Pinteresting – Recipes

Over the past few months, I have fallen into the Pinterest craze along with millions of other people.  At first, I didn’t know exactly what to do… but once I got the hang of it, I found myself spending hours on the weekends checking out neat Do-It-Yourself tricks for around the house, finding cute clothes that I needed to add to my wish list, learning interesting beauty and hair techniques, and probably my biggest downfall, discovering recipes that I absolutely must try.

So, I’ve decided to start a new Friday FabOoolousness blog series.  At least once a month, I will share a few Pinterest ideas I have grabbed from other users and share whether or not they work.

Today, we’re taking on a few of the recipes…

*****

Oven Baked Hard Boiled Eggs

Oven-Baked Hard-Boiled Eggs

Hard-Boiled Eggs in the oven?  What?  You’re kidding me, right?

Nope!

I love hard-boiled eggs, but I hate peeling them.  After baking in a muffin pan for thirty minutes at 325 degrees and chilling in cold water, these eggs peeled easier than any hard-boiled egg I have ever made.  I usually pass the peeling task off to my guy because he has more patience than I do (I want to throw the eggs across the room when I try to carefully pry the silly shells off the darn things), but not this time!  I was super impressed!

When I removed the eggs from the oven, there were a few small brown dots on them… but these spots washed right off when I soaked the eggs in water.

*****

Baked Chicken Fajitas

Baked Chicken Fajitas

We try to eat healthy as often as we can, especially chicken dishes—baked chicken, grilled chicken, rotisserie chicken, boiled chicken, etc…  But we have a rule in our house: I handle the inside and my guy takes on the outdoor tasks, including grilling.  To be honest, and I must admit I am somewhat embarrassed by this, I have never once operated the big stainless steel grill I bought for my guy a few years ago.  Not once.  That said, I don’t get to enjoy many grilled meats and veggies very often because it’s hot in Texas and I don’t want to ask him to go stand over a fire when it’s already scorching outside.

So, when I discovered this Baked Chicken Fajita recipe on Pinterest, I knew we had to try it!

It smelled oh so good as it was baking, but it wasn’t nearly as pretty as the picture I had seen on Pinterest when I pulled it out of the oven.  But it doesn’t matter—it tastes GREAT!

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into strips
Diced tomatoes (or 1 – fifteen ounce can)
Diced Green Chilis (or 1 – four ounce can)
1 onion, sliced
1 bell pepper, seeded and sliced (or more if you like them as much as we do)
2 tablespoon oil (we use grape seed oil for pretty much everything, but any baking oil—vegetable, olive—should work)
2  teaspoons chili powder
2 teaspoons cumin
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees
Grease a 13×9 baking dish
Mix together chicken, tomatoes, chilies, peppers, and onions in the baking dish
In a small bowl combine the oil and spices
Drizzle the spice mixture over the chicken and veggies and toss to coat
Bake uncovered for 20-25 minutes or until chicken is cooked through and the vegetables are tender

Serve with warmed tortillas and all the fixin’s (rice, pinto beans, guacamole, etc)…  and enjoy!

*****

Dreamsicle Salad

Dreamsicle Salad

And no meal is complete in our house without something sweet.  Now, it doesn’t always have to be something elaborate like a cake or pie; however, we do like our desserts.

So, since summer is technically already here in Texas (we’ve hit 90 a few times already), I thought something cool and light sounded good.  Enter this *Sugar-Free* Dreamsicle Salad from Pinterest.  I used asterisks around “sugar-free” because I didn’t technically stick to the recipe where it called for the healthier mixes…  Sorry; we’re not really big on the SF stuff in our house.

It might look like a mess once the finished product is chilled, but this sweet treat definitely hits the spot when it’s hot outside.

1 package orange jello mix
1 package instant vanilla pudding
1 tub frozen whipped topping, thawed
1 ten ounce can of mandarin oranges, drained
1/4 cup of chopped pecans or walnuts

Dissolve jello in one cup of boiling water. Add 1/2 cup of cold water to mixture and let set in fridge for 20 minutes
Once chilled, add dry vanilla pudding mix and beat until smooth with a mixer (or a whisk)
Fold in mandarin oranges, whipped topping, and pecans/walnuts (since we don’t have any nut allergies in our house) by hand
Refrigerate

*****

Your turn—have you tried any Pinterest recipes that you would like to share?  Did it taste as good as its picture?  I’d love to hear from you!

The original Pinterest recipes were found on these sites:

http://dancingoffthepounds.tumblr.com/post/24248559882
http://www.sixsistersstuff.com/2012/01/baked-chicken-fajitas-recipe.html
http://thebetterbaker.blogspot.com/2011/09/sugar-free-dreamsicle-salad.html

And, feel free to follow me on Pinterest.

This entry was posted in Food & Restaurants, Ooo Factor! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Pinteresting – Recipes

  1. Oh man! It’s only 8:30am here and now I’m sooooo hungry. I absolutely adore Pinterest, but I’ve been steering clear of the recipes. You’ve made me a convert. These are so simple and yummy looking. I have to try the all. Especially the hard boiled eggs. If I get get them to peel that easy, I’m in!

    I think fajitas will be on the menu tonight. Or maybe for lunch. 🙂

  2. Great idea! I’m definitely trying the baked chicken fajitas! Thanks 🙂

  3. What a great idea for the eggs! Ours are always impossible to peel as well, so I’m definitely trying this next time. (I used to hate eggs, and the first time I ever had a hard boiled egg was at my grandparents house. I didn’t know they’d be hard inside, so when my grandpa cracked the egg on his forehead I thought he was going to have egg all over his face! Boy was I surprised.)

    I never used Pinterest for recipes, but I might have to now. Hubs is the cook in our house, but he travels a lot for work.

  4. Amber West says:

    I love how things seldom look as pretty as they do on Pinterest – but as long as they taste good, that’s the important part, right?

    • I’m sure you could make the dishes look so much better with your photography skills… mine, not so much. But you are right–at least they taste good! That’s the important thing. 🙂

  5. angelaackerman says:

    I have pinned a ton of recipes but haven’t had time to try them yet. I will have to change that! And the hard boiled eggs–so smart, so simple! Thanks for sharing these!

  6. I’ve looked around on Pinterest, but I’ve never actually joined. I never have taken the time to figure out the pinning thing.

    I saw a similar recipe for oven baked eggs on flylady.net. The only difference is that they did them right on the oven rack instead of in a pan. I’m a little more comfortable with your version. They did mention they are easier to peel.

    Oh, I need to go home and make that Dreamsicle salad. As a diabetic, it’s hard to find good desserts. But the ingredients in this one can be substituted with sugar free versions. So the only thing that would have any sugar would be the oranges. WIN!

    Btw, which size whipped topping should we use? Oh, and the pudding and Jello, too. I think there are a couple of sizes of those.

  7. Bella says:

    Tiffany, I am loving this new feature! I too have tried the eggs in the oven and was quite surprised when I discovered it worked. No more egg peeling for me! (Not that I ever did it! ha!) 🙂

  8. tomwisk says:

    The chicken fajita recipe looks great. I had a kernel of an idea of what to do with chicken I’d bought. I’ve found it. Will look into Pintrest.

  9. Pooh says:

    Tiffany, this is awesome. I love it!!! Love you, Pooh

  10. Emma says:

    All looks so good.

  11. chefyego says:

    Chuckle as a night chef im going to ty your recipes on my night collegues. Will let you know how they pan out 🙂

  12. chefyego says:

    Also on pintrest. Still trying to get a hang of it. Slow but sure

  13. Pingback: Football Foods! | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

Leave a Reply

