TNT –Terrific (Summer) Nighttime Television Continues…

I can remember back when the summer months meant we couldn’t find anything new to watch on television… maybe a reality program here, or a two-hour made-for-TV-special there, but no new series.

But not anymore.

TNT has some of the best summer programming of any network today.  This year, I count six series (five returning favorites and one new) that my household will watch, keeping our TV schedules full of terrific (summer) nighttime television.

Last week, we shared three of the network’s veteran programs premiering in their third and fourth seasons later this June.  And today, we’re talking about two more of TNT’s returning hits PLUS a new freshman series starring one of my faves…

*****

King & Maxwell

Based on the novel series of the same name by David Balducci, King & Maxwell stars Jon Tenney (Sean King) and Rebecca Romijn (Michelle Maxwell) as two former Secret Service agents now working together as private investigators to solve crime—by whatever means necessary.

Together they have an abundance of previous life experiences under their belt, making them two of the best at what they do—despite losing his job in the Secret Service (the president he was assigned to protect was assassinated), King attended law school and knows the legal system.. while Maxwell, a former Olympic athlete, uses her attributes and her connections to aid in the investigations.  And as with any good television partnership, opposites attract.

The new series also stars Michael O’Keefe (Caddyshack) as Frank Rigby and Chris Butler (The Good Wife) as Darius Carter, two FBI agents who clash a bit with King and Maxwell’s methods.

King & Maxwell premieres June 10th.

*****

Major Crimes

Over the last few seasons of The Closer, we tolerated Captain Raydor (Mary McDonnell) as she terrorized Brenda Leigh, leading all of the officer-involved investigations (kind of like Internal Affairs).  But we also witnessed a softer Captain Raydor who stood by Brenda Leigh and did everything in her power to protect our favorite Deputy Chief.

And last summer, we watched Captain Raydor take over Brenda Leigh’s team.  That’s right—Raydor stepped in following Brenda Leigh’s departure and took over the Major Crimes Division, including almost the entire cast of The Closer (Provenza, Flynn, Tao, Sanchez, Buzz, Taylor, and even Fritzy on occasion.)

While it wasn’t quite the same without our favorite Southern belle, the series kept this Closer fan watching.  I expect some changes in season two, like the addition of new characters (Nadine Velazquez from My Name is Earl) and perhaps seeing less of a few of the cast members we love (King & Maxwell’s Tenney), but I am still looking forward to the return of Major Crimes.

Season two of Major Crimes premieres June 10th.

*****

Perception

I don’t know much about Perception, other than it stars Eric McCormack as Dr. Daniel Pierce, a neuroscience professor who suffers from schizophrenia.  Despite his internalized demons and hallucinations, he is a brilliant man who assists the FBI with complex cases.

The series also stars: Rachael Leigh Cook as Special Agent Kate Moretti, a former student of Dr. Pierce, and the FBI agent responsible for adding him to the team of investigators; Kelly Rowan as Natalie Vincent, Dr. Pierce’s imaginary best friend… who it turns out is based on a woman (Caroline Newsome) that Dr. Pierce saw once at a party and became infatuated with; and Arjay Smith as Max Lewicki, Dr. Pierce’s live-in teaching assistant who helps keep the good doctor’s real-life and hallucinations straight.

As I mentioned earlier, I don’t know much about Perception.  I watched a few episodes but the series didn’t grab me in a way that makes me want to watch every single episode immediately.  And when my DVR crashed, I lost the rest of the first season… thus, I haven’t seen every episode.  However, the fact that TNT is bringing it back gives me hope.  Maybe the network will offer the first season online or via OnDemand and I can catch up before the premiere of the new season?

Season two of Perception premieres June 25th.

*****

Did you enjoy Major Crimes or Perception last summer?  Will you check out King & Maxwell?  I’d love to hear from you! 

This entry was posted in More Television, Summer Fun, Television, TV Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to TNT –Terrific (Summer) Nighttime Television Continues…

  1. Amber West says:

    Perception made it? Hm. Maybe I’ll give it another try. I felt the same as you – it didn’t really grab me.

    No word on whether Southland is going to continue?

    • I want to say Southland just finished airing new episodes, maybe this month? Yeah, I’m pretty sure… Dallas and Southland were two shows airing this winter/spring. Maybe you can find the season online?

  2. jessicarpatch says:

    I love Tenney so I’m excited about the new show and I liked Major Crimes, though I do miss Brenda. 🙂 Bring on summer!

    • Hey, Jessica! I’ve had a crush on Tenney since college… my best friend and I would make dinner and watch “Get Real” every week. It was only on for one year, but it introduced me to not only JT, but also Anne Hathaway, Eric Christian Olsen, and Jesse Eisenberg. My friend and I realized while watching this that we were finally aging… because instead of crushing on the teenage son (Olsen), we crushed on the dad (Tenney)! However, now I crush on both… I watch NCIS:LA just for Deeks!!

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I haven’t seen either of these shows, although Perception looks like it might be good. If King and Maxwell is true to the books, it will probably be good. I like Baldacci.

  4. Thanks for telling us about King & Maxwell. I always liked Fritz Howard, so I look forward to Tenney’s new role. I put in my reminders to search the DVR for it the week of June 10th. And I already have the DVR set to pick up all Major Crimes episodes.

  5. tomwisk says:

    King and Maxwell maybe, Major Crimes definitely, Perception definitely.

  6. Pooh says:

    Summer is sounding pretty good with the first two for sure!!!!

  7. Jeff says:

    I didn’t think Perception would be back. I don’t know if that one will make our watch list this summer or not, but Major Crimes certainly will. I don’t know about King and Maxwell. We may check it out.

  8. OOOh I’m going to check out King and Maxwell, sounds like great book research to me:) Thanks!

  9. Pingback: New to TV this Summer (2013) – Part 1 | Tiffany A White's Ooo Factor

Leave a Reply

