Fall Foods – Hot Dog Casserole

When I posted my Football Food recipes a few weeks ago, my dad thought I missed something.  And while I don’t consider today’s recipe a must have during our favorite pigskin games, it is the perfect fall food… Hot Dog Casserole.

Hot Dog Casserole

Hot Dog Casserole

Every time I post about having Hot Dog Casserole for dinner on Facebook (yes, food is very popular on social media), I have multiple people reach out wanting to know more.

So between my dad and everyone else intrigued by my mother’s recipe, today I am sharing it with the world.  Well, The Ooo Factor readers…

I have no idea where this recipe originated, but my mom has made it for as long as I can remember.  I wasn’t a HUGE fan of Hot Dog Casserole growing up; all I needed was a boiled hotdog on a mustard and ketchup covered bun.  What kid wants more than that?  But now as an adult, I find myself enjoying the White Family Classic at least three times a year—Memorial Day, Independence Day, and Labor Day—and the occasional fall evening.

So what is Hot Dog Casserole?

Boil however many hot dogs…
Heat chili with or without beans on the stove…
Meanwhile, pull out a large baking dish and prepare the buns with mustard, ketchup, and relish.

Getting the buns ready...

Gettin’ the buns ready…

Once the dogs are ready, place ‘em in the buns.

Ready for the fixin's...

Ready for the fixin’s…

Cover with chili, cheese, and chopped onion.

Ready for the oven...

Ready for the oven…

Bake at 350 for about 20-25 minutes or until the buns have reached your desired level of crunchiness.

The finished product... ready to eat!

The finished product… ready to eat!

Hot Dog Casserole is a Man’s Man Recipe. All the men in our family LOVE it.  I hope yours do too!

Do you make anything special once the weather cools down?  If so, please share!  I’d love to hear from you.

This entry was posted in Food & Restaurants, Ooo Factor! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fall Foods – Hot Dog Casserole

  1. tomwisk says:

    Sounds good, but relish with chili? I’d do without the relish.

  2. Phil White says:

    Recipe came from Mac and Linda Perdue–while we were still going to Tech–don’t know where she got it.

    GET UR GUNS UP !!!!!

Leave a Reply

