New to TV – Fall 2013 (Part Four)

It’s that time of year again… the fall television schedule is here!  And as always, the networks have a lineup of many new programs to accompany our returning favorites.

Some of the series have promise, while others may flop—but, regardless, we’ll tune in to check them out!

Today, we’re mixing it up with comedy and drama…

*****

Super Fun Night

ABC Summary: A junior attorney, Kimmie Boubier, and her two best friends have had a standing date every Friday night for the last 13 years, but then Kimmie meets a dashingly handsome British attorney, throwing a monkey wrench into the tradition.

I feel like I’ve seen the ABC teasers for Super Fun Night for some time now; and to be honest, the only thing that even somewhat interests me is the fact that Rebel Wilson stars in this new sitcom.  And not only that, but the new series is also written and co-produced by Ms. Wilson.

Rebel Wilson has proven to be one funny lady… from her small role in Bridesmaids, to her starring role in Pitch Perfect, to all of her live performances on variety talk shows and the MTV Movie Awards.

But will this alone be enough to interest me and others in this latest comedy?  I’m not sure I want to watch something that’s all about partying… and from the commercials, that is what Super Fun Night seems to be about.  However, the ABC summary has me believing there might be more to this story.  I guess we’ll see.

The comedy also stars: Lauren Ash (Almost Heroes), Liza Lapira (Don’t Trust the B—- in Apartment 23), Kevin Bishop, and Kate Jenkinson.

Oh, and supposedly the first episode will actually be the sitcom’s second episode.  For whatever reason, the network has decided to skip the pilot.  Hmmm…

Super Fun Night premieres tomorrow night, Wednesday, October 2nd on ABC.

*****

Ironside

NBC Summary: After having been shot in the line of duty and confined to a wheelchair, determined Detective Robert Ironside leads a custom-tailored team of elite investigators as they take on New York’s most infamous crimes.

Robert T. Ironside (Blair Underwood from L.A. Law), may be arrogant and cocky, but he gets good results, making him the best detective on the force.  However, one fateful day, he is shot in the back and suffers a spinal cord injury.  Now handicapped, he’s trying to be the same kind of cop he was before landing in the wheelchair.  After all, the wheelchair doesn’t define him and he does not want any help… from anyone.

The series will use flashbacks to tell us more about who Ironside was before the injury.  However, in current day and since recovering from the shooting, Ironside moves forward and puts together a team of officers that he sees as unique and interesting: Teddy (Neal Bledsoe from Smash) grew up with a lot of money, the right education and friends, but still wants and needs to help people; Holly (Spencer Grammer from Greek) is a woman who just wants to be one of the guys, feeling she has to prove herself to be just as strong as they are; and Virgil (Pablo Schreiber from Orange is the New Black) is the muscle and someone Ironside “saved” just as his own career was in jeopardy.

Ironside also stars Brent Saxton (Justified) as Ironside’s former partner, Gary Stanton, and Kenneth Choi (Sons of Anarchy) as Ironside’s boss, Captain Ed Rollins.

NBC’s new drama is not an original concept… from 1967 to 1975, Raymond Burr (a.k.a. Perry Mason) starred on television as Robert T. Ironside, a paraplegic detective.  I hope someone who has seen the older series will chime in after the premiere to compare the two for us.

Ironside premieres tomorrow night, Wednesday, October 2nd on NBC.

*****

The Millers TV SeriesThe Millers

CBS Summary: Will Arnett stars in a new comedy featuring a recently divorced news reporter who looks forward to living the single life again… until his parents’ marital problems derail his plans for a free-wheeling bachelorhood. 

A newly divorced news reporter (Nathan, played Will Arnett from Arrested Development and Up All Night) decides to keep his separation secret from his parents—and for good reason.  While he thinks it will break their hearts, it actually prompts his dad to jump ship and file for divorce himself.  Mom (Margo Martindale, Justified and The Americans) moves in with Nathan, cramping his plans for a fun bachelorhood… and dad (Beau Bridges, does he really need an introduction at this point in his career?) moves in with his sister, making both kids miserable.

The series sounds depressing, but with Will Arnett, Margo Martindale, and Beau Bridges, the previews actually look pretty funny.

The new sitcom also stars J.B. Smoove (Curb Your Enthusiasm) and Jayma Mays (Glee).

The Millers premieres Thursday, October 3rd on CBS.

*****

Sean Saves the World

NBC Summary: Sean is a successful single dad who juggles a career, his mother, and weekends with his 14-year-old daughter fairly well; but when his daughter wants to move in, his life becomes a quest to discover just how much it will take to make it all work. 

All parents have battled this very dilemma—work versus parenthood.  However, usually we only hear about how mothers struggle with the guilt of balancing work and home.

Not this time.  In Sean Saves the World, viewers will watch a single father (Sean Hayes from Will & Grace) take on these struggles.  And luckily for him, he has his mother there to help.  Or is that lucky?

Oh, and I think Sean is playing a gay man from the OnDemand sneak peek I watched… perhaps that is what caused he and his daughter’s mother to split?

The new sitcom also stars: Linda Lavin (Alice) as Sean’s mother; Thomas Lennon (Reno 911!) as Sean’s boss; Echo Kellum (Ben & Kate) and Megan Hilty (Smash) as Sean’s friends; Vik Sahay (Chuck) as someone named Howard—I can’t find much about his character; and Samantha Isler as Sean’s daughter.

Sean Saves the World premieres Thursday, October 3rd on NBC.

*****

If I had to rank these in order of which one I’m most looking forward to, I’d put Ironside at number one.  As much as I like to laugh, a good police procedural/crime drama will always beat out a comedy as far as I’m concerned.  The Millers probably comes in second with Super Fun Night and Sean Saves the World coming in third and fourth (last).  

What do you think?  Will you tune in to watch any of these new shows?  Which one most interests you?  I’d love to hear from you!

This entry was posted in More Television, Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to New to TV – Fall 2013 (Part Four)

  1. You know me. The Big Bang Theory is the only comedy I watch. LOL

    I’m not sure about Ironside. I watched the original show when I was a kid, and Blair Underwood (even as hot as he is!) would not be my first choice for a remake of this character.

    • You aren’t the first one I’ve heard say that Blair Underwood wouldn’t have been their first choice to play Ironside in the remake, Lauralynn. If you do decide to watch, having seen the original, I’d love for you to come back and chime in on the comparison for us. 🙂

  2. I checked out the premiere of Ironside on Hulu, and I was pleasantly surprised. Not sure if I’m 100% sold as of yet (we’ll have to see how follow-up episodes go), but it was a solid start.

    Of course, I’m a sucker for police procedurals… ;D

    • You and me both, Steven! I will pretty much check out any police procedural. Speaking of, what did you think of Brooklyn Nine-Nine?

      Pilot episodes are always so jam-packed with material… mainly because that’s the episode they use to sell to the networks… and then the additional episodes slow down a bit. I’ve got the DVR set and I can’t wait to check out Ironside. Especially now after your sneak peek at the pilot. 🙂

  3. Big Bang Theory is pretty much the only sitcom I watch. Hubby actually wasn’t very interested in the Ironside show, either. I know he’ll probably check out your 3 & 4, though…which means I’ll catch some. Since I loved Sean in Will & Grace (and yes, he’s playing a gay dad…the cause of the divorce…based on the commercial I saw last night when his daughter asked him about it)…I’m bound to sit next to him for at least one episode to see if I like it.

    • I want to like sitcoms, Kitt. I love to laugh. But today’s sitcoms are missing something. Back in the day, I used to watch a ton of family sitcoms… that’s one reason why I think The Goldbergs is my favorite new comedy thus far this season–it’s the ’80s and it’s truly a family show. I’ll watch almost anything once; it just depends on the comedy to keep me interested.

      Come back and let us know what you think! 🙂

      • I couldn’t agree more about sitcoms… And the whole wholesome family sitcom has pretty much been nonexistent since shows like Family Ties, Growing Pains & Th Cosby Show were retired. Most comedies are geared towards adults.

      • Agree. I’m not even sure what a family would sit down and watch together these days… The Voice. American Idol. Wipeout. Back in the day, I had tons of family shows to watch with my mom and dad. Well, my mom. My dad has never really been very big on sitcoms.

  4. I probably watched every original episode of Ironside, many more than once. I never enjoy remakes of old series with new actors, so I doubt I’ll try it. Probably won’t try any of these others, either. I know – I’m a curmudgeon.

    • You’re not a curmudgeon, David. I understand your stance on remakes. Really, I do. If you change your mind and decide to give the new one a try, I’d love your thoughts since you’ve seen the original Raymond Burr series…

  5. I’m looking forward to Sean Saves the World–love Sean Hayes! 🙂

  6. Julie Glover says:

    Not a one of these appeals to me. 😦 I’m glad you keep me up-to-date, though! Thanks for these posts!

Leave a Reply

