Pinteresting – June’s Recipes

Over the past few months, I have fallen into the Pinterest craze along with millions of other people.  At first, I didn’t know exactly what to do… but once I got the hang of it, I found myself spending hours on the weekends checking out neat Do-It-Yourself tricks for around the house, finding cute clothes that I needed to add to my wish list, learning interesting beauty and hair techniques, and probably my biggest downfall, discovering recipes that I absolutely must try.

Now it’s time for this month’s Pintersting post where I share a few Pinterest ideas I have grabbed from other users and share whether or not they work.

Today, we’re taking on a few of the recipes…

*****

“Baked” Poached Eggs

“Baked” Poached Eggs – Before…

Poached eggs in the oven?  What?  You are kidding me, right?

Nope!

I love eggs… and for the most part, they’re not that bad for me either.  But one thing I can’t stand is hovering over the pan and/or pot at watching them cook, stirring when necessary.  Which is why when I saw this recipe on Pinterest, I simply had to try it!

Just like our “baked” hard-boiled egg recipe last month, get out that trusty-worthy muffin pan.  Spray with cooking spray (I use olive oil spray) and crack an egg open in each one—you do not have to break the yolk, not matter how “runny” you like the eggs.  Season as preferred and bake at 350 degrees (ten minutes for a runnier yolk and fifteen minutes for a hard yolk).

We’ve even played around with making mini-omlettes this way.  While, I don’t have any pictures, it’s just as easy… only this time, break the yolk and stir in whatever ingredients you wish to use (chopped onion, olives, ham, tomatoes, pesto, etc.)  and bake at 350 degrees for fifteen minutes.

Baked Eggs with Toast

After – on toast with a little Chipotle Cholula

It’s that easy.  And trust me—YUM!

*****

Drunken Italian Sausage Pasta

Drunken Italian Sausage Pasta

My godmother’s husband hails from Italy; therefore, I’ve grown up absolutely loving a good, homemade pasta dish.  And while I don’t make the actual pasta from scratch like he does, there’s nothing wrong with braving the heat and making a tasty homemade sauce.

Or so I thought… this dish had great flavor, but it definitely took a lot of work.  Maybe it’s because I’ve never made it before, but let’s just say I was a bit moody and on my very last nerve while prepping this dish.

But like I said, the dish was very tasty.  We had family in town the night I chose to make this, and luckily they pitched in where they could to help me keep my sanity… but bottom line—everybody loved it!

Olive Oil
4 or more spicy Italian sausage links (casings removed)
**had I paid attention to this part, “casings removed,” my life would have been much simpler that night…
1 onion, thinly sliced
3 or more bell peppers, any color, thinly sliced
4 garlic cloves, pressed through a garlic press
**Thank you, Pampered Chef for my fabOoolous garlic press.  I love it!
½ cup white wine
1 can (28 ounce) diced tomatoes (with juice)
2 tablespoons freshly chopped parsley
¼ cup fresh basil leaves
8 ounces of pasta (recipe called for Pappardelle noodles, but I used rigatoni because I love it!)
Salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning to taste

Heat two tablespoons of olive oil in large pan (or braising pot)
Crumble the spicy Italian sausage into the pan, keeping it fairly chunky, and brown it like you do hamburger meat
Remove the browned sausage from the pot with a slotted spoon and place in a small bowl for later
Add sliced onion into the pan, allowing it to caramelize or become golden (approximately 5 minutes)
Add salt, pepper, and Italian seasoning
Stir
Add bell pepper, sautéing with the onion for about two minutes
Add garlic, allowing to cook just long enough until aromatic
Add wine, reducing for a few moments (until completely reduced—this took longer than I expected…)
Add tomatoes
Add sausage back into pan, folding into the mixture
Simmer for 3-4 minutes
Drizzle in a couple of tablespoons of olive oil to create a silky, rich flavor
Add parsley and basil
Stir and keep warm while cooking pasta

Prepare pasta according to the instructions on the package

Serve, top with Parmesan cheese if so desired.

*****

Two Ingredient Lemon Bars - Before...

Two Ingredient Lemon Bars – Before…

Oh, yeah!  Only two ingredients.  No joke.

I found this recipe floating around Facebook before Easter.  Considering I love lemon flavored desserts, I knew I had to try this:

1 box Angel Food cake mix
2 cans lemon pie filling (I used Lucky Leaf for a total of 44 ounces)

Mix dry cake mix and cans of pie filling together in a large bowl by hand
Pour into greased 9X13 pan
Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes or until tip starts to brown
**I would bake a bit longer than 25 minutes, my bars were more like a runny lemon-mud pie… but still tasty.

After...

After… with a little powdered sugar

Besides the fact I could have cooked mine for longer and will next time, I did have an even bigger issue when making this—I could never find the lemon pie filling anywhere in the DFW area.  Seriously.  I tried multiple Wal-Marts, Krogers, Tom Thumbs, and even Whole Foods.  Nothing.

So finally, my parents brought me two cans from Midland’s Albertsons.  Who would have thought Midland, Texas would have had something DFW did not?

After much anticipation, I wasn’t very impressed but I will try again.

*****

Your turn—have you tried any Pinterest recipes that you would like to share?  Did it taste as good as its picture looked?  I’d love to hear from you!

Original Pinterest recipes found on these sites:

http://www.amyskitchencreations.blogspot.com/2012/05/eggs-for-breakfast-sandwiches.html
http://thecozyapron.com/a-cozy-pasta-italian-drunken-noodles-and-shaking-things-up-a-bit/

And, feel free to follow me on Pinterest.

This entry was posted in Food & Restaurants, Ooo Factor! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pinteresting – June’s Recipes

  1. I’ve played around with Pinterest, looking at things, but I’ve never created an account. I keep saying I will, but….

    You gave me an idea. I have a Pampered Chef brownie pan, which is a lot like a muffin pan only shaped differently (rectangles). I could make baked omelets in that! 🙂

  2. tomwisk says:

    I’m heading into VB6 diet and seminar about cutting carbs (I’m diabetic) and you post a pasta recipe that has got me drooling. I’ve always liked simple meals. The poached eggs might work their way into a weekend breakfast or eggs Florentine. The lemon bars are a no go. I’ve no will power. a hint check your supermarket for garlic in a tube. It’s like tomato paste in a tube. A little squirt and there’s no waste.

  3. Never tried pinterest…too afraid to add to my already addictive social media lifestyle, but I’m digging your recipe shares. 🙂

  4. Oh man. It’s 9:15 in the morning and all I can think about are those lemon bars! And that pasta! I might have to make that pasta dish tonight (I totally giggled about the casings, been there, done that. Twice.). Since I have to go to the market for the pasta ingredients, I might as well get the lemon bar stuff, too. 🙂

    I’m going to make the eggs right now. It’s still technically breakfast time.

  5. Jess Witkins says:

    I was hungry before your post, now I’m starving! I will so be trying those eggs as that looks easy and fast! But the lemon bars!!! I’m drooling.

  6. Diana Beebe says:

    I have to try those eggs! I’ve “boiled” eggs a few times in the oven. The last batch was not perfect–lots of cracked shells and one broken egg. *shrug*

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

