Tele-Tuesday: Just a Few More New Shows to Talk About This 2012 Fall Season

Just when someone might think there can’t possibly be even more new shows to talk about… there are!

After all, it is that time of year again.  The fall television schedule is here and the networks have a lineup of many new programs to accompany our returning favorites.  Of course, the networks have also spread out the debut of all of these new programs—some of which premiere this week and one that doesn’t air until November.

Some of the series have promise, while others may flop—but, regardless, we’ll tune in to check them out!  And pay special attention—one of these shows needs higher ratings than usual… keep reading to find out how.

Today, we’re focusing on television’s newest shows coming later this month and into November…

*****

What happens when our adult life is just as awkward as high school?  We’re about to find out…

Emily Owens (Mamie Gummer, daughter of Academy Award Winning Actress Meryl Streep) is excited to start her internship at Denver Memorial Hospital.  Her future looks bright when she learns one of her former crushes also works at the hospital… but then things get a bit awkward when she realizes her high school nemesis also works there.

Just like high school, Emily learns that the hospital’s staff has also formed cliques—the staff has its own version of jocks, mean girls, and rebels.  Will Emily survive high school again?  I mean, will she survive her medical internship?

The series also stars: Justin Hartley (from the CW’s Smallville) as Will Collins, another intern and Emily’s former crush; Michael Rady (from the CW’s Melrose Place reboot) as Micah Barnes, the manager in charge of the interns; Necar Zadegan (24) as Dr. Gina Bandari, the doctor who intimidates all; Aja Naomi King as Cassandra Kopelson, Emily’s high school nemesis; and Kelly McCreary as Tyra Dupre, the chief resident’s daughter and Emily’s new friend.

I have a feeling that for those who love Hart of Dixie, this show might be just right for your viewing pleasure.

Emily Owens, MD premieres tonight (October 16th) on the CW.

*****

What is Mockingbird Lane?  Does this ring any bells?

That’s right!  NBC has put together an all-star cast in a reboot of the 1960s classic The Munsters.  I’ve been waiting for this show since Jerry O’Connell first announced his new role as Herman Munster on Live with Kelly.  I’ve been waiting, and waiting, and finally saw the first trailer for the Halloween special this weekend.

Halloween special?  What happened to Mockingbird Lane being a new series?

Well, NBC has decided to air an episode on Friday, October 26th before the Halloween episode of Grimm.  Let me reiterate—NBC has decided to air one episode.  Depending on whether the special picks up high ratings will directly affect the network’s decision to give Mockingbird Lane a chance at a weekly series in 2013.

This news crushed me, but at least the reboot is getting a chance.  So, if you’d like to see Jerry O’Connell as Herman Munster, Portia Rossi DeGeneres as Lily, and Eddie Izzard as Grandpa, be sure and tune in!  Friday night is a death trap for television series, so Mockingbird Lane will need all the help it can get.  Here’s to hoping all of the Grimm-fanatics turn on their TV an hour early later this month…

Oh, and it’s a Bryan Fuller development… remember Pushing Daisies?

Mockingbird Lane airs its Halloween special Friday, October 26th on NBC.  Remember—depending on how many watch it, we may get to see a complete reboot of The Munster series next year.  So watch!

*****

She’s baaack….

Reba McEntire is back in the new ABC sitcom Malibu Country.

After Reba Gallagher (played by country music superstar Reba McEntire) discovers her husband’s infidelity and leaves him, she uproots her family from Nashville all the way to California.  With the move, she hopes to reboot her music career and give her family the fresh start she feels they deserve.  But will this Tennessee family fit in or will they want to make their way back home?   No one ever said life is an easy road… but life’s experiences sure make for some great country music, don’t they?

The comedy also stars: Lily Tomlin (yes, THE Lily Tomlin) as Lillie Mae, Reba’s mama; Sara Rue (Less Than Perfect) as Kim, Reba’s neighbor; and Jeffrey Nordling (Once and Again) as Bobby, Reba’s ex-husband.

Malibu Country premieres November 2nd on ABC.

*****

If I had to rank these in order of which one I’m most looking forward to, I’d put Mockingbird Lane at number one—even though it’s just a Halloween special, I’m hoping this Munsters reboot gets what it needs to come back next year!  And because I’m also a big CW fan, Emily Owens, MD probably comes in second with Malibu Country falling into last place. But, don’t worry, MC—someone always has to come in last, but that doesn’t mean we won’t give it a chance here on Tele-Tuesday.

What do you think?  Will you tune in to watch any of these new shows?  Which one most interests you?  I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in More Television, Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Tele-Tuesday: Just a Few More New Shows to Talk About This 2012 Fall Season

  1. Mockingbird Lane? Squeeeeee! I loved the Munsters as a kid! I’ve got to watch this.

  2. tomwisk says:

    I’ll watch Mockingbird Lane. One question, is Reba McEntire unable to answer to names other than her own?

    • LOL, Tom!! I’ve thought the same thing!! Who knows? Maybe it’s because she’s one of the rare few who are actually recognized by the one name. Saying “Reba” doesn’t necessarily require someone to say “McEntire” too. We all know who Reba is. Kinda like Cher. Maybe that’s what the TV shows are banking on.

  3. Bella says:

    Tiffany, I saw the pilot for Emily Owens, MD and I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. I have never really liked this actress, don’t ask me why, but I have to admit she pulled off the first episode. Reba is hysterical so I’m looking forward to seeing her show. I’m not a fan of the Munsters show but I may just tune in for old time’s sake! 🙂

  4. Malita says:

    Sadly NBC has had so many failures I think they have lost their nerve. I’ll watch it, I always liked the Munsters and that cast is fantastic!

  5. Jess Witkins says:

    What’d you think of Emily Owens? I only caught the end… Eh? I’ll give it another go so I can see it from the start. I love Hart of Dixie, it’s fluffy fun tv.

    Random question: What show was the biggest disappointment for you in the last year? I’m gonna go with Terra Nova. #headdesk

  6. Diana Beebe says:

    I love the men in Mockingbird Lane! I must watch that one. Thanks for the heads up! 🙂

  7. Jill Kemerer says:

    I probably won’t tune in to any of these shows, but I will be watching American Horror Story tonight. I hope it’s as good as it looks!

  8. Jeff says:

    I’ll definitely have to check out Mockingbird Lane. I had not heard about that! I grew up with The Munsters.

  9. Julie Glover says:

    I was reading about Mockingbird Lane and thinking “meh” until I read Pushing Daisies. I HATE the network for canceling that amazing show. I will have to tune in to see what this guy does with the Munsters.

    I am especially glad you mentioned Emily Owens, M.D. because I’m a big Hart of Dixie fan and I was wondering about that upcoming series. I’ll stay posted here to see what your review is when it airs.

  10. I loved Reba…will need to check out her show;O) Great post!

Leave a Reply

