Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Defending Defiance

This week on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday, I’m taking a look at the new SyFy series, Defiance

Earth as we now know it is gone.

After an alien invasion in 2013, the humans and the aliens fought for years (“The Pale Wars”), destroying much of the planet.  But now, thirty-three years later, and following the destruction of the aliens’ solar system (Votanis), the humans and the seven different species of Votans are trying to co-exist.

The story follows Joshua Nolan (Grand Bowler, Ugly Betty) and his adopted alien daughter, Irisa (Stephanie Leonidas)—a member of the Irathient species—as they search for a better place to live.  While searching for alien spacecraft items they can sell for money, the father/daughter duo runs into trouble and finds assistance from a group of strangers.  These strangers lead Nolan and Irisa to a familiar city, only recognizable by the remnants of its once beautiful city landmark…  St. Louis is no more—now they call it Defiance.

Nolan and his alien daughter, Irisa

Defiance also stars: Julie Benz (Dexter) as Amanda Rosewater, Mayor of Defiance; Tony Curran (Being Human) as Datak Tarr, a member of the Castithan species; Jaime Murray (Warehouse 13) as Stahma Tarr, Datak’s Castithan wife; Mia Kirshner (24) as Kenya Rosewater, Amanda’s sister and owner of the local bar; Graham Green (Dances with Wolves) as Rafe McCawley, a mine owner; and Fionnula Flanagan (Lost) as Nicky Riordon, the former Defiance mayor and Amanda’s mentor.

Since Defiance is a TV show about aliens, let’s get to know the seven species of Votans: the Irathient – a near human, nature-loving, and deeply spiritual and peaceful species, with a skin color of almost bronze;  the Castithan – very similar to humans, with yellow eyes and a skin tone near albinism, who hail from an alien caste society—high and low, with most of the lower caste destroyed along with the Votanis solar system; the Indogene – a technically advanced species with white skin and no hair follicles; the Sensoth – aliens who are covered in fur and are taller than humans, similar to the orangutan; the Gulanee – a mysterious species, even to the other Votan; the Volge – the villain species; and the Mutants, which is pretty self-explanatory.

Datak and Stahma Tarr, Castithans

Will Nolan and the other citizens of Defiance (aliens included) protect their city?  Or will the world’s evil destroy what’s left?

I’ve watched three hours of Defiance (the two-hour premiere and the second week’s episode).  To be honest, the series does not hold my attention.  My guy on the other hand likes it and he wants me to remember that fantasy series like this need to spend some time worldbuilding.  I know this, but then I think about TNT’s Falling Skies, I remember it didn’t bore me immediately off the bat; Falling Skies didn’t spend the first three hours or so worldbuilding… it jumped right into the action.  Yes; there has already been at least one great Volge (the “bad” aliens) versus Defiance (humans and “good” aliens) battle, but for me to watch science fiction TV, I need a bit more up front to hook me.

For that, I’m awarding SyFy’s Defiance with the NIV rating.  I’ll watch at it if my guy has it on the living room TV and there’s no escaping it, but I’d prefer he watch it while I’m falling asleep in bed and not paying much attention anyway.  Maybe I’ll change my mind later… because I know I will get stuck watching more episodes because my guy really does like it, but for now I’m sticking with the NIV.

What do you think?  Have you watched Defiance?  I’d love to hear from you! 

Come back next week when I take on another new show… Starz’s Da Vinci’s Demons.

Remember to stop by the #watchwed hashtag in Twitter to discuss today’s review, or to mention any television programs that you’d like to see on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday in the future.

A Recap of The WatchWed Review System:

GTV (Gourmet TV): Everything we want and more
MacTV (MacNCheese TV): Guilty pleasure. Not perfect, but is satisfies
GMacTV (Gourmet MacNCheese TV): A combination of fine wine and comfort food
JFTV (Junk food TV):It’s not great for us, but we’ll go back for seconds
TBPTV (Twice Baked Potato TV): Part gourmet and delicious, while absolutely horrible for our cholesterol
SSTV (Still Simmering TV): It has potential, but the jury is still out
NIV (NyQuil Induced Viewing): Perfect for that late night television sleep timer
LOTV (Liver&Onions TV): Do we really have to explain? Blech
Inedible TV: Exactly how it sounds…

This entry was posted in Television, TV Reviews, Watch it? and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Defending Defiance

  1. I actually like this show. I find all the different species interesting, although I can’t figure out which ones are the Gulanee that you mentioned. I’m like you, I’ve only seen two episodes, and one is on the DVR. This show isn’t an “eyes glued to the screen” show, at least not yet, but I’m giving it a chance. I haven’t gotten bored with it like you have. Hubby likes it, too. You and I will both have to see if our opinions change farther down the road.

  2. Because of how insane the last few weeks have been for me, I missed the premier. I was so disappointed, but now maybe it was for the best? I’ll probably still try to catch it just to see what I think because I do love scifi everything.

  3. I am so with you on this one! I usually watch the show snuggled up with my husband while surfing the net, pinning to Pinterest, or checking email. I’m not totally engaged and I’m not fully committed to the characters at this point. A few of the plot elements I called early on, which frustrated both of us (I won’t name them in case people haven’t seen the show yet), so I feel it’s a bit pedestrian in the storytelling. If they ramp up the action and get more twisty with the action, then I might put down the iPad for an episode and give it my full attention.

Leave a Reply

