Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Viewers’ Voice: Which TV Shows Should We Review?

Now that Thanksgiving is behind us, it is officially the holiday season.  Before we know it, 2013 will be here and we’ll all be left wondering where December went.  With all of the madness expected to surround us these next few weeks, Amber West and I have decided to switch things up again with today’s Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday reviews.

Instead of reviewing the remaining 2012 fall television programs we’ve yet to cover, we’ve decided to ask our readers to participate in our Viewers’ Voice Special this week.

Playing is simple.  Answer the below question and tell us why in the comments.

 “I am really interested in _________________ and would love to see it reviewed as a part of the Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday series in the future.” 

*****

To show everyone how it works, Amber and I are each going to answer this week’s question with shows we’ve yet to review.  So, here goes….

“I am really interested in FX’s Sons of Anarchy and would love to see it reviewed as a part of the Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday series in the future.”

There’s really not a lot on television today that I don’t watch religiously or have at least caught an episode a time or two, but FX’s Sons of Anarchy is one that managed to slip by.  Now, the show is in its fifth season and every time I see a commercial I wonder why I haven’t watched this program.

Not only that, but FX is a network that I love!  They push the boundaries and have had some of the best writing on TV over the past decade with shows like Nip/Tuck, Damages, Justified, and American Horror Story.

So, how did I let this one slip by?

*****

Okay; that was so short and sweet that I’ve decided to play again…

“I am really interested in Cinemax’s Original Series Hunted and would love to see it reviewed as a part of the Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday series in the future.”

Over the years, HBO and Showtime have produced GREAT original programming… even dating back to when I was a child with HBO’s Fraggle Rock.  Yeah, that’s right—Fraggle Rock.  Since then, I’ve enjoyed a few other HBO series such as Sex and the City, The Sopranos, Band of Brothers, and True Blood.

Showtime’s no slouch either.  Mostly, I’ve enjoyed the comedies like Weeds, Californication, and the most recent hit, House of Lies.  However, Showtime has also hit it big with a few of its recent original dramas (Dexter, Shameless, and Homeland).

So, Cinemax is finally joining this party…Most people associate Cinemax as “Skin-a-Max” for its late night adult television programming, but now I believe the network is trying to at least compete with HBO and Showtime during the primetime hours.  Not only have they recently aired Hunted, an original action/drama starring Melissa George as Sam Hunter, an undercover operative seeking revenge against those who tried to kill her, but they also plan to release another series in January 2013 that has piqued my interest—Banshee.

Good for Cinemax… now I just need to watch their new shows.

*****

So, there it is—two shows I’d like to see Amber and I review in the future with a brief explanation as to why…

Now, it’s your turn: “I am really interested in _________________ and would love to see it reviewed as a part of the Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday series in the future.”  Be sure to include why you feel we should review your show recommendation!  We’d love to hear from you! 

Remember to click over to Amber’s new & improved blog and see how she filled in the blanks…

Come back next week when Amber and I continue our Viewers’ Voice WatchWed series….  Stay tuned!

Remember to stop by the #watchwed hashtag in Twitter to discuss any of today’s reviews, or to mention any television programs that you’d like to see on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday in the future.

A Recap of The WatchWed Review System:

GTV (Gourmet TV): Everything we want and more
MacTV (MacNCheese TV): Guilty pleasure. Not perfect, but is satisfies
GMacTV (Gourmet MacNCheese TV): A combination of fine wine and comfort food
JFTV (Junk food TV):It’s not great for us, but we’ll go back for seconds
TBPTV (Twice Baked Potato TV): Part gourmet and delicious, while absolutely horrible for our cholesterol
SSTV (Still Simmering TV): It has potential, but the jury is still out
NIV (NyQuil Induced Viewing): Perfect for that late night television sleep timer
LOTV (Liver&Onions TV): Do we really have to explain? Blech

This entry was posted in Television, TV Reviews, Watch it? and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Viewers’ Voice: Which TV Shows Should We Review?

  1. Catie Rhodes says:

    Would love to see you review Sons. We are avid watchers. It’s an interesting study on the unlikable hero.

    Another suggestion: Breaking Bad. The final half of season 5 is coming up in Summer 2013. Right now, seasons 1-4 are available on Netflix streaming. I have found the transformation of the main characters Walter White — who goes from mild mannered geek to ruthless drug lord — to be fascinating.

    • Breaking Bad… that’s a good one, Catie!! I’ve heard GREAT thing about it for a long time. Maybe since Breaking Bad and Sons of Anarchy are both so far along in the series, Amber and I could do a Netflix Queue It Up Edition sometime in 2013?

  2. andrewmocete says:

    “I am really interested in __Firefly__ and would love to see it reviewed as a part of the Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday series in the future.” That way you’ll finally have to watch this show and won’t put it off anymore. It’s for your own good.

    • Has Miss Amber not reviewed Firefly? If she hasn’t, that shocks me. Maybe we have just talked about it so much that I thought we already had reviewed it… But you are right, Andrew… I need to watch it!

      • andrewmocete says:

        I think she did, but I thought this was about what we think YOU should review. And there really isn’t such a thing as “too much” when it comes to talking Firefly.

  3. Julie Glover says:

    I really want to know more about SyFy series, but I don’t even know what’s over there! I started watching Alphas after Amber’s review, and it’s pretty good. I also have friends who swear by Eureka. But that’s it. That’s all I know about.

Leave a Reply

