Finding Beauty – Beauty of Woman #BOAW15

It has been a loooooong time since I have written anything, including content for my blog. *dusts off cobwebs*

As many of you know, my writing has taken a back seat to my new and VERY important job—motherhood. Say HELLO to my little dude—well, to his feet, now almost nine months old.

Toes!!
Toes!!

And while I do miss writing, I can’t dedicate much time to my craft. I’ve had tons of ideas (thank goodness for notebooks), but have been looking for the perfect opportunity (and time) to stick my toes back into the shallow end and put pen to paper. Yes; I still handwrite everything prior to tapping the keyboard with my fingertips… I’m old school like that.

When I read August was launching the 4th annual Beauty of a Woman Blogfest, I knew the time had finally arrived.

Why now?

Because I have something to say. I know – people who know me say this is nothing out of the ordinary.

But seriously.

My perspective on a woman’s beauty has changed. Maybe not so much changed, but grown by leaps and bounds. I’ve always seen the beauty, both internally and externally of a woman. However, having undergone the many changes I have the past sixteen months, I now have a deeper appreciation… a deeper understanding… and a deeper love—for myself and other women.

By definition, beauty is the quality present in a thing or person that gives intense pleasure or deep satisfaction to the mind, whether arising from sensory manifestations, a meaningful design or platform, or something else.

So what is beauty to me? Or better yet, what makes a woman beautiful? Well, there’s the obvious that most everyone associates to the word beauty—aesthetics. And yes; aesthetically, all women are beautiful—all shapes and sizes. Women are also beautiful by the kindness they extend to others and as reflected by the confidence they emit. There’s also strength, perseverance, and humility…

Here’s the truth—WOMEN ARE BEAUTIFUL. ALL WOMEN!

The minute we think otherwise, we have a problem.

Sure, I’ve thought of myself as beautiful at times in my life. Lord knows I have the confidence necessary to hold my head up high. But only recently have I truly felt beautiful, and it’s not because of my physical appearance. AT ALL.

Matter of fact, I’m the largest I’ve ever been in my life (yeah; pregnancy weight DOES NOT just come off, not even when breastfeeding) with arguably the worst complexion I have ever had (thank you adult-onset rosacea, courtesy of… you guessed it… my pregnancy).

I am beautiful because of my strength and perseverance. I have been blessed; but like all others, I have faced a few curve balls while standing at the home plate of life. When I could have given up and felt sorry for myself, I instead took a deep breath and kept motorin’, searching for the positives.

Everything we encounter, especially the detours, makes us stronger. Our ability to push through makes us beautiful.

My epiphany came with pregnancy, the birth of my son, and these early stages of motherhood—none of which was a piece of cake—not for me. I watched my body change (pregnant women do not always glow); I experienced health scares (during my forty weeks, hours before my son graced us with his presence, and postpartum); I pushed, literally, through a two and a half day labor… over fifty hours of a pressure and pain I still to this day can’t describe to others; and I have struggled with things since, thanks to my constant state of exhaustion.

But you know what? I am beautiful. I’m beautiful despite my size 12 clothes being tight (I can’t believe I just “said” my size out loud). I’m beautiful despite the permanent black circles under my eyes. I’m beautiful despite my face looking like I stayed out in the sun too long with big ole sunshades covering my eyes… a red raccoon if you will.

Now, not all women are mothers and that’s okay. Heck, I didn’t even know I wanted to be a mother until my 36th year on this earth. Motherhood is not for everyone and does not define us as women. All women are just as strong and beautiful due to the unique situations in their lives, regardless of their desire to be or not to be a mother. However, in my instance, motherhood is what opened my eyes to what makes me beautiful… to what makes my mother beautiful… my grandmother, aunts, cousins, friends… etc.

I guess what I’m trying to say is this…

Women make it their job to persevere. Through our drive and our strength, we find a way. We may not feel confident or believe ourselves to be beautiful every day, BUT WE ARE.

What’s the saying?

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

We simply must believe it ourselves.

Let’s stop restricting beauty to the size zero models strutting down the catwalks. Instead, let’s focus on finding the strength both internally and externally to claim our own beauty. Embrace our confidence. Demand respect. And don’t knock others.

Oh, yes… and smile.

You’re beautiful.

Beautiful artwork courtesy of the VERY beautiful Renée A. Schuls-Jacobson
Beautiful artwork courtesy of the VERY beautiful Renée A. Schuls-Jacobson

PS.  Stop by August’s Blogfest page to participate in #BOAW15 fun!

*****

Tiffany A. White is the author of the YA mystery Football Sweetheart series available on Kindle and Nook.  She is available for contact via Twitter, Facebook, Google+, or via email at tiffany {at} tiffanyawhite {dot} com.

 

 

46 Replies to “Finding Beauty – Beauty of Woman #BOAW15”

    1. Thank you so much, August! And thank you for hosting such a powerful blogfest for women. You are truly beautiful inside and out.

      And thank you for saying my little dude is lucky. I honestly believe that my husband and I are the lucky ones–he’s a true blessing.

  1. I love what you said, Tiffany: “Women make it their job to persevere.” That is so true, and all women should realize the beauty in that. A lovely way to look at our feminine lives. Thank you!

  2. We really do persevere, don’t we? I have two kids and I have felt my most beautiful while pregnant…even though the condition itself is a HUGE DRAG. Congrats to you for your son and your writing.

    1. Thank you, Mina! I may not have felt my most beautiful going through all the changes, but I had definitely never known happiness like that. If anyone had said I’d feel so blah and awkward during pregnancy, yet still the most content EVER, I would have called them liars. But it’s true.

  3. What a beautiful blog post. I love it. I’ve missed reading your posts, but first things first.

    One way I define a beautiful woman is how she treats other people. That’s one thing I try to do more than anything is treat others with respect and kindness. I hope I’m succeeding in that.

    1. Thank you, Lauralynn! You have made my week…

      And I think you should consider yourself a success. You are one of the kindest women I have met–always. Even when I know you are not smiling. You are beautiful!

  4. Oh my goodness, I love this so much! It’s so true. And probably part of why I don’t look at good as I did twenty years ago, but I feel more beautiful. I now feel capable, confident, and loved — and that plays into my beauty far more than my appearance. Beautiful post from a beautiful woman! Thanks, Tiffany.

    And ooh, those cute little feet!

    1. Julie, thank you so much! You are such a beautiful woman and I am so lucky to have you in my life. I miss seeing your smile in person!! And you are so right… feeling loved does make you feel so dang beautiful, doesn’t it?!?! There’s absolutely NOTHING like unconditional love. Nothing. Love ya, girl!!

  5. Tiffany, this post is beautiful and so are you – through and through. I had no idea your labor was so intensive, I’m so sorry it was such a battle for you. I can only imagine how much you’ve grown and how your little man has forced you to revision your outlook, for the better it sounds. 🙂 You are absolutely gorgeous! Thank you for sharing this message with us, it’s one all women do need to hear because it’s all too easy to forget sadly. Happy BOAW fest, my friend!

    1. No – YOU ARE gorgeous, my little “Canadian” cheese-lover!! Thank you so much for the kind words. My labor sounds a lot worse than it really was… of course, I didn’t think so at the time. Heehee. Happy BOAW, Jess!! Like I said to Julie, I am blessed to have you in my life. I miss you, your beauty, your insane talent (Erin and I always talk about your impersonations), and wonderful sense of humor. Thank goodness for social media so we can stay connected while living in different countries. HA! I couldn’t resist. Love ya!!

  6. What a fab post, Tiffany! Becoming a mom was the biggest image adjustment and selfhood adjustment I ever had…for the better! Size, weight, all that…it wasn’t what was genuine anymore, or enduring. You are amazing! That little guy is lucky to have you.

  7. there’s nothing like a baby to help us re-prioritize, is there? my labor story is quite different than yours, but you know what? these are the stories that bind us together as mothers, regardless of how it went down. All mothers can talk about the pregnancy, labor and delivery. The thrill of holding our baby for the first time. My body is far from sleep and slim. I’d love to be a size 12, but every ounce is well-earned and contributes to my life experience today. It’s all good. and we’re all beautiful

  8. Awesome post Tiffany. “Embrace our confidence. Demand respect. And don’t knock others.” Definitely words to live by. 🙂

  9. Gorgeous, my friend. Just like you. And you’re right. A large part of what makes woman beautiful is her ability to push forward regardless of all the odds she faces and regardless of what people say, especially to make a life for her family. She will sacrifice everything, scrimp and save, and refuse to take the easy way out so that she can be the example her children need to be…at least that’s the message my beautiful mother taught me.

  10. Lovely post! I was enormous after my first and not much less after my second. It sure is easier to lose it the second time around but I was slow. Everyone is different. Congratulations!

Leave a comment