New to TV – Fall 2013 (Part Six)

I’m skipping the usual Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday post this week, and sharing the sixth installment of my New to TV – Fall 2013 series.

That’s right!  It’s that time of year again… the fall television schedule is here!  And as always, the networks have a lineup of many new programs to accompany our returning favorites.

Some of the series have promise, while others may flop—but, regardless, we’ll tune in to check them out!

Today, we’re mixing it up with the supernatural, witches, and TV’s latest fairytale adaptation…

*****

The Tomorrow People

The CW Summary: Taking a chance and listening to the persistent voice in his head, Stephen Jameson ends up meeting a group of genetically advanced people with supernatural abilities, and not only learns about himself, but the truth behind his father’s disappearance. 

Based on the British series of the same name, The Tomorrow People follows a group of kids who have evolved into the supernatural with special abilities.  And while these select few were born with their special powers, it takes some time for the realization of these unique abilities to evolve.  Take teenager Stephen Jameson for example…

Stephen (played by Robbie Amell, “Fred” from the Scooby-Doo! films and cousin to Arrow’s Stephen Amell) was just a normal teen… until he started hearing voices and teleporting in his sleep.  After waking up in locations all over the place, he begins to question his sanity.  He gives in and decides to listen to one of the voices in his head and this voice leads him to The Tomorrow People, a genetically advanced group with powers very similar to his.

And of course, The Tomorrow People are being hunted by a group of scientists…

Sounds good, right?

The new supernatural drama also stars: Luke Mitchell (the cute Australian actor from Neighbours) as John; Peyton List (Mad Men and FlashForward) as Cara;  Aaron Yoo (Disturbia and the remake of Friday the 13th) as Russell; and Mark Pellegrino (Supernatural, the US version of Being Human, Dexter, and The Closer) as Jedikiah.

The Tomorrow People premieres tonight, Wednesday, October 9th on the CW.

*****

American Horror Story: Coven

FX Summary: A young girl is terrified to learn that she is suffering from a strange genetic affliction, but the mysterious condition earns her the chance to attend a school that tries to nurture the potential magical powers of an endangered bloodline.

I made no secret of the fact that I felt American Horror Story (season one) was groundbreaking television.  I honestly can’t remember ever watching anything quite like it.  Then season two aired… even though VERY different from the first as far as storyline and themes, the acting and characters were still just as impressive.  And it should come as no surprise that news of the third season pickup thrilled me; but left me wondering what we, the television audience, could expect with a new year of AHS.  And then I saw the story’s new “home” of sorts…

American Horror Story: Coven

Coven?  Are you kidding me?  We get witches?  Oh, heck yes!

Not only that, but a few of our favorites are back!  Jessica Lange, Evan Peters, Sarah Paulson, and Lily Rabe return… as do a few of season one’s veterans we missed or barely saw in season two: Taissa Farmiga, Frances Conroy, Alexandra Breckenridge, and Denis O’Hare.  One name is missing, I notice, and this makes me sad… Zachary Quinto.  Fingers crossed he at least stops by the Coven for a second or two.

We also have some new faces joining the cast… some really familiar faces: Kathy Bates, Angela Bassett, Patti LuPone, Emma Roberts, Gabourey Sidibe, Grey Damon, and Mare Winningham.

After seeing what the writers and creators were capable of in the first two years, I will be one of the first to press play on my DVR tonight!

American Horror Story: Coven premieres tonight, Wednesday, October 9th on FX.

*****

Once Upon a Time in Wonderland

ABC Summary: The doctors of a young woman in Victorian England are quite troubled by her tales of a land that exists on the other side of a rabbit hole and seek to cure her of these memories, but at the last second, she is whisked away by friends to return to Wonderland. 

Sadly, I never got into Once Upon a Time.  A few years ago when the two fairytale TV shows premiered, I chose Grimm.  But I’ve heard wonderful things about the ABC drama.

And because it was (and is) such a success, I will give Once Upon a Time in Wonderland a chance.  After all, what little girl doesn’t love the story of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland?

Not to mention, the traditional story’s “twist” seems just dark enough for me…

Trapped in a mental hospital, Alice (Sophie Lowe) recounts her time in Wonderland… after falling down a rabbit hole.  Needless to say, the good doctors don’t believe her.  When she agrees to let the doctors perform a new therapy on her to help her forget her lost love (a genie), her fairytale comes alive, hoping to rescue her.

Like I said, I’ll give it a try.

The new fairytale also stars: Peter Gadiot as Cyrus; Michael Socha (BBC’s Being Human) as The Knave of Hearts; Emma Rigby as The Red Queen; Naveen Andrews (Lost) as Jafar; and John Lithgow (TV’s 3rd Rock from the Sun and many motion pictures) as the voice of The White Rabbit.

Once Upon a Time in Wonderland premieres tomorrow, Thursday, October 10th on ABC.

*****

If I had to rank these in order of which one I’m most looking forward to, I’d put American Horror Story: Coven at number one.  That was a no brainer.  I mean, c’mon.  You knew I would rank it first… right?  The Tomorrow People follows at number two.  If the recent years have proven anything, it’s that I LOVE the CW’s programs, even though they target a teen audience.  Hey, be nice!  I’m still a teen at heart…  And sadly, that means Once Upon a Time in Wonderland falls into third/last place.  But don’t let the placement fool anyone; I’m really looking forward to all three of these shows!

What do you think?  Will you tune in to watch any of these new shows?  Which one most interests you?  I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in More Television, Television, Watch it? and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New to TV – Fall 2013 (Part Six)

  1. Amber West says:

    There is a great extended preview of Once Upon a Time in Wonderland that made me want to watch: http://www.hulu.com/watch/538717 If you haven’t seen it, definitely check it out.

    The hubs is psyched about Tomorrow People, so I know I’ll be giving that a try.

    • Thanks for sharing, Amber! I watched a four minute preview via OnDemand, but this twenty minute preview is even better!

      My guy is ready for The Tomorrow People too. He has asked me multiple times if I’ve got it set on the DVR… I’m looking forward to it, but it must be a “guy” show. 🙂

      • Amber West says:

        Haha! It actually looks good, I just haven’t had the time to look into it like the hubs has.

        And yes, this twenty minute preview is more like a mini episode. I highly recommend it for anyone on the fence about watching.

  2. I want to see all of these. Depends on what hubby is watching.

    I thought Freddie Prinze, Jr. was Fred in Scooby-Doo. Is this a different series I don’t know about? (I love Scooby-Doo.)

  3. I’m totally psyched for AHS tonight and I actually got a chance to watch The Witches of East End last night On Demand (LOVED IT)!

  4. I remember the ‘Tomorrow People’ from the first time round. I was a kid and its was pitched for kids. But it was still only mediocre sci fi. Will be interesting to see if the new is any better. Whether it gets to TV in my part of the world is another matter…:-)

  5. Emma says:

    I want to watch all these.

Leave a Reply

