Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – A Special Recap Edition

Welcome to today’s special edition of Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday, where Amber West and I recap our previous ratings.  We’ll reveal what we’re still watching, and whether or not our ratings remain the same.

Previously, MTV’s Teen Wolf earned a MacTV rating – it wasn’t perfect, but it satisfied like most guilty pleasures. 

Since the original review, seven new episodes of Teen Wolf have aired, and it is still an extreme guilty pleasure.   The audience has learned more of the back-story behind the Hale family of werewolves and the Argent family of werewolf hunters.  The show has entertained us with magic, twists and turns, and most importantly revealed the identity of the big-bad alpha wolf. 

Considering the target audience is composed of teens and young adults, this thirtysomething can’t get enough.  Therefore, I am moving it up in the ranks and giving Teen Wolf a GTV rating.  Teen Wolf is this summer’s new gourmet program – especially for those Vampire Diaries fans going through withdrawal.

TNT’s Franklin & Bash is another show that is moving up in the ranks.  This previous MacTV rating definitely deserves an upgrade to an entree’s GTV rating.  While the courtroom antics may not be entirely believable, this television program delivers a bone-in filet flavor. 

Is anyone still playing “Name that Co-Star” game with me?  Remember how to play?  Name as many of Gosselaar’s former TV co-stars that make a guest appearance.  So far, we’ve seen Garcelle Beauvais…..can you name another?  

Let’s change the objective just a tad: How many child/teen stars of the ‘90s will land a guest starring role in Franklin & Bash?  We saw “The Beek” or “Dawson” as some may remember just last week.  Anyone else? 

Speaking of gourmet television, Burn Notice, Leverage, and White Collar remain at the top of the GTV rating scale.  These shows on USA and TNT are full of all the best ingredients: drama, comedy, budding relationships, intense loyalty and friendships, beautiful people, explosions, trickery, and individual storylines plus ongoing intrigue. 

Every week promises some of the best programming available – summer, fall, winter, or spring.  Enough said.

As apparent by the previous reviews, Mac and Cheese is one of my favorite guilty pleasures.  Curling up with a warm bowl in front of the TV to watch ABC Family’s Pretty Little Liars is like taking a hot bath with a glass of wine, a gigantic piece of chocolate cake, and a great mystery novel.   

We’re approaching the end of season two, and this teen drama has this particular viewer completely bamboozled.  I have an inkling of an idea as to the identity of “A”, but not enough to voice my opinion here.  What does that say about the mystery?

Pretty Little Liars keeps its MacTV rating

The USA hit Suits is another one keeping its original MacTV rating.  We normally watch the same day as the program airs, but I can’t quite elevate it to the GTV status. 

We finally saw one shoe drop this past week when the paralegal learned that Mike took the LSAT for a close friend.  Will his secret come out?  It has to, right?  A college dropout can’t portray a first year associate for long, not even with perfect recall.  Can he? And, would a senior partner really keep up with this charade? 

No…..but it’s TV – it’s entertainment; it’s not real life. 

The only JFTV rating, TNT’s Memphis Beat, remains junk-food television.  Memphis Beat is one show that has failed to impress me week after week.  Not to misunderstand, some weeks are great, like when Dwight and his mother traveled to New Orleans to face his father’s killer in prison.  But, unfortunately, other episodes could technically be watched with the trigger finger locked into place on the fast-forward button. 

The character of Whitehead is very different this year.  His quirkiness from season one is gone, and serious Whitehead just isn’t the same.  Honestly, if Jason Lee weren’t the star, Memphis Beat might fall to a NIV rating – NyQuil induced viewing.  Like junk food, I take a taste only when I really need that fix.

A few weeks ago, SyFy’s Alphas earned a SSTV rating definitely showcasing its potential, but it was still too early to tell.  Only two episodes have aired since, and I continue to be pleasantly surprised with the series start.

Last week, the alphas hunted another of their kind with a pheromone problem – when encountering danger or a stressful situation, he released these little buggers into the air that caused everyone in the near vicinity to go crazy.  Who wouldn’t’ like that power?

What’s more impressive, we’ve already seen a recurring character die, and the mystery behind the alpha holding facility continues to grow.  I’m keeping with the SSTV rating, but the new episodes haven’t been simmering long on the DVR before watching.

Have our reviews tempted you to try any of this summer’s television shows? What is your favorite? Does any one network rank supreme against all others?  We’d love to hear from you!

Now click over to Amber’s recap of her Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday special edition.  Is she still watching all of her programs?  Has her opinion changed at all?

Come back next week for a special NetFlix edition as Amber and I share a few of our favorite shows to watch marathon-style.

Remember to stop by the #watchwed hashtag in Twitter to discuss any of today’s reviews, or to mention any television programs that you’d like to see on Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday in the future.  We’re currently working on our August and September schedule and would love to chat with you!

A Recap of The WatchWed Review System:

GTV (Gourmet TV): Everything we want and more

MacTV (MacNCheese TV): Guilty pleasure. Not perfect, but is satisfies

JFTV (Junk food TV): It’s not great for us, but we’ll go back for seconds

SSTV (Still Simmering TV): It has potential, but the jury is still out

NIV (Nyquil Induced Viewing): Perfect for that late night television sleep timer

LOTV (Liver&Onions TV): Do we really have to explain? Blech

This entry was posted in Watch it? and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – A Special Recap Edition

  1. Pingback: Why It’s Worth a Watch Wednesday – Summer Recap | A Day Without Sushi

  2. I think the one that’s probably tempting me the most from this post is Teen Wolf. My problem is…so many shows, so little time. 🙂

    One thing you said about Memphis Beat makes sense to me – Jason Lee pretty much makes that show. I did like the episode you mentioned about facing his dad’s killer in prison. And I do like Whitehead quirkier.

    • Lauralynn, I think there are only two weeks left of new episodes of Teen Wolf. Not sure if MTV is on Hulu or any other online version, but I recommend checking it out if you like Vampire Diaries. Just get through the first episode before you give up…it gets better. Surprisingly better.

      I’m glad I’m not alone on the Memphis Beat thing – I so like Jason Lee, but it’s not interesting me as much as season one. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Stacy Green says:

    Your reviews have definitely helped me this summer. I’m going to watch Franklin and Bash. Keep seeing previews and hearing good things. I did watch Memphis Beat last night (I do occasionally) and it’s ok. DJ Qualls is cute, but we all know Jason Lee is capable of better.

  4. Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos says:

    I love White Collar and have watched it since the start, but since you’ve been talking about Teen Wolf, I’ve started watching it as well. My teenaged daughter and her friends are addicted and have a weekly viewing party, but I sort of thought the first episode was dumb. After watching a few more episodes, I’m addicted too and will be howling on Monday’s with them. Keep up the great reviews!!

    • Hey, Jill! Did you watch White Collar last night? Ooo…. I’m glad you checked out Teen Wolf. We can chat about our teen addiction over drinks. Okay, that sounded bad?

      MTV has another show airing later this month (8/29) that looks hilarious – it has Zombies in it so my guy is in….you’ll have to tell me if your teenagers check it out. Thanks for stopping by!

  5. I disagree about Suits. Right after Burn Notice, it’s my next watch. The para legal (I think her name is Rachel) finding out about the “side business” is the tip of the iceberg. Plus, I don’t think we’ve seen the last of his drug dealer best friend. And the best friend’s girl who Mike kissed? Wouldn’t it suck if she showed up just when Mike has smoothed things over with Rachel? That’s GTV in my book.

    Of the shows I watch, I approve all other reviews. Thank you, goodnight.

    • Oh, I like Suits, Andrew. Don’t get me wrong. I just can’t quite give it that top-dish rating just yet. I do want to see more conflict with idiot best friend, and idiot best friend’s girlfriend. The more drama, the better. I LOVE the banter between Mike and Harvey. It reminds me a lot of Neal and Peter on White Collar. Imagine that…same bat channel – USA!

      Thanks for stopping by and giving your stamp of approval. 🙂

  6. I only tried Alphas, and then I was so mad because Syfy uploaded the first episode, and now says they won’t upload any of the others until October. I have some choice words for them…

  7. Pooh says:

    I love Memphis Beat!!!! Tonight I get Royal Pains and Unnecessary Roughness. I switch back and forth with Franklin and Bash!! Never have learned how to work the DVD recorder that Laura hooked up when we got the new TV. Pooh

  8. Gigi Salem says:

    I tried F&B, I really did. I wanted to love it, because Breckin Meyer is generally made of awesome. But… something in it just falls flat for me. Something in the overall chemistry is just off for me.

    I think the only one of the shows that you mentioned in this post that I watch is Leverage. And man, do I love it all over. The whole team just works, I love all their personalities, the story lines engage me. It’s got the whole package.

    • The ensemble in Leverage is really good. I absolutely LOVED this week’s episode (the Carnival). I loved how much they used Eliot and the introduction of the Parker2000/Hardie. We get two episodes in two weeks! That makes up for the 2-hour season finale of Falling Skies robbing us of Leverage this coming Sunday. Thanks for stopping by, Gigi!

  9. Catie Rhodes says:

    Okay. I love Teen Wolf. Like you told someone else, it gets quite a bit better after the first episode. The storyline is surprisingly complex. I’m loving the mythology of the werewolves and the werewolf hunters. And the end of Monday night’s episode! What a cliffhanger. What are they gonna doooo?

    Scott’s character is filling in nicely. At first he was a little two-dimensional, but he has surprised me a few times lately. I even like the Alpha. Great motivation to make you not hate him.

    And aren’t I a dork for dissecting it? LOL

    • You are not a dork, Catie! We could spend hours writing, talking stories, and dissecting TV at the local coffee shop if we lived in the same town! If you’re a dork, I have to call myself a dork – and I refuse. 🙂

  10. amyshojai says:

    Love Franklin & Bash. Fun stuff. And I agree about the courtroom stuff, but the rest of it makes up for that.

    • Did you catch the summer/season finale last night? I’m bummed that it doesn’t return again until NEXT summer. Usually TNT brings their shows back in December/January for a short run. I will miss Franklin & Bash until then….thanks for stopping by, Amy!

  11. Julie Glover says:

    After your first write-up about it, I watched the pilot of Suits. It’s not always good to watch a legal show when you worked in the field for a while (legal assistant). Some parts just aren’t believable, and even though I KNOW it’s fiction and television drama, I want to say to the TV (actually my laptop), “That would never happen!” I was much more taken by the 1st year associate character than the cocky lawyer. I don’t know if I’ll give it another turn.

    However, you, and others, have definitely piqued my interest in Leverage. It helps that Timothy Hutton was in one of my favorite movies of all time, Ordinary People, and I still like to see him around. I enjoy ensemble shows as well. Your description sounds like the kind of show I would enjoy! I think it’s going into my queue. Thanks for the update!

    • Hey, Julie! Did you like the Oceans movies? Oceans 11, 12, 13….Leverage is very similar, except a smaller team working for the greater good. Timothy Hutton’s character is my least favorite on the show, which is funny since he’s the leader/mastermind. I LOVE the supporting cast. I hope you check it out! Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

