Tele-Tuesday: Holiday Television Specials

The holiday season means something different to every person who observes it.  For some, the most important aspect of this time of year is the precious time spent with friends and family.  Others enjoy giving…  by dedicating their time to special organizations, by baking sweet treats for those nearest and dearest to them, and by wrapping purchased gifts with red and green papers and ribbons.

For me, it’s all about tradition—baking my mom’s special recipe walnut muffins, enjoying a glass (or two or three) of “adult” eggnog while wrapping presents, listening to Harry Connick, Jr. and Andrea Bocelli belt out traditional holiday music as I drive around town looking for last-minute gifts, and carefully placing the Baby Jesus in the manger of our nativity set at midnight on Christmas Eve.

My list wouldn’t be complete without adding another of my holiday traditions… finding a few of my childhood favorites on television to enjoy one more time.  I’ve watched these programs for as long as I can remember.  I may not catch the airing every single year, but that doesn’t mean I don’t try.

So, what do I look for on the TV guide every December?

A Charlie Brown Christmas

A Chipmunk Christmas

Frosty’s Winter Wonderland

Rudolph, the Red-Nosed Reindeer

It doesn’t matter how old I am, or how old these programs are, they will always be considered classics and must-sees in my house!

Do you have any special holiday television programs that you watch every year?  If you had to choose just one, which is your favorite and why?  I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in More Television, Television, TV Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Tele-Tuesday: Holiday Television Specials

  1. amyshojai says:

    Hubby has been watching the Hallmark movie specials. Sugary-sweet, some almost too much so, but a nice break from the shoot-em-up thriller stuff I usually watch. Charlie Brown Christmas is my all time fav!

    • My mom has been telling me about the Hallmark movies… I love the Hallmark channel, but I just learned this weekend that U-Verse doesn’t carry Hallmark. BOO!!! So, I keep checking out Lifetime and ABC Family for my holiday fix.

      Happy Holidays, Amy!!

  2. I like Charlie Brown a lot. But I think my very favorite is Rudolph. I LOVE Rudolph.

  3. Pooh says:

    I love the Christmas shows!!!! All of them. Your uncle maybe not so much.

  4. tomwisk says:

    I avoid Christmas specials. They all seem to have really sugary themes. One more story abput finding love with help from Santa will drive me bonkers. The toons are okay.

  5. rebel girl says:

    All of these shows should bring back memories of your childhood. I love them. Rudolph is my favorite. Perhaps it has something to do with that being the first Christmas song you learned and sang and sang and sang…. you get the point.

  6. I love Rudolph. If I could only pick one, that would probably be it. A close runner-up though would be a Muppet Christmas Carol. I can’t help it. I still love the Muppets 🙂

  7. Oohhh…I love all of those! 🙂

  8. Tami Clayton says:

    My favorite is a tie between It’s a Wonderful Life and Elf. I watch them every year. 🙂

  9. Julie Glover says:

    Hands down, my fave is A Charlie Brown Christmas. But as far as animation goes, I’m also a complete sucker for How the Grinch Stole Christmas and The Year Without Santa Claus (with the heat and freeze miser brothers).

Leave a Reply

