Great Fall Recipe – Stuffed French Toast

My guy loves French toast, and I like fruit with my breakfast.  So one morning I decided to make a small mess in my kitchen and try my hand at a stuffed French toast recipe.  That way, we both got what we loved!

Stuffed French Toast finished productWhat’s needed:

Loaf of French or Italian bread
Eggs
Milk
Butter
Package of Cream Cheese
Cinnamon
Nutmeg
Jam or fresh fruit, preferably of the same flavor (strawberries, blueberries, etc.)
More fresh fruit (strawberries, blueberries, etc.)

Now, let’s cook!

Start with the loaf of bread.  We used French.

Sliced Bread for Stuffed French ToastSlice the loaf into 2-inch pieces and then cut a deep slit across the top in the middle of each slice, forming a “pocket” of sorts.  Set the bread aside.

Ingredients for Stuffed French Toast fillingTake one package of softened cream cheese and add a few tablespoons of jam or fresh fruit.  I used Simply Fruit Strawberry Spreadable Fruit.  Mix in a pinch of sugar (maybe a teaspoon).  Stir until the cream cheese mixture looks a bit like strawberry yogurt.  Set aside.

Grilling Stuffed French Toast bread mixtureMix an egg (or two, your choice; I used two), about half a cup of milk, nutmeg, and cinnamon together.  Set the “egg bath” aside.  *Keep everything out because you may want to make more of this mixture, depending on how many pieces of French toast you’re grilling.

Grab a slice of bread and add about a tablespoon of the cream cheese filling to the pouch.  Add more if desired.  Pinch the opening closed by gently pressing the bread together.  This will help make less of a mess in the skillet.

Preheat the skillet on the stove, using medium to high heat.  While the skillet is heating up, dip the stuffed bread into the egg wash for about twenty to thirty seconds on each side.  I learned my guy likes it to absorb quite a bit of the “egg bath.”  Note: I only dipped one piece at a time and only fried one piece at a time.  I let my next piece soak while I grilled the other.

Add a little butter to the skillet to prevent the bread from sticking and fry the stuffed bread on each side until golden brown.

Remove from the heat and serve with the traditional syrup, fresh fruit, and powdered sugar.

Stuffed French Toast finished productIt really is delish!

Are you a stuffed French toast fan?  Have any fun breakfast recipes to share?  I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in Food & Restaurants, Ooo Factor! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Great Fall Recipe – Stuffed French Toast

  1. Tiffany, wonderful but one small tweak, try challah or broche. Get a whole loaf and slice it thick. Cut a slit in the side about one and a half inches. Put the filling into a plastic bag, cut a tip off and squeeze the filling into each slice. Dip it and fry.

  2. Ohmigawd, ohmigawd, ohmigawd! This looks so yum. I was reading this post yesterday at the salon and practically salivating. I’m thinking I need to make it for dinner tonight since I don’t think I can wait for the weekend. My tummy just gave a happy grumble. I’ll let you know how mine turns out!

    • Well, Tameri… did you make it? 🙂

      • Yes! Oh man, it was GOOOOOOD. Even my fussy fifteen year-old ate it. He thought I should make it with grape jelly, but I refused. In the end, he agreed strawberry was best. I used Bonne Maman’s strawberry preserves. Yum. Of course, we had to add whipped cream. 🙂 This is definitely something I’ll whip up every so often as a special treat. It’s like dinner AND dessert all in one!

Leave a Reply

