Why It’s NOT Worth a Watch Wednesday – Fall TV’s First Victims

The fall television season is here and I have spent the last month or so taking in the new TV programs.  I was having a difficult time deciding which show to review first, and then the network “gods” made it easy for me… they’ve already cancelled the first shows!

So today, I’m going to share which television programs are NOT worth a watch.

First up, Lucky 7.

I really wasn’t all that surprised that ABC axed Lucky 7 first.  Of all the new shows, it was one that piqued my interest the least.

ABC Summary: Seven coworkers with big dreams put their resources together to buy lottery tickets, and when they win, they find themselves having to re-examine their values and identities in order to appreciate their shared wealth and individual dreams. 

The series starred a lot of relatively unknown actors, with no BIG name to fall back on, and the quick trailer airing on ABC didn’t really show all that much.  Was it just a drama?  Did it have mystery?  Was it supposed to be heartwarming?  Funny?

Who knows?  Obviously ABC didn’t want to give anyone the chance to figure it out because they cancelled it after only two episodes.

Next, we have We Are Men.

CBS Summary: A group of four single guys living in an apartment complex find camaraderie over their woes in love as they take the youngest of the group under their wings. 

The sitcom starred: Kal Penn (Kumar from the Harold & Kumar movies and House) as Gil; Jerry O’Connell (from so many of my favorites… Stand by Me, Scream 2, Tomcats, Buying the Cow, and TV’s Crossing Jordan and The Defenders—a show that should have made it, but moving on…) as Stuart; and the great Tony Shalhoub (Wings and Monk) as  Frank.

But I guess star power isn’t enough.

Nor was the fact that Jerry O’Connell was shirtless every opportunity he got (I did think this was kind of weird, but what can you do?).

I watched the only two episodes that aired of We Are Men and this comedy did make me laugh.  Even out loud at times.  But I guess TV audiences don’t want to watch a show about four single men out on the prowl, learning to take back their lives from messy divorces and breakups.

The next fall TV victim is Welcome to the Family.

NBC Summary: Dan and his wife, Caroline, were getting ready for the experience of having their daughter, Molly, move away for college; but then Molly and her boyfriend announce they’re having a baby and suddenly the two very different families have to get used to each other.

I heard from a lot of people that they didn’t really care for the concept of this TV series (teen pregnancy), especially not when I told them that the mother of the teenage girl was pregnant too.

But this sitcom was funny.  Laugh-out-loud funny.  My guy even watched this one with me, and actually put his handheld video game down to watch uninterrupted.  That’s a rare occasion for sitcoms in this house…

Ricardo Chavira (Desperate Housewives) was hilarious.  I’ve never seen him in a comedy and his sarcasm and timing were perfect.  And as usual, Mary McCormack (The West Wing and In Plain Sight) was also great.  Mike O’Malley was also funny, in a role FAR from his character on Justified.  But similar to We Are Men, sometimes star power just isn’t enough.

And finally, we have Ironside.

NBC Summary: After having been shot in the line of duty and confined to a wheelchair, determined Detective Robert Ironside leads a custom-tailored team of elite investigators as they take on New York’s most infamous crimes.

This one really shocked and disappointed me.  But let me be clear: I hadn’t actually watched the episodes yet, which could be part of the problem, but I did have them all recorded on the DVR and I was looking forward to having a mini-marathon.  Now, it’s too late.

People were disappointed with the fact that the TV networks had even chosen to reboot this older television series… and I guess those early criticisms spoke loudly enough for NBC to drop the axe.  Shocking, considering shows like Hawaii Five-0 have done just fine for themselves (although it is rumored our favorite 5-0 officers are in trouble since CBS moved the series to Friday nights…).

But what can you do?

Are you shocked by any of these cancellations?  Which show/s do you think gets the axe next?  I’d love to hear from you!    

A Recap of The WatchWed Review System:

GTV (Gourmet TV): Everything we want and more
MacTV (MacNCheese TV): Guilty pleasure. Not perfect, but is satisfies
GMacTV (Gourmet MacNCheese TV): A combination of fine wine and comfort food
JFTV (Junk food TV):It’s not great for us, but we’ll go back for seconds
TBPTV (Twice Baked Potato TV): Part gourmet and delicious, while absolutely horrible for our cholesterol
SSTV (Still Simmering TV): It has potential, but the jury is still out
NIV (NyQuil Induced Viewing): Perfect for that late night television sleep timer
LOTV (Liver&Onions TV): Do we really have to explain? Blech
Inedible TV: Exactly how it sounds…

This entry was posted in Television, TV Reviews, Watch it? and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Why It’s NOT Worth a Watch Wednesday – Fall TV’s First Victims

  1. Not surprised by any of these.

    I don’t think 5-0 is in any serious danger. It’s actually pulling decent numbers for a Friday slot, and between it and “Blue Bloods” CBS has a nice hold on Friday night prime time.

    • I hope 5-0 isn’t in any serious danger either, Steven. But you know the rumor mill… but if that is indeed true, CBS is to blame for moving it to the “kill slot” anyway. It’s amazing Blue Bloods has done as well as it has on Friday nights.

      Speaking of Friday nights, I am soooooo ready for Grimm to return this week. And for Dracula to premiere!! Are you guys going to watch? In between the move and everything else you have going on?

      • daezarkian says:

        I’m so far behind on Grimm it isn’t even funny, but Dracula looks very intriguing — especially with Thomas Kretschman as Van Helsing!

  2. Pooh says:

    I hate it about Ironside. I haven’t had a chance to watch it since I can’t remember when it is on….

  3. I suffered through opening episode of Lucky 7 and wondered why I bothered. Glad Ironside failed. Wish 5-0 would, too. I hate it when they redo treasured old series with Johnny-come-lately actors. I’m usually in the minority, though.

Leave a Reply

