A Kid’s View

I think on average, kids don’t watch a lot of TV.  And that’s not necessarily a bad thing.  They’re in school most of the day; then they have homework (usually ample amounts of homework); then with what time is left, they eat dinner, shower, and before we know it, it’s time to go to bed—again.  The cycle is a tad evil.

Summer isn’t a whole lot different.  And again, that’s not necessarily a bad thing.  For the most part, kids spend the entire day at home… but do we really want them parked in front of the TV for countless hours?  No!  We want them outside, being creative, playing, and having fun.

We just spent a week with my nephews before they started school.  Like with what I’m considering to be average kids, my nephews do not spend a lot of time in front of the television.  Not even during the summer.  When they’re not golfing, swimming, or playing the occasional video game, they are eating and sleeping.  In the seven days that they were here, we barely watched TV.  I fell an entire week behind on all of my summer shows… tragedy, right?  LOL.

One day while we were swimming, I decided to ask them what their favorite show was, from what small amounts of TV they actually watch.  And I have to say, I was surprised by their answers.  At least two of them.

Nephew #1 (and this in no way indicates he is my favorite nephew, just that he is “test subject number one.” I don’t play favorites…):

Eleven Years of Age
Recently Started the 6th Grade
Loves to play Xbox, golf, and to know how things work.

His favorite show:

Mythbusters

I loved this answer from Nephew #1.  And I can totally see Mythbusters holding his attention for hours on end.  From a very early age, he could take a toy car apart, listen to his older brother scream that he broke his car, and put it back exactly how it was without breaking a sweat.

Nephew #2:

Eleven Years of Age (yes, they are twins… but really nothing alike)
Recently Started the 6th Grade
Loves to play Xbox, watch baseball, play golf, and eat.

His favorite show:

Burn Notice

Now this one caught me a little off guard, perhaps because of the targeted audience of Burn Notice.  Many probably agree, but I thought this show was a bit inappropriate for a tween… at first.  Then I changed my tune; after all, my parents let me watch crime dramas like Miami Vice when I was in elementary school… with them.  With parental guidance and supervision, who’s to judge which TV shows are right or wrong for kids?  Not to mention, what boy doesn’t like to watch action-packed programs, especially when things blow up all the time?  Sadly for Nephew #2, Burn Notice only has two new episodes left before the series wraps up…

Nephew #3:

Sixteen Years of Age
Recently Started the 11th Grade
Loves to golf, golf, and play more golf.

His favorite show:

NCIS

I was shocked with this one… I was expecting Teen Wolf, The Vampire Diaries, Arrow, or something else on MTV or the CW.  But NCIS?  Who knew?  The way he talked about the characters convinced me he didn’t just randomly pick a TV show to shut his aunt up.

I absolutely loved my week with the boys; I don’t get to see them nearly enough.  But let me say this—I’m glad they didn’t inherit their aunt’s addiction to TV.

What do your kids watch?  I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in More Television, Teen TV, Television, TV Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Kid’s View

  1. When my 24 year old was pre-teen, I remember him watching a lot of Disney shows like Boy Meets World and Lizzy McGuire. My 30 year old…I have to stretch my mind back…I remember Anime such as Dragonball Z. And he liked the Ninja Turtles. They both loved video games, and the oldest one is still a gaming nerd. 🙂

  2. I don’t have kids, but approve of the viewing choices your nephews have made. With the exception of Mythbusters, I’m a fan of their faves, too. (Never seen mythbusters.)

  3. Diana Beebe says:

    My teen likes TV like I do–a little too much. Good thing she’s not a couch potato! We love to watch NCIS, HIMYM, Dr. Who (the jury is still out on the new Doctor), and Sherlock together. (That’s a short list.) She won’t watch Burn Notice with us anymore, because Michael is such a cry baby. 😀

    • I’ve heard a lot of people “kinda” complain about the new Doctor. I don’t watch the show, so I don’t know what all the buzz is about. It is definitely on my list of shows to catch from the beginning if I ever have time.

      And Michael Westen a cry baby? Noooo….. noooo…. I love Michael. 🙂

      • Diana Beebe says:

        People complain about the new Doctor every time there’s a new Doctor. I think by the fourth episode people will decide they love the new him. (That’s been the average at my house.)

        I love Michael, too. I think I’ll be missing the BN crew, now that the show is over. Thank goodness for reruns!

      • I can’t believe Burn Notice has wrapped. We still have to watch last night’s finale (it was on opposite Tech)… hopefully we’ll get some 2-hr movies or something in the future.

  4. Our 15 year-old is really into White Collar and Burn Notice. I’ve also heard something about Parks and Rec being a ‘super cool’ show. I can’t watch it, but he loves it. Oh, and Top Gear is a favorite, as well as Mythbusters. Your nephews rock.

    • Top Gear… what is that one, Tameri?

      Parks and Rec is funny. I don’t watch religiously, but from what I have seen, it is entertaining. Lots of funny cast members.

      And I love White Collar. Can’t wait for it to return this year. One of my favorites is going to be a bad guy – Warren Cole from USA’s Common Law and Fox’s The Following.

Leave a Reply

