Glover says:

    I haven’t seen this one! In fact, for someone who went to a lot of high school football games (hey, I was in the band), I have seen very few high school football movies. I never even saw All the Right Moves with Tom Cruise in my heyday. Guess I should add it to my ever-growing list! Thanks, Tiffany.

    • Have you still not seen All the Right Moves, Julie? Julie….

      I think you should add Varsity Blues AND All the Right Moves to your list. I think your boys would like watching Varsity Blues with you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

