Tele-Tuesday: Who’s Behind the Gossip?

This month marked the beginning of the end for one of the CW’s most popular series, Gossip Girl.  After six seasons of witnessing the lives of the very privileged Upper East Side teens (and a few Brooklyn-based teens) at Constance progress from high school to college and now to young professionals, loyal viewers sit on pins and needles to see who the mastermind is behind the “Gossip Girl” email and text blasts.

“XOXO, Gossip Girl.”

And, if the other fans of Gossip Girl are like me, these last few years have been a bit trying… watching every single character silently walk away from college and suddenly find themselves handed the golden spoon to a promising and successful career… waiting to see if any of the characters’ shenanigans would stop or if the same vicious cycle would repeat itself yet again… and needing to know who in the world has been torturing the characters from day one by revealing all of their dirty little secrets.

Who said what about whom?

Based on the young adult novels by Cecily von Ziegesar, Gossip Girl follows five young characters in New York City: Serena van der Woodsen (Blake Lively), also known as “S” and the “It Girl”; Blair Waldorf (Leighton Meester), also known as B or the “Queen B”; Chuck Bass (Ed Westwick), also known as the “Bad Boy” of the Upper East Side; Nate Archibald (Chace Crawford), also known as the “Golden Boy” of the Upper East Side; and Dan Humphrey (Penn Badgley), also known as “Lonely Boy” or the lone Brooklynite of the group.  They’re all friends, sort of, and they all have oodles of conflict surrounding them.  Trust me, it never stops.

Queen B’s fashion… remember the headbands?

The early years were great—the latter years not so much.   So why do I keep tuning in for more?  Maybe it’s because I’m a glutton for punishment; maybe it’s because I hate to quit anything, even television shows; or maybe it’s because I can’t give up without knowing certain outcomes after investing six television seasons of my life into the show…

  • Will Chuck and Blair end up together?  They need to.  They deserve each other…
  • Will Dan walk away from the nonsense he has put up with all of these years from Serena, Blair, and Chuck and start a new life?  Please, even if it takes Georgina (Michelle Trachtenberg) helping him come to his senses…
  • Will Nate ever walk away from all of the drama?  He is always the first to help a friend out of a jam, but his character seems so much more grounded than the rest of them.  He deserves more…
  • Will anyone slap Serena?  Anyone?  One time?  Multiple times?  Please?  She is so whiny and self-centered…

“Bad Boy” Chuck… he’s always been my favorite.

But, trust me; it hasn’t always been frustrating and it’s not all bad.  There are quite a few aspects of the show that I won’t complain about.  And, despite my annoyances, Gossip Girl reminds me of some of my favorite television programs of all time.

The fashion.  While so many outfits are a bit over-the-top and most of us could never afford to dress like these kids, the fashion keeps us all up-to-date on what’s hot and what’s not.  Gossip Girl reminds me of Sex and the City in this way.  Women may have loved Carrie’s and the other girls’ outfits, but deep down knew that we’d never own any of it ourselves.  Not at those prices anyway.

S & B – BFFs 4-Ever… just look at how cute these outfits are! Gotta love the hats…

The music.  Gossip Girl kind of reminds me of the “real” 90210 in a way when it comes to music.  Aaron Spelling’s popular teen drama always included the generation’s best music.  At the end of each episode, he would announce the name and artist of the featured songs.  GG does the same, and I’ve learned of numerous artists I may not have known otherwise if not for this (I don’t really listen to the radio anymore).

Poor “Lonely Boy” – he’s never been able to walk away from his love for Serena… not matter how she treats him.

But the real question is—will we learn who “Gossip Girl” really is?  We know Georgina filled in for the gossip columnist for a while, as did Serena and Nate.  But who is the REAL mastermind?  Will the show introduce a new character played by Kristen Bell?  After all, she’s the voice behind the mischief.  Or will it be someone we’ve known all along?  Jenny (Taylor Momsen)?  She’s been MIA for a few years now…  Vanessa (Jessica Szohr)?  Where did she disappear to?  Eric (Connor Paolo)?  He’s been mistreated so many times that we all know he’d have motive.  Or, let’s go out on a limb here… is it one of the adults?  Serena’s mom, Lily (Kelly Rutherford)?  Dan’s dad, Rufus (Matthew Settle)?  Blair’s housekeeper, Dorota (Zuzanna Szadkowski)?  Chuck’s uncle, Jack (Desmond Harrington)?  Wouldn’t that be a nice twist if GG was actually one of the elders?!

Nate… always there when his friends need him.

Bottom line, Gossip Girl, you’ve hooked me.  I must know the answers to my questions, and I will tune in to the final episodes and cross my fingers that we learn the true identity of the face behind the blasts come December when the series ends.  When it’s all said and done, I will wish all of the characters the best moving forward… except maybe Serena.  I don’t know why, but I just can’t bring myself to like the character.

Chuck and Blair… they belong together.

Here’s to hoping the ending doesn’t disappoint.

What do you think?  Are you a Gossip Girl fan?  Who do you think GG is?  Are there any television shows you’ve stuck with from beginning to end simply because you’d already invested so much time into them, but probably shouldn’t have?  I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in More Television, Television, TV Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Tele-Tuesday: Who’s Behind the Gossip?

  1. Emma says:

    I’ll happily slap Serena. I watched the first few seasons but am a bit lost now.

  2. Claudia Lefeve says:

    I finally watched all the episodes on Netflix and am caught up (watching yesterday’s episode right now)! I agree, the first couple of season’s rocked, but I’m hanging on to find out what happens to Chuck and Blair.

  3. Jess Witkins says:

    I haven’t watched Gossip Girl but my sister is hooked. Mostly for the costumes like you said. LOL. I just learned not long ago that Gossip Girl was based on a book and it’s in the Top 10 list of Banned Books from 2011 (I think that’s the right year, it was on a couple). I had no idea! Is it really that racy? I kind of think people who ban books need to get a grip!

    • I am so tired of hearing about banned books. Seriously. There is no reason to ban books, yet alone Gossip Girl. Maybe parents should just censor what their kids read instead of trying to take it off the shelves completely! Sorry, you got me with that comment, Jess…

Leave a Reply

