A Pick Per Night 2013

Welcome to the 2013 edition of A Pick Per Night!

It’s hard to believe I’ve been blogging about television every single Tuesday for the past three plus years… but I have.  And today I’m going back to one of my very first blog posts and selecting one show per night that I absolutely can’t miss.

A Pick Per Night is perfect for those who have time for just one television program each evening.   Back in 2011, I selected: Hawaii Five-0 for Mondays, NCIS: LA for Tuesdays, Criminal Minds for Wednesdays; Archer for Thursdays; and Blue Bloods for Fridays.  And last year, I named: Pretty Little Liars for Mondays, Justified for Tuesdays; Revenge for Wednesdays; The Vampire Diaries for Thursdays; and Supernatural for Fridays.  Considering the networks move their series around every single year, not to mention add tons of new programs to the schedule, let’s see if any of these previously picked shows survive and land on the 2013 list.

Sunday – Revenge

I honestly thought this season started a little slow, but now that it’s almost over, Emily is back at it and she’s not letting anyone stand in her way of seeking revenge against the Grayson family.  Nothing is off limits.  When the show returns from its odd hiatus, I can’t wait to see what plans “angry” Jack has in the works for Conrad… not to mention what Emily has in store for Victoria.  I’d say more, but I don’t want to give away any spoilers!

Monday – The Following

Since we’re being honest here, I cannot believe The Following is on Fox… its dark, gruesome, and twisted.  I could see it on FX, but I’m blown away that it’s on basic cable.  That said, Kevin Bacon is fantastic as Ryan Hardy… his character reminds me a lot of 24‘s Jack Bauer—he doesn’t get to sleep and he doesn’t play by the FBI’s rules.  And James Purefoy is freaky good as the villain, Joe Carroll.  Heck, I even like Joe’s right-hand-man, Roderick.  I hope he doesn’t die… but I’m beginning to think NO ONE is safe from death on this show.

It was quite difficult for me to not select TNT’s Dallas for the Monday night slot… the writers and the creators have resurrected the legacy of the original series, not to mention the cast’s performances this season have been some of the best on TV.  I don’t normally want to applaud the television after an episode airs, but I sure did last night with the two-hour season finale.  Bravo, Dallas!  Bravo.

Tuesday – New Girl.

I think I’ve pretty much decided that Pretty Little Liars is my favorite show on television right now, any night of the week, but for the sake of choosing something that is actually airing new episodes right now for Tuesday nights, I’m picking Fox’s New Girl.  My guy and I both laugh hysterically when we watch this sitcom; so much so, that we have to remember to not watch while we’re eating dinner—we might choke on our food from laughing as much as we do.

Wednesday – Criminal Minds

There are tons of police procedural programs on TV today, but none like Criminal Minds.  This television drama follows a team of highly trained FBI agents who profile criminal behavior for the Behavioral Analysis Unit (BAU).   They study unsubs, or “unknown subjects” of the investigation, instead of the crime itself.   As a mystery writer, Criminal Minds is a great tool for understanding the minds of the criminally inclined… not to mention, the character development for each one of the stars has me invested in every single one of them.

Thursday – Scandal

I don’t want to give too much away about Scandal’s scandalous plot, but I do want to say that each and every episode draws me in, holds me in tight so that I don’t miss a word, and leaves me with my mouth gaping open in awe at the end.  The series is classified as a procedural in that each week Olivia and her team take on a new client and help “make their problems go away.”  But, Scandal can also be classified as a serial drama, or a nighttime soap opera, with an ongoing story that keeps getting better and even more scandalous with each passing week.  This series has drama; it has politics; it has love; and it has A LOT of scandalous twists and turns…

Friday – Grimm

Now well into its second season, Grimm has aired more episodes and tackled fairy tales such as Goldilocks and the Three Bears, The Pied Piper, Rapunzel, The Queen Bee, and the Three Little Pigs.  The special effects and storylines are enticing… and I particularly love the use of Monroe in each episode to help Nick solve the case at hand—it is a bit heartwarming to see the two work together and develop a friendship between creature and Grimm, not to mention Monroe almost always has something witty and funny to say.

Plus, the actual police procedural aspect of the story ranks up there with the other crime dramas on television today.  There’s a bit more of a serial storyline this year, and I like that… quite a bit, actually.  This story arc has helped us invest more in watching on Friday nights, instead of letting the episodes stockpile on the DVR.  We’ve even found ourselves saying the NBC slogan on occasion: “Thank Grimm it’s Friday.”

Do you watch any of these shows?  If you had to pick only one television series per night, what would you choose and why?  I’d love to hear from you!

And before we go, I wanted to send a warm message to all those affected  by the horrendous acts in Boston yesterday.  My thoughts are with all of you.

13 Replies to “A Pick Per Night 2013”

  1. Monday: HIMYM
    Tuesday: NCIS
    Wednesday: Criminal Minds
    Thursday: Torn between Scandal and Grey’s Anatomy
    Friday: The DVR’d version either Scandal or Grey’s (Plus Hawaii Five-0 and NCIS: LA) 🙂

  2. Somebody needs to kill Emma!!! Right now!!!

    Sorry. I really needed to get that off my chest. One show per night?

    We’re way behind on Revenge, but if I were to pick a Sunday night show, it would still be The Mentalist.
    Monday is Castle. Love HIMYM, but Castle trumps it. I’d even pick Castle over The Following, but thank God I don’t have to!
    Tuesday is tough. I’m not sure I can pick between New Girl and The Mindy Project. I think Mindy might win out, if I were forced to choose.
    Wednesday is Modern Family, hands down.
    Thursday, Parks and Recreation.
    Friday, I guess we just get caught up. I would say Grimm, but I’m way, way behind, and my wife doesn’t like it.
    Saturday is another catch up day. Or Redbox night.

  3. Okay, Tiffany, don’t laugh. My performance reality show addiction has me watching The Voice on Monday and Tuesday and American Idol on Wednesday and Thursday. I do love The Following and Criminal Minds as well as L&O: SVU. I record each. I also recently found that CBS shows full episodes of CM so sometimes I watch in on my laptop (haven’t checked NBC’s site for SVU).

    I watch Grimm on Fridays and agree that I like the more serial style this season. I feel more vested to watch it sooner if I miss one and know I’ll be thrown off if I get too far behind. Sundays for me was The Walking Dead until the season finale. Now I’m wandering around missing the zombies. 😉

  4. I also love Scandal and Grimm. My current favorite is Dallas because it is getting SO good and how can you go wrong with Chistopher and John Ross? And I’ll be really glad once Drew is gone, whether it’s off the grid or in jail. Man, he annoys me! I agree on Revenge and PLL, also. The sitcoms just don’t do it for me. I never find any of them funny at all, except for Modern Family. And even that isn’t as funny as it used to be. I have a stock pile on my dvr and I watch it when there is nothing else on. For some reason I just think the hour long shows are better. And actually funnier, too.

  5. I agree with two of your picks! Sunday – Revenge, Monday – Castle, Tuesday – Pretty Little Liars, Wednesday – Psych (where was Psych on your list?!), Thursday – Big Bang Theory, Friday – Grimm. I also like Bones (Mon) & Hart of Dixie (Tues). And now that I’ve listed them all, I realize I am watching a lot of TV. No wonder my laundry keeps piling up!

  6. I need to watch The Following! Everyone is talking about it! I would’ve said Bates Motel for mondays, but that’s because I haven’t seen The Following. And you know thursdays for me are The Vampire Diaries! Haha! Have you seen Awkward? It’s a little bit Glee, little bit My Life as Liz, little bit anything on ABC, but Awkward is actually on MTV and I think it’s pretty funny. Caught a few old episodes during a marathon yesterday and it totally sucked me in. It’s definitely overdone, but I love the crazy guidance counselor and the main character.

Leave a comment